DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 17 and 19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahmoudzadeh et al. (US 2022/0247931 A1) in view of Park (US 2016/0139426 A1), Min et al. (WO 2020/076029 A1, continuation US 2022/0035173 A1 is used as English translation in the rejection below) and Hu et al. (US 2017/0336699 A1).
As to claim 1, Mahmoudzadeh et al. discloses a camera device (Figs.1 and 2: camera 100) comprising:
a fixed unit (Figs.1 and 2: actuator base 114 and the static platform 126);
a first magnet disposed on the fixed unit (Figs.1 and 2: shared magnets 116; [0061]: shared magnets 116 mounted to the actuator base 114);
a first moving unit (Figs.1 and 2: lens carrier 106) comprising a first coil (Figs.1 and 2: focusing coil 118), the first moving unit being configured to be moved in an optical-axis direction by interaction between the first magnet and the first coil ([0061]: the axial motion (autofocus) voice coil motor 110, which includes a plurality of shared magnets 116 and a focusing coil 118, moves the optics assembly 102 containing the lens 104 along an optical axis of the lens 104);
a second moving unit (Figs.1 and 2: OIS coils 132, flexible printed circuit 134, image sensor frame member/dynamic platform 122, and flexures 124) comprising a first board unit (image sensor frame member/dynamic platform 122) disposed so as to be spaced apart from the fixed unit (See Figs. 1 and 2), a second coil facing the first magnet in the optical-axis direction (Figs. 1 and 2: OIS coils 132), and an image sensor disposed on the first board unit (Figs. 1 and 2: image sensor 108),
wherein the second moving unit is moved in a direction perpendicular to the optical-axis direction by interaction between the first magnet and the second coil ([0062]: “As indicated in FIG. 2, the OIS coils 132 may be mounted to the dynamic platform 122 within the magnetic fields 138 of the shared magnets 116, for producing forces 140 for moving the dynamic platform 122 in a plurality of directions orthogonal to the optical axis of the lens 104”).
Mahmoudzadeh et al. fails to disclose a first yoke disposed on the fixed unit so as to be opposite to the first magnet in the optical-axis direction;
wherein the first magnet includes a first magnet part and a second magnet part spaced apart from each other in the optical-axis direction, and
wherein a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction.
However, Park teaches a first yoke disposed on the fixed unit so as to be opposite to the first magnet in the optical-axis direction (Figs.2 and 5; [0059]: “A yoke 330 may be disposed on the base 210 in order to prevent the magnetic field generated by the first magnets 130 from leaking outward through the base 210 while concentrating the magnetic field”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mahmoudzadeh et al. with the teaching of Park to have a first yoke disposed on the fixed unit so as to be opposite to the first magnet in the optical-axis direction, so as to prevent the magnetic field generated by the first magnet from leaking outward while concentrating the magnetic field ([0059]), thereby enhancing the magnetic efficiency and providing stronger driving force.
The combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al. and Park fails to disclose wherein the first magnet includes a first magnet part and a second magnet part spaced apart from each other in the optical-axis direction, and
wherein a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction.
However, Min et al. teaches wherein the first magnet (Figs. 30 and 31: first magnet 130-1) includes a first magnet part (first magnet portion 11a of first magnet 130-1) and a second magnet part (second magnet portion 11b of first magnet 130-1) spaced apart from each other in the optical-axis direction (first non-magnetic barrier wall 11c disposed in between 11a and 11b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al. and Park with the teaching of Min et al. such that the first magnet includes a first magnet part and a second magnet part spaced apart from each other in the optical-axis direction, so as to improve the electromagnetic force between the magnet and the coil, and reduce the current consumption ([0525]).
The combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al., Park and Min et al. fails to disclose a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction.
However, Hu et al. teaches a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction (Fig.3: the height of the upper portion of the magnet 64 is greater than the height of the lower portion of the magnet 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al., Park and Min et al. with the teaching of Hu et al. such that a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction, so as to adjust the magnetic field distribution and driving force characteristics of the actuator.
