DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the communications filed on 30 December 2025. Claims 1-14 and 16 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No.202141028617, filed on 25 Jun 2012.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 -9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anthony et al. (Hereinafter, Anthony, US 2005/0091596 A1).
Per claim 1, Anthony discloses a computer-implemented method of enabling navigation of a plurality of data items(paragraph [0001], “The invention relates generally to computer generated graphical user interfaces. More specifically, the invention provides systems and methods for enabling a user to more efficiently view, find and select a group of objects in a graphical user interface.”), the method comprising:
grouping the plurality of data items into a plurality of groups(paragraph [0046], “FIG. 6 illustrates a presentation of items in a focal group and various non-focal groups in accordance with one or more aspects of the present invention... “), each data item having a value of a reference parameter and each group of data items comprising data items within a different, non-overlapping range of reference parameter values (paragraph [0052], "In some aspects of the present invention, there may be a categorizer that creates and manages both the focal group and the various non-focal groups. Thus, the categorizer may be used to divide the folder items into the various groups as indicated by the ordering interval of the ordering attribute. The ordering interval, also called a grouping interval, refers to the measurement that is used to divide the data objects displayed in the GUI into groups. For example, in a view that is a timeline, the ordering interval may be years, months, weeks, days, hours, or some other measurement of time ...."; Examiner’s Note: Figure 4 illustrates grouping the plurality of data items into a plurality of groups, each data item having a value of a reference parameter and each group of data items comprising data items within a different, non-overlapping range of reference parameter values.);
defining a focal display area (e.g., focal group 509 as shown in Fig. 6; paragraph [0044], "... This time range is called the focal point 508 or focal point interval. The focal point 508 may represent a point in time or an interval of time on the timeline 500. Items that are within the time range covered by the focal point are collectively called the focal group 509...") and a plurality of subsidiary display areas within a graphical user interface (e.g., non-focal group icons 606b as shown in Fig. 6 paragraph [0044], "...other time intervals on timeline 500 are grouped together in non-focal groups 510..."), the focal display area being configured to display data items from a selected group and having a primary display area having a first set of display parameters (e.g., focal group icons 606a as shown Fig. 6) and secondary display area having a second set of display parameters, wherein the first set of display parameters is different from the second set of display parameters (paragraph [0054], "..the group may be too large to be displayed on the user interface at one time. The categorizer may then split any oversized group into two or more sub groups and change the focal group header label accordingly... If the number of items in the focal group 509 is too large to be displayed at one time, the categorizer may split the focal group 509. The label may be changed to reflect this split. In one embodiment, the respective labels for each subgroup may be "Year1-Year2-Part 1" and "Year1-Year2-Part 2"; paragraph [0072]; Examiner’s Note: As more sub-groups are created, additional labels may be created accordingly." Hence, each subgroup having a specific set of display parameters)., and the subsidiary display areas each being configured to display data items from a different, non-selected group and each subsidiary display area having an associated set of display parameters different from the first set of display parameters (Fig.6 and paragraph [0044], "...items in other time intervals on timeline 500 are grouped together in non-focal groups 510. Some non- focal groups 510 may be located close in time to the focal point 509...");
selecting a group of data items having a range of reference parameter values closest to a focal value(paragraph [0078], “ A user may interact with the histogram 1300 in several ways. Hovering a mouse pointer over a column may cause a tool tip showing the range covered by that column to appear. The format of the tool tip may be based on the histogram interval. The histogram 1300 may also be used to change the focal group. In one embodiment, clicking on a column brings the represented range forward as the focal group in the view. In the case of a dynamic timeline view, clicking a column may cause the system to change the focal group from the current focal group (if different from the newly selected focal group) to the new focal group, optionally using animation as described above. “; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 13 illustrates a histogram 1300 to select a time interval 1306 along timeline. );
sub-dividing the selected group of data items into a plurality of sub-groups, each sub-group comprising data items having a smaller range of reference parameters than the selected group (paragraph [0054], "...subgroups...each subgroup may be "Year1-Year2-Part 1" and "Year1-Year2-Part 2”...");
