DETAILED ACTION
1. Claims 18-29, 31-33, 35, and 36 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
3. Claims 18-29, 31-33, 35, and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In regard to claim 18, claim 18 has been amended to recite “receiving a first operation for the first label: and in response to the first operation, displaying a second home screen on the first electronic device, wherein the second home screen comprises at least one icon of at least one shared application installed on both the first and second electronic device, wherein the at least one shared application comprises the first application, and the at least one icon comprises the first icon”. Applicants indicate support for this subject matter is found in Figs. 7(a), 7(b), and 8 and paragraphs 00138-00140, see Remarks dated 11/27/2025. These cited portions do not appear to provide a sufficient description of the claimed subject matter. For example, as shown in Figs. 7(a) and 7(b), when selecting the label, the same interface 710 is displayed. That is, there is no description that suggests displaying a second home screen, as required by the claim. Further, there is nothing in the cited portions that discloses “wherein the second home screen comprises at least one icon of at least one shared application installed on both the first and second electronic device”, as required by the claim. Accordingly, claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In regard to claims 19-29, claims 19-29 depend from claim 18 and are rejected based on their dependency as these claims incorporate the subject matter of claim 18.
Further, with respect to claims 28 and 29, amendments were made to these claims and applicants have provided no indication where support is found for the amendments. Further, the subject matter of these clams is not found to be sufficiently described in the specification in combination with the elements recited in claim 18. Accordingly, claim(s) 28 and 29 further contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In regard to claims 31 and 35, claims 31 and 35 recite similar subject matter as claim 18 and are rejected for similar reasons.
In regard to claims 32, 33, and 36, claims 32, 33, and 36 depend from one of claims 31 and 35 and are rejected based on their dependency as these claims incorporate the subject matter of claims 31 or 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 18, 20, 31, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaygarl et al. (US 2022/0417317 A1) and further in view of Hong et al. (US 2012/0159472 A1).
In regard to claim 18, Jaygarl discloses a method performed by a first electronic device, the method comprising:
connecting the first electronic device to a second electronic device (Paragraph 0024 and Paragraph 0035: device 101 and device 102 are connected);
obtaining information about a first application installed on the second electronic device (Paragraph 0047 lines 1-8: device 101 receiving information about at least one application installed in electronic device 102);
and displaying a first home screen of the first electronic device, wherein the first home screen comprises a first icon of the first application installed on the second electronic device and a second icon of a second application installed on the first electronic device (Fig 6, Paragraph 0115, and Paragraph 0116: screen of device 101 is displayed where icons of application installed on device 101 are displayed and an icon of the first application installed on electronic device 102 is displayed).
While Jaygarl teaches displaying a first home screen of the first electronic device, wherein the first home screen comprises a first icon of the first application installed on the second electronic device and a second icon of a second application installed on the first electronic device, they fail to show the a first label corresponding to the second electronic device: receiving a first operation for the first label: and in response to the first operation, displaying a second home screen on the first electronic device, wherein the second home screen comprises at least one icon of at least one shared application installed on both the first and second electronic device, wherein the at least one shared application comprises the first application, and the at least one icon comprises the first icon, as recited in the claims. Hong teaches a home screen and applications installed on a second device similar to that of Jaygarl. In addition, Hong further teaches
displaying in a homescreen of a first electronic device, a first label corresponding to a second electronic device (Fig 7A elements 701-704 and Paragraph 0144: displaying a tag associated with a second device),
receiving a first operation for the first label (Paragraph 0144: specific tag is selected),
and in response to the first operation, displaying a second home screen on the first electronic device, wherein the second home screen comprises at least one icon of at least one shared application on both the first and second electronic device, wherein the at least one shared application comprises a first application installed on the second electronic device (Paragraph 0144: when specific tag is selected, displaying application icons associated with the corresponding second device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Jaygarl and Hong before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the displaying a first home screen of the first electronic device, wherein the first home screen comprises a first icon of the first application installed on the second electronic device and a second icon of a second application installed on the first electronic device taught by Jaygarl to include the displaying in a homescreen of a first electronic device, a first label corresponding to a second electronic device, receiving a first operation for the first label, and in response to the first operation, displaying a second home screen on the first electronic device, wherein the second home screen comprises at least one icon of at least one shared application on both the first and second electronic device, wherein the at least one shared application comprises a first application installed on the second electronic device of Hong, in order to obtain displaying a first home screen of the first electronic device, wherein the first home screen comprises…a first label corresponding to the second electronic device: receiving a first operation for the first label: and in response to the first operation, displaying a second home screen on the first electronic device, wherein the second home screen comprises at least one icon of at least one shared application installed on both the first and second electronic device, wherein the at least one shared application comprises the first application, and the at least one icon comprises the first icon. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as a user may be informed of the applications set on each of a plurality of devices, as suggested by Hong (Paragraph 0199).
