DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is repetitive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following titles are suggested: --Mowing deck assembly and outdoor power machine—or –Outdoor power machine with mowing deck assembly—.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “240” has been used to designate both a forward baffle (Figs. 10-11) and the channel in front of the forward baffle as seen in Fig. 12. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “250” has been used to designate both a rear baffle (Fig. 12) and a rear wall (Fig. 11). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: a first section 242; a second section 244. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Busboom et al. 5,845,475.
Independent Claim 1: Busboom discloses a mowing deck assembly for an outdoor power machine, comprising:
a mowing deck (26) defining an open-bottomed housing, including a top panel (28) and a peripheral wall structure (30, 32, 34, 36);
one or more mowing blades (42, 44, 46) rotatably mounted to the mowing deck;
a baffle assembly (40, 68, 90, 92) including a plurality of baffles positioned so as to define an individual circular enclosure for each of the one or more mowing blades (as seen in Fig. 3), as per claim 1.
Dependent Claims 2-8: Busboom further discloses wherein at least some of the plurality of baffles (90, 92) are removably attached to the deck (26), as per claim 2;
wherein the peripheral wall structure (30, 32, 34, 36) includes a side discharge port (38), as per claim 3;
a side discharge chute (unnumbered, seen in Figs. 1-2 in place of plate 150) communicating with the side discharge port (38), as per claim 4;
wherein:
selected baffles (90, 92) of the plurality of baffles (40, 68, 90, 92) are removably attached to the deck (26); and
the baffle assembly is configured such that, when the selected baffles are removed, the remaining baffles form a flowpath from the one or more mowing blades (42, 44, 46) to the side discharge port (38), to permit clippings to be discharged (as seen in Fig. 4), as per claim 5;
wherein the one or more mowing blades (42, 44, 46) include:
a center mowing blade (44) mounted at approximately a midline of the deck (26) in a left-right direction (see Fig. 2), and approximately a middle of the deck in a forward-aft direction (Fig. 2);
a left mowing blade (42) mounted to the left of the center mowing blade and to the rear of the center mowing blade in the fore-aft direction (see Fig. 2); and
a right mowing blade (46) mounted to the right of the center mowing blade and to the rear of the center mowing blade in the fore-aft direction (seen in Fig. 2), as per claim 6;
wherein:
two or more mowing blades (42, 44, 46) are rotatably mounted to the mowing deck (26);
the two or more mowing blades are positioned in a spaced-apart configuration such that they will not collide with each other in operation (see Fig. 2); and
each of the two or more mowing blades defines a cutting swath, and the mowing blades are positioned such that their cutting swaths overlap in at least one direction (the blades are oriented relative to each other just like that of the invention and so have the same swath overlaps 236 seen in applicant’s own Fig. 10), as per claim 7;
wherein the peripheral wall structure (30, 32, 34, 36) includes: a front wall (30), a left wall (32), a right wall (34), and a rear wall (36), as per claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11, 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Busboom et al. in view of Kelly et al. 11,122,738.
Dependent Claims 9-11, 13-14: Busboom further discloses wherein the baffle assembly (40, 68, 90, 92) includes:
a forward baffle (40) positioned to the rear of the front wall (30) of the deck (26, Fig. 4);
a rear baffle (68) positioned adjacent the rear wall (36) of the deck (Fig. 4);
a discharge baffle (150) mounted to the deck adjacent to a side discharge port (38) of the peripheral wall structure;
a left side mulching baffle (90) removably attached to the deck, abutting the forward baffle (see Figs. 3-4); and
a right side mulching baffle (92) removably attached to the deck, abutting the forward baffle (Figs. 3-4), as per claim 9;
wherein the forward baffle (40) includes a first section (56) forming a generally circular arc (Fig. 4), a second section (60) forming a generally circular arc, and a third section (66) extending generally in a straight line from the second section to the side discharge port (38), as per claim 10;
wherein the rear baffle (68) includes a first section (70) forming a generally circular arc (Fig. 4), a second section (72) forming a generally circular arc, and a third section (74) forming a generally circular arc, as per claim 11;
wherein the left side mulching baffle (90) is generally Y-shaped (Fig. 4) and includes a left circular-arc leg (96), a right circular-arc leg (98), and a generally straight stem (94), as per claim 13;
wherein the right side mulching baffle (92) is generally M-shaped (Fig. 4) and includes a left circular-arc leg (120), a right circular-arc leg (122, 140), and a generally straight stem (118), as per claim 14.
