DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the application filed on 11/28/2023. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/28/2023 have been considered by the examiner and initialed copies of the IDS are hereby attached.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bakhishev (US10514704B2).
Regarding claim 1 Bakhishev is discloses: A communication processing device comprising: a detection unit that, based on a propagation channel characteristic in a propagation channel between devices, detects a presence of a person/object in the propagation channel (Para 54: “At operation 430, the one or more processing units (or processing logic) of the hub (or at least one sensor node) determines power level information for received RF communications from the plurality of sensor nodes. At operation 432, the processing logic of the hub (or at least one sensor node) determines whether received RF communications can be identified or categorized as having a baseline power level to indicate a baseline condition with no occupancy or motion or one or more threshold power levels to indicate a motion condition or an occupancy condition within the wireless network architecture. For example, a first threshold power level below a baseline power level may indicate motion of a human or pet between sensor node pairs, a second threshold power level further below a baseline power level may indicate occupancy of a smaller human or pet, and a third threshold power level further below a baseline power level may indicate occupancy of a larger human between sensor node pairs. A fourth threshold power level above a baseline power level may indicate if a reflective surface or other disturbance is positioned between sensor node pairs.”); and an output unit that outputs a signal including information about the detection (Figures 5A and 5B, Para 111: “Communication module 1854 enables communication with other devices. The I/O unit 1830 communicates with different types of input/output (I/O) devices 1834 (e.g., a display, a liquid crystal display (LCD), a plasma display, a cathode ray tube (CRT), touch display device, or touch screen for receiving user input and displaying output, an optional alphanumeric input device).”).
Claims 19 and 20 recites limitations that are similar to those of claim 1, therefore claims 19 and 20 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 2 Bakhishev discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Bakhishev further teaches: wherein the detection unit detects the presence of the person/object in the propagation channel based on a fluctuation in a value pertaining to the propagation channel characteristic between the devices (Figures 5A and 5B, Para 65: “FIG. 5B illustrates a plot of a RSSI measurements of a sensor network for a presence condition in accordance with one embodiment. A wireless node 510 communicates with a wireless node 511 of a wireless sensor network. A plot 520 of signal strength (e.g., RSSI measurements) versus time illustrates example RSSI values received by one RF device (e.g., node 510) from another RF device (e.g., node 511) during a presence condition in which a presence (e.g., human, pet, etc.) or interference (e.g., an object that is not normally positioned between the nodes) occurs between these nodes. It should be noted that one of the nodes could also be a hub. In this presence condition, for example, if a person passes between the two nodes, the RSSI values are changed in comparison to the values of the plot 505. This change in RSSI values can be used to identify presence and motion. This may be achieved by detecting the instantaneous value of RSSI, by using a time average value of RSSI, by performing a frequency analysis of the RSSI variation and responding to specific variation frequencies, or by other such techniques as would be apparent to one of skill in the art.”).
Regarding claim 3 Bakhishev discloses all the limitations of claim 2. Bakhishev further teaches: wherein the detection unit detects the presence of the person/object in the propagation channel based on a fluctuation in a response level of a radio wave between the devices (Para 65: “FIG. 5B illustrates a plot of a RSSI measurements of a sensor network for a presence condition in accordance with one embodiment. A wireless node 510 communicates with a wireless node 511 of a wireless sensor network. A plot 520 of signal strength (e.g., RSSI measurements) versus time illustrates example RSSI values received by one RF device (e.g., node 510) from another RF device (e.g., node 511) during a presence condition in which a presence (e.g., human, pet, etc.) or interference (e.g., an object that is not normally positioned between the nodes) occurs between these nodes.”).