As to claim 2, Mahmoudzadeh et al. in view of Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. discloses the camera device according to claim 1, wherein the first magnet is disposed above the second coil, and the first yoke is disposed below the second coil (Park teaches the yoke is disposed on the base. In the combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al. and Park, the yoke would be disposed on the actuator base 114, and below the shared magnets 116 and OIS coils 132).
As to claim 3, Mahmoudzadeh et al. in view of Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. discloses the camera device according to claim 1, wherein the first magnet part comprises a first N pole and a first S pole (Min et al.: Figs.30 and 31: first magnet portion 11a of first magnet 130-1); and wherein the second magnet part comprises a second N pole and a second S pole (Min et al.: Figs.30 and 31: second magnet portion 11b of first magnet 130-1), the second magnet part being disposed under the first magnet part (As shown in Figs 30 and 31).
As to claim 4, Mahmoudzadeh et al. in view of Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. discloses the camera device according to claim 3, comprising a partition wall disposed between the first magnet part and the second magnet part, wherein the partition wall is a neutral zone (Min et al.: Figs.30 and 31: first partition wall 11c; [0438]: first non-magnetic partition wall 11c may be expressed as a “Neutral Zone” or a “Neutral region”).
As to claims 8-9, Mahmoudzadeh et al. in view of Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. discloses the camera device according to claim 1. The above combination fails to disclose comprising a third yoke disposed on a side surface of the first magnet,
a fourth yoke disposed on an upper surface of the first magnet.
However, Min et al. further teaches a third yoke disposed on a side surface of the first magnet (Fig.34a: body 193a of the first yoke 193-1 corresponds to the claimed third yoke),
a fourth yoke disposed on an upper surface of the first magnet (Fig. 34a: first extension portion 39a of the first yoke 193-1 corresponds to the claimed fourth yoke).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al., Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. with the teaching of Min et al. to a third yoke disposed on a side surface of the first magnet, and to have a fourth yoke disposed on an upper surface of the first magnet, so as to prevent the magnetic field generated by the first magnet from leaking outward while concentrating the magnetic field, thereby enhancing the magnetic efficiency and providing stronger driving force.
As to claim 10, Mahmoudzadeh et al. in view of Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. discloses the camera device according to claim 1, wherein the first yoke is a magnetic body (Park: [0079]: “The yoke 330 may be made of, for example, SUS, that is, stainless steel, and preferably SUS containing Fe of 50% or more”).
As to claim 11, Mahmoudzadeh et al. in view of Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. discloses the camera device according to claim 3. The above combination fails to disclose comprising a fifth yoke disposed on a side surface of at least one of the first magnet part and the second magnet part.
However, Min et al. further teaches a fifth yoke disposed on a side surface of at least one of the first magnet part and the second magnet part (Figs.33a and 33b: the first yoke 193 corresponds to the claimed fifth yoke).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al., Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. to have a fifth yoke disposed on a side surface of at least one of the first magnet part and the second magnet part, so as to reduce the leakage magnetic flux of the first magnet and improve an electromagnetic force between the first magnet and the coil ([0338]).
As to claim 12, Mahmoudzadeh et al. in view of Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. discloses the camera device according to claim 1, wherein the first yoke overlaps at least a portion of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction (Park: as shown in Fig.9 and para.[0108]: “a total of four first magnets 130 may be disposed so as to overlap the yoke 330 when viewed in the first direction”).
As to claim 13, Mahmoudzadeh et al. in view of Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. discloses the camera device according to claim 1, wherein a spacing distance between the first magnet and the second coil in the optical-axis direction is shorter than a spacing distance between the first magnet and the first yoke in the optical-axis direction (Park: Figs.2-6: the distance between the first magnets 130 and the second coils 230 is shorter than the distance between the first magnets 130 and the yoke 330).
