DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims and Other Notes
Claims 1–20 are pending.
The paragraph numbers cited in this Office Action in reference to the instant application are referring to the paragraph numbering of the PG-Pub of the instant application. See US 2024/0243370 A1.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 28 November 2023 was filed before the mailing of a first Office Action on the merits. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The view numbers are preceded by "Figure." View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG." Where only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation "FIG." must not appear. See 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(1).
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: COMPOSITE MATERIAL INCLUDING SODIUM CROSS-LINKED WITH FLUOROPOLYMER, METHOD FOR PRODUCING THE SAME, ANODE INCLUDING THE SAME, AND METHOD FOR PRODUCING THE ANODE.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the term Super P (e.g., [0101]), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term is not accompanied by generic terminology. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
The use of the term Whatman (e.g., [0101]), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term does not include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
The lengthy specification (e.g., more than 20 pages) has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1–20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "wherein the first constituent is present in at least 60 mol % and the second constituent is present in at most 40 mol % in the Na alloy (2)." It is unclear if the phrase "in the Na alloy (2)" further limiting only the immediately adjacent limitation (i.e., the second constituent is present in at most 40 mol %) or both the preceding limitations (i.e., the first constituent is present in at least 60 mol % and the second constituent is present in at most 40 mol %).
Claims 2–4 are directly or indirectly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "wherein the Na alloy (2) is selected from the group consisting of: NaK, NaLi, NaSe, NaSb, NaSn and NaBi." It is unclear if NaK, NaLi, NaSe, NaSb, NaSn and NaBi are chemical formulae representing the Na alloy because the terms are formatted as chemical formulae but the Na is present at 50 mol%, which is outside "at least 60 mol%" of claim 1 and the second constituent is present at 50 mol%, which is outside "at most 40 mol%" of claim 1.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "wherein the Na alloy (2) is NaK." It is unclear if NaK is a chemical formula representing the Na alloy because the term is formatted as a chemical formula but the Na is present at 50 mol%, which is outside "at least 60 mol%" of claim 1 and K is present at 50 mol%, which is outside "at most 40 mol%" of claim 1.
Claim 7 is directly dependent from claim 6, is indirectly dependent from claim 1, and includes all the limitations of claims 1 and 6. Therefore, claim 7 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 8 and 9 are directly dependent from claim 1 and include all the limitations of claim 1. Therefore, claims 8 and 9 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "a solid electrolyte interphase (17)." Claim 10 has previously recited the limitation "a composite material according to claim 1" and includes all the limitations of claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation "a solid electrolyte interphase" and provides antecedent basis for the term "solid electrolyte interphase (17)." It is unclear if "a solid electrolyte interphase (17)" recited in claim 10 is further limiting or referencing "a solid electrolyte interphase (17)" recited in claim 1 because claim 10 does not include a modifier such as "the" or "said" indicating the term "solid electrolyte interphase (17)" is referring to the term previously recited.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the anode (6) according to claim 10" and includes all the limitations of claim 10. Therefore, claim 11 is also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "wherein the first constituent is present in at least 60 mol % and the second constituent is present in at most 40 mol % in the Na alloy (2)." It is unclear if the phrase "in the Na alloy (2)" further limiting only the immediately adjacent limitation (i.e., the second constituent is present in at most 40 mol %) or both the preceding limitations (i.e., the first constituent is present in at least 60 mol % and the second constituent is present in at most 40 mol %).
Claims 13 and 14 are directly dependent from claim 12 and include all the limitations of claim 12. Therefore, claims 13 and 14 are also indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 15 recites the limitation "thereby forming the anode (6) with a solid electrolyte interphase (17) at its surface (8)." It is unclear what the term "its" is referring to.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "wherein the weight ratio between the Na alloy (2) and the fluoropolymer (3) ranges is 1:1." It is unclear if "the weight ratio" ranges between a numerical range or is 1:1.
Claim 17 recites the limitation "wherein the Na alloy (2) is selected from the group consisting of: NaKLi, NaLiCu, NaLiAI, NaKSe, NaLiSi, NaKSb, NaKSn, NaLiSn and NaKB." It is unclear if NaKLi, NaLiCu, NaLiAI, NaKSe, NaLiSi, NaKSb, NaKSn, NaLiSn and NaKB are chemical formulae representing the Na alloy because the terms are formatted as chemical formulae but the Na is present at 33 mol%, which is outside "at least 60 mol%" of claim 1.