In regard to claim 20, Jaygarl discloses further comprising: receiving a second operation performed on the first icon; and in response to the second operation, obtaining interface information of the first application running on the second electronic device, and displaying an interface of the first application on the first electronic device based on the interface information of the first application (Paragraph 0061 and Paragraph 0062: user selects icon of the first application installed on electronic device 102 which causes device 102 to execute the application and provide device 101 with an execution screen of the application executing on device 102).
In regard to claim 31, device claim 31 corresponds generally to method claim 18 and recites similar features in device form and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
In regard to claim 35, medium claim 35 corresponds generally to method claim 18 and recites similar features in medium form and therefore is rejected under the same rationale.
5. Claim(s) 18, 21, 27-29, 31-33, 35, and 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim (US 2014/0203999 A1) and further in view of Hong et al. (US 2012/0159472 A1).
In regard to claim 18, Shim discloses a method performed by a first electronic device, the method comprising:
connecting the first electronic device to a second electronic device (Paragraph 0068: first and second device connected);
obtaining information about a first application installed on the second electronic device (Paragraph 0031, Paragraph 0071, and Paragraph 0073: first device receives information about layout of icons corresponding to installed application from second device);
and displaying a first home screen of the first electronic device, wherein the first home screen comprises a first icon of the first application installed on the second electronic device, and a second icon of a second application installed on the first electronic device (Paragraph 0045, Paragraph 0071, Paragraph 0079, Paragraph 0082, Paragraph 0085, and Paragraph 0101: first device displays a screen with multiple pages, where each page can contain both applications that are installed on the first device and the second device).
While Shim teaches displaying a first home screen of the first electronic device, wherein the first home screen comprises a first icon of the first application installed on the second electronic device and a second icon of a second application installed on the first electronic device, they fail to show the a first label corresponding to the second electronic device: receiving a first operation for the first label: and in response to the first operation, displaying a second home screen on the first electronic device, wherein the second home screen comprises at least one icon of at least one shared application installed on both the first and second electronic device, wherein the at least one shared application comprises the first application, and the at least one icon comprises the first icon, as recited in the claims. Hong teaches a home screen and applications installed on a second device similar to that of Shim. In addition, Hong further teaches
displaying in a homescreen of a first electronic device, a first label corresponding to a second electronic device (Fig 7A elements 701-704 and Paragraph 0144: displaying a tag associated with a second device),
receiving a first operation for the first label (Paragraph 0144: specific tag is selected),
and in response to the first operation, displaying a second home screen on the first electronic device, wherein the second home screen comprises at least one icon of at least one shared application on both the first and second electronic device, wherein the at least one shared application comprises a first application installed on the second electronic device (Paragraph 0144: when specific tag is selected, displaying application icons associated with the corresponding second device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shim and Hong before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the displaying a first home screen of the first electronic device, wherein the first home screen comprises a first icon of the first application installed on the second electronic device and a second icon of a second application installed on the first electronic device taught by Shim to include the displaying in a homescreen of a first electronic device, a first label corresponding to a second electronic device, receiving a first operation for the first label, and in response to the first operation, displaying a second home screen on the first electronic device, wherein the second home screen comprises at least one icon of at least one shared application on both the first and second electronic device, wherein the at least one shared application comprises a first application installed on the second electronic device of Hong, in order to obtain displaying a first home screen of the first electronic device, wherein the first home screen comprises…a first label corresponding to the second electronic device: receiving a first operation for the first label: and in response to the first operation, displaying a second home screen on the first electronic device, wherein the second home screen comprises at least one icon of at least one shared application installed on both the first and second electronic device, wherein the at least one shared application comprises the first application, and the at least one icon comprises the first icon. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as a user may be informed of the applications set on each of a plurality of devices, as suggested by Hong (Paragraph 0199).
