DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 4-5, 8-9, 13-14, and 17-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 10-12, and 15-16 are examined herein.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 7/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/10/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of sequences related to 43e DMAb-4 (Table 7) comprising: a) A variable heavy chain amino acid sequence comprising at least 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 58; b) A heavy chain nucleotide sequence at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 57; c) A light chain nucleotide sequence at least 90% identical to SEQ ID NO: 67; and d) A variable light chain amino acid sequence comprising at least 95% identity to SEQ ID NO: 68 in the reply filed on 7/10/2026 is acknowledged.
Species other than those listed above are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 7/10/2026. The election of SEQ ID NO: 58 reads on claims 2 and 11, SEQ ID NO: 57 reads on claims 3 and 12, SEQ ID NO: 68 reads on claims 6 and 15, and SEQ ID NO: 67 reads on claims 7 and 16. Accordingly, claims 4-5, 8-9, 13-14, and 17-18 are withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3 and 6-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 1, reciting the term “sequence” in line 1 is grammatically incorrect and should be recited in the plural as “sequences” or “sequence(s)”;
claims 2-3 and 6-7 require the same correction for the term “sequence”; and
claim 1, reciting the term “polypeptide” in line 2 is grammatically incorrect and should be recited in the plural as “polypeptides” or “polypeptide(s)”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 10-11, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Seder et al. (US20190375831A1; published 12/12/2019; Cite No. 1 in the IDS filed 7/9/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Seder teaches nucleic acid molecules encoding a heavy chain polypeptide of an anti-Plasmodium circumsporozoite protein (CSP) antibody and a light chain polypeptide of an anti-Plasmodium CSP antibody (claims 1, 16; entire document).
Regarding claim 2, Seder teaches SEQ ID NO: 11 with 98.9% sequence identity to Applicant’s elected SEQ ID NO: 58 encoding variable heavy chain region CIS43 VH-2 (para 0006; see below).
(Qy: Applicant’s elected SEQ ID NO: 58)
Qy 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKVSCKASGYTFTSYAIHWVRQAPGQRLEWMGWIKAGNGNTRY 60
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 1 QVQLVQSGAEVKKPGASVKVSCKASGYTFTSYAIHWVRQAPGQRLEWMGWIKAGNGNTRY 60
Qy 61 SQKFQDRVTITRDTSASTAYMELSSLRSEDTAVYYCALLTVLTPDDAFDIWGQGTMVTVS 120
||||||||||||||| :|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 SQKFQDRVTITRDTSTTTAYMELSSLRSEDTAVYYCALLTVLTPDDAFDIWGQGTMVTVS 120
Qy 121 S 121
|
Db 121 S 121
(Db: Seder’s SEQ ID NO: 11)
Regarding claim 6, Seder teaches SEQ ID NO: 2 comprising 99% sequence identity to Applicant’s elected SEQ ID NO: 68 encoding variable light chain region CIS43 VL-2 (see below).
(Qy: Applicant’s elected SEQ ID NO: 68)
Qy 1 DIVMTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCKSSQSVLYSSNNKNYLAWYQQKPGQPPKLLIYWASTR 60
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |
Db 1 DIVMTQSPDSLAVSLGERATINCKSSQSVLYSSNNKNYLAWYQQKPGQPPKLLIYWASIR 60
Qy 61 ESGVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCHQYYSSPLTFGGGTKVEIK 113
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ESGVPDRFSGSGSGTDFTLTISSLQAEDVAVYYCHQYYSSPLTFGGGTKVEIK 113
(Db: Seder’s SEQ ID NO: 2)
Regarding claim 10, Seder teaches compositions comprising at least two nucleic acid molecules encoding at least one nucleic acid encoding a heavy chain polypeptide of an anti-Plasmodium circumsporozoite protein (CSP) antibody and at least one nucleic acid encoding a light chain polypeptide of an anti-Plasmodium CSP antibody (claims 1, 16; paras 0007-0008).
Regarding claim 11, Seder teaches SEQ ID NO: 11 with 98.9% sequence identity to Applicant’s elected SEQ ID NO: 58 encoding a variable heavy chain region (see claim 2 details above).
Regarding claim 15, Seder teaches SEQ ID NO: 2 comprising 99% sequence identity to Applicant’s elected SEQ ID NO: 68 encoding variable light chain region CIS43 VL-2 (see claim 6 details above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7, 12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seder et al. (US20190375831A1; published 12/12/2019; Cite No. 1 in the IDS filed 7/9/2026) as applied to claims 1-2, 6, 10-11, and 15 above.
The teachings of Seder are discussed above and applied to claims 3, 7, 12, and 16 as they have been applied to claims 1-2, 6, 10-11, and 15.
However, Seder does not specifically teach anti-Plasmodium CSP antibodies encoding by the nucleotide sequences of SEQ ID NOs: 57 and 67.
Regarding claims 3, 7, 12, and 16, Seder teaches several embodiments of CIS43 CSP antibodies and further teaches codon-optimizing for expression in mammalians and other host species (paras 0006-0011, 0196, 0208-0212).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified optimize the nucleic acid sequences encoding the anti-Plasmodium CSP antibodies of Seder to arrive at the claimed SEQ ID NOs: 57 and 67 because Seder teaches amino acid sequences having 98.9% and 99% identity to the corresponding amino acid sequence (SEQ ID NOs: 58 and 68, respectively). It would have been obvious to try different nucleotide sequence encoding the amino acid sequences taught. Given the finite number of codons per amino acid and the high sequence identity of Seder’s amino acid sequences, there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions. One would have had a reasonable expectation of success because Seder teaches several embodiments of anti-Plasmodium CSP antibodies in multiple species.