rendering a sub-group that is closest to the focal value in the primary area, rendering other sub-groups in the one or more secondary areas of the focal display area and rendering a different non-selected group of data items in each of the subsidiary display areas, wherein each data item is rendered according to the set of display parameters for the area in which is rendered (paragraph [0054], Examiner’s Note: Each subgroup is displayed. Hence, subgroup "Year1-Year2-Part 1" may be regarded as ‘the primary area’ and subgroup "Year1-Year2-Part 2” as a "secondary area’); and
in response to receiving a scroll input from a user (paragraph [0080], "scrolling..." and figures 12a,12b):
updating the focal value based on a magnitude of the received scroll input (paragraph [0081]; figures 12a,12b);
in response to the updated focal value being outside of the range of the selected group, selecting a new group of data items based on the updated focal value,
sub-dividing the newly selected group of data items into a plurality of sub-groups, rendering a sub-group that is closest to the focal value in the primary area, rendering other sub-groups in the one or more secondary areas of the focal display area and rendering a different non-selected group of data items in each of the subsidiary display areas(Figures 12a,12b; paragraph [0069]); and
in response to the updated focal value being inside the range of the selected group, rendering a sub-group that is closest to the updated focal value in the primary area, rendering other sub-groups in the one or more secondary areas of the focal display area and leaving the rendering of the non-selected groups of data items unchanged (figures 12a,12b, for the case of displaying subgroups as disclosed in paragraph [0054]; Examiner’s Note: As illustrated in Figs,. 12a and 12b, ‘April’ is moved into the focal group while ‘May’ is moved into the non-focal group .).
Per claim 2, Anthony discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the first set of display parameters defines a first display size and a first level of detail and the second set of display parameters defines a second display size and a second level of detail, wherein the first display size is larger than the second display size and the first level of detail is more detailed than the second level of detail (paragraph [0054]; Figs. 8a and 8b).
Per claim 3, Anthony discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the sets of display parameters associated with the subsidiary display areas each define a display size that is smaller than the first size and a level of detail that is less detailed than the first level of detail(Fig. 4 and paragraph [0044]).
Per claim 4, Anthony discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein the first set of display parameters includes parameters for rendering one or more input controls associated with a data item(paragraph [0042]; paragraph [0049]; Examiner’s Note: Anthony discloses an ordering attribute around which data is primarily sorted or organized at a given time. ).
Per claim 5, Anthony discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising, after updating the focal value: in response to the updated focal value being separated by more than a threshold value from a baseline value: defining a docked display area within the graphical user interface; and rendering a data item having a reference parameter that is closest to the baseline value in the docked display area(Fig. 12b and paragraph [0069]).
Per claim 6, Anthony discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein each group of data items has the same size of range of reference parameter values(Fig. 4, ‘Month’).
Per claim 7, Anthony discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the sizes of the ranges of reference parameter values used to group data items differ between groups of data items(Fig. 4, ‘Month’).
Per claim 8, Anthony discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the ranges of reference parameter values used to group data items is defined relative to the baseline value (paragraph [0049], “The label 604a located in the focal group header 602a may depend on the ordering principle. The label 604a may include the starting point for the focal group interval range on the left side and the end point for the focal group interval range on the right. For example, if the ordering attribute is time and there are files in the folder with a timeline 500 that extends over several years, then the header bar may simply include a starting month and/or year on the left and an ending month and/or year on the right…. “; Examiner’s Note: Anthony discloses using a label 604a such as a ‘month ’for defining the focal group interval range.).
Per claim 9, Anthony discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the ranges of reference parameter values used to group data items is defined in absolute terms(paragraph [0044]; Fig. 4, ‘Month’; Examiner’s Note: Anthony discloses using time intervals (e.g., days, months, years, etc.,) as reference parameter values..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anthony et al. (Hereinafter, Anthony, US 2005/091596 A1, See IDS filed on 07/24/2024 ) in view of Robertson et al. (Hereinafter, Robertson, US 8,225,224 B1 ).