Regarding claim 4 Bakhishev discloses all the limitations of claim 3. Bakhishev further teaches:, further comprising: a storage unit that stores information pertaining to the response level of the radio wave in time series (Figure 17, element 1761 [Memory]); and a computation processing unit that, using the information pertaining to the response level stored in the storage unit, computes a fluctuation amount in the response level at a plurality of different times (Para 93: “FIG. 15B shows an exemplary embodiment of an exploded view of a block diagram of a hub 1520 implemented as an overlay for an electrical power outlet in accordance with one embodiment. The hub 1520 includes a power supply rectifier 1530 that converts alternating current (AC), which periodically reverses direction, to direct current (DC) which flows in only one direction. The power supply rectifier 1530 receives AC from the outlet 1502 via connection 1512 (e.g., communication link, signal line, electrical connection, etc.) and converts the AC into DC for supplying power to a controller circuit 1540 via a connection 1532 (e.g., communication link, signal line, electrical connection, etc.) and for supplying power to RF circuitry 1550 via a connection 1534 (e.g., communication link, signal line, electrical connection, etc.). The controller circuit 1540 includes memory 1542 or is coupled to memory that stores instructions which are executed by processing logic 1544 (e.g., one or more processing units) of the controller circuit 1540 for controlling operations of the hub (e.g., forming and monitoring the wireless asymmetrical network, localization, determining occupancy and motion, event identification and verification, guiding robot operation, etc.) as discussed herein. The RF circuitry 1550 may include a transceiver or separate transmitter 1554 and receiver 1556 functionality for sending and receiving bi-directional communications via antenna(s) 1552 with the wireless sensor nodes. The RF circuitry 1550 communicates bi-directionally with the controller circuit 1540 via a connection 1534 (e.g., communication link, signal line, electrical connection, etc.). The hub 1520 can be a wireless control device 1520 or the controller circuit 1540, RF circuitry 1550, and antenna(s) 1552 in combination may form the wireless control device as discussed herein.”), wherein the detection unit detects the presence of the person/object in the propagation channel based on the fluctuation amount (Para 54: “At operation 430, the one or more processing units (or processing logic) of the hub (or at least one sensor node) determines power level information for received RF communications from the plurality of sensor nodes. At operation 432, the processing logic of the hub (or at least one sensor node) determines whether received RF communications can be identified or categorized as having a baseline power level to indicate a baseline condition with no occupancy or motion or one or more threshold power levels to indicate a motion condition or an occupancy condition within the wireless network architecture. For example, a first threshold power level below a baseline power level may indicate motion of a human or pet between sensor node pairs, a second threshold power level further below a baseline power level may indicate occupancy of a smaller human or pet, and a third threshold power level further below a baseline power level may indicate occupancy of a larger human between sensor node pairs. A fourth threshold power level above a baseline power level may indicate if a reflective surface or other disturbance is positioned between sensor node pairs.”).
Regarding claim 5 Bakhishev discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Bakhishev further teaches: further comprising: a distance obtaining unit that obtains distance information calculated on the basis of the propagation channel characteristic (Para 52: “ At operation 403, processing logic of the hub (or node) having a wireless control device initially causes a wireless network of sensor nodes to be configured as a first network architecture (e.g., a mesh-based network architecture) for a time period (e.g., predetermined time period, time period sufficient for localization, etc.). At operation 404, the processing logic of the hub (or node) determines localization of at least two nodes (or all nodes) using at least one of frequency channel overlapping, frequency channel stepping, multi-channel wide band, and ultra-wide band for at least one of time of flight and signal strength techniques as discussed in the various embodiments disclosed in application Ser. No. 14/830,668 and incorporated by reference herein. At operation 406, upon localization of the at least two network sensor nodes being complete, the processing logic of the hub (or node) terminates time of flight measurements if any time of flight measurements are occurring and continues monitoring the signal strength of communications with the at least two nodes.”).
Regarding claim 6 Bakhishev discloses all the limitations of claim 5. Bakhishev further teaches: further comprising: a positioning unit that detects a position of a target object based on the distance information (Para 52: “ At operation 403, processing logic of the hub (or node) having a wireless control device initially causes a wireless network of sensor nodes to be configured as a first network architecture (e.g., a mesh-based network architecture) for a time period (e.g., predetermined time period, time period sufficient for localization, etc.). At operation 404, the processing logic of the hub (or node) determines localization of at least two nodes (or all nodes) using at least one of frequency channel overlapping, frequency channel stepping, multi-channel wide band, and ultra-wide band for at least one of time of flight and signal strength techniques as discussed in the various embodiments disclosed in application Ser. No. 14/830,668 and incorporated by reference herein. At operation 406, upon localization of the at least two network sensor nodes being complete, the processing logic of the hub (or node) terminates time of flight measurements if any time of flight measurements are occurring and continues monitoring the signal strength of communications with the at least two nodes.”).