Thus, the claimed invention as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Allowable Subject Matter
SEQ ID NO: 57, a nucleotide sequence encoding a variable heavy chain polypeptide (CIS43 VH-2, Table 7 of the Specification), appears to be free of the prior art. Seder (US20190375831A1; see above) teaches SEQ ID NO: 59 with 69.6% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 57 (see below).
Query Match 69.6%; Score 252.8; Length 1353; Best Local Similarity 81.4%;
Matches 293; Conservative 0; Mismatches 67; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
(Qy: Applicant’s SEQ ID NO: 57)
Qy 1 CAGGTGCAGCTGGTGCAGTCAGGGGCCGAGGTGAAGAAGCCCGGCGCCTCTGTGAAGGTG 60
||||||||||| |||||||| ||||| |||||||||||||| || ||||| ||||||||
Db 1 CAGGTGCAGCTTGTGCAGTCTGGGGCTGAGGTGAAGAAGCCTGGGGCCTCAGTGAAGGTT 60
Qy 61 AGCTGCAAGGCCTCCGGCTACACCTTCACAAGCTATGCCATCCACTGGGTGCGGCAGGCA 120
|||||||||||| || ||||||||||| || ||||| || || |||||||| |||||
Db 61 TCCTGCAAGGCCTCTGGATACACCTTCACTAGTTATGCTATACATTGGGTGCGCCAGGCC 120
Qy 121 CCTGGACAGCGCCTGGAGTGGATGGGCTGGATCAAGGCCGGCAACGGCAATACCAGGTAC 180
|| ||||| | || ||||||||||| ||||||||||| ||||| || ||||| || ||
Db 121 CCCGGACAAAGGCTTGAGTGGATGGGGTGGATCAAGGCTGGCAATGGTAATACAAGATAT 180
Qy 181 AGCCAGAAGTTTCAGGACAGGGTGACCATCACAAGAGATACCTCCGCCTCTACAGCCTAT 240
|||||||| |||||||| || ||||| || || || || ||| | | ||||||||
Db 181 TCACAGAAGTTCCAGGACAGAGTCACCATTACCAGGGACACATCCACGACCACAGCCTAC 240
Qy 241 ATGGAGCTGAGCTCCCTGAGATCCGAGGACACAGCCGTGTACTATTGCGCCCTGCTGACC 300
|||||||||||| ||||||||| || ||||| || ||||| || || ||||| || ||
Db 241 ATGGAGCTGAGCAGCCTGAGATCTGAAGACACGGCTGTGTATTACTGTGCCCTACTTACG 300
Qy 301 GTGCTGACACCTGACGATGCCTTCGATATCTGGGGCCAGGGCACCATGGTGACAGTGTCT 360
||||| || ||||| ||||| || ||||||||||||||||| |||||||| || || |||
Db 301 GTGCTAACTCCTGATGATGCTTTTGATATCTGGGGCCAGGGGACCATGGTCACCGTCTCT 360
(DB: Seder’s SEQ ID NO: 59)
SEQ ID NO: 67, a nucleotide sequence encoding a variable light chain polypeptide (CIS43 VL-2, Table 7 of the Specification), appears to be free of the prior art. Bu et al. (US20200190168A1; published 6/18/2020) teaches SEQ ID NO: 237 with 69.6% sequence identity to instant SEQ ID NO: 67 (see below).
Query Match 79.2%; Score 268.6; Length 339;Best Local Similarity 7.0%; Matches 295; Conservative 0; Mismatches 44; Indels 0; Gaps 0;
(Qy: Applicant’s SEQ ID NO: 67)
Qy 1 GACATTGTGATGACCCAGAGCCCCGACAGCCTGGCCGTGTCCCTGGGAGAGAGGGCAACC 60
||||| |||||||||||||||||||| |||||||||||| |||||||||||||||||
Db 1 GACATCGTGATGACCCAGAGCCCCGATTCCCTGGCCGTGTCTCTGGGAGAGAGGGCAACA 60
Qy 61 ATCAACTGCAAGAGCTCCCAGTCTGTGCTGTACTCTAGCAACAATAAGAATTACCTGGCC 120
|||||||| |||||||||||| | |||||||| | |||| ||||||||||||||||
Db 61 ATCAACTGTAAGAGCTCCCAGACCCTGCTGTACACATCCAACTCTAAGAATTACCTGGCC 120
Qy 121 TGGTATCAGCAGAAGCCCGGCCAGCCCCCTAAGCTGCTGATCTATTGGGCATCTACCAGG 180
|||||||||||||| || ||||| |||| |||||||||||||||||| |||||||||
Db 121 TGGTATCAGCAGAAAGTGGGACAGCCACCTAGGCTGCTGATCTATTGGGCCTCTACCAGG 180
Qy 181 GAGAGCGGAGTGCCTGACAGATTCTCCGGCTCTGGCAGCGGCACAGACTTCACCCTGACA 240
|||||||| ||||| ||||||||| |||||| ||| |||||||||||||||||||||
Db 181 GAGAGCGGCGTGCCAGACAGATTCAGCGGCTCCGGCTCTGGCACAGACTTCACCCTGACA 240
Qy 241 ATCTCCTCTCTGCAGGCCGAGGACGTGGCCGTGTACTATTGCCACCAGTACTACAGCAGC 300
||||| |||| |||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| |||||||| | ||
Db 241 ATCTCTAGCCTGCTGGCCGAGGACGTGGCCGTGTACTATTGCCAGCAGTACTATACCACA 300
Qy 301 CCCCTGACCTTCGGCGGCGGCACAAAGGTGGAGATCAAG 339
||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||| | |||
Db 301 CCCCTGACCTTCGGCGGCGGCACAAAGGTGGAGGTGAAG 339
(DB: Bu’s SEQ ID NO: 237)
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/KHALEDA B HASAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1636
/NEIL P HAMMELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1636