DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
With respect to claims 2 and 7, the term “preferably” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schoeffel (WO 2019/105614, English-language equivalent US 2020/0377699 is relied upon below for document citations) in view of Isitman (US 2019/0062533).
With respect to claims 1-6, Schoeffel discloses a sulfur-crosslinkable rubber mixture comprising at least one diene rubber, 10-300 phr silica, and 1-2 phf at least one silane A having formula (R1)oSi—R2—(S—R3)-q—S—X and 0.5-30 phf at least one silane B having formula (R1)oSi—R2—(S—R3)-u—S—R2—Si(R1)-o (abstract), wherein preferred silane A has formula (EtO)3Si—(CH2)3—S—(CH2)6—S—C(=O)—CH3 (paragraph 0096) and preferred silane B is
(paragraph 0108).
Schoeffel teaches that the diene rubber includes 25-80 phr of a styrene-butadiene, preferably solution-polymerized styrene-butadiene rubber (SSBR) (paragraphs 0051 and 0053) but fails to disclose the Tg of the SSBR or any of the diene rubber.
Isitman discloses a pneumatic tire tread comprising 20-80 phr of a solution polymerized styrene-butadiene rubber having a Tg of -85 to -50°C (abstract) which is measured by DSC (paragraph 0028). In Tables 1 and 2, Isitman shows that SSBR having Tg of -60°C provides for improved rolling resistance (RR) and wet related properties (paragraphs 0073).
Given that both Schoeffel and Isitman disclose rubber compositions for tire tread comprising SSBR and further given that Isitman discloses that an advantageous Tg for the SSBR is -85 to -50°C for optimizing rolling resistance and wet properties, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a SSBR in the composition of Schoeffel within the claimed range of -35 to -85°C.
With respect to claim 7, Schoeffel teaches that the ratio of silane A to B is 20:80 to 90:10, preferably (paragraph 0120).
With respect to claims 8-10, Schoeffel teaches that the composition is formed into a vulcanizate for tire treads (paragraph 0033).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-10 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 12 of U.S. Patent No. 10,927,241 in view of Isitman (US 2019/0062533). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US ‘241 claims a sulfur-crosslinkable rubber mixture comprising at least one diene rubber such as SSBR, 10-300 phr of at least one silica, 1-30 phf silane A like claimed, and 0.5-30 phf silane B like claimed.
US ‘241 fails to claim the Tg of the SSBR.
Isitman discloses a pneumatic tire tread comprising 20-80 phr of a solution polymerized styrene-butadiene rubber having a Tg of -85 to -50°C (abstract) which is measured by DSC (paragraph 0028). In Tables 1 and 2, Isitman shows that SSBR having Tg of -60°C provides for improved rolling resistance (RR) and wet related properties (paragraphs 0073).
Given that Isitman discloses rubber compositions for tire tread comprising SSBR having an advantageous Tg of -85 to -50°C for optimizing rolling resistance and wet properties, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select a SSBR in the claims of US ‘241 within the claimed range of -35 to -85°C and to use the composition in a tire tread.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over U.S. Patent No. 10,927,241 in view of Isitman (US 2019/0062533).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). See the discussion in the previous paragraph.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Conclusion
/Vickey Nerangis/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763
vn