Claim 18 recites the limitation " wherein the Na alloy (2) is selected from the group consisting of: NaKLiSn, NaKLiSi, NaKLiCu and NaKBiSn." It is unclear if NaKLiSn, NaKLiSi, NaKLiCu and NaKBiSn are chemical formulae representing the Na alloy because the terms are formatted as chemical formulae but the Na is present at 25 mol%, which is outside "at least 60 mol%" of claim 1.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "wherein the mole ratio between Na and K ranges is 32:1, 35:1, 57:1, 100:1, 135:1 or 171:1." It is unclear if "the mole ratio" ranges between 32:1 to 171:1 range or is 32:1, 35:1, 57:1, 100:1, 135:1 or 171:1.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "wherein the particles is less than 2 micrometers." It is unclear what aspect of the particles is less than 2 micrometers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–12, 14–17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aryanpour et al. (US 2018/0287167 A1, hereinafter Aryanpour) in view of Wang et al. (CN 114566650 A, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 1, Aryanpour discloses a composite material (see negative electrode, [0035]) comprising a Na alloy (see negative electrode active material, [0014]) and a fluoropolymer (see tetrafluoroethylene, [0035]), wherein the Na alloy comprises:
Na as a first constituent (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]); and
one of K, Li, Se, Sb, Sn and Bi as a second constituent (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]), and
wherein the first constituent is present in at least 60 mol % and the second constituent is present in at most 40 mol % in the Na alloy (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]).
Aryanpour does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the composite material comprising Na originating from the Na alloy cross-linked with F originating from the fluoropolymer such that a solid electrolyte interphase is formed within the composite material.
Wang discloses a composite material comprising Na originating from a Na alloy (see active material, [0011]) cross-linked with F originating from a fluoropolymer (see PVDF, [0023]) such that a solid electrolyte interphase is formed within the composite material (see SEI film, [0023]) to improve the flexibility and electrochemical performance of the electrode (TABLE 1, [0065]). Aryanpour and Wang are analogous because they are directed to sodium ion batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the composite material of Aryanpour with the solid electrolyte interphase of Wang in order to improve the flexibility and electrochemical performance of the electrode.
Regarding claim 2, modified Aryanpour discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composite material:
wherein the Na alloy further comprises a third constituent selected from the group consisting of: K, Li, Cu, Al, Se, Si, Sb, Sn and Bi (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014])
wherein the third constituent is different from the second constituent (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]).
Regarding claim 17, modified Aryanpour discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composite material:
wherein the Na alloy is selected from the group consisting of: NaKLi, NaLiCu, NaLiAI, NaKSe, NaLiSi, NaKSb, NaKSn, NaLiSn and NaKBi (see potassium, [0018]).
Regarding claim 3, modified Aryanpour discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composite material:
wherein the Na alloy further comprises a fourth constituent selected from the group consisting of: K, Li, Cu, Al, Se, Si, Sb, Sn and Bi (see combination thereof, [0018])
wherein the fourth constituent is different from the second constituent and the third constituent (see combination thereof, [0018]).
Regarding claim 4, modified Aryanpour discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composite material:
wherein a weight ratio between the Na alloy and the fluoropolymer ranges from 70:1 to 1:0.25 ([0021], [0035]).
Although Aryanpour does not explicitly disclose a range of 6:1 to 1:4, Aryanpour does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 16, modified Aryanpour discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composite material:
wherein a weight ratio between the Na alloy and the fluoropolymer ranges from 70:1 to 1:0.25 ([0021], [0035]).
Although Aryanpour does not explicitly disclose 1:1, Aryanpour does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 5, modified Aryanpour discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composite material:
wherein the Na alloy is selected from the group consisting of: NaK, NaLi, NaSe, NaSb, NaSn and NaBi (see M, [0018]).
Regarding claim 6, modified Aryanpour discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composite material:
wherein the Na alloy is NaK (see potassium, [0018]).
Regarding claim 7, modified Aryanpour discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composite material:
wherein a mole ratio between Na and K is greater than 15:1 (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]).
