Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Response to Argument
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks, filed on 8/25/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In the remarks, Applicant argues that:
LaFever fails to teach a Metric That Quantifies Activity.
LaFever fails to teach evaluation of a Trigger Condition Based on the Metric.
LaFever fails to teach generating a Sequence Value by Iterating a Sequence
Function.
LaFever fails to teach use of Sequence Value in Transformation Function.
LaFever fails to teach receiving an Event Indicator.
LaFever fails to teach a Metric Associated with Activity.
LaFever fails to teach a Sequence Function and Iteration Thereof.
LaFever fails to teach Generating a Rewritten Log Comprising the Event Indicator.
LaFever fails to teach Generating a Sequence Value Generated by a Sequence Function in Response to Network Activity.
LaFever fails to teach Association of Sequence Value with a Lease.
LaFever fails to teach a Transformation Function Using the Sequence Value to Produce a Data Element That Conceals Identifying Information.
LaFever Does Not Disclose Encryption Using a Received Key and Use of Trusted Storage
In response to points (i), (ii), (vi), Applicant argues that LaFever does not teach or suggest any
metric that quantifies activity in the computing network. (Remarks at 11) Examiner respectfully disagree. As required in the dependent claims 7 and 8, the recited metric of claim 1 meets a condition comprises a specified time frame. Similarly, LaFever teaches obtaining a measurement of amount of time that a DDID has been produced/retained ([50][125][374], i.e., a metric of measurement of an amount of time meets a period amount of time to control/trigger a change of DDID in the computing network)
In response to points (iii), (vii) and (ix), Examiner respectfully disagree. LaFever teaches generating, in response to the trigger condition/iteration (e.g., a passage of an amount of time), a changed DDID using a function that iterates the DDID ([39][40][50][374][534]).
In response to points (iv) and (xi), Examiner respectfully disagree. LaFever teaches using DDID as input to replace/transform one or more elements with DDID that conceals the identity information ([18][39][40])
In response to point (v), Examiner respectfully disagree. LaFever teaches receiving/collecting/retaining/storing information (i.e., log) including event information associated with the activity (i.e., event indicator) ([25][27][524], e.g., any information associated with the activity/event such as time, browsing session, etc.) In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., The claimed event indicator-a field that uniquely identifies or classifies the event (e.g., timestamp, type code, UUID)-enables correlation and contextual analysis of network behavior) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to point (viii), Examiner respectfully disagree. LaFever teaches receiving/collecting/retaining/storing information (i.e., log) related to various activities ([18][25][27] [33] [34] [39][47][173][174] [524][605]). LaFever further teach the received/collected/retained/stored information is replace/rewritten with DDID (i.e., generating a rewritten log).
In response to point (x), Examiner respectfully disagree. LaFever teaches the DDID is associated with a predetermined amount of time that the DDID can be used before a changed DDID is generated ([21][50]-[54][58][325]).
In response to point (xii), according to Applicant,
“In claim 14, the data element is encrypted using the key along with storing, in trusted storage, the identifying information mapped to the sequence value used to produce the data element.
While Lefever arguably mentions storing certain values in secure storage and encrypting identifiers, this reference does not disclose the specific mapping of identifying information to the dynamically generated sequence value in trusted storage.
Nor does Lefever suggest that a received key from a management domain is used specifically for encryption of a data element derived through a transformation process, as claimed.”
(Remarks at 19) Examiner respectfully disagree. LaFever teaches a data subject/identity of a data subject is associated with each DDID, which is used to replace the elements ([18][23][69][174], i.e., the identifying information mapped to the sequence value used to produce the data element) LaFever also teach receiving, from management domain, key used for encryption to conceal/pseudonymize elements (fig. 1; fig. 9; [589][46][591][588][311]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Examiner has considered Applicant’s response filed on 8/25/25 and Applicant’s specification for support of the claim amendments. However, Applicant’s specification fail to disclose the amended claim limitations.
As per claim 1, Applicant’s specification does not disclose the recited limitation of ” evaluating, by the processing circuitry, whether the metric satisfies a trigger condition for iterating a sequence function; generating, by the processing circuitry in response to the trigger condition being satisfied, a sequence value by iterating the sequence function”.
As per claim 13, Applicant’s specification does not disclose the recited limitation of “evaluate whether the metric satisfies a trigger condition for iterating a sequence function; generate, in response to the trigger condition being satisfied, a sequence value by iterating the sequence function”
According to the Applicant,
“LaFever does not disclose any sequence function, let alone one that is conditionally iterated based on dynamic network behavior”
(Remarks at 12)
According to Applicant’s specification:
“[0052] As referred to in block 102, the sequence value may be iterated (e.g., ‘changed’ or ‘modified’) in response to the metric triggering iteration of the sequence value. Thus, the sequence value may remain the same until a trigger causes the sequence function to iterate the sequence value (e.g., change or modify the sequence value).”
There is no disclosure of iterating a sequence function as recited in claims 1 and 13. The specification discloses the sequence function iterates the sequence value. The specification does not support iterating the sequence function. Because the specification does not disclose this limitation, the specification does not satisfy the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LaFever et al, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2015/0379303 (hereinafter LaFever).
