DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994)
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 63194496 fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application: claims 3, 12 and 17. Accordingly, claims 3, 12 and 17 are not entitled to the benefit of the prior application No. 63194496.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are:
"control system" in claims 1, 3 and 5.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Artinian US 20180179867 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Artinian teaches a resource extraction system (Figs. 1, 2A & 3A), comprising:
a compressor and turbine system configured to extract a resource from a reservoir via a well (Figs. 1, 2A & 3A [0051] [0062] – [[0064] well system 100 & 300 including electric machine coupled to surface compressor or blower system acting as motor i.e. “compressor” and as “generator” i.e. “turbine”); and
a control system (Fig. 3A [0072] controller) configured to:
operate the resource extraction system in a first operating mode in response to determining a pressure of the resource exceeds a threshold pressure, wherein the control system is configured to operate the compressor and turbine system as a turbine to reduce the pressure of the resource and generate electrical energy in the first operating mode ([0081] –[0083] when the pressure is equal or above a threshold, the surface compressor and the blower provide energy to the electric machine to generator power i.e. “first operating mode”); and
operate the resource extraction system in a second operating mode in response to determining the pressure of the resource is below the threshold pressure, wherein the control system is configured to operate the compressor and turbine system as a compressor to increase the pressure of the resource in the second operating mode ([0081] –[0083] when the pressure drops below a threshold that is insufficient to produce production fluids unassisted, each electric machine operates in motor mode to power the surface compressor and the blower i.e. “second operating mode operating mode”).
Regarding claim 2, Artinian further teaches a generator coupled to the compressor and turbine system via a shaft, wherein the compressor and turbine system is configured to receive a flow of the resource, the flow of the resource drives rotation of the compressor and turbine system in the first operating mode, and the rotation of the compressor and turbine system drives rotation of the generator via the shaft to cause the generator to generate the electrical energy ([0024] the electric machine conned to the compressor or blower through a shaft).
Regarding claim 4, Artinian further teaches a motor coupled to the compressor and turbine system via a shaft, wherein the control system is configured to operate the motor to drive rotation of the compressor and turbine system via the shaft in the second operating mode to increase the pressure of the resource flow ([0024] the electric machine conned to the compressor or blower through a shaft; [0106] in motor mode to operate the blower or compressor to increase the pressure, electrical current is provide to the electric machine to apply driving torques to the electric rotor to increase the pressure).
Regarding claim 5, Artinian further teaches the control system is configured to operate the motor based on a target pressure of the flow of the resource to drive rotation of the compressor in the second operating mode and increase the pressure of the flow of the resource toward the target pressure ([0081] –[0083] when the pressure drops below a threshold that is insufficient to produce production fluids unassisted, each electric machine operates in motor mode to power the surface compressor and the blower to increase the pressure to the threshold).
Regarding claim 6, Artinian further teaches the compressor and turbine system are positioned at a sea floor, in the well, on a dry land surface, at an offshore system, or any combination thereof (Fig. 1 [0051] the compressor and/or blower with electric machines on a dry land surface, in the well).
Regarding claim 7, Artinian further teaches the compressor and turbine system comprise a reversible compressor/turbine (Fig. 7 [0103] integrated blower and electric machine).
Regarding claim 8, it is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions of carrying out the system with similar limitations as set forth in claim 1. Since Artinian teaches the claimed system, he teaches the instructions for implementing the system.
Artinian further teaches the processing circuitry (Fig. 3A [0072] controller).
Regarding claim 9, Artinian further teaches operate a combined motor and generator of the resource extraction system to apply a resistive torque in the first operating mode of the resource extraction system to enable the resource flow to drive rotation of the turbine to generate the electrical energy; and operate the combined motor and generator to apply a driving torque in the second operating mode of the resource extraction system to drive rotation of the compressor to increase the pressure of the resource flow ([0106] in generator mode, the electric machine receive input torque from the fluid flow to against the resistive torque applied by the electric machine to rotate the rotor to generate electrical current; in motor mode to operate the blower or compressor to increase the pressure, electrical current is provide to the electric machine to apply driving torques to the electric rotor to increase the pressure).
Regarding claim 10, Artinian further teaches the resource extraction system comprises a reversible compressor/turbine, and the instructions, when executed by the processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to operate the reversible compressor/turbine as the turbine in the first operating mode of the resource extraction system and as the compressor in the second operating mode of the resource extraction system (Fig. 7 [0103] the integrated blower and electric machine switch from motor mode and generator mode).