As to claim 14, Mahmoudzadeh et al. in view of Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. discloses the camera device according to claim 1, wherein the fixed unit comprises:
a second board unit disposed so as to be spaced apart from the first board unit (Mahmoudzadeh et al.: Figs.1 and 2: the actuator base 114 and the static platform 126 corresponds to the claimed second board unit); and
a support board conductively connecting the first board unit to the second board unit (Mahmoudzadeh et al.: Figs.1 and 2: flexures 124 corresponds to the claimed support board. [0063]: “he flexures 124 mechanically and/or electrically connect an image sensor 108, in which is fixed relative to the dynamic platform 122, to the static platform 126”).
As to claim 15, Mahmoudzadeh et al. in view of Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. discloses the camera device according to claim 14, wherein the first yoke is disposed between the second coil and the second board unit (As discussed in claim 1 above, Park teaches the yoke is disposed on the base. In the combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al. and Park, the yoke would be disposed on the actuator based 114 as taught in Park. That is, the yoke would be disposed between the OIS coils 132 and the actuator base 114 of Mahmoudzadeh et al.).
As to claim 16, Mahmoudzadeh et al. in view of Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. discloses the camera device according to claim 14, wherein the first yoke is disposed on an upper surface of the second board unit (As taught in Park, the yoke is disclosed on the base).
As to claim 17, Mahmoudzadeh et al. discloses a camera device (Figs.1 and 2: camera 100) comprising:
a fixed unit (Figs.1 and 2: actuator base 114 and the static platform 126);
a first magnet disposed on the fixed unit (Figs.1 and 2: shared magnets 116; [0061]: shared magnets 116 mounted to the actuator base 114);
a first moving unit (Figs.1 and 2: lens carrier 106) comprising a first coil facing the first magnet in a direction perpendicular to an optical-axis direction (Figs.1 and 2: focusing coil 118); and
a second moving unit (Figs.1 and 2: OIS coils 132, flexible printed circuit 134, image sensor frame member/dynamic platform 122, and flexures 124) comprising a first board unit (image sensor frame member/dynamic platform 122) disposed so as to be spaced apart from the fixed unit (See Figs. 1 and 2), an image sensor disposed on the first board unit (Figs. 1 and 2: image sensor 108), and a second coil facing the first magnet in the optical-axis direction (Figs. 1 and 2: OIS coils 132),
wherein the second coil moves the second moving unit in a direction perpendicular to the optical-axis direction by an interaction with the first magnet ([0062]: “As indicated in FIG. 2, the OIS coils 132 may be mounted to the dynamic platform 122 within the magnetic fields 138 of the shared magnets 116, for producing forces 140 for moving the dynamic platform 122 in a plurality of directions orthogonal to the optical axis of the lens 104”).
Mahmoudzadeh et al. fails to disclose a yoke disposed on the fixed unit so as to be spaced apart from the first magnet; wherein the second coil is disposed between the first magnet and the yoke;
wherein the first magnet includes a first magnet part and a second magnet part spaced apart from each other in the optical-axis direction, and
wherein a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction.
However, Park teaches a yoke disposed on the fixed unit so as to be spaced apart from the first magnet ([0059]: “A yoke 330 may be disposed on the base 210”. As shown in Fig.7, the yoke 330 and the magnet 130 are spaced apart from each other); wherein the second coil is disposed between the first magnet and the yoke (See Fig.2, the second coils 230 is disposed between the first magnet 130 and the yoke 330).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mahmoudzadeh et al. with the teaching of Park to have a yoke disposed on the fixed unit so as to be spaced apart from the first magnet; wherein the second coil is disposed between the first magnet and the yoke, so as to prevent the magnetic field generated by the first magnet from leaking outward while concentrating the magnetic field ([0059]), thereby enhancing the magnetic efficiency and providing stronger driving force.
The combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al. and Park fails to disclose wherein the first magnet includes a first magnet part and a second magnet part spaced apart from each other in the optical-axis direction, and
wherein a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction.
However, Min et al. teaches wherein the first magnet (Figs. 30 and 31: first magnet 130-1) includes a first magnet part (first magnet portion 11a of first magnet 130-1) and a second magnet part (second magnet portion 11b of first magnet 130-1) spaced apart from each other in the optical-axis direction (first non-magnetic barrier wall 11c disposed in between 11a and 11b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al. and Park with the teaching of Min et al. such that the first magnet includes a first magnet part and a second magnet part spaced apart from each other in the optical-axis direction, so as to improve the electromagnetic force between the magnet and the coil, and reduce the current consumption ([0525]).
The combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al., Park and Min et al. fails to disclose a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction.
However, Hu et al. teaches a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction (Fig.3: the height of the upper portion of the magnet 64 is greater than the height of the lower portion of the magnet 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al., Park and Min et al. with the teaching of Hu et al. such that a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction, so as to adjust the magnetic field distribution and driving force characteristics of the actuator.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahmoudzadeh et al. (US 2022/0247931 A1) in view of Park (US 2016/0139426 A1), Min et al. (WO 2020/076029 A1, continuation US 2022/0035173 A1 is used as English translation in the rejection below) and Hu et al. (US 2017/0336699 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Chan et al. (US 2020/0033554 A1).
As to claim 6, Mahmoudzadeh et al. in view of Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. discloses the camera device according to claim 3, but fails to disclose the first N pole is in contact with the second S pole, and the first S pole is in contact with the second N pole.
However, Chan et al. teaches the first N pole is in contact with the second S pole, and the first S pole is in contact with the second N pole (Figs.51 and 52: first magnetic elements 5-62 and the second magnetic elements 5-64 are directly in contact with each other. Furthermore, [0257] discloses that the magnetic pole direction of the first magnetic element 5-62 and the magnetic pole direction of the second magnetic element 5-64 are opposite each other. In other words, the N pole of the first magnetic element is in contact with the S pole of the second magnetic element; and the S pole of the first magnetic element is in contact with the N pole of the second magnetic element).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al., Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. with the teaching of Chan et al. such that the first N pole is in contact with the second S pole, and the first S pole is in contact with the second N pole, so as to simplify the construction, provide a more compact driving mechanism.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahmoudzadeh et al. (US 2022/0247931 A1) in view of Park (US 2016/0139426 A1), Min et al. (WO 2020/076029 A1, continuation US 2022/0035173 A1 is used as English translation in the rejection below) and Hu et al. (US 2017/0336699 A1) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Kuo et al. (US 2008/0310037 A1).
As to claim 7, Mahmoudzadeh et al. in view of Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. discloses the camera device according to claim 3, but fails to disclose comprising a second yoke disposed between the first magnet part and the second magnet part.
However, Kuo et al. teaches a second yoke disposed between the first magnet part and the second magnet part (Figs. 2 and 5: the second hollow magnet 24 corresponds to the claimed first magnet part; the first hollow magnet 22 corresponds to the claimed second magnet part; and the hollow magnetic conducting plate 23 corresponds to the claimed second yoke. [0030]: “In the lens displacement device 2a of the second embodiment of the present invention, the magnetic flux φ 2 emerges from the N pole of the second hollow magnet 24, and is concentrated and guided by the hollow magnetic conducting plate 23, then turns to the gap, wherein the magnetic flux φ 2 penetrates the hollow coil 25 via the gap, returning to the S pole of the second hollow magnet 24, thus forming a closed magnetic circuit”. That is, the hollow magnetic conducting plate 23 performs the function of a yoke; thus, it corresponds to the claimed second yoke).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al., Park, Min et al. and Hu et al. with the teaching of Kuo et al. to have a second yoke disposed between the first magnet part and the second magnet part, so as to concentrate and guide the magnetic flux, thereby improving the magnetic efficiency while making the driving mechanism more compact.
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mahmoudzadeh et al. (US 2022/0247931 A1) in view of Park (US 2016/0139426 A1), Min et al. (WO 2020/076029 A1, continuation US 2022/0035173 A1 is used as English translation in the rejection below) and Hu et al. (US 2017/0336699 A1).
