DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated May 19, 2026.
Status of claims
Claims 1 - 20 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 1 – 15) in the reply filed on May 19, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 16 – 20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 19, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of compound of Example 147:
( specification, page 150) as a songle species of compound of Formula (I) in the reply filed on May 19, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1 – 15 are presently under consideration, as related to elected invention and species (compound of Example 147).
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/JP2022/023210, filed May 27, 2022, and claims the benefit of priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/194,852, filed May 28, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2024, 02/25/2026 and 05/19/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 – 9, 12, 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al (WO 2022/133038 A1, cited in IDS, filed 12/13/2024, hereinafter Wang).
Instant claims are drawn to a compounds of formula (I)
, where X is
,
or
Z is
,
or
; Y is
, Ring Y is unsubstituted or independently substituted by 1 to 4 RY substituents selected from the group consisting of halo, hydroxy, amino, C1-C3 alkyl, C2-C3 alkynyl, and C1-C3 fluoroalkyl; n is 2; m is 0. Instant claims are further drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising compound of formula (I), an additional anticancer agent and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Wang teaches compounds of Formula (I):
(page 16, [0082]), exemplary compounds of Formula (I) are:
,
,
,
,
,
(pages 29 – 56, [00191]). Wang further teaches pharmaceutical composition comprising compound of Formula (I) and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier. The compound of Formula (I) also may be co-administered with other anti-neoplastic compounds (page 56, [00193] and page 62, [00208]).
Thus, Wang teaches compounds exhibiting KRAS inhibitory activity and having a structure identical to instantly claimed compounds encompassed by claims 1, 2, 4 – 9 and 12.
Thus, teachings of Wang anticipate the compounds and composition of instant claims 1, 2, 4 – 9, 12, 14 and 15.
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kawai et al (WO 2021/107160 A1, cited in IDS, filed 12/13/2024, hereinafter Kawai).
The applied reference has a common applicant and/or join inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Instant claims are drawn to a compound of formula (I):
, where X is a 6- to 9-membered monocyclic- or fused bicyclic- or bridged bicyclic- heterocycloalkyl, wherein said heterocycloalkyl is saturated and contains 1 to 2 heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, S, and O, X is unsubstituted or independently substituted by 1 to 4 RX substituents selected from the group consisting of C1-C6 alkyl, carbamoyl, cyano, cyanomethyl, amino, C1-C3 alkoxy and NHC(O)C5-C10heteroaryl; Z is
and P is 5- to 8-membered monocyclic- or fused bicyclic- or bridged bicyclic-heterocycloalkyl, wherein said heterocycloalkyl is saturated and contains 1 to 2 heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N and O; Ring Y is unsubstituted or independently substituted by 1 to 4 RY substituents selected from the group consisting of halo, hydroxy, amino, C1-C3 alkyl, C2-C3 alkynyl, and C1-C3 fluoroalkyl; e.g.: Y is
or
; n is 1 or 2; m is 1.
Kawai teaches compounds of formula (1):
, such as compound:
(page 152, ex. 13).
Thus, Kawai teaches compounds exhibiting KRAS inhibitory activity and having a structure identical to instantly claimed compounds encompassed by claims 1 and 10.
Thus, teachings of Kawai anticipate compounds of instant claims 1 and 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al (WO 2022/133038 A1, cited in IDS, filed 12/13/2024).
Instant claims are drawn to a compound of formula (I):
, where X is
,
or
Z is
,
or
; Y is
, Ring Y is unsubstituted or independently substituted by 1 to 4 RY substituents selected from the group consisting of halo, hydroxy, amino, C1-C3 alkyl, C2-C3 alkynyl, and C1-C3 fluoroalkyl; such as Y is
,
or
; n is 2; m is 0. The exemplary structures are:
,
.
Wang teaches compounds of Formula (I):
(page 16, [0082]), where fragment
is
,
(
) or
, R4, R5 and R6 is hydrogen; A is a
or
optionally substituted with 1 – 4 R1, each R1 is halogen, cyano, hydroxy, C1-C4 alkyl or C1-C3 haloalkyl; B is
,
or
; such as compounds:
,
,
,
,
,
(pages 29 – 56, [00191]). Although exemplary compounds taught by Wang have three substituents in ring A, whereas instantly claimed compounds have two substituents in the same fragment (ring Y), the description of claims allows 1-4 substituents of the same structure in fragment A of Wang and corresponding ring Y of instantly claimed compounds.