In regard to claim 21, Shim discloses receiving a second operation performed on the first icon, installing the first application on the first electronic device in response to the first second operation, and running the first application and displaying an interface of the first application on the first electronic device (Paragraph 0095: user selects icon to install corresponding application. Inherently, and well-known in the state of the art, an installed application can be run and displayed on the device that it is installed on).
In regard to claim 27, Shim discloses further comprising: displaying a folder on the home screen of the first electronic device, the folder comprising a sixth icon of a fourth application and a seventh icon of a fifth application; wherein the fourth application and the fifth application are installed on the second electronic device; and a fourth icon of the fourth application and a fifth icon of the fifth application are displayed in a same folder of the second electronic device (Paragraph 0042 lines 4-7: the icons include folder icons that include a plurality of icons). Accordingly, the combination further teaches displaying a folder on the second home screen of the first electronic device, the folder comprising a sixth icon of a fourth application and a seventh icon of a fifth application; wherein the fourth application and the fifth application are installed on the second electronic device; and a fourth icon of the fourth application and a fifth icon of the fifth application are displayed in a same folder of the second electronic device. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as a user may be informed of the applications set on each of a plurality of devices, as suggested by Hong (Paragraph 0199).
In regard to claim 28, Shim further discloses wherein a first area of a home screen corresponds to a first page of a third home screen of the second electronic device and a second area of a home screen corresponds to a second page of the third home screen of the second electronic device (Paragraph 0076, Paragraph 0079, Paragraph 0082, Paragraph 0085, and Paragraph 0087: the first device displays two pages of the second device on a single page of the first device). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein a first area of the second home screen corresponds to a first page of a third home screen of the second electronic device and a second area of the second home screen corresponds to a second page of the third home screen of the second electronic device. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as a user may be informed of the applications set on each of a plurality of devices, as suggested by Hong (Paragraph 0199).
In regard to claim 29, Shim discloses wherein: the layout of icons displayed in the first area are same as the layout of icons displayed on the first page of the third home screen of the second electronic device; and the layout of icons displayed in the second area are same as the layout of icons displayed on the second page of the third home screen of the second electronic device (Fig. 6 and Paragraph 0071, Paragraph 0076, and Paragraph 0085: the layout of icons from the second device are the same as when displayed by the first device).
In regard to claims 31-33, device claims 31-33 correspond generally to method claims 18, 28, and 29, respectively, and recite similar features in device form, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
In regard to claims 35 and 36, medium claims 35 and 36 correspond generally to method claims 18 and 28, respectively, and recite similar features in medium form, and therefore are rejected under the same rationale.
6. Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim (US 2014/0203999 A1), Hong et al. (US 2012/0159472 A1), and further in view of Duan et al. (US 2018/0024804 A1).
In regard to claim 19, while Shim teaches the first icon, they fail to show the wherein the first icon comprises a thumbnail of the second electronic device, as recited in the claims. Duan teaches a first icon similar to that of Shim. In addition, Duan further teaches
an icon for application installed on a second electronic device comprises a thumbnail of the second electronic device (Paragraph 0078 and Paragraph 0107 lines 3-6: the obtained desktop drawing file includes a thumbnail of the application for display as the application icon).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shim, Hong, and Duan before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first icon taught by Shim to include an icon for application installed on a second electronic device comprises a thumbnail of the second electronic device of Duan, in order to obtain wherein the first icon comprises a thumbnail of the second electronic device. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as a device updates a desktop (e.g. home screen) of the device according to a shared desktop drawing file, as suggested by Duan (Paragraph 0047).
7. Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim (US 2014/0203999 A1), Hong et al. (US 2012/0159472 A1), and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2014/0351215 A1).