As to claim 19, Mahmoudzadeh et al. discloses a camera device (Figs.1 and 2: camera 100) comprising:
a fixed unit (Figs.1 and 2: shared magnets 116, actuator base 114, the static platform 126, and the shield can similar to 304 shown in Figs.3-5) comprising a cover member (shield can) and a first magnet disposed in the cover member (shared magnets 116);
a first moving unit (Figs.1 and 2: lens carrier 106) comprising a bobbin (lens carrier 106) disposed in the cover member and a first coil (Figs.1 and 2: focusing coil 118) disposed on the bobbin and the first moving unit being configured to be moved in an optical-axis direction ([0061]: the axial motion (autofocus) voice coil motor 110, which includes a plurality of shared magnets 116 and a focusing coil 118, moves the optics assembly 102 containing the lens 104 along an optical axis of the lens 104); and
a second moving unit (Figs.1 and 2: OIS coils 132, flexible printed circuit 134, image sensor frame member/dynamic platform 122, and flexures 124) comprising a first board unit (image sensor frame member/dynamic platform 122) disposed so as to be spaced apart from the fixed unit (See Figs. 1 and 2), a second coil facing the first magnet (Figs. 1 and 2: OIS coils 132), and an image sensor disposed on the first board unit (Figs. 1 and 2: image sensor 108), the second moving unit being configured to be moved in a direction perpendicular to the optical-axis direction by interaction between the first magnet and the second coil ([0062]: “As indicated in FIG. 2, the OIS coils 132 may be mounted to the dynamic platform 122 within the magnetic fields 138 of the shared magnets 116, for producing forces 140 for moving the dynamic platform 122 in a plurality of directions orthogonal to the optical axis of the lens 104”).
Mahmoudzadeh et al. fails to disclose wherein the cover member comprises a protruding portion protruding therefrom toward the bobbin, and at least part of the protruding portion overlaps the first magnet in a direction perpendicular to the optical-axis direction,
wherein the first magnet includes a first magnet part and a second magnet part spaced apart from each other in the optical-axis direction, and
wherein a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction.
However, Lee teaches the cover member comprises a protruding portion protruding therefrom toward the bobbin (Fig.13: internal plate 1103), and at least part of the protruding portion overlaps the first magnet in a direction perpendicular to the optical-axis direction (See Fig.13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mahmoudzadeh et al. with the teaching of Lee such that the cover member comprises a protruding portion protruding therefrom toward the bobbin, so as to prevent the bobbin from rotating by allowing the bobbin to be hitched ([0122]), and allow realizing a stopper function between the internal plate and the internal plate reception groove ([0141]).
The combination of Mahnoudzadeh et al. and Lee fails to disclose the first magnet includes a first magnet part and a second magnet part spaced apart from each other in the optical-axis direction, and
wherein a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction.
However, Min et al. teaches wherein the first magnet (Figs. 30 and 31: first magnet 130-1) includes a first magnet part (first magnet portion 11a of first magnet 130-1) and a second magnet part (second magnet portion 11b of first magnet 130-1) spaced apart from each other in the optical-axis direction (first non-magnetic barrier wall 11c disposed in between 11a and 11b).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al. and Park with the teaching of Min et al. such that the first magnet includes a first magnet part and a second magnet part spaced apart from each other in the optical-axis direction, so as to improve the electromagnetic force between the magnet and the coil, and reduce the current consumption ([0525]).
The combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al., Park and Min et al. fails to disclose a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction.
However, Hu et al. teaches a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction (Fig.3: the height of the upper portion of the magnet 64 is greater than the height of the lower portion of the magnet 64).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Mahmoudzadeh et al., Park and Min et al. with the teaching of Hu et al. such that a length of the first magnet part of the first magnet is greater than a length of the second magnet part of the first magnet in the optical-axis direction, so as to adjust the magnetic field distribution and driving force characteristics of the actuator.
As to claim 20, Mahmoudzadeh et al. in view of Lee, Min et al. and Hu et al. discloses the camera device according to claim 19, wherein the protruding portion is formed of a metallic material or a magnetic material (Lee: [0121]: “the cover member (1100) may be formed with a metal plate”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHENZHEN WU/Examiner, Art Unit
/SINH TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2637