Regarding claim 11, Artinian further teaches receive data from a sensor, wherein the data comprises the pressure of resource flow in a well through which the resource flow is directed for extraction via the resource extraction system ([0072] one or more sensors, including sensing pressure).
Regarding claim 13, Artinian further teaches operate a motor to adjust a driving torque applied to the compressor to adjust pressurization of the resource flow via the compressor in the second operating mode ([0106] in motor mode to operate the blower or compressor to increase the pressure, electrical current is provide to the electric machine to apply driving torques to the electric rotor to increase the pressure).
Regarding claim 14, it is directed to a system of carrying out the resource extraction system with similar limitations as set forth in claim 1. Since Artinian teaches the claimed the resource extraction system, he teaches the system for implementing the resource extraction system.
Artinian further teaches:
operate the compressor and turbine system to enable the resource flow to drive rotation of the compressor and turbine system to reduce a pressure of the resource flow and generate electrical energy via the rotation of the compressor and turbine system in response to determining the pressure of the resource flow exceeds a threshold pressure ([0081] –[0083] when the pressure is equal or above a threshold, the surface compressor and the blower provide energy to the electric machine to generator power; [0106] in generator mode, the electric machine receive input torque from the fluid flow to against the resistive torque applied by the electric machine to rotate the rotor to generate electrical current, the brake torque applied to the fluid flow by the electric machine in generator mode reduce the output pressure); and
operate the compressor and turbine system to pressurize the resource flow in response to determining the pressure of the resource flow is below the threshold pressure ([0081] - [0083] when the pressure drops below a threshold that is insufficient to produce production fluids unassisted, each electric machine operates in motor mode to power the surface compressor and the blower).
Regarding claim 15, Artinian further teaches a pipeline system configured to receive the resource flow from the compressor and turbine system and direct the resource flow, wherein the pipeline system is configured to consume the electrical energy generated via the rotation of the compressor and turbine system (Fig. 1 [0053] the tubing system).
Regarding claim 19, Artinian further teaches a connector electrically coupling the compressor and turbine system to a power system, wherein the compressor and turbine system is configured to distribute the electrical energy generated by the compressor and the turbine system to the power system via the connector, and the compressor and turbine system is configured to receive additional electrical energy from the power system via the connector to pressurize the resource flow ([0106] the cable connected to a control circuit located at a topside facility).
Regarding claim 20, Artinian further teaches:
an additional compressor and turbine system configured to receive an additional resource flow from an additional reservoir ([0005] system including multiple blower systems disposed in corresponding multiple wells, and the controller coupled to the multiple blower systems to perform all the functions for each blower system, including the functions described in claim 14), wherein the control system is configured to:
operate the additional compressor and turbine system to enable the additional resource flow to drive rotation of the additional compressor and turbine system to reduce an additional pressure of the additional resource flow and generate additional electrical energy via the rotation of the additional compressor and turbine system in response to determining the additional pressure of the additional resource flow exceeds an additional threshold pressure; and operate the additional compressor and turbine system to pressurize the additional resource flow in response to determining the additional pressure of the additional resource flow is below the additional threshold pressure reservoir ([0005] system including multiple blower systems disposed in corresponding multiple wells, and the controller coupled to the multiple blower systems to perform all the functions for each blower system, including the functions described in claim 14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Artinian as applied to claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-15 and 19-20 above, in view of Ruiz US 20140236367 A1.
Regarding claim 3, Artinian does not further teaches cause the generator to adjust a resistive torque applied to the turbine based on a target pressure of the flow of the resource to impart a flow resistance onto the flow of the resource via the turbine in the first operating mode and reduce the pressure of the flow of the resource toward the target pressure.
Ruiz explicitly teaches in an analogous art that cause the generator to adjust a resistive torque applied to the turbine based on a target pressure of the flow of the resource to impart a flow resistance onto the flow of the resource via the turbine in the first operating mode and reduce the pressure of the flow of the resource toward the target pressure ([0017] adjust resistant torque of generator to apply braking torque which impact the flow and reduce the pressure to maintain stable pressure set-point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Artinian to incorporate the teachings of Ruiz, because they all directed to fluid system control, to make the system wherein the control information is acquired by a control information acquisition unit from a storage unit the control information is acquired by a control information acquisition unit from a storage unit. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to maintain a stable set-point pressure, as Ruiz teaches in [0017].