Regarding claim 14 Bakhishev discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Bakhishev further teaches: wherein each of the device is at least one of a mobile communication device, a beacon device, a server, or a base station that communicates wirelessly with any of the mobile communication device and the beacon device (Figure 1, Para 42: “FIG. 1 shows communication in an exemplar wireless sensor network. In this network, RSSI can be measured by at least one of the hub and any node during one or more of the communication signaling events, including but not limited to communication from the hub to one or more nodes, communication from a node to the hub, or communication between nodes. RSSI can be measured by the hub or by any of the nodes with respect to communication between the hub and said node, or even for signals detected related to communication between the hub and another node.”).
Regarding claim 15 Bakhishev discloses all the limitations of claim 14. Bakhishev further teaches: wherein the communication processing device is at least one of a mobile communication device, a beacon device, a server, or a base station that communicates wirelessly with any of the mobile communication device and the beacon device (Para 52: “At operation 401, the hub having radio frequency (RF) circuitry and at least one antenna transmits communications to a plurality of sensor nodes in the wireless network architecture (e.g., wireless asymmetric network architecture). At operation 402, the RF circuitry and at least one antenna of the hub receives communications from the plurality of sensor nodes each having a wireless device with a transmitter and a receiver to enable bi-directional communications with the RF circuitry of the hub in the wireless network architecture. At operation 403, processing logic of the hub (or node) having a wireless control device initially causes a wireless network of sensor nodes to be configured as a first network architecture (e.g., a mesh-based network architecture) for a time period (e.g., predetermined time period, time period sufficient for localization, etc.). At operation 404, the processing logic of the hub (or node) determines localization of at least two nodes (or all nodes) using at least one of frequency channel overlapping, frequency channel stepping, multi-channel wide band, and ultra-wide band for at least one of time of flight and signal strength techniques as discussed in the various embodiments disclosed in application Ser. No. 14/830,668 and incorporated by reference herein. “).
Regarding claim 16 Bakhishev discloses all the limitations of claim 5. Bakhishev further teaches: further comprising: a communication unit that transmits the distance information to a processing device (Para 85: “Furthermore, if the position of the image capturing devices (e.g., cameras) is known, more information can be obtained from images of the robot as it moves through the field of view. As an example, the robot can move at a known, constant speed. If two images of views 1200 and 1210 are taken a known time apart as illustrated in FIG. 12, then that time information can be combined with robot speed and distance d traveled within the field of view to calculate relative distance of the camera to the robot and distances of other objects within the field of view, as shown in FIG. 12. In one example, a first view 1200 is captured at a time t0 and a second view 1210 is captured at a time t1. Each view includes chairs 1240-1241 and table 1242.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bakhishev (US10514704B2) in view of Kong (US10104508B2).
Regarding claim 7 Bakhishev discloses all the limitations of claim 6. Bakhishev does not teach “wherein the distance obtaining unit obtains at least three instances of the distance information pertaining to a distance between the target object and each of at least three communication partner devices, and the positioning unit detects the position of the target object based on the at least three instances of the distance information “.
However, Kong in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the distance obtaining unit obtains at least three instances of the distance information pertaining to a distance between the target object and each of at least three communication partner devices , and the positioning unit detects the position of the target object based on the at least three instances of the distance information (Detailed Description: “FIG. 5 illustrates a network architecture for determining locations of nodes in accordance with one embodiment. The network architecture 500 includes a hub 502, and nodes 510-512. The hub 502 and nodes 510-512 communicate bi-directionally using communications 520-525. In one example, the hub 502 is in a fixed and known location, for example, in a corner 550 of a known room 552. In alternative embodiments, the hub could be contained within a known appliance such as a smart thermostat, a smart refrigerator, or other such devices as would be apparent to one of skill in the art. Time of flight and triangulation is used to estimate the relative distance of each node from the known hub, which in turn allows for estimation of the absolute position of each node of the wireless sensor network.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bakhishev with Kong to incorporate the feature of: wherein the distance obtaining unit obtains at least three instances of the distance information pertaining to a distance between the target object and each of at least three communication partner devices , and the positioning unit detects the position of the target object based on the at least three instances of the distance information. Bakhishev and Kong are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of wireless technology for sensing and mapping. However, Bakhishev fails to disclose a feature of using three distances to estimate position. This feature is disclosed by Kong. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bakhishev with Kong to incorporate the feature of: wherein the distance obtaining unit obtains at least three instances of the distance information pertaining to a distance between the target object and each of at least three communication partner devices , and the positioning unit detects the position of the target object based on the at least three instances of the distance information as such a feature would increase the accuracy and efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Bakhishev and Kong discloses all the limitations of claim 7. Kong further teaches: wherein the positioning unit selects distance information to be used when detecting the position of the target object based on a radio wave characteristic between the target object and each of the communication partner device (Para 57: “FIG. 7 illustrates a network architecture for identification of objects (e.g., walls, floors, etc) in accordance with one embodiment. The network architecture 700 includes a hub 702 and a sensor node 710. The hub sends a TOF signal 740 for determining time of flight information for estimating a distance from the hub to the sensor. Signal strength information can be determined or extracted from standard communications sent between the hub and node. A signal strength region 750 indicates how the signal strength is attenuated slightly due to an object 720 (e.g., wall). If the time of flight information indicates a significantly longer distance (e.g., at least 10% longer distance, at least 20% longer distance, etc.) between nodes (hub and node) than the signal strength estimated distance would indicate, then this may indicate the presence of a reflection (e.g., reflected signal 742) that masks the timing of the main TOF signal 740. As such, the use of both of these measurement techniques can significantly enhance the quality and precision of localization.”).
