Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 49, 55, 62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. These claims include Markush groups in improper form. Markush groups must be a closed group of alternatives (i.e., “consisting of”). MPEP 2173.05(h) I.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grigsby (WO 2015/092750) in view of Nilsson (US 2009/0042019) in view of Anderson (US 2019/0144727) and (US 2012/0135116).
Grigsby teaches the claimed adhesive composition comprising the combination of water, glycerol, and reducing sugar (all monosaccharides are reducing sugars) [00117] soy protein concentrate/isolate (the polypeptide-containing component), and sodium hydroxide (a base) [00252; 00352; 00428] and also that the order of mixing the components can be relevant and controlled for proper formulation [00341]. This is in the context of forming formaldehyde-free adhesive compositions for engineered wood products such as medium density fiber board [0001].
Although Grigsby is directed to the formation of engineered wood product, they do not explicitly teach the steps associated with forming these products. However, Nilsson teaches the steps associated with forming mdf [0057] including mixing the adhesive with wood particles to form at least 3 compositions (2 surface layers and 1 core layer) that are laid out and form at least 3 layers, which are pressed under pressure and heat (i.e., cured) to form the final board [0001-0007].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the adhesive composition of Grigsby in a standard process for forming particle board as explained by Nilsson.
Previously cited prior art is discussed above but does not teach the sulfite or borax additives. However, ‘727 teaches the addition of sodium sulfite as a viscosity reduction agent [0053] and ‘116 teaches borax as a tackifier and viscosity stabilizer [0028]. Both of these components have a specific purpose within the adhesive composition and the amount would have been obvious through routine optimization of these result effective variables. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include these additives into the adhesive composition in order to realize their stated benefit.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/6/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to claim 39.
Applicant argues the prior art does not teach reducing sugar. However, all monosaccharides are reducing sugars and Grigsby teaches the inclusion of monosaccharides in the composition.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 40-41, 44, 48, 51-53, 58, 80, 89-91 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The previously cited prior art is considered the closest prior art and does not teach the claimed mixing procedure with the claimed components forming a reaction mixture with the claimed amounts and specific moisture content prior to curing.
Conclusion
/ALEX A ROLLAND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759