Thus, since Wang teaches compounds, where all structural elements are identical to those of instantly claimed compounds, and where compounds taught by prior art are useful for the same purpose (KRAS inhibitors), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to make various known in the art structurally analogous compounds by selecting and combining known variables to arrive at claimed compounds. The one of ordinary skills would be motivated to do so in search of an effective KRAS inhibiting agent with improved desired properties, with the reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 1 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tian et al (WO 2021/219072 A1, cited in IDS, filed 12/13/2024, hereinafter Tian).
Instant claims are drawn to a compound of formula (I):
, where X is a 6- to 9-membered monocyclic- or fused bicyclic- or bridged bicyclic- heterocycloalkyl, wherein said heterocycloalkyl is saturated and contains 1 to 2 heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, S, and O, X is unsubstituted or independently substituted by 1 to 4 RX substituents selected from the group consisting of C1-C6 alkyl, carbamoyl, cyano, cyanomethyl, amino, C1-C3 alkoxy and NHC(O)C5-C10heteroaryl; Z is
,
or
; Y is
, Ring Y is unsubstituted or independently substituted by 1 to 4 RY substituents selected from the group consisting of halo, hydroxy, amino, C1-C3 alkyl, C2-C3 alkynyl, and C1-C3 fluoroalkyl; such as Y is
,
or
; n is 1; m is 0.
Tian teaches compounds of formula (I-3):
(page 8, line 1), where ring W is a 4- to 12-element saturated or partially saturated monocyclic ring or bridged ring; R1 is -L1-T, where L1 is a bond, -O-, -NRaC(O)-, Ra is hydrogen, and T is an alkyl, or heterocyclyl; Q and M is N; L-R2 is
or
; R3 is naphthyl or heteroaryl group, optionally substituted with 1, 2, or 3 substituents e.g.: halogen; cyano; -ORd, where Rd is hydrogen , alkyl or haloalkyl; such as R3 is
or
(see English translation, [0011], [0014], [0016] – [0031]). The compounds taught by Tian have an equivalent or similar structure to instantly claimed compounds, if all the variables as described above.
Thus, since Tian teaches compounds, where all structural elements are identical to those of instantly claimed compounds, and where compounds taught by prior art are useful for the same purpose (KRAS inhibitors), it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to make various known in the art structurally analogous compounds by selecting and combining known variables to arrive at claimed compounds. The one of ordinary skills would be motivated to do so in search of an effective KRAS inhibiting agent with improved desired properties, with the reasonable expectation of success.
Therefore, taking all together, taught by prior art, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 3, 9 – 12 and 14 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 8 - 16, 18 and 19 of copending Application No. 17780597 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are drawn to a compound of formula (I):
, where X is a 6- to 9-membered monocyclic- or fused bicyclic- or bridged bicyclic- heterocycloalkyl, wherein said heterocycloalkyl is saturated and contains 1 to 2 heteroatoms selected from the group consisting of N, S, and O, X is unsubstituted or independently substituted by 1 to 4 RX substituents selected from the group consisting of C1-C6 alkyl, carbamoyl, cyano, cyanomethyl, amino, C1-C3 alkoxy and NHC(O)C5-C10heteroaryl; Z is
,
or
; Y is
, Ring Y is unsubstituted or independently substituted by 1 to 4 RY substituents selected from the group consisting of halo, hydroxy, amino, C1-C3 alkyl, C2-C3 alkynyl, and C1-C3 fluoroalkyl; such as Y is
,
or
; n is 1 or 2; m is 0 or 1. Instant claims are further drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising compound of formula (I) and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Claims of copending application are directed to a compound of formula:
, such as compound:
(specification, page 149, ex. 7) or
(specification page 158, ex. 31). Claims of copending application are further directed to a pharmaceutical composition comprising compound of formula (1) and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier.
Thus, copending application discloses compounds of identical or similar structure to instantly claimed compounds.
Thus, compounds disclosed in copending application would anticipate instantly claimed compounds.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1 – 15 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
/E.V.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/SAVITHA M RAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691