DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the longitudinal direction" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the length" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 9, 10, 15-17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webasto (WO 2020/015907; applicant cited) in view of Volkswagen (DE 1480500; applicant cited).
Regarding Claim 1, Webasto discloses a fixed roof element for a vehicle roof, said fixed roof element comprising; a panel 14 to the underside of which at least one guide rail 24A (Fig. 2a, 2b) of a shading system 16 is joined via a plastic molded portion 26A, wherein the plastic molded portion 26A receives a clamping unit 32, which keeps the guide rail 24A at the panel. It is unclear if Webasto discloses the use of an insert molded part in the clamping unit. Volkswagen discloses a roof structure including a molded part 3, 5 for the blind cover 1, wherein the molded plastic part 3, 5 includes a clamping unit 3 formed by an insert molded part 3a (Fig. 3a). Before the effective filing date of the present application, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to use the insert molded part of Volkswagen in the clamping unit of Webasto in order to increase the effective clamping force of the part to further increase the retention of the guide rail to the roof system.
Regarding Claim 2, Volkswagen discloses that the clamping unit 3a includes a plate portion (Fig. 3a; upright parallel portions are plate like) and an angled portion (rounded bottom connecting the plate like portions) which is resilient and acts on a flank.
Regarding claim 3, Volkswagen discloses that the clamping element 3a includes two angled portions (platelike portions are angled to the main curved bottom) on opposite sides.
Regarding Claim 9, the plastic molded portion of Webasto 26A at least widely extends over the length of the guide rail 24A and in that the guide rail rests against segments of the plastic molded portion (Fig. 2a).
Regarding Claim 10, the guide rail of Webasto 26A has a fixing unit to keep it to the panel (guide rail is fixed via foam through a foaming process to the panel; page4, lines 24-26).
Regarding Claim 15, the guide rail of Webasto 24A has an elastic locking rib 34.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Webasto and Volkswagen discloses a panel 14 to the underside of which at least one element of a shading system (Webasto; 16) is joined via a plastic molded portion (Webasto; 26A), wherein the plastic molded portion receives a support component (Webasto; 24A) at which the element of the shading system is locked and which is an insert part (Volkswagen; 3a) of the plastic molded portion.
Regarding Claim 17, Webasto includes that the support component 24A has a supporting surface on which the shading element 18 rests (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 19, Webasto discloses that the support component 24A has an anchor geometry 34.
Regarding Claim 20, the shading system of Webasto 16 includes a bearing unit for a winding shaft of a roller blind 18.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8, 11-14 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 4, the use of two angled portions being offset from each other in a longitudinal direction of the guide rail, is novel.
Regarding Claim 5, the angled portions having a length of 10mm to 30 mm in the longitudinal direction of the guide rail, is novel.
Regarding Claim 6, the use of multiple clamping elements spaced apart from each other in the longitudinal direction of the guide rail and being spaced by 150mm to 300mm, is novel.
Regarding Claim 7, the guide rail being an extruded part with the clamping unit being insert extruded within it, and the direction being determined by the clamping unit, is novel.
Regarding Claim 8, the guide rail having a trapezoidal cross section in the area of the insert clamping element, is novel.
Regarding Claims 11-14, the clamping unit comprising a plastic element as the insert, with formed clamping ribs thereon to which the guide rial is locked, is novel.
Regarding Claim 18, the support component having a locking geometry into which the element of the shading system reaches from below with a locking counter-geometry, is novel.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited art relates to roof structures, sunroof structures and their associated covers.
/JASON S DANIELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3612