DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 reads “receiver is comprises” and should read –receiver comprises—
Claim 9 read “machine claim 1” and should read --machine of claim 1--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the receiver mount" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "the ground-engaging attachment" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-10, 12, 15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei (US 20200404828 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wei discloses an outdoor power machine, comprising:
a chassis (frame 10) including main frame rails;
two or more drive wheel assemblies physically mounted to the chassis, each drive wheel assembly coupled to an electric motor (a motor group, paragraph 0024);
an electric power pack (a power supply, paragraph 0024) configured to supply electric energy to the electric motors;
one or more steer wheels; and
an electric power takeoff (41, 47, see fig. 3), including:
a receiver (connector 41) attached to the chassis (see fig. 3) and configured to removably connect an accessory; and
an electric receptacle (electrical interface 47) electrically coupled to the electric power pack.
Regarding claim 2, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 1, wherein the receiver (41) is attached to a front axle assembly of the outdoor power machine (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 1, wherein the receiver is disposed in a rear end of the chassis (paragraph 0039).
Regarding claim 4, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 1, wherein the receiver (41) comprises a square tube (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 3, where the receiver includes a pair of coaxial holes (412) for receiving a securing element.
Regarding claim 6, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 3, further comprising a reinforcement bracket extending between the receiver (41) and the front axle assembly (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 1, wherein the electric receptacle (47) is disposed in a front axle assembly of the outdoor power machine (see fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine claim of 1, in combination with an accessory (30) coupled to the receiver (41).
Regarding claim 10, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine claim 8, wherein the accessory (30) is coupled to the receiver (41) and is connected to the electric receptacle (47).
Regarding claim 12, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 8 wherein the accessory (30) includes a receiver mount (42) having a sheet complementary to the receiver (see fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 1, further including a ground- engaging attachment (20) connected to the chassis (10).
Regarding claim 18, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 1, further including a seat for an operator (see fig. 1-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 20200404828 A1) in view of Siudyla (US 9867331 B1).
Regarding claim 7, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 3.
Wei does not disclose a switch controlling operation of the electric receptacle (47).
In the same field of endeavor, Siudyla discloses an electric power pack configured to supply electric energy to electric motors, an electric receptacle coupled to the power pack having a switch (PTO switch 180p, col. 3 lines 25-34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide Wei with a switch controlling operation of the electric receptacle, as disclosed by Siudyla, so an operator may selectively provide power to the electric receptacle.
Claims 11, 13-14, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 20200404828 A1) in view of Conrad (US 20160120131 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 8. Wei discloses that electrical interface (47) provides electrical power to an accessory (30, paragraph 0039).
Wei does not disclose where the accessory includes at least one of an electric motor and an electric actuator.
In the same field of endeavor, Conrad discloses an outdoor power machine (a mower) that carries an accessory (blower 10) including an electric motor (34).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the accessory of Wei with an electric motor, as disclosed by Conrad, as a way of transferring the electric power provided by the interface to the accessory.
Regarding claim 13, Wei, of the resultant combination, discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 11 further comprising a securing element (431) passing through aligned openings in the receiver mount (42) and the receiver (41).
Regarding claim 14, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 9 where the accessory (30) is a blower (paragraph 0003).
Wei does not disclose the blower including at least one electrically-powered fan.
In the same field of endeavor, Conrad discloses an outdoor power machine (a mower) that carries an accessory (blower 10) including an electric fan (22).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the blower of Wei with an electric fan, as disclosed by Conrad, as a way of transferring the electric power provided by the interface to the fan.
Regarding claim 16, Wei, of the resultant combination, discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 14, wherein the ground- engaging attachment is a mowing deck assembly, including:
a mowing deck (20);
an electric blade motor (paragraph 0024); and
a cutting blade coupled to the blade motor (paragraph 0025).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei (US 20200404828 A1) in view of Oswald (US 20140174838 A1).
Regarding claim 17, Wei discloses the outdoor power machine of claim 1.
Wei does not disclose a standing platform for an operator.
In the same field of endeavor, Oswald discloses an outdoor power machine having a standing platform for an operator as an optional alternative to a seat as it is useful or desirable in some contexts or by some operators (paragraph 0003).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide the machine of Wei with a standing platform, as disclosed by Oswald, as a desirable alternative to a seated operator platform.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 4870811 A discloses a mower having a motor that powers a blower accessory.
/M.I.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/JOSEPH M ROCCA/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671