DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-11, and an amino acid as the “valuable substance” in the reply filed on 04/19/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-6 and 9-10 read on the elected invention and species.
Claims 7-8 and 11-14 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112, Second Paragraph
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “valuable substance”. This phrase renders the claim indefinite because the scope of the claim limited by the term “valuable” is not clear. The term “valuable” is indefinite and it would not be clear to one of ordinary skill in the art how much value/worth a substance should have to be considered “valuable”.
Claim 9 recites the limitation “the blending amount" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for the limitation “the blending” in the claim. To overcome this rejection, this limitation can be changed to, for example, “the amount”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being as being anticipated by Smart et al. (US 2019/0169548 A1).
Claims 1 and 4-5 are anticipated because Smart discloses a composition with dispersed taurine crystals [0067]-[0069].
Examiner’s Note: The limitation of claim 1, “for application to skin”, is interpreted as an intended use of the composition, nevertheless, the composition of Smart is capable of meeting the intended use because Smart teaches the compositions with taurine are for application to skin [0001]-[0002].
Claim 10 is anticipated because Smart teaches the taurine composition includes an aqueous medium [0067]-[0069].
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being as being anticipated by Smart et al. (US 2019/0169548 A1) and as evidenced by CN 113171331 A.
The 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection over Smart was previously discussed.
As evidenced by CN 113171331 A, taurine is soluble in water (English translation, pg. 3, bottom).
Claim 3 is anticipated because Smart teaches taurine [0067]-[0069] and taurine is inherently water soluble.
Claim 6 is anticipated because Smart teaches the taurine compositions include an aqueous medium, but some precipitates (i.e., crystals) are observed [0067]-[0069]. As taurine is inherently soluble in water, some of the taurine is reasonably expected to be necessarily present in the dissolved state.
Claims 1, 3-6, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being as being anticipated by CN 113171331 A.
Claims 1 and 4-5 are anticipated because CN 113171331 A discloses a crystal amino acid bath lotion with dispersed taurine (English translation, Example 1, pg. 4 bottom) The taurine in the composition is in crystalline form (pg. 3 bottom – pg. 4, top; Fig 1 and 2).
Examiner’s Note: The limitation of claim 1, “for application to skin”, is interpreted as an intended use of the composition, nevertheless, the composition of CN 113171331 A is capable of meeting the intended use because CN 113171331 A teaches the composition is used as a lotion to be applied to the skin (Example 1, pg. 4 bottom, pg. 2).
Claim 3 is anticipated because taurine is soluble in water (pg. 3, bottom).
Claim 6 is anticipated because CN 113171331 A discloses the crystal amino acid bath lotion has crystallized taurine and water (Example 1, pg. 4 bottom). Because taurine is soluble in water (pg. 3, bottom) some of the taurine is reasonably expected to be necessarily present in the dissolved state.
Claim 10 is anticipated because CN 113171331 A discloses the composition includes an aqueous medium (Example 1, pg. 4 bottom).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Smart et al. (US 2019/0169548 A1) in view of Lin et al. (Ind. Eng. Chem. Res. 2013, 52:3449−13458).
Regarding claim 2, Smart teaches a composition with dispersed taurine crystals [0067]-[0069].
Examiner’s Note: The limitation of claim 2, “for application to skin”, is interpreted as an intended use of the composition, nevertheless, the composition of Smart is capable of meeting the intended use because Smart teaches the compositions with taurine are for application to skin [0001]-[0002].
Smart does not teach that the taurine crystals are needlelike or that the length of the crystals is 5 µm or more and 3000 µm or less.
Lin discloses taurine crystals where the length ranges from about 1-900 µm (pg. 13452, Fig 4). Lin teaches that the size of taurine crystals effects its properties, such as fluidity, caking, and stickiness (pg. 13449, left column, second paragraph).
The size of taurine crystals is recognized to have different effects (fluidity, caking, and stickiness) with changing sized used. Thus, the general condition (size of taurine crystals) is known and the size is recognized to be result effective. As such, result effective variables can be optimized by routine experimentation, and it would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the size of the taurine crystals, as taught by Lin. See MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, as evidenced by Lin, taurine crystalizes as tetragonal needles (pg. 13449, left column, top), therefore, the taurine crystals of Smart taught at [0067]-[0069] would be reasonably expected to be “needlelike”.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over Smart et al. (US 2019/0169548 A1) in view of CN 113171331 A.
The 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection over Smart was previously discussed.
Regarding claim 9, Smart does not explicitly disclose at paragraphs [0067]-[0069] that the blending amount of the valuable substance in the composition is 1.0 to 5.0 times the saturation solubility with respect to the moisture content in the composition.
