DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-13, 15-18, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Conway (USPGPUB 2020/0090114).
Regarding claim 1, Conway discloses a gravity-feed dispensing system comprising:
a hopper (12) configured to hold a bulk material for dispense, the hopper comprising a hopper identifier (28 or 28b), the hopper identifier (28 or 28b) encoding an identification of the bulk material in the hopper (see paragraph [0115]);
a gravity feed dispenser (24) comprising a valve (70) operable by an actuator assembly (26) between open and closed conditions to selectively permit bulk material to pass from the hopper into a consumer receptacle (see paragraph [0122]);
a controller (202) configured to receive an indication of a dispense of bulk material from the hopper and configured to receive the identification of the bulk material in the hopper (see paragraph [0142]); and
a retail endpoint (16) configured to receive the indication of a dispense and the identification of the bulk material in the hopper and configured produce a sale indicator (see “a label” in paragraph [0142]) from the indication of the dispense and the identification of the bulk material in the hopper (see paragraph [0142]).
Regarding claim 2, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 1, wherein the controller (202) determines an estimated dispense amount and an estimated dispense cost (see paragraph [0142]).
Regarding claim 4, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 1, wherein the retail endpoint comprises a scale (40) configured to measure a weight of the bulk material in the consumer receptacle, wherein the sale indicator comprises the weight of the bulk material (see paragraph [0107]).
Regarding claim 5, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 1, wherein the sale indicator comprises the identification of the bulk material and a sale price (see paragraph [0142]).
Regarding claim 6, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 1, wherein the retail endpoint (16) comprises a labeling station (see Figure 20), the labeling station (207) prints a label for the consumer receptacle with the sale indicator (see paragraph [0142]).
Regarding claim 7, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 1, wherein the retail endpoint (16) comprises an endpoint graphical display (211) configured to visually present the indication of the dispense, the identification of the bulk material, and the sale indicator (see paragraph [0142]).
Regarding claim 9, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 1, wherein the consumer receptacle (56) comprises a receptacle RFID tag (see paragraphs [0013], [0048], [0131], and [0142]).
Regarding claim 16, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 9, wherein the retail endpoint (16) is configured to write the sale indicator to the receptacle RFID tag (see paragraph [0142]).
Regarding claim 17, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 9, wherein the receptacle RFID tag is configured to be written to and the dispenser writes to the receptacle RFID tag to encode the receptacle RFID tag with the identification of the bulk material (see paragraph [0142]).
Regarding claim 18, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 17, wherein the retail endpoint is configured to read the receptacle RFID tag to receive the indication of a dispense and the identification of the bulk material (see paragraphs [0039], [0048], [0073], [0108], and [0131]).
Regarding claim 10, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 1, wherein the controller (202) references a lookup table (204) with the hopper identifier to determine identification of the bulk material in the hopper (see “identify the specific storage bin” in paragraph [0100]).
Regarding claim 11, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 1, wherein the gravity feed dispenser (24) comprises a sensor (see “an accelerometer” in paragraph [0121]) configured to detect an operational state of the valve, and the controller is communicatively connected to the sensor and the operational state of the valve is the indication of a dispense of bulk material from the hopper (see paragraph [0121]).
Regarding claim 12, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of hoppers (see “an inner container” in paragraph [0079] and paragraph [0111]), the plurality of hoppers comprising the hopper (see Figure 16), each hopper of the plurality of hoppers being interchangeably connectable to the gravity feed dispenser (see “interchangeable…” in paragraph [0079]).
Regarding claim 13, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 1, further comprising a dispenser graphical display (211), wherein the controller is configured to calculate an estimated price using the indication of a dispense and the identification of the bulk material in the hopper, and the controller is configured to operate the graphical display to visually present the estimated price (see paragraph [0142]).
Regarding claim 15, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 1, further comprising a retail data network (50) wherein the controller provides dispense data to the retail data network (see paragraph [0126]).