Regarding claim 12, Ruiz further teaches operate a generator to adjust a resistive torque applied to the turbine to adjust a flow resistance imparted onto the resource flow via the turbine and adjust a pressure reduction of the resource flow in the first operating mode ([0017] adjust resistant torque of generator to apply braking torque which impact the flow and reduce the pressure to maintain stable pressure set-point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Artinian to incorporate the teachings of Ruiz, because they all directed to fluid system control, to make the non-transitory computer-readable medium wherein operate a generator to adjust a resistive torque applied to the turbine to adjust a flow resistance imparted onto the resource flow via the turbine and adjust a pressure reduction of the resource flow in the first operating mode. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to maintain a stable set-point pressure, as Ruiz teaches in [0017].
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Artinian as applied to claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-15 and 19-20 above, in view of VAN HIJFTE WO 2022010344 A1.
Regarding claim 16, Artinian further teaches:
operate the turbine to reduce the pressure of the resource flow and suspend operation of the compressor in response to determining the pressure of the resource flow exceeds the threshold pressure ([0106] in generator mode, the electric machine receive input torque from the fluid flow to against the resistive torque applied by the electric machine to rotate the rotor to generate electrical current, the brake torque applied to the fluid flow by the electric machine in generator mode reduce the output pressure); and
operate the compressor to pressurize the resource flow and suspend operation of the turbine in response to determining the pressure of the resource flow is below the threshold pressure ([0081] - [0083] when the pressure drops below a threshold that is insufficient to produce production fluids unassisted, each electric machine switches from generator mode to operate in motor mode to power the surface compressor and the blower i.e. “suspend the operation of the turbine”).
Artinian does not further teaches the compressor and turbine system comprises a separate compressor and turbine.
VAN HIJFTE explicitly teaches in an analogous art that the compressor and turbine system comprises a separate compressor and turbine (page 3 paragraph 9, separate compressor, separate turbine and electric generator, or single reversible compressor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Artinian to incorporate the teachings of VAN HIJFTE, because they all directed to fluid system control, to make the system wherein the compressor and turbine system comprises a separate compressor and turbine. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to recover the energy, as VAN HIJFTE teaches in page 2 paragraph 4 from the bottom.
Regarding claim 17, Artinian further teaches the compressor and turbine system is configured to receive the resource flow from the reservoir via a well, the system comprises a conduit system fluidly coupling the well to the compressor and turbine system (Fig. 1 [0051]).
VAN HIJFTE further teaches operate the conduit system to adjust a first valve to a closed position to block the resource flow to the compressor and adjust a second valve to an open position to enable the resource flow to the turbine in response to determining the pressure of the resource flow exceeds the threshold pressure; and operate the conduit system to adjust the first valve to an open position to enable the resource flow to the compressor and adjust the second valve to a closed position to block the resource flow to the turbine in response to determining the pressure of the resource flow is below the threshold pressure (Fig. 2, page 5 last three paragraph, corresponding valves are turned on or off according the compressor mode or turbine mode to direct the flow to compressor or turbine).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Artinian to incorporate the teachings of VAN HIJFTE, because they all directed to fluid system control, to make the system wherein operate the conduit system to adjust a first valve to a closed position to block the resource flow to the compressor and adjust a second valve to an open position to enable the resource flow to the turbine in response to determining the pressure of the resource flow exceeds the threshold pressure; and operate the conduit system to adjust the first valve to an open position to enable the resource flow to the compressor and adjust the second valve to a closed position to block the resource flow to the turbine in response to determining the pressure of the resource flow is below the threshold pressure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification so as to recover the energy, as VAN HIJFTE teaches in page 2 paragraph 4 from the bottom.
Regarding claim 18, Artinian further teaches a generator coupled to the turbine via a first shaft and a motor coupled to the compressor via a second shaft ([0024] the electric machine connected to the compressor or blower through a shaft), wherein the control system is configured to:
operate the generator to enable the turbine to rotate via the resource flow to impart a resistance onto the resource flow and reduce the pressure of the resource flow, while generating the electrical energy via the rotation of the turbine ([0081] –[0083] when the pressure is equal or above a threshold, the surface compressor and the blower provide energy to the electric machine to generator power; [0106] in generator mode, the electric machine receive input torque from the fluid flow to against the resistive torque applied by the electric machine to rotate the rotor to generate electrical current, the brake torque applied to the fluid flow by the electric machine in generator mode reduce the output pressure); and
operate the motor to drive rotation of the compressor to pressurize the resource flow in response to determining the pressure of the resource flow is below the threshold pressure ([0081] - [0083] when the pressure drops below a threshold that is insufficient to produce production fluids unassisted, each electric machine operates in motor mode to power the surface compressor and the blower).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
LAUGHLIN WO 2021158639 A1 teaches reversible turbine compressor and separate turbine and compressor.
/M.T./ Examiner, Art Unit 2115
/KAMINI S SHAH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2115