The reason to combine Bakhishev with Kong is the same as one given in claim 7 above.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bakhishev (US10514704B2) in view of Kong (US10104508B2) and further in view of Chen (US10368392B2).
Regarding claim 8 the combination of Bakhishev and Kong discloses all the limitations of claim 7. Bakhishev does not teach “further comprising: a control unit that switches between a first mode for detecting a person/object using the detection unit and a second mode for detecting the position of the target object using the positioning unit”.
However, Chen in the analogous arts teaches: further comprising: a control unit that switches between a first mode for detecting a person/object using the detection unit and a second mode for detecting the position of the target object using the positioning unit (Para 5: “wireless sensor network architecture based on multifunctional and compound sensors 11 sensing module 111 first sensor node 112 second sensor node 113 detection area 1111 shock sensor 1112 sound sensor 1113 image sensor 1114 positioning unit 1115 first information mergingunit 1116 first communication unit 1121 second sensing unit 1122 second communication unit 1123 second information processing unit 1124 second information merging unit 12 relay transmission module 13 control module 131 third communication unit 132 third information merging unit 133 third information processing unit 134 command and control unit 125 storage unit 2 moving target”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bakhishev with Chen to incorporate the feature of: a control unit that switches between a first mode for detecting a person/object using the detection unit and a second mode for detecting the position of the target object using the positioning unit. Bakhishev and Chen are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of wireless technology for sensing and mapping. However, Bakhishev fails to disclose a feature of using three distances to estimate position. This feature is disclosed by Chen. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bakhishev with Chen to incorporate the feature of: a control unit that switches between a first mode for detecting a person/object using the detection unit and a second mode for detecting the position of the target object using the positioning unit as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Bakhishev, Kong and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 8.Chen further teaches: wherein when a person/object is detected in the first mode, the control unit detects the position of the target object using the second mode (Para 14: “A first information merging unit 1115 which is respectively connected with the plurality of shock sensors 111, sound sensors 1112, image sensors 1113 and positioning units 1114 is used for merging the acoustic shock feature information, the image feature information, the target category and the actual running direction of the moving target which are obtained through analysis and processing by the shock signal processing unit, the multi-element sound signal processing unit and the image information processing unit, estimating a running state of the moving target and forming the primary target information. In the embodiment, the first information merging unit 1115 is further used for calculating a distance from the first sensor nodes 111 to the second sensor node 112, and control a transmit power of the first communication unit 1116 according to the distance from the first sensor nodes 1111 and the second sensor node 112. The first information merging unit 1115 may perform data level merging on original data of the shock sensor 1111 and the sound sensor 1112 to reserve more useful acoustic shock feature information, and then perform feature level merging in combination with the image feature information of the moving target obtained by the image sensor 1113, thereby the object of performing refined classification on the target can be realized and the level of accuracy of intelligence information of a single sensor is improved.”).
The reason to combine Bakhishev and Chen is same as one given in claim 8 above.
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bakhishev (US10514704B2) in view of Chen (US10368392B2).
Regarding claim 11 Bakhishev discloses all the limitations of claim 6 Bakhishev does not teach “an image generation unit that generates an image associating the position detected by the positioning unit with information about a predetermined area “.