Although Aryanpour does not explicitly disclose a range of 30:1 to 200:1, Aryanpour does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 19, modified Aryanpour discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composite material:
wherein the mole ratio between Na and K is greater than 15:1 (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]).
Although Aryanpour does not explicitly disclose 32:1, 35:1, 57:1, 100:1, 135:1 or 171:1, Aryanpour does disclose an overlapping range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549.
Regarding claim 8, modified Aryanpour discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composite material:
wherein the fluoropolymer is selected from the group consisting of: polytetrafluoroethylene (PTFE), ethylene tetrafluoroethylene (ETFE), perfluoroalkoxy alkanes (PFA), chlorotrifluoroethylene (CTFE), ethylene chlorotrifluoroethylene (ECTFE), polychlorotrifluoroethylene (PCTFE or PTFCE), tetrafluoroethylene (TFE), perfluorooctanoate (PFOA), hexafluoropropylene (FIFP), copolymers of hexafluoropropylene (FIFP), fluorinated ethylene propylene (FEP), ethylene-tetrafluoroethylene-hexafluoropropylene-fluoroterpolymer (EFEP), hexafluoropropylene-tetrafluoroethylene-ethylene copolymer (TFIE), and fluorinated vinyl ether (FVE) and poly(3,3,3-trifluoropropyl methylsiloxane (PTFPMS) (see tetrafluoroethylene, [0035]).
Regarding claim 9, modified Aryanpour discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a composite material:
wherein the fluoropolymer is polytetrafluoroethylene (see tetrafluoroethylene, [0035]).
Regarding claim 10, Aryanpour discloses an anode comprising an electrically conductive substrate, and a composite material, wherein the composite material is arranged at a surface of the substrate (see negative electrode, [0035]), wherein the composite material comprises a Na alloy (see negative electrode active material, [0014]) and a fluoropolymer (see tetrafluoroethylene, [0035]), wherein the Na alloy comprises:
Na as a first constituent (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]); and
one of K, Li, Se, Sb, Sn and Bi as a second constituent (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]), and
wherein the first constituent is present in at least 60 mol % and the second constituent is present in at most 40 mol % in the Na alloy (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]).
Aryanpour does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the composite material comprising Na originating from the Na alloy cross-linked with F originating from the fluoropolymer such that a solid electrolyte interphase is formed within the composite material.
Wang discloses a composite material comprising Na originating from a Na alloy (see active material, [0011]) cross-linked with F originating from a fluoropolymer (see PVDF, [0023]) such that a solid electrolyte interphase is formed within the composite material (see SEI film, [0023]) to improve the flexibility and electrochemical performance of the electrode (TABLE 1, [0065]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the composite material of Aryanpour with the solid electrolyte interphase of Wang in order to improve the flexibility and electrochemical performance of the electrode.
Regarding claim 11, Aryanpour discloses a battery (see sodium-ion battery, [0033]) comprising an anode comprising an electrically conductive substrate, and a composite material, wherein the composite material is arranged at a surface of the substrate (see negative electrode, [0035]), wherein the composite material comprises a Na alloy (see negative electrode active material, [0014]) and a fluoropolymer (see tetrafluoroethylene, [0035]), wherein the Na alloy comprises:
Na as a first constituent (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]); and
one of K, Li, Se, Sb, Sn and Bi as a second constituent (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]), and
wherein the first constituent is present in at least 60 mol % and the second constituent is present in at most 40 mol % in the Na alloy (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]).
Aryanpour does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the composite material comprising Na originating from the Na alloy cross-linked with F originating from the fluoropolymer such that a solid electrolyte interphase is formed within the composite material.
Wang discloses a composite material comprising Na originating from a Na alloy (see active material, [0011]) cross-linked with F originating from a fluoropolymer (see PVDF, [0023]) such that a solid electrolyte interphase is formed within the composite material (see SEI film, [0023]) to improve the flexibility and electrochemical performance of the electrode (TABLE 1, [0065]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the composite material of Aryanpour with the solid electrolyte interphase of Wang in order to improve the flexibility and electrochemical performance of the electrode.
Regarding claim 12, Aryanpour discloses a method for producing a composite material comprising the steps of:
forming a Na alloy by mixing Na as a first constituent and at least one of K, Li, Se, Sb, Sn and Bi as a further constituent (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]);
mixing the Na alloy with a fluoropolymer (see binder, [0035]), and
wherein the first constituent is present in at least 60 mol % and the further constituent is present in at most 40 mol % in the Na alloy (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]).