However, Busboom fails to disclose a right-side controller baffle mounted to the deck between the rear baffle and the rear wall of the deck;
a left-side controller baffle mounted to the deck between the rear baffle and the rear wall of the deck, as per claim 9.
Kelly discloses a similar mowing deck assembly comprising a right-side controller baffle (right side 95) mounted to the deck (11) between the rear baffle (rear portions of 81, 82, 83) and the rear wall (65) of the deck;
a left-side controller baffle (left side 95) mounted to the deck between the rear baffle and the rear wall of the deck, as per claim 9.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the controller baffles of Kelly on the mowing deck of Busboom in order to reinforce the cutter housing.
Claim(s) 15-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Busboom et al. in view of Koike et al. 9,173,346.
Independent Claim 15: Busboom discloses an outdoor power machine, comprising:
a chassis (12);
two or more drive wheel assemblies (14, 16) mounted to the chassis;
two or more steer wheels (18, 18) pivotally mounted to the chassis;
a mowing deck assembly (26) connected to the chassis;
the mowing deck assembly including:
a mowing deck (also 26) defining an open-bottomed housing, including a top panel (28) and a peripheral wall structure (30, 32, 34, 36);
one or more mowing blades (42, 44, 46) rotatably mounted to the mowing deck;
a baffle assembly (40, 68, 90, 92) including a plurality of baffles positioned so as to define an individual circular enclosure for each of the one or more mowing blades (as seen in Fig. 3), as per claim 15.
However, Busboom fails to disclose wherein each drive wheel assembly coupled to an electric motor;
an electrical power pack configured to supply electric energy to the electric motors, as per claim 15.
Koike discloses a similar outdoor power machine wherein each drive wheel assembly (2a, 2b) is coupled to an electric motor (21, 22, respectively);
an electrical power pack (20) configured to supply electric energy to the electric motors, as per claim 15.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electric drive wheel motors of Koike for the internal combustion engine drive of Busboom in order to provide reduced power consumption and faster controls response.
Dependent Claims 16-20: Busboom further discloses a standing platform or a seat (22) for an operator, as per claim 16;
a seat (22) for an operator, as per claim 17;
wherein the peripheral wall structure (30, 32, 34, 36) includes a side discharge port (38), as per claim 18;
wherein: selected baffles (90, 92) of the plurality of baffles (40, 68, 90, 92) are removably attached to the deck (26); and
the baffle assembly is configured such that, when the selected baffles are removed, the remaining baffles form a flowpath from the one or more mowing blades (42, 44, 46) to the side discharge port (38), to permit clippings to be discharged (as seen in Fig. 4), as per claim 19.
However, Busboom fails to disclose wherein each of the one or more cutting blades is coupled to an electric blade motor mounted to the deck, as per claim 20.
Koike discloses wherein each of the one or more cutting blades (31a, 32a, 33a) is coupled to an electric blade motor (31, 32, 33, respectively) mounted to the deck (30), as per claim 20.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the electric drive motors of Koike for the mechanical belt blade drive of Busboom in order to provide reduced power consumption and faster controls response.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTOL-892. Koike et al. 7,437,865 discloses a similar mowing deck assembly with “controller baffles” (60), as claimed.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the group receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-3600. The fax number for this Group is 571-273-8300.
/Alicia Torres/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671 December 31, 2025