In regard to claim 22, while Shim teaches the first icon and further teaches installing the first application on the first electronic device (Paragraph 0045 and Paragraph 0095), they fail to show the receiving a third operation performed on the first icon; displaying a first list in response to the third operation, the first list comprising a first option; and installing the first application on the first electronic device in response to a fourth operation performed on the first option, as recited in the claims. Xu teaches a first device connected to a second device similar to that of Shim. In addition, Xu further teaches
receiving an operation performed on an application icon, displaying a list with an install option in response to the operation, and installing a corresponding application in response to selecting the install option (Paragraph 0371 lines 1-6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shim, Hong, and Xu before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first icon and installing the first application on the first electronic device taught by Shim to include the receiving an operation performed on an application icon, displaying a list with an install option in response to the operation, and installing a corresponding application in response to selecting the install option of Xu, in order to obtain receiving a third operation performed on the first icon; displaying a first list in response to the third operation, the first list comprising a first option; and installing the first application on the first electronic device in response to a fourth operation performed on the first option. One would have been motivated to make such a combination as a simple substitution to obtain predictable results. Simply substituting Shim’s technique of selecting the icon to install the application with Xu’s technique of utilizing a menu, would predictably result in installing a corresponding application in response to a user’s operation.
In regard to claim 23, while Shim teaches the first icon, the first electronic device, the second electronic device, and the first application, they fail to show the receiving a fifth operation performed on the first icon; displaying a second list in response to the third operation, the second list comprising a second option; and skipping displaying the first icon on the first electronic device or uninstalling the first application installed on the second electronic device in response to a sixth operation performed on the second option, as recited in the claims. Xu teaches a first device connected to a second device similar to that of Shim. In addition, Xu further teaches
receiving an operation performed on an application icon, displaying a list with a delete option in response to the operation, and skipping displaying the application icon in response to an operation performed on the delete option and uninstalling a first application corresponding to the application icon installed on the second electronic device in response to an operation performed on the delete option (Paragraph 0371 lines 1-6, Paragraph 0389, and Claim 21: a delete program option is provided in right-key menu of an icon which causes the BASE terminal (first electronic device) to stop displaying the icon and the PAD terminal (second electronic device) to delete/uninstall the program).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shim, Hong, and Xu before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the first icon, the first electronic device, the second electronic device, and the first application taught by Shim to include the receiving an operation performed on an application icon, displaying a list with a delete option in response to the operation, and skipping displaying the application icon in response to an operation performed on the delete option and uninstalling a first application corresponding to the application icon installed on the second electronic device in response to an operation performed on the delete option of Xu, in order to obtain receiving a fifth operation performed on the first icon; displaying a second list in response to the third operation, the second list comprising a second option; and skipping displaying the first icon on the first electronic device or uninstalling the first application installed on the second electronic device in response to a sixth operation performed on the second option. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as improving user convenience, as suggested by Xu (Paragraph 0031 and Paragraph 0391).
8. Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim (US 2014/0203999 A1), Hong et al. (US 2012/0159472 A1), and further in view of Parry-Barwick et al. (US 11687348 B2).
In regard to claim 24, Shim discloses further comprising: installing a third application on each of the first electronic device and the second electronic device and displaying a third icon of the third application on the home screen of the first electronic device (Paragraph 0045 and Paragraph 0095: application of displayed icon installed on a second device is installed on first device).