As per claim 1, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed comprising:
obtaining, by processing circuitry, an event log comprising identifying information that associates an entity with an event within a computing network ([18][25][27] [34][524][605], e.g., receiving/collecting/retaining/storing information (i.e., log) related to various activities);
obtaining, by the processing circuitry, a metric that quantifies activity within the computing network ([50][125][374], e.g., obtaining a measurement of amount of time that a DDID has been produced/retained); and
evaluating, by the processing circuitry, whether the metric satisfies a trigger condition for iterating a sequence function ([50][51][109][125][154][168][374], e.g., evaluating whether the measurement of time satisfies a passage of a period amount of time);
generating, by the processing circuitry in response to the trigger condition being satisfied, a sequence value by iterating the sequence function ([39][40][50][374][534], e.g., generating, in response to the trigger condition/iteration (e.g., a passage of an amount of time), a changed DDID using a function that iterates the DDID); and
producing, using the processing circuitry, a data element upon applying the sequence value as an input to a transformation function that at least partially conceals the identifying information in the data element ([18][39][40], e.g., using DDID as input to replace one or more elements with DDID).
As per claim 2, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. LaFever further teach wherein the metric is obtained by an analytical function for monitoring the activity of the computing network ([21][50][58][325]).
As per claim 3, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. LaFever further teach comprising:
receiving, by the processing circuitry, an event indicator associated with the event ([600], e.g., receiving event/activity);
determining whether the identifying information has been previously used to produce the data
element ([173][174], e.g., determining if data subject identifying information has been previously used);
in response to determining that the identifying information has been previously used to produce
the data element ([173][174]):
retrieving, from storage, the data element and generating the event log comprising the event indicator and the data element ([173][174]), or
in response to determining that the identifying information has not been previously used to
produce the data element:
causing the processing circuitry to produce the data element ([33][47][173][174], e.g., return previous data elements);
generating a re-written log comprising the event indicator and the data element([33][39][47][173][174]); and
causing the re-written log to be sent to an analytical function for monitoring the activity of the computing network ([33][39][47][173][174]).
As per claim 4, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. LaFever further teach comprising
receiving a request to produce a set of data elements, wherein the request is indicative of a time period of interest during which at least one sequence value was used as the input to the transformation function ([35][50]-[54], e.g., receiving a request for functions/services. In response of the request, assigning DDID for a time period of interest during which the DDID was used as input to replace data elements);
in response to receiving the request, obtaining identifying information and/or the at least one sequence value used in the time period of interest ([35][36][50]-[54], e.g., assigning the DDID);
producing the set of data elements for each combination of the obtained identifying information and the sequence value ([18][39][40], e.g., replacing data elements with DDID); and
causing the produced set of data elements to be sent to an analytical function for monitoring activity of the computing network ([47], e.g., post analysis of activity in the network).
As per claim 5, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 4 above. LaFever further teach wherein the analytical function is to use the set of data elements to analyze historical activity of the computing network associated with the identifying information ([39][40][47]).
As per claim 6, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 4 above. LaFever further teach comprising obtaining the identifying information and the at least one sequence value by:
wherein a mapping between the identifying information and at least one sequence value used to generate corresponding data elements representative of the identifying information is available, retrieving the identifying information and the at least one sequence value mapped to the identifying information, and/or
wherein the data element is produced by encrypting the identifying information; and
wherein the request comprises the data element and an authorization to decrypt and/or a key for decrypting the data element, decrypting the data element to retrieve the identifying information ([39][40][46][500], e.g., retrieving data subject identifying information and DDID based on association).
As per claim 7, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. LaFever further teach comprising: determining whether the metric meets a condition regulating how many data elements can be produced using the sequence value such that:
wherein the condition is met, the sequence value remains the same; or
wherein the condition is not met, the sequence function iterates the sequence value unless an indication is received that prevents the sequence function from iterating the sequence value([374][601]).
As per claim 8, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7 above. LaFever further teach wherein the condition comprises a specified number of events occurring within the computing network or a specified time frame ([189][361][374]).
As per claim 9, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. LaFever further teach wherein the sequence function is to iterate the sequence value by progressing along a consecutive sequence or by implementing a random sequence value generator to generate an iterated sequence value ([211][500]).
As per claim 10, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. LaFever further teach comprising generating a one-to-one mapping between the identifying information and the sequence value used to generate the data element ([18][23][174]).
As per claim 11, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10 above. LaFever further teach wherein contextual information associated with the identifying information is used by the sequence function to produce a specified sequence of sequence values for use in producing data elements representative of identifying information associated with the contextual information, and
wherein the mapping comprises a name indicator of the specified sequence ([178][179][211]).
As per claim 12, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. LaFever further teach comprising: anonymizing a first portion of the identifying information relating to an identity of an individual entity within the computing network; and producing the data element,
wherein the data element is representative of a second portion of the identifying information comprising contextual information associated with the individual entity ([39][26][306][29]).