Per claim 10, Anthony discloses the method according to claim 1 and updating the focal value by scrolling(paragraph [0084], “Further, a user may be able to manipulate and control the dynamic timeline view by rotating a scroll wheel on a mouse, keyboard, or other computer input device. For example, backward rotation of the scroll wheel may cause the focal group to shift to the first non-focal group on the left (e.g., backwards in time), and forward rotation of the scroll wheel may cause the focal group to shift to the first non-focal group on the right (e.g., ahead in time).”), but does not expressly wherein updating the focal value based on a magnitude of the received scroll input comprises: updating the focal value based on a magnitude of the received scroll input and on a difference between the focal value and a baseline value.
Robertson discloses wherein updating the focal value based on a magnitude of the received scroll input comprises: updating the focal value based on a magnitude of the received scroll input and on a difference between the focal value and a baseline value (Abstract, “… One aspect defines a central focus area, such that the display objects are displayed and behave as usual. Also included as a periphery outside the focus area where the display objects are reduced in size based on their location, getting smaller as the display objects near an edge of the display surface with many more objects visible. “; column 2, lines 17-21; column 2, lines 55-67 to column 3, lines 1-5).
At the filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Robertson’s user interface in Anthony’s graphical user interface for improving the management of windows and task in a display as suggested by Robertson (column 1, lines 47-54).
Per claim 11, Anthony and Robertson disclose the method according to claim 10, wherein there is a non-linear relationship between a change to the focal value and the difference between the focal value and a baseline value (Robertson, column 10, lines 49--66).
At the filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Robertson’s user interface in Anthony’s graphical user interface for improving the management of windows and task in a display as suggested by Robertson (column 1, lines 47-54).
Per claim 12, Anthony and Robertson disclose the method according to claim 11, wherein a scroll input of a detected magnitude results in a smaller change to the focal value if the focal value is closer to the baseline value than if the focal value of the reference parameter is further from the baseline value(Robertson, Abstract, “… One aspect defines a central focus area, such that the display objects are displayed and behave as usual. Also included as a periphery outside the focus area where the display objects are reduced in size based on their location, getting smaller as the display objects near an edge of the display surface with many more objects visible. “; column 2, lines 17-21; column 2, lines 55-67 to column 3, lines 1-5). Examiner’s Note: Anthony illustrates wherein a scroll input of a detected magnitude results in a smaller change to the focal value if the focal value is closer to the baseline value than if the focal value of the reference parameter is further from the baseline value as shown in Fig. 4 since scrolling ‘March’ into focus would require less scrolling than it would require to scroll ‘January’ in to focus.
.At the filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Robertson’s user interface in Anthony’s graphical user interface for improving the management of windows and task in a display as suggested by Robertson (column 1, lines 47-54).
Per claim 13, Anthony discloses a computer-implemented method of enabling navigation of a plurality of data items paragraph [0001], “The invention relates generally to computer generated graphical user interfaces. More specifically, the invention provides systems and methods for enabling a user to more efficiently view, find and select a group of objects in a graphical user interface.”), the method comprising:
grouping the plurality of data items into a plurality of groups(paragraph [0046], “FIG. 6 illustrates a presentation of items in a focal group and various non-focal groups in accordance with one or more aspects of the present invention... “), each data item having a value of a reference parameter and each group of data items comprising data items within a different, non-overlapping range of reference parameter values (paragraph [0052], "In some aspects of the present invention, there may be a categorizer that creates and manages both the focal group and the various non-focal groups. Thus, the categorizer may be used to divide the folder items into the various groups as indicated by the ordering interval of the ordering attribute. The ordering interval, also called a grouping interval, refers to the measurement that is used to divide the data objects displayed in the GUI into groups. For example, in a view that is a timeline, the ordering interval may be years, months, weeks, days, hours, or some other measurement of time ...."; Examiner’s Note: Figure 4 illustrates grouping the plurality of data items into a plurality of groups, each data item having a value of a reference parameter and each group of data items comprising data items within a different, non-overlapping range of reference parameter values.);