However, Smart does disclose that the taurine in water shows precipitates [0067]-[0069] and is therefore, at least at/greater than its saturation solubility with respect to the moisture content. Smart also discloses that the ratio of taurine to water maybe be from about 1:1 to about 3:1 or greater [0035].
CN 113171331 A discloses a crystal amino acid bath lotion with taurine (English translation, pg. 2). The taurine in the composition is in crystalline form (pg. 3 bottom – pg. 4, top; Fig 1 and 2). CN 113171331 A teaches that the amount of water affects the crystallization of taurine which has an effect on the moisturization of the composition (English translation, pg. 3, bottom – pg. 4, top).
Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general condition of a saturated taurine solution has been taught by the prior art (Smart); and the ratio of taurine to water is recognized to have an effect on the composition (i.e., moisturization, CN 113171331 A) as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum amount of taurine with respect to the moisture content in the composition via routine experimentation.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over CN 113171331 A in view of Lin et al. (Ind. Eng. Chem. Res. 2013, 52:3449−13458).
Regarding claim 2, CN 113171331 A discloses a crystal amino acid bath lotion with dispersed taurine (English translation, Example 1, pg. 4 bottom) The taurine in the composition is in the form of a needlelike crystal (pg. 3 bottom – pg. 4, top; Fig 1 and 2).
Examiner’s Note: The limitation of claim 2, “for application to skin”, is interpreted as an intended use of the composition, nevertheless, the composition of CN 113171331 A is capable of meeting the intended use because CN 113171331 A teaches the composition is used as a lotion to be applied to the skin (Example 1, pg. 4 bottom, pg. 2).
CN 113171331 A does not disclose that the length of the crystals is 5 µm or more and 3000 µm or less.
Lin discloses taurine crystals where the length ranges from about 1-900 µm (pg. 13452, Fig 4). Lin teaches that the size of taurine crystals effects its properties, such as fluidity, caking, and stickiness (pg. 13449, left column, second paragraph).
The size of taurine crystals is recognized to have different effects (fluidity, caking, and stickiness) with changing sized used. Thus, the general condition (size of taurine crystals) is known and the size is recognized to be result effective. As such, result effective variables can be optimized by routine experimentation, and it would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the size of the taurine crystals, as taught by Lin. See MPEP 2144.05.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being as being obvious over CN 113171331 A.
The 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection over CN 113171331 A was previously discussed.
Regarding claim 9, CN 113171331 A does not explicitly disclose that the blending amount of the valuable substance in the composition is 1.0 to 5.0 times the saturation solubility with respect to the moisture content in the composition.
However, CN 113171331 A does disclose that the taurine in the composition is in crystalline form (pg. 3 bottom – pg. 4, top; Fig 1 and 2). CN 113171331 A also teaches varying amounts of the taurine (pg. 2) and solvents (i.e., water, pg. 2) can be used and that that the amount of water affects the crystallization of taurine which has an effect on the moisturization of the composition (English translation, pg. 3, bottom – pg. 4, top).
Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In this case, the general condition of a crystalline taurine composition is known in the art and the ratio of taurine to water is recognized to have an effect on the composition (i.e., moisturization, pg. 3, bottom – pg. 4, top) as such, it would not have been inventive for the skilled artisan to have discovered the optimum amount of taurine with respect to the moisture content in the composition via routine experimentation within the teachings of CN 113171331 A.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 and 7-19 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/565,074 in view of CN 113171331 A.
Claims 1-6 and 9-10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent Application No. 18/849,858 in view of CN 113171331 A.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The copending claims recite all of the features instantly recited for the composition except for the blending amount of the valuable substance in the composition being in an amount of 1.0 to 5.0 times the saturation solubility with respect to the moisture content in the composition.
CN 113171331 A discloses a crystal amino acid bath lotion with dispersed taurine (English translation, Example 1, pg. 4 bottom). The taurine in the composition is in crystalline form (pg. 3 bottom – pg. 4, top; Fig 1 and 2). CN 113171331 A teaches varying amounts of the taurine (pg. 2) and solvents (i.e., water, pg. 2) can be used and that that the amount of water affects the crystallization of taurine which has an effect on the moisturization of the composition (pg. 3, bottom – pg. 4, top).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the blending amount of the taurine in the composition in an amount of 1.0 to 5.0 times the saturation solubility with respect to the moisture content in the composition, within the copending claims. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). In the instant case, it would have been prima facie obvious to optimum the amount of taurine with respect to the moisture content in the composition via routine experimentation following the teachings of CN 113171331 A.
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections.
Conclusion
/ASHLEE E WERTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/SAHANA S KAUP/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612