However, Chen in the analogous arts teaches: further comprising: an image generation unit that generates an image associating the position detected by the positioning unit with information about a predetermined area (Para 14: “ A first information merging unit 1115 which is respectively connected with the plurality of shock sensors 111, sound sensors 1112, image sensors 1113 and positioning units 1114 is used for merging the acoustic shock feature information, the image feature information, the target category and the actual running direction of the moving target which are obtained through analysis and processing by the shock signal processing unit, the multi-element sound signal processing unit and the image information processing unit, estimating a running state of the moving target and forming the primary target information. In the embodiment, the first information merging unit 1115 is further used for calculating a distance from the first sensor nodes 111 to the second sensor node 112, and control a transmit power of the first communication unit 1116 according to the distance from the first sensor nodes 1111 and the second sensor node 112. The first information merging unit 1115 may perform data level merging on original data of the shock sensor 1111 and the sound sensor 1112 to reserve more useful acoustic shock feature information, and then perform feature level merging in combination with the image feature information of the moving target obtained by the image sensor 1113, thereby the object of performing refined classification on the target can be realized and the level of accuracy of intelligence information of a single sensor is improved.”).
The reason to combine Bakhishev and Chen is same as one given in claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 12 the combination of Bakhishev and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 11. Chen further teaches: wherein the image generation unit generates the image associating chronological positions detected by the positioning unit with the information about the predetermined area (Para 12: That is, the shock signal processing unit and the multi-element sound signal processing unit are used for, according to the shock signal and the sound signal, extracting acoustic shock feature information of the moving target, identifying a target category of the moving target, acquiring, according to the multi-element sound array, a relative direction angle of a running direction of the moving target to the preset reference object (a certain marker in the first sensor nodes 111), and combining the relative direction angle of the running direction of the moving target to the preset reference object and the absolute orientation information, i.e., the geographic location information of the first sensor nodes 1111, of the preset reference object in the first sensor nodes 111 provided by the electronic compass to estimate an actual movement direction of the moving target 2; and when acquiring the relative direction angle of the moving target to the preset reference object, initiating the image sensing unit of the image sensor 1113 to acquire a plurality of consecutive frames of images of the moving target 2, and extracting the plurality of consecutive frames of images through the image information processing unit of the image sensor 113 to acquire multi-dimensional image information of the moving target and to acquire image feature information of the moving target, i.e., information, such as refinement category, speed, distance, number and the like, of the moving target. In the embodiment, a plurality of the image sensors 1113 collect image information of the moving target 2 over 360 degrees. In the embodiment, the first sensor nodes 111 may acquire, according to the feature information of the moving target, the category of the moving target, for example, a vehicle.”).
The reason to combine Bakhishev and Chen is same as one given in claim 8 above.
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Bakhishev and Chen discloses all the limitations of claim 11. Chen further teaches: a communication unit capable of wireless communication, wherein the target object is a mobile terminal device capable of communication (Para 7: “n order to achieve the above-mentioned object and other related objects, the present invention provides a wireless sensor network architecture based on multifunctional and compound sensors for monitoring a moving target, comprising: several sensing modules, each of the sensing modules comprising a plurality of first sensor nodes and a second sensor node, the plurality of first sensor modes and the second sensor node forming a detection area; wherein the first sensor nodes are used for collecting a target signal of a moving target after sensing that the moving target enters the detection area, pre-processing the target signal, extracting feature information of the moving target, analyzing the feature information of the moving target to form primary target information, and transmitting the primary target information to the second sensor node, and the second sensor node is used for performing moving target matching and association on the primary target information of the moving target that is transmitted by the plurality of first sensor nodes, and correcting the associated primary target information to form secondary target information; a relay transmission module connected with the sensing modules, used for communicating with the second sensor node for receiving the secondary target information; and a control module connected with the relay transmission module, used for receiving the secondary target information transmitted by the second sensor node, synthesizing and calibrating the secondary target information, simultaneously acquiring situation evaluation of the moving target by merging the calibrated secondary target information, and forming advanced target information according to the situation evaluation of the moving target.”), and the control unit causes the mobile terminal device to transmit the image through the communication unit (Para 14: “A first information merging unit 1115 which is respectively connected with the plurality of shock sensors 111, sound sensors 1112, image sensors 1113 and positioning units 1114 is used for merging the acoustic shock feature information, the image feature information, the target category and the actual running direction of the moving target which are obtained through analysis and processing by the shock signal processing unit, the multi-element sound signal processing unit and the image information processing unit, estimating a running state of the moving target and forming the primary target information. In the embodiment, the first information merging unit 1115 is further used for calculating a distance from the first sensor nodes 111 to the second sensor node 112, and control a transmit power of the first communication unit 1116 according to the distance from the first sensor nodes 1111 and the second sensor node 112. The first information merging unit 1115 may perform data level merging on original data of the shock sensor 1111 and the sound sensor 1112 to reserve more useful acoustic shock feature information, and then perform feature level merging in combination with the image feature information of the moving target obtained by the image sensor 1113, thereby the object of performing refined classification on the target can be realized and the level of accuracy of intelligence information of a single sensor is improved.”).