defining a focal display area and a plurality of subsidiary display areas within a graphical user interface (e.g., focal group 509 as shown in Fig. 6; paragraph [0044], "... This time range is called the focal point 508 or focal point interval. The focal point 508 may represent a point in time or an interval of time on the timeline 500. Items that are within the time range covered by the focal point are collectively called the focal group 509..."), the focal display area being configured to display data items from a selected group and having a first set of display parameters and the subsidiary display areas each being configured to display data items from a different, non-selected group and each subsidiary display area having an associated set of display parameters different from the first set of display parameters(paragraph [0052], "In some aspects of the present invention, there may be a categorizer that creates and manages both the focal group and the various non-focal groups. Thus, the categorizer may be used to divide the folder items into the various groups as indicated by the ordering interval of the ordering attribute. The ordering interval, also called a grouping interval, refers to the measurement that is used to divide the data objects displayed in the GUI into groups. For example, in a view that is a timeline, the ordering interval may be years, months, weeks, days, hours, or some other measurement of time ...."; Examiner’s Note: Figure 4 illustrates grouping the plurality of data items into a plurality of groups, each data item having a value of a reference parameter and each group of data items comprising data items within a different, non-overlapping range of reference parameter values.);
selecting a group of data items having a range of reference parameter values closest to a focal value(paragraph [0078], “ A user may interact with the histogram 1300 in several ways. Hovering a mouse pointer over a column may cause a tool tip showing the range covered by that column to appear. The format of the tool tip may be based on the histogram interval. The histogram 1300 may also be used to change the focal group. In one embodiment, clicking on a column brings the represented range forward as the focal group in the view. In the case of a dynamic timeline view, clicking a column may cause the system to change the focal group from the current focal group (if different from the newly selected focal group) to the new focal group, optionally using animation as described above. “; paragraph [0079]; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 13 illustrates a histogram 1300 to select a time interval 1306 along timeline. As noted in paragraph [0079], , “the histogram interval is not necessarily identical to the ordering interval for the dynamic timeline view .“);
rendering the selected group of data items in the focal display area and rendering a different non-selected group of data items in each of the subsidiary display areas, wherein each data item is rendered according to the set of display parameters for the area in which is rendered(paragraph [0054]; Examiner’s Note: Each subgroup is displayed. Hence, subgroup "Year1-Year2-Part 1" may be regarded as ‘the primary area’ and subgroup "Year1-Year2-Part 2” as a "secondary area’);
in response to receiving a scroll input from a user(paragraph [0080], "scrolling..." and figures 12a,12b):
updating the focal value based on a magnitude of the received scroll input(paragraph [0081]; figures 12a,12b; Examiner’s Note: The scroll amount is based on where the user places a jog control along a timeline.);
in response to the updated focal value being outside of the range of the selected group, selecting a new group of data items based on the updated focal value, rendering the selected group of data items in the focal display area and rendering a different non-selected group of data items in each of the subsidiary display areas(paragraph [0060]); but does not expressly disclose:
in response to the updated focal value being separated by more than a threshold value from a baseline value: defining a docked display area within the graphical user interface; and
rendering a data item having a reference parameter that is closest to the baseline value in the docked display area.
Robertson discloses:
in response to the updated focal value being separated by more than a threshold value from a baseline value: defining a docked display area within the graphical user interface (column 6, lines 22-43; column 18,lines 20-49; Examiner’s Note: As illustrated in Fig. 4, items not rendered in focus area 160, are rendered to shrink region 170 in the peripheral region of the display. Examiner is interpreting the edge of focal area 160 ); and
rendering a data item having a reference parameter that is closest to the baseline value in the docked display area (e.g., progressive shrink space or docked display area 170 as shown in Figs. 5-13; Abstract, “…One aspect defines a central focus area, such that the display objects are displayed and behave as usual. Also included as a periphery outside the focus area where the display objects are reduced in size based on their location, getting smaller as the display objects near an edge of the display surface with many more objects visible. “; column 11, line 1-26).
At the filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Robertson’s user interface in Anthony’s graphical user interface for improving the management of windows and task in a display as suggested by Robertson (column 1, lines 47-54).
