DETAILED ACTION
Prior art of Record
The prior art made of record in this office action shall be referred to as follows;
U.S. 5,273,606 Greve et al. (‘Greve hereafter), Filed 12/16/1991
U.S. 2011/0126475 Fukushima et al. (‘Fukushima hereafter), App 12/924340 Filed 09/24/2010
U.S. 2010/0119935 Kim et al. (‘Kim hereafter), App 12/310861 Filed 09/08/2007
U.S. 4,269,012 Mattingly et al. (‘Mattingly hereafter), Filed 02/01/1979
The above references will be referred to hereafter by the names or numbers indicated above.
Claim status:
Claims 11 - 20 are currently being examined.
Claims 20 has been withdrawn.
Claims 1 – 10 have been canceled.
No Claims are allowed or objected to for allowable subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11 - 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. 2011/0126475 Fukushima et al. (‘Fukushima hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 11, ‘Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations including: A connecting arrangement for connecting a first component to a second component for a vehicle (‘Fukushima, Para 0001, “The present invention relates to a lower seal that is mounted at the lower end of the side door of a vehicle, and that
seals a between body gap when the door is closed.” Fig 7 (below) shows the connecting arrangement of a first component to a second component, “for a vehicle” is an intended use limitation, see below), comprising:
a peripheral region (‘Fukushima, Fig 7 (below)) of the first component (‘Fukushima, Fig 7 (below)) that is disposed in a folded pocket of the second component (‘Fukushima, Fig 7 (below)) that is delimited by a crimped flange of the
second component (‘Fukushima, Fig 7 (below)),
wherein the crimped flange is crimped around the peripheral region such that the first component is connected to the second component (‘Fukushima, Fig 7 (below));
wherein the first component has an outflow opening which adjoins the crimped flange and wherein a liquid is dischargeable via the outflow opening from an interspace delimited by the first component (4) and the second component (‘Fukushima, Fig 7 (below), #12 (drainage hole));
wherein the outflow opening is closed by a sealing compound which covers a first subregion (TB1) of the crimped flange and a second subregion (TB2) (‘Fukushima, Fig 7 (below), #11 (paint sealer) seals the opening in regions TB1 and TB2),
which adjoins the first subregion (TB1) of the crimped flange and is disposed next to the outflow opening (‘Fukushima, Fig 7 (below)),
of the first component, and thus,
seals off the crimped flange with respect to the second subregion (TB2) (‘Fukushima, Fig 7 (below)).
A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In a claim drawn to process of making, the intended use must result in a manipulative difference as compared to the prior art. See In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458,459 (CCCPA 1963).
Regarding Claim[s] 12, ‘Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the outflow opening is elongate (‘Fukushima, Fig 7 (below) shows #12 is on a radius, the hole through the sheet on a radius will shorten the opening distance of the hole on the side that is on a radius).
Regarding Claim[s] 13, ‘Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the outflow opening has a direction of longitudinal extent which extends obliquely or parallel to a direction of longitudinal extent of the crimped flange (‘Fukushima, Fig 7 (below) the shortened side of #12 on the radius, extends parallel to the longitudinal direction of the crimped flange).
Regarding Claim[s] 14 & 15, ‘Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the outflow opening is a region of material cut out of the first component, and the outflow opening is a shaped cut in the first component. (‘Fukushima, Fig 7 (below) shows #12 is cut out of first component).
Regarding Claim[s] 16, ‘Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations including: wherein the sealing compound is a plastic (‘Fukushima, Fig 7, #11 (paint sealer) is a plastic).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2011/0126475 Fukushima et al. (‘Fukushima hereafter), and further in view of U.S. 4,269,012 Mattingly et al. (‘Mattingly hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 17, ‘Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations except is silent regarding: wherein the plastic is polyvinyl chloride.
However, ‘Mattingly teaches: Col. 3, ln 47 – 60, “The first flange 19 of the panel 3 has an integral downwardly opening channel section 23 extending longitudinally along its upper margin on the outside thereof. This channel section has sealing means 25 therein, more particularly a strip of flexible resilient sealing material such as polyvinyl chloride or neoprene or caulking sealant extending longitudinally in the channel section. The second flange 21 has an integral sealing lip section 27 extending longitudinally along its upper margin on the inside thereof adapted to fit in the channel section 23 of the adjacent panel on the supporting means 5, the lip section being sealingly engageable with the sealing means 25 in the latter channel section to form a sealed standing seam.”
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Fukushima with a polyvinyl chloride plastic as taught by ‘Mattingly in order to provide a sealing material (‘Mattingly, Col. 3, ln 47 – 60).
Claim 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2011/0126475 Fukushima et al. (‘Fukushima hereafter), and further in view of [Wingdings font/0xE0] U.S. 2010/0119935 Kim et al. (‘Kim hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 18, ‘Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations except is silent regarding: distance between a free end of the crimped flange and the outflow opening is at most three millimeters.
However, ‘Kim teaches: Para 0036, “The inward extending length of the bent front end of the crimping region may be appropriately decided in consideration of the mechanical strength of the container and the elastic force and durability of the gasket. In a preferred embodiment, the bent front end of the crimping region extends, by 2 to 3 mm, from the side of the crimping region.”
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Fukushima with a crimped flange at most 3 mm as taught by ‘Kim, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. 2011/0126475 Fukushima et al. (‘Fukushima hereafter), and further in view of U.S. 5,273,606 Greve et al. (‘Greve hereafter).
Regarding Claim[s] 19, ‘Fukushima discloses all the claim limitations except is silent regarding: first component and/or the second component is a metal material.
However, ‘Greve teaches: Col. 1, ln 17 – 21, “The inner and outer panels may be constructed of such materials as steel or plastic. Methods for securing these steel or plastic panels together often used in industry today utilize several liquid adhesive bonding techniques.” Col. 3, ln 14 – 19, “The outer panel edge portions 18 are folded over so as to form a hem flange as indicated by reference numeral 26 in FIG. 2, and also so that the adhesive injection holes align with the adhesive injection notches 16 to
create an inlet passageway through which a liquid adhesive material can be injected.
Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide ‘Fukushima with a metal material
as taught by ‘Greve in order to make a hem joint between the first and second components.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
[AltContent: textbox (TB2)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (TB1)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Crimped Flange Second Component)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Peripheral
Region)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Component #3 (Door Panel))][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First component)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: arrow]
U.S. 2011/0126475 Figure 7a
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Pg 5, “Fukushima does not disclose that: the drainage hole 12 (alleged outflow opening) is closed by the paint sealer 11 (alleged sealing compound).”
Fukushima does partially close the drainage hole.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., fully closed, completely closed, closed to not allow passage of fluid ) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claims are examined with the broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification.
Conclusion
Examiner encourages Applicant to fill out and submit form PTO-SB-439 to allow internet communications in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 (MPEP 02.03). Should the need arise to perfect applicant-proposed or examiner’s amendments, authorization for e-mail correspondence would have already been authorized and would save time.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAWRENCE AVERICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799
09/26/2026