Regarding claim 20, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 14, wherein the controller further monitors a remaining inventory of the bulk material in the hopper by decrementing the nominal fixed volume from an initial hopper volume for each determined dispense cycle of the valve (see paragraphs [0126]-[0127]).
Regarding claim 21, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 5, wherein the sale indicator is provided to a mobile computing device (see paragraphs [0135] and [0146]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conway (USPGPUB 2020/0090114) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-13, 15-18, 20, and 21 above, and further in view of Kingston et al. (USPGPUB 2018/0075406).
Regarding claim 3, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 1, wherein the identification of the bulk material in the hopper comprises a unit price (see paragraph [0083]). However, Conway does not disclose a system wherein the identification of the bulk material in the hopper comprises a material density. Kingston et al. disclose a system wherein the identification of the bulk material in the hopper comprises a material density (see paragraph [0098]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Conway by including a system wherein the identification of the bulk material in the hopper comprises a material density, as disclosed by Kingston et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a density determination (see paragraph [0098]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conway (USPGPUB 2020/0090114) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-13, 15-18, 20, and 21 above, and further in view of Handfield et al. (USP 8,712,587).
Regarding claim 8, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 1. However, Conway does not disclose a system wherein the hopper identifier comprises a hopper RFID tag that is encoded with the identification of the bulk material within the hopper. Handfield et al. disclose a system wherein the hopper identifier comprises a hopper RFID tag that is encoded with the identification of the bulk material within the hopper (see claim 14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Conway by including a system wherein the hopper identifier comprises a hopper RFID tag that is encoded with the identification of the bulk material within the hopper, as disclosed by Handfield et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a housing for storing items in bulk with an RFID tag as a means of communicating with a dispenser (see claims 12-14).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conway (USPGPUB 2020/0090114) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-13, 15-18, 20, and 21 above, and further in view of Zosimadis et al. (USPGPUB 2013/0218730).
Regarding claim 14, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 1. However, Conway does not disclose a system wherein the valve is configured to dispense a nominal fixed volume of bulk material with each dispense cycle of the valve, each dispense cycle comprising an open condition and a closed condition and the controller is configured to determine an estimated dispense amount using the nominal fixed volume and a count of a number of dispense cycles of the valve. Zosimadis et al. disclose a system wherein the valve is configured to dispense a nominal fixed volume of bulk material with each dispense cycle of the valve, each dispense cycle comprising an open condition and a closed condition and the controller is configured to determine an estimated dispense amount using the nominal fixed volume and a count of a number of dispense cycles of the valve (see paragraph [0044]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Conway by including a system wherein the valve is configured to dispense a nominal fixed volume of bulk material with each dispense cycle of the valve, each dispense cycle comprising an open condition and a closed condition and the controller is configured to determine an estimated dispense amount using the nominal fixed volume and a count of a number of dispense cycles of the valve, as disclosed by Zosimadis et al., with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a fixed volume per each actuation in order to count a number of valid dispenses (see paragraph [0044]).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conway (USPGPUB 2020/0090114) as applied to claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-13, 15-18, 20, and 21 above, and further in view of Teraoka (USPGPUB 2021/0216989).
Regarding claim 19, Conway discloses the gravity-feed dispensing system of claim 9. However, Conway does not disclose a system wherein the receptacle RFID tag is encoded with an identification of a tare weight of the consumer receptacle. Teraoka disclose a system wherein the receptacle RFID tag is encoded with an identification of a tare weight of the consumer receptacle (see paragraph [0114]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system disclosed by Conway by including a system wherein the receptacle RFID tag is encoded with an identification of a tare weight of the consumer receptacle, as disclosed by Teraoka, with a reasonable expectation of success for the purpose of providing a reusable container with a tare weight that is stored in an RFID tag (see paragraph [0114]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
M.K.C.
1/21/2026
/MICHAEL COLLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655