Per claim 14, claim 14 comprises the same limitations as independent claim 13 above and s rejected under the same rationale. Furthermore, Anthony disclose a system (e.g., computer system 110 as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0034] ) comprising one or more hardware processors (e.g., processing unit 120 as shown in Fig. 1; paragraph [0034]) and memory arranged to store computer executable instructions that, when executed by the one or more hardware processors(e.g., system memory 130 as shown in Fig. 1; paragraphs [0036-0037]), cause the system to perform the method of claim 13.
Per claim 16, Anthony discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instruction thereon, which, when executed by a processing system(e.g., system memory 130 as shown in Fig. 1; paragraphs [0036-0037]), cause the processing system to perform operations comprising:
grouping the plurality of data items into a plurality of groups(paragraph [0046], “FIG. 6 illustrates a presentation of items in a focal group and various non-focal groups in accordance with one or more aspects of the present invention... “), each data item having a value of a reference parameter and each group of data items comprising data items within a different, non-overlapping range of reference parameter values (paragraph [0052], "In some aspects of the present invention, there may be a categorizer that creates and manages both the focal group and the various non-focal groups. Thus, the categorizer may be used to divide the folder items into the various groups as indicated by the ordering interval of the ordering attribute. The ordering interval, also called a grouping interval, refers to the measurement that is used to divide the data objects displayed in the GUI into groups. For example, in a view that is a timeline, the ordering interval may be years, months, weeks, days, hours, or some other measurement of time ...."; Examiner’s Note: Figure 4 illustrates grouping the plurality of data items into a plurality of groups, each data item having a value of a reference parameter and each group of data items comprising data items within a different, non-overlapping range of reference parameter values.);
defining a focal display area and a plurality of subsidiary display areas within a graphical user interface (e.g., focal group 509 as shown in Fig. 6; paragraph [0044], "... This time range is called the focal point 508 or focal point interval. The focal point 508 may represent a point in time or an interval of time on the timeline 500. Items that are within the time range covered by the focal point are collectively called the focal group 509..."), the focal display area being configured to display data items from a selected group and having a first set of display parameters and the subsidiary display areas each being configured to display data items from a different, non-selected group and each subsidiary display area having an associated set of display parameters different from the first set of display parameters(paragraph [0052], "In some aspects of the present invention, there may be a categorizer that creates and manages both the focal group and the various non-focal groups. Thus, the categorizer may be used to divide the folder items into the various groups as indicated by the ordering interval of the ordering attribute. The ordering interval, also called a grouping interval, refers to the measurement that is used to divide the data objects displayed in the GUI into groups. For example, in a view that is a timeline, the ordering interval may be years, months, weeks, days, hours, or some other measurement of time ...."; Examiner’s Note: Figure 4 illustrates grouping the plurality of data items into a plurality of groups, each data item having a value of a reference parameter and each group of data items comprising data items within a different, non-overlapping range of reference parameter values.);
selecting a group of data items having a range of reference parameter values closest to a focal value(paragraph [0078], “ A user may interact with the histogram 1300 in several ways. Hovering a mouse pointer over a column may cause a tool tip showing the range covered by that column to appear. The format of the tool tip may be based on the histogram interval. The histogram 1300 may also be used to change the focal group. In one embodiment, clicking on a column brings the represented range forward as the focal group in the view. In the case of a dynamic timeline view, clicking a column may cause the system to change the focal group from the current focal group (if different from the newly selected focal group) to the new focal group, optionally using animation as described above. “; paragraph [0079]; Examiner’s Note: Fig. 13 illustrates a histogram 1300 to select a time interval 1306 along timeline. As noted in paragraph [0079], , “the histogram interval is not necessarily identical to the ordering interval for the dynamic timeline view .“);
rendering the selected group of data items in the focal display area and rendering a different non-selected group of data items in each of the subsidiary display areas, wherein each data item is rendered according to the set of display parameters for the area in which is rendered(paragraph [0054]; Examiner’s Note: Each subgroup is displayed. Hence, subgroup "Year1-Year2-Part 1" may be regarded as ‘the primary area’ and subgroup "Year1-Year2-Part 2” as a "secondary area’);
in response to receiving a scroll input from a user(paragraph [0080], "scrolling..." and figures 12a,12b):
updating the focal value based on a magnitude of the received scroll input(paragraph [0081]; figures 12a,12b; Examiner’s Note: The scroll amount is based on where the user places a jog control along a timeline.);
in response to the updated focal value being outside of the range of the selected group, selecting a new group of data items based on the updated focal value, rendering the selected group of data items in the focal display area and rendering a different non-selected group of data items in each of the subsidiary display areas(paragraph [0060]); but does not expressly disclose:
in response to the updated focal value being separated by more than a threshold value from a baseline value: defining a docked display area within the graphical user interface; and
rendering a data item having a reference parameter that is closest to the baseline value in the docked display area.