As per claim 13, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed comprising instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to ([632][633]):
receive, from nodes in a computing network, an event log comprising:
identifying information that uniquely identifies an entity associated with an occurrence of an event within the computing network ([18][25][27] [34][524][605], e.g., receiving/collecting/retaining/storing information (i.e., log) related to various activities), and
an event indicator associated with the occurrence of the event ([600], e.g., receiving event/activity);
determine a metric associated with an activity of the computing network([50][125][374], e.g.,
obtaining a measurement of amount of time that a DDID has been produced/retained);
evaluate whether the metric satisfies a trigger condition for iterating a sequence
function ([50][51][109][125][154][168][374], e.g., evaluating whether the measurement of time satisfies a passage of a period amount of time);
generate, in response to the trigger condition being satisfied, a sequence value by iterating the sequence function ([39][40][50][374][534], e.g., generating, in response to the trigger condition/iteration (e.g., a passage of an amount of time), a changed DDID using a function that iterates the DDID);
produce a data element upon applying the sequence value as an input to a transformation function that at least partially conceals the identifying information in the data element
([18][39][40], e.g., using DDID as input to replace one or more elements with DDID); and
generate a re-written log comprising the event indicator and the data element ([33][19][47], e.g., generating a record/log comprises events and elements).
As per claim 14, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed comprising:
at least one processor communicatively coupled to a secure interface with a management domain, where the secure interface is to receive, from the management domain ([632][633]):
information indicative of a sequence value generated by a sequence function that iterates the sequence value in response to a metric associated with activity within a computing network triggering iteration of the sequence value ([39][40] [50][374][534], e.g., receiving a changed DDID generated by a function that iterates the DDID in response to trigger condition/iteration (e.g., a passage of an amount of time)), wherein the computing network comprises the apparatus, and wherein the sequence value is associated with a lease indicating a time period over which the sequence value can be used ([21][50]-[54][58][325], e.g., the DDID is associated with a predetermined amount of time); and
a key ([39][46]); and
a tangible machine-readable medium storing instructions readable and executable by the at
least one processor to perform a method in a trusted execution environment of the at least one processor ([632][633]), the method comprising:
obtaining an event log comprising identifying information associated with an occurrence of an event corresponding to activity within the computing network ([18][34][605], e.g., receiving/collecting/retaining/storing information (i.e., log) related to various activities) and event information associated with the activity (e.g., any information associated with the activity such as time , browsing session, etc.) ([25][27][524]);
producing a data element representative of the identifying information by using the sequence value as an input to a transformation function for at least partially concealing the identifying information when producing the data element ([18][39][40][534], e.g., using DDID as input to replace one or more elements with DDID), wherein the data element is associated with the event information ([18][39][40][534], e.g., replacement of one or more elements with DDID(s) is associated with the information associated with the activity), and wherein the data element is encrypted using the key ([18][39][40], e.g., the data element is encrypted using keys);
storing, in trusted storage, the identifying information mapped to the sequence value used to produce the data element ([33][400], e.g., data store of trust party storing data subject identifying information); and
generating a log comprising the data element and an event indicator associated with the occurrence of the activity ([33][39][40], e.g., generating a record comprising encrypted data element and event/activity).
As per claim 15, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 14 above. LaFever further teach wherein the instructions further comprise instructions readable and executable by the at least one processor to perform a method in the trusted execution environment, the method comprising:
receiving a request to produce a set of data elements, wherein the request is indicative of a time period of interest during which at least one sequence value was used as the input to the transformation function ([35][50]-[54], e.g., receiving a request for functions/services. In response of the request, assigning DDID for a time period of interest during which the DDID was used as input to replace data elements);
retrieving, from the trusted storage, the identifying information mapped to at least one sequence value previously used in combination with the identifying information for producing at least one data element ([33][173][174], e.g., retrieving from data storage data subject identifying information previously used);
producing the set of data elements for each combination of the identifying information and the sequence value by using each obtained sequence value as an input to the transformation function for at least partially concealing the identifying information when producing each data element of the set ([18][39][40], e.g., using DDID as input to replace one or more elements with DDID); and
causing the produced set of data elements to be sent to an analytical function for monitoring activity of the computing network ([33][47]).
As per claim 16, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. LaFever further teach wherein the event log further comprises event information comprising metadata indicative of the event ([25][27][524]).
As per claim 17, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 16 above. LaFever further teach generating, by the processing circuitry, a re-written log comprising the event information and the data element ([33][19][47], e.g., generating a record/log comprises events and elements).
As per claim 18, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. LaFever further teach wherein the entity comprises a user, a device, a process, or a component of the computing network ([34]).
As per claim 19, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1 above. LaFever further teach generating, by the processing circuitry, an indication of the sequence value ([39][40][534]).
As per claim 20, LaFever teaches the invention as claimed in claim 19 above. LaFever further teach wherein the indication of the sequence value comprises data that identifies, references, or is derived from the sequence value and is usable by the processing circuitry to apply the transformation function ([39][40][534]).
Conclusion
be directed to Philip Lee whose telephone number is (571)272-3967. The examiner can normally be
reached on 6a-3p M-F.
Glenton Burgess can be reached on 571-272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this
application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained
from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available
through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair- direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic
Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer
Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR
CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/PHILIP C LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454