DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the new limitations of claims 7-9 have been considered but are moot because they do not apply to the new reference, Sarkis, that is relied on in the current rejection.
Applicant asserts, on page 8 of Remarks, that “Further, cited paragraph [0052] of Wu describes that terminal-to-terminal communication based on Type C is established regardless of whether Type A/Type B is configured. However, Wu fails to disclose that terminal-to-terminal communication is established regardless of the configuration of Type C. Wu also fails to disclose that terminal-to-terminal communication is established without considering a configuration for receiving information related to resource collisions. Thus, Wu fails to disclose "the processor performs the device-to-device communication in a predetermined resource allocation mode without taking into account the configuration information related to the first inter-terminal coordination method and the configuration information related to the second inter-terminal coordination method [in which the receiver receives information related to a resource collision]," as arranged by the above-referenced limitations of amended independent claim 7.”
On the contrary, in the limitation in question, “the processor performs the device-to-device communication in a predetermined resource allocation mode without taking into account the configuration information related to the first inter-terminal coordination method and the configuration information related to the second inter-terminal coordination method”, Type A corresponds to “the first inter-terminal coordination method”, Type B corresponds to “the second inter-terminal coordination method”, and Type C corresponds to “a predetermined resource allocation mode”. Therefore, Applicant’s statement that “Further, cited paragraph [0052] of Wu describes that terminal-to-terminal communication based on Type C is established regardless of whether Type A/Type B is configured.” aligns with the interpretation of paragraph [0052] of Wu as disclosing device-to-device communication is performed in a predetermined resource allocation mode without taking into account configuration information that is associated with two other inter-terminal coordination methods. Regarding Applicant’s statement “However, Wu fails to disclose that terminal-to-terminal communication is established regardless of the configuration of Type C.”, as outlined above, Type C corresponds to the mode that is being performed, rather than either of the two methods for which configuration information is not taken into account. Applicant’s statement “Wu also fails to disclose that terminal-to-terminal communication is established without considering a configuration for receiving information related to resource collisions.” is moot, because the limitation in question does not mention resource collisions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0239955 (hereinafter Wu), in view of Sarkis et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0321368 (hereinafter Sarkis).
Regarding claim 7, Wu discloses a terminal that performs device-to-device communication (disclosed is a second UE [“a terminal”] that performs device-to-device (D2D) communication, according to Abstract, [0018]), the terminal comprising:
a receiver configured to receive, from a base station, control information indicating a reserved resource in a resource pool (the second UE, which necessarily comprises a transceiver [“a reception unit configured to receive”], receives, from a gNB [“base station”], a grant allocation for sidelink radio resources, according to [0051], [0060]-[0061], Fig. 6); and
a processor configured to perform the device-to-device communication, based on the control information (the second UE necessarily comprises a processor [“a control unit configured to perform”], whereby sidelink communication with other UEs is performed using the allocated radio resources, according to [0051], [0059]-[0061], Fig. 6), wherein
the receiver further receives configuration information related to a first inter-terminal coordination method or configuration information related to a second inter-terminal coordination method (the second UE receives an RRC message that includes information that identifies supported inter-UE coordination (IUC) types of a first UE, according to Abstract, [0054], whereby IUC types comprise resource allocation Types A [“first inter-terminal coordination method”], B [“second inter-terminal coordination method”], and C, according to [0043]-[0046]), and
the processor performs the device-to-device communication in a predetermined resource allocation mode without taking into account the configuration information related to the first inter-terminal coordination method and the configuration information related to the second inter-terminal coordination method (the second UE may be without network coverage, and consequently said second UE autonomously selects sidelink resources and uses IUC Type C instead of either Type A or Type B [“without taking into account the configuration information related to the first inter-terminal coordination and the configuration information related to the second inter-terminal coordination”] for sidelink communication between said first and second UEs, according to [0051]-[0053], Fig. 4 [second row]).
Wu does not expressly disclose that wherein, in the first inter-terminal coordination method, the receiver receives information indicating a preferred resource set and a non-preferred resource set, and wherein, in the second inter-terminal coordination method, the receiver receives information related to a resource collision.
Sarkis discloses that wherein, in the first inter-terminal coordination method, the receiver receives information indicating a preferred resource set and a non-preferred resource set (in a given method, inter-UE coordination information is received, whereby said inter-UE coordination information indicates preferred resources and non-preferred resources, according to [0093]-[0094]), and
wherein, in the second inter-terminal coordination method, the receiver receives information related to a resource collision (in another method, inter-UE coordination information indicates one or more resource collisions, according to [0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu with Sarkis such that wherein, in the first inter-terminal coordination method, the receiver receives information indicating a preferred resource set and a non-preferred resource set, and wherein, in the second inter-terminal coordination method, the receiver receives information related to a resource collision.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve spectral efficiency, reduce costs, and increase reliability (Sarkis: [0062]).