The reason to combine Bakhishev and Chen is same as one given in claim 8 above.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bakhishev (US10514704B2) in view of Fessler (US20160104013A1).
Regarding claim 17 Bakhishev discloses all the limitations of claim 5. Bakhishev does not teach “wherein the distance obtaining unit obtains the distance information calculated on the basis of group delay calculated from relationships between each of frequencies and phases of a plurality of propagation channels “.
However, Fessler in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the distance obtaining unit obtains the distance information calculated on the basis of group delay calculated from relationships between each of frequencies and phases of a plurality of propagation channels (Para 63: “With the above example embodiments, the distance between an RFID tag and a reader may be predicted by using phase measurements at different frequencies, and altering the phase measurements based on information ascertained by RSSI measurement to appropriately substantially align the phase measurements and obtain a phase slope corresponding to the distance. At least two phase measurements may be needed such that the example embodiments may take only a fraction of the amount of time required for the example phase method associated with FIGS. 1A and 1B. Accordingly, the above example embodiments may allow distance estimations with the accuracy and environmental robustness of phase method, and with significantly increased speed by using RSSI.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bakhishev with Fessler to incorporate the feature of: wherein the distance obtaining unit obtains the distance information calculated on the basis of group delay calculated from relationships between each of frequencies and phases of a plurality of propagation channels. Bakhishev and Fessler i are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of wireless technology for sensing and mapping. However, Bakhishev fails to disclose a feature of frequency and phase information to estimate distance between communication nodes. This feature is disclosed by Fessler. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bakhishev with Fessler to incorporate the feature of wherein the distance obtaining unit obtains the distance information calculated on the basis of group delay calculated from relationships between each of frequencies and phases of a plurality of propagation channels as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Bakhishev (US10514704B2) in view of Wei (CN111339511A).
Regarding claim 18 Bakhishev discloses all the limitations of claim 1. Bakhishev does not teach “wherein the detection unit detects the presence of the person/object between the devices based on information pertaining to each of frequencies and phases of a plurality of propagation channels between the devices “.
However, Wei in the analogous arts teaches: wherein the detection unit detects the presence of the person/object between the devices based on information pertaining to each of frequencies and phases of a plurality of propagation channels between the devices (Description: “can be seen from the above description, compared with present technology, identity validity verification method, a device and a terminal device provided by the invention, performing identity validity verification on the basis of channel state information. In one aspect, channel state information can simultaneously measure the frequency response of a plurality of subcarriers from a data packet, but not the overall amplitude response of all subcarriers overlapping so as to more finely frequency-selective channel. On the other hand, the channel state information only measure the amplitude of each subcarrier, also can measure the phase information of each sub-carrier, which can be the received signal strength indicator information RSSI unambiguous extended to the frequency domain and additional phase information, so for person detection based on the channel state information and the identity validity verification can effectively improve sensing ability of the wireless signal to the environment so as to improve the identification validity validation precision.”).
It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bakhishev with Wei to incorporate the feature of: wherein the detection unit detects the presence of the person/object between the devices based on information pertaining to each of frequencies and phases of a plurality of propagation channels between the devices. Bakhishev and Wei are all considered analogous arts as they all disclose the use of wireless technology for sensing and mapping. However, Bakhishev fails to disclose a feature of frequency and phase information to detect objects. This feature is disclosed by Wei. It would have been obvious to someone in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Bakhishev with Wei to incorporate the feature of: wherein the detection unit detects the presence of the person/object between the devices based on information pertaining to each of frequencies and phases of a plurality of propagation channels between the devices as such a feature would increase the efficiency of the system.
Conclusion
/BONGANI JABULANI MASHELE/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645