Robertson discloses:
in response to the updated focal value being separated by more than a threshold value from a baseline value: defining a docked display area within the graphical user interface (column 6, lines 22-43; column 18,lines 20-49; Examiner’s Note: As illustrated in Fig. 4, items not rendered in focus area 160, are rendered to shrink region 170 in the peripheral region of the display. Examiner is interpreting the edge of focal area 160 ); and
rendering a data item having a reference parameter that is closest to the baseline value in the docked display area (e.g., progressive shrink space or docked display area 170 as shown in Figs. 5-13; Abstract, “…One aspect defines a central focus area, such that the display objects are displayed and behave as usual. Also included as a periphery outside the focus area where the display objects are reduced in size based on their location, getting smaller as the display objects near an edge of the display surface with many more objects visible. “; column 11, line 1-26).
At the filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use Robertson’s user interface in Anthony’s graphical user interface for improving the management of windows and task in a display as suggested by Robertson (column 1, lines 47-54).www.ya
Response to Arguments
Interview Summary
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s remarks regarding the telephonic interview on December 11, 2025.
The Rejection of Claims Under § 101
Claim 15 has been cancelled. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 15 under 101 is withdrawn.
The Rejection of Claims Under § 102
Applicant's arguments, with regards to claims 1-9, filed 1 August 2006 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pages 7-8 of the Applicant’s Response, applicants argue that Anthony does not disclose the claimed focal display area architecture, since independent claim 1 requires a graphical user interface defining "a focal display area comprising: (a) a primary display area having a first set of display parameters; and (b) one or more
secondary display areas having a second set of display parameters" and the Applicants respectfully note that “Anthony teaches a fundamentally different two-level architecture consisting of focal groups versus non-focal groups.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s arguments, because Anthony discloses “dividing the focal group into a plurality of sub groups and displaying a first subgroup of the plurality of subgroups as the focal group if the icons do not fit within the predetermined amount of the graphical user interface space” (paragraph [0054]). Anthony teaches splitting a focal group that is otherwise too large to be displayed on the user interface at one time into two or more subgroups. Thus, Anthony does suggest an architecture consisting of a focal group having subgroups when the items of a focal group are too large.
In the present application, Applicants also argue, on page 8 of the remarks, that, Examiner’s reliance on Anthony’s subgroup creation is misplace because “Anthony does not teach or suggest that these subgroups are simultaneously displayed within a focal display area comprising both primary and secondary areas, where the closest sub-group receives maximum prominence in the primary area while other sub-groups are simultaneously visible in secondary areas with reduced prominence.”
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., subgroups are simultaneously displayed within a focal display area comprising both primary and secondary areas, where the closest sub-group receives maximum prominence in the primary area while other sub-groups are simultaneously visible in secondary areas with reduced prominence) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicants also argue on page 9,”the claimed three-level display hierarchy is not disclosed by Anthony” and Applicant respectfully notes that Anthony discloses only a two-level hierarchy: focal groups versus non-focal groups.
Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s arguments since the three-level display hierarchy is not defined in the claims. Applicant is arguing with regards to features such as “a focal display area comprising both primary and secondary display areas as distinct structural components” and “simultaneous rendering of multiple sub-groups within different areas of a composite focal display area with graduated levels of prominence”; however, the features are not shown in the claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Gallagher et al. (US 2006/0212833 A1) - Disclosed is a method of displaying a hierarchical file structure.
McKee et al. ( US 2006/0174214 A1) - A system and method for a user interface which allows for the navigation of content in multiple display regions.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DARRIN HOPE
Examiner
Art Unit 2178
/STEPHEN S HONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2178