Regarding claim 8, Wu discloses a communication method performed by a terminal that performs device-to-device communication according to a predetermined resource allocation mode (disclosed is a method performed by a second UE, that performs D2D communication, for resource allocation, according to Abstract, [0018]), the communication method comprising:
receiving configuration information related to a first inter-terminal coordination method or configuration information related to a second inter-terminal coordination method (the second UE receives an RRC message that includes information that identifies supported inter-UE coordination (IUC) types of a first UE, according to Abstract, [0054], whereby IUC types comprise resource allocation Types A, B, and C, according to [0043]-[0046]);
receiving control information indicating a reserved resource in a resource pool from a base station (the second UE receives, from a gNB, a grant allocation for sidelink radio resources, according to [0051], [0060]-[0061], Fig. 6); and
performing the device-to-device communication, based on the control information without taking into account the configuration information related to the first inter-terminal coordination method and the configuration information related to the second inter-terminal coordination method (the second UE may be without network coverage, and consequently said second UE autonomously selects sidelink resources and uses IUC Type C instead of either Type A or Type B for sidelink communication between said first and second UEs, according to [0051]-[0053], Fig. 4 [second row]).
Wu does not expressly disclose that wherein, in the first inter-terminal coordination method, information indicating a preferred resource set and a non-preferred resource set is received, and wherein, in the second inter-terminal coordination method, information related to a resource collision is received.
Sarkis discloses that wherein, in the first inter-terminal coordination method, information indicating a preferred resource set and a non-preferred resource set is received (in a given method, inter-UE coordination information is received, whereby said inter-UE coordination information indicates preferred resources and non-preferred resources, according to [0093]-[0094]), and
wherein, in the second inter-terminal coordination method, information related to a resource collision is received (in another method, inter-UE coordination information indicates one or more resource collisions, according to [0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu with Sarkis such that wherein, in the first inter-terminal coordination method, information indicating a preferred resource set and a non-preferred resource set is received, and wherein, in the second inter-terminal coordination method, information related to a resource collision is received.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve spectral efficiency, reduce costs, and increase reliability (Sarkis: [0062]).
Regarding claim 9, Wu discloses a communication system (disclosed is a wireless communication system, according to [0016], Fig. 1) comprising:
a first terminal and a second terminal that perform device-to-device communication (the system comprises a first UE [“second terminal”] and a second UE [“first terminal”] that engage in D2D communication, according to [0018], Fig. 1 [elements 120 and 122]); and
a base station (the system comprises a base station, according to [0021]-[0022], Fig. 1 [element 114]), wherein
the first terminal includes:
a receiver configured to receive, from the base station, control information indicating a reserved resource in a resource pool (the second UE, which necessarily comprises a transceiver, receives, from a gNB, a grant allocation for sidelink radio resources, according to [0051], [0060]-[0061], Fig. 6); and
a processor configured to perform the device-to-device communication, based on the control information (the second UE necessarily comprises a processor, whereby sidelink communication with other UEs is performed using the allocated radio resources, according to [0051], [0059]-[0061], Fig. 6), wherein
the receiver further receives, from the base station, configuration information related to a first inter-terminal coordination method or configuration information related to a second inter-terminal coordination method (the second UE receives an RRC message that includes information that identifies supported inter-UE coordination (IUC) types of a first UE, according to Abstract, [0054], whereby IUC types comprise resource allocation Types A, B, and C, according to [0043]-[0046]), and
the processor performs the device-to-device communication in a predetermined resource allocation mode without taking into account the configuration information related to the first inter-terminal coordination method and the configuration information related to the second inter-terminal coordination method (the second UE may be without network coverage, and consequently said second UE autonomously selects sidelink resources and uses IUC Type C instead of either Type A or Type B for sidelink communication between said first and second UEs, according to [0051]-[0053], Fig. 4 [second row]), and
wherein the base station includes:
a transmitter configured to transmit, to the first terminal, the control information (the gNB transmits a grant allocation for sidelink radio resources to the second UE, according to [0051], [0060]-[0061], Fig. 6) and
the configuration information related to the first inter-terminal coordination method or the configuration information related to the second inter-terminal coordination method (the gNB transmits, to the second UE, a grant allocation that takes into account IUC information regarding resources that are not preferred by the first UE (this is IUC Type B, according to [0045]), according to [0065], Fig. 7 [step 6]).
Wu does not expressly disclose that wherein, in the first inter-terminal coordination method, the receiver receives information indicating a preferred resource set and a non-preferred resource set, and wherein, in the second inter-terminal coordination method, the receiver receives information related to a resource collision.
Sarkis discloses that wherein, in the first inter-terminal coordination method, the receiver receives information indicating a preferred resource set and a non-preferred resource set (in a given method, inter-UE coordination information is received, whereby said inter-UE coordination information indicates preferred resources and non-preferred resources, according to [0093]-[0094]), and
wherein, in the second inter-terminal coordination method, the receiver receives information related to a resource collision (in another method, inter-UE coordination information indicates one or more resource collisions, according to [0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wu with Sarkis such that wherein, in the first inter-terminal coordination method, the receiver receives information indicating a preferred resource set and a non-preferred resource set, and wherein, in the second inter-terminal coordination method, the receiver receives information related to a resource collision.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve spectral efficiency, reduce costs, and increase reliability (Sarkis: [0062]).
Conclusion
7. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW W GENACK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645