DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Claims 1-8, and 11-20 have an effective filing date of 16JUN2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/17/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restriction
In the response filed on 7/20/2026, Applicant elected, without traverse:
Group II, claims 11-20
Status of Claims
Claims 1-8, and 11-20 are currently pending and presented for examination on the merits.
Claims 1-8 are withdrawn from further consideration by Examiner under 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected inventions.
Claims 9-10 are canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12, 15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christiano et al (US 20160058765 A1, IDS 2/17/2025).
In regard to claims 11 and 12, Christiano et al teaches a method of treating skin comprising administering INCB018424, the treatment markedly reducing epidermal thickening and dermal inflammation [Fig. 15B]. Christiano et al further teaches INCB018424 is a JAK1/2 inhibitor [0006]. Christiano et al further teaches administration by topical delivery [0006]. Christiano et al further teaches the JAK1 or JAK2 is a siRNA [0006]. Christiano et al further teaches that eukaryotic expression vector can be used to transfect cells in order to produce proteins encoded by nucleotide sequences of the vector [0176]. Christiano et al further teaches the treatment of psoriasis with topical JAK1/JAK2 inhibitors [0360].
One of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date, would have been motivated to use Christiano’s method of contacting skin with a JAK1 and/or JAK2 inhibitor by transfecting cells on the skin surface by applying siRNA topically. It would have been prima facie obvious to use Christiano’s method for a methods comprising contacting a skin cell with a JAK1 and/or JAK2 inhibitor, and transfecting the skin cell with one or more nucleic acid molecules, because Christiano teaches contacting cells with a JAK1 and/or JAK2 inhibitor. Furthermore, Christiano teaches transfecting cells using siRNA.
In regard to claim 15, Christiano et al teaches nucleic acids inserted into vectors and used in gene therapy vectors [0273].
In regard to claims 17-19, Christiano et al teaches the delivery of nucleic acids into viable cells by ex vivo, in vivo, and in vitro [0272].
In regard to claim 20, Christiano et al teaches the layers of skin comprise two layers, the epidermis and dermis [0113]. Christiano et al further teaches the epidermis layer is the outer layer of skin [0113]. Christiano et al further teaches the epidermis is 95% comprised of keratinocytes [0113].
Claims 13, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christiano et al (US 20160058765 A1, IDS 2/17/2025) as applied to claims 11-12, 15, and 17-20 above, and further in view of Swindell et al (RNA-Seq Analysis of IL-1B and IL-36 Responses in Epidermal Keratinocytes Identifies a Shared MyD88-Dependent Gene Signature, Frontiers in Immunology, Vol. 9, Art. 80, pgs. 1-20, 2018).
The teachings of Christiano et al are discussed above.
Christiano et al does not specifically teach vector expressing components of a CRISPR-Cas System. However, this deficiency is made up in the teachings of Swindell et al.
In regard to claim 13, Swindell et al teaches using the CRISPR-Cas9 [Generations of Myd88-KO KCs by CRISPR/Cas9, pg. 4].
One of ordinary skill, before the effective filing date, would have been motivated to combine Christiano’s method of contacting skin with a JAK1 and/or JAK2 inhibitor by transfecting cells on the skin surface by applying siRNA topically, with Swindell method of transfecting cells using CRISPR-Cas9. The idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art (MPEP 2144.06). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is an exemplary rationale for a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP2143.It would have been prima facie obvious to combine Christiano and Swindell’s method for a methods comprising contacting a skin cell with a JAK1 and/or JAK2 inhibitor, and transfecting the skin cell with one or more nucleic acid molecules using a vector expressing components of CRISPR-Cas system, because Christiano teaches contacting cells with a JAK1 and/or JAK2 inhibitor. Furthermore, Christiano teaches transfecting cells using siRNA.
In regard to claim 14, Swindell et al teaches the use of single-guide RNA (sgRNA) as a targeting sequence [Generations of Myd88-KO KCs by CRISPR/Cas9, pg. 4].
In regard to claim 16, Swindell et al teaches transfecting keratinocytes to treating a skin condition [Abstract].
Conclusion
/DENNIS J SULLIVAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1642
/NELSON B MOSELEY II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1642