Aryanpour does not explicitly disclose:
thereby forming the composite material comprising Na originating from the Na alloy which is cross-linked with F originating from the fluoropolymer such that a solid electrolyte interphase forms within the composite material.
Wang discloses a composite material comprising Na originating from a Na alloy (see active material, [0011]) cross-linked with F originating from a fluoropolymer (see PVDF, [0023]) such that a solid electrolyte interphase is formed within the composite material (see SEI film, [0023]) to improve the flexibility and electrochemical performance of the electrode (TABLE 1, [0065]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the composite material of Aryanpour with the solid electrolyte interphase of Wang in order to improve the flexibility and electrochemical performance of the electrode.
Regarding claim 14, modified Aryanpour discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above and further discloses a method:
wherein the step of mixing the Na alloy and the fluoropolymer is performed at a temperature in the range of 20-100° C (see 25°C, [0031]).
Regarding claim 15, Aryanpour discloses a method for producing an anode comprising coating an electrically conductive substrate with a composite material at a surface of the substrate, thereby forming the anode with a solid electrolyte interphase at the surface, wherein the composite material comprises a Na alloy (see negative electrode active material, [0014]) and a fluoropolymer (see tetrafluoroethylene, [0035]), wherein the Na alloy comprises:
Na as a first constituent (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]); and
one of K, Li, Se, Sb, Sn and Bi as a second constituent (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]), and
wherein the first constituent is present in at least 60 mol % and the second constituent is present in at most 40 mol % in the Na alloy (see NaxSny-zMz, [0014]).
Aryanpour does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the composite material comprising Na originating from the Na alloy cross-linked with F originating from the fluoropolymer such that a solid electrolyte interphase is formed within the composite material.
Wang discloses a composite material comprising Na originating from a Na alloy (see active material, [0011]) cross-linked with F originating from a fluoropolymer (see PVDF, [0023]) such that a solid electrolyte interphase is formed within the composite material (see SEI film, [0023]) to improve the flexibility and electrochemical performance of the electrode (TABLE 1, [0065]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the composite material of Aryanpour with the solid electrolyte interphase of Wang in order to improve the flexibility and electrochemical performance of the electrode.
Claims 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aryanpour (US 2018/0287167 A1) in view of Wang (US 2021/0313583 A1) and Qian (CN 111463403 A) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Shan et al. (CN 106384829 A, hereinafter Shan).
Regarding claims 13 and 20, modified Aryanpour discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a method:
wherein the fluoropolymer is provided in the form of particles having a size less than 10 micrometers; and
wherein the particles is less than 2 micrometers.
Shan discloses a composite material including a fluoropolymer is provided in the form of particles having a size less than 10 micrometers (see average particle size, [0010]); and wherein the particles is less than 2 micrometers (see average particle size, [0010]) to prevent cracking of the composite material and improve the adhesion and capacity retention rate (see adhesive, [0059]). Aryanpour and Shan are analogous because they are directed to alkali metal ion batteries. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to make the fluoropolymer of Aryanpour with the size of Shan in order to prevent cracking of the composite material and improve the adhesion and capacity retention rate.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aryanpour (US 2018/0287167 A1) in view of Wang (US 2021/0313583 A1) and Qian (CN 111463403 A) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Shimura (US 2019/0036373 A1).
Regarding claim 18, modified Aryanpour discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above, but does not explicitly disclose a composite material:
wherein the Na alloy is selected from the group consisting of: NaKLiSn, NaKLiSi, NaKLiCu and NaKBiSn.
Shimura discloses a Na alloy is selected from the group consisting of: NaKLiSn, NaKLiSi, NaKLiCu and NaKBiSn (see alloy materials, [0049]). Na alloys comprising NaKLiSn, NaKLiSi, NaKLiCu or NaKBiSn were well known in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by Shimura. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use any Na alloy, including NaKLiSn, NaKLiSi, NaKLiCu or NaKBiSn in the composite material of modified Aryanpour. Said combination would amount to use of a known element for its intended use in a known environment to accomplish entirely expected result.
Conclusion
/Sean P Cullen, Ph.D./Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725