ETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 2 recites “general formula (A)…” However, the claims also recites “[Chemical Formula 1].” It is unclear if “[Chemical Formula 1]” is the same as “formula (A).”
Claims 3-12 are dependent claims which fail to alleviate the issues above.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8, and 12, are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of copending Application No. 19/515,434 (App. No. 19/515,434).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because App. No. 19/515,434 teaches each and every component and reads upon the claims in an anticipatory manner.
Regarding claims 1-8, and 12, App. No. 19/515,434 teaches a composition comprising a polythiophene having a structural unit of formula (A)
, wherein L is
, (Claims 1-15), which meets the identical claimed formula and thus, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the compound to have the claimed absorbance ratio properties of the claimed invention because Applicant further teaches the same polythiophene will have the claimed absorbance ratio properties. (See examples of specification). See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2018-048322 A to Hirao et al. (hereinafter Hirao).
Regarding claims 1-8, and 12, Hirao teaches a conductive polymer having the formula
, wherein L is –(CH2)n-, wherein n is 0-12, and M1 and M2 is hydrogens or C1-15 alkyl groups (para 11). Specifically, Hirao teaches the polythiophene is obtained by polymerizing a monomer compound with ferric chloride (i.e. oxidizing agent), to form a precipitated solid which is filtered off and dried to give the polythiophene product having the formula
or
(para 132-137 and 144-146), which meets the claimed polythiophene. Hirao further teaches the above polythiophene is used to form a conductive coating by mixing the polythiophene in a solution/dispersion, applied on a substrate and dried, (para 120-122) and used in a solar cell. (para 1).
Regarding the absorbance ratio properties, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the polythiophene of Hirao to have the claimed absorbance ratio properties of the claimed invention because Hirao teaches a substantially identical polythiophene to the claimed invention such as a polythiophene with the formula
and Applicant further teaches the same formula in Example 2 (polythiophene compound 2), will have an absorbance ratio of 2.4. See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Claim(s) 1-12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2020-105500 A to Amaya et al. (hereinafter Amaya).
Regarding claims 1-12, Amaya teaches a conductive polymer having the formula
, wherein L is –(CH2)n-, wherein n is 0-12, and M1 and M2 is hydrogens or C1-15 alkyl groups, and R1A is hydrogen (See abstract and para 10-11). Specifically, Amaya teaches the polythiophene is obtained by polymerizing a monomer compound with ferric p-toluenesulfonate (i.e. oxidizing agent), (para 176), and purified with a chelate compound having a plurality of phosphonic acid groups (-P(=O)(OH)2), (para 150-151), which meets the process cited in claims 9-11). The above polythiophene product has formula
(para 193-194), which meets the claimed polythiophene. Amaya further teaches the above polythiophene is used to form a conductive coating by mixing the polythiophene in a solution/dispersion, applied on a substrate and dried, (para 163-165) and used in a solar cell. (para 1).
Regarding the absorbance ratio properties, one skilled in the art would have a reasonable expectation for the polythiophene of Amaya to have the claimed absorbance ratio properties of the claimed invention because Amaya teaches a substantially identical polythiophene to the claimed invention such as a polythiophene with the formula
and Applicant further teaches the same formula in Example 2 (polythiophene compound 2), will have an absorbance ratio of 2.4. See MPEP 2112.01. (Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)).
Conclusion
/HA S NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766