While Shim teaches installing a third application on each of the first and second electronic device and displaying a third icon of the third application on the home screen of the first electronic device, they fail to show the displaying a third list in response to a seventh operation performed on the third icon, wherein the third list comprises a third option and a fourth option, the third option providing for opening the third application installed on the first electronic device, and the fourth option providing for opening the third application installed on the second electronic device; upon detection of an eighth operation performed on the third option, running the third application and displaying an interface of the third application on the first electronic device; and upon detection of a ninth operation performed on the fourth option, obtaining interface information of the third application running on the second electronic device, and displaying the interface of the third application on the first electronic device based on the interface information of the third application, as recited in the claims. Parry-Barwick teaches an application on each of a first and second electronic device similar to that of Shim. In addition, Parry-Barwick further teaches
in response to selecting an application, prompting a user with options to run an application locally on a first device and run the application as a RDSH from a second device, and in response to selection of the options, running the application locally on a first device and running the application as a RDSH from a second device (Column 2 lines 37-40, and Column 2 lines 43-58, Column 15 lines 1-5, Column 15 lines 26-28, Column 15 lines 37-39, and Column 15 lines 50-55).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shim, Hong, and Parry-Barwick before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the installing a third application on each of the first and second electronic device and displaying a third icon of the third application on the home screen of the first electronic device taught by Shim to include the in response to selecting an application, prompting a user with options to run an application locally on a first device and run the application as a RDSH from a second device, and in response to selection of the options, running the application locally on a first device and running the application as a RDSH from a second device of Parry-Barwick, in order to obtain displaying a third list in response to a seventh operation performed on the third icon, wherein the third list comprises a third option and a fourth option, the third option providing for opening the third application installed on the first electronic device, and the fourth option providing for opening the third application installed on the second electronic device; upon detection of an eighth operation performed on the third option, running the third application and displaying an interface of the third application on the first electronic device; and upon detection of a ninth operation performed on the fourth option, obtaining interface information of the third application running on the second electronic device, and displaying the interface of the third application on the first electronic device based on the interface information of the third application. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as providing intelligent launch of applications, as suggested by Parry-Barwick (Column 2 lines 18-22).
9. Claim(s) 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shim (US 2014/0203999 A1), Hong et al. (US 2012/0159472 A1), Parry-Barwick et al. (US 11687348 B2), and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2014/0351215 A1).
In regard to claim 25, while Shim, Hong, and Parry-Barwick teach the third list, they fail to show the third list further comprises a fifth option providing for uninstalling the third application, as recited in the claims. Xu teaches a list similar to that of Shim and Parry-Barwick. In addition, Xu further teaches
providing an option for uninstalling an application (Paragraph 0371 lines 1-6, Paragraph 0389, and Claim 21: a delete program option is provided in a menu of an icon which causes the BASE terminal (first electronic device) to stop displaying the icon and the PAD terminal (second electronic device) to delete/uninstall the program).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Shim, Hong, Parry-Barwick, and Xu before him before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the third list taught by Shim, Hong, and Parry-Barwick to include the providing an option for uninstalling an application of Xu, in order to obtain the third list further comprises a fifth option providing for uninstalling the third application. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as improving user convenience, as suggested by Xu (Paragraph 0031 and Paragraph 0391).
In regard to claim 26, Xu further discloses wherein uninstalling an application comprises uninstalling the application installed on a second electronic device (Paragraph 0371 lines 1-6, Paragraph 0389, and Claim 21: a delete program option is provided in a menu of an icon which causes the BASE terminal (first electronic device) to stop displaying the icon and the PAD terminal (second electronic device) to delete/uninstall the program). Accordingly, the combination further teaches wherein uninstalling the third application comprises one of the following: uninstalling the third application installed on the first electronic device; uninstalling the third application installed on the second electronic device; uninstalling the third application installed on the first electronic device and the third application installed on the second electronic device, and skipping displaying the third icon on the first electronic device; uninstalling the third application installed on the first electronic device and displaying the third icon on the first electronic device, the third icon providing for opening the third application installed on the second electronic device; or uninstalling the third application installed on the first electronic device and skipping displaying the third icon on the first electronic device. It would have been advantageous for one to utilize such a combination as improving user convenience, as suggested by Xu (Paragraph 0031 and Paragraph 0391).
Response to Arguments
10. The amendments to claims 27, 28, and 30 have overcome the objections to these claims. Accordingly, the objections to claims 27, 28, and 30 are withdrawn.
11. The amendments to claims 35-37 have overcome the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections of these claims. Accordingly, the 35 U.S.C. 101 rejections of claims 35-37 are withdrawn.
12. The arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of the claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the claim amendments and new grounds of rejections.
The amendments changed the scope of all the pending claims, necessitation new grounds of rejections incorporating newly cited prior art reference Hong et al. (US 2012/0159472 A1).
Conclusion
13. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Nicholas Ulrich/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2179