DETAILED ACTION
Pursuant to the amendment dated 07/22/2026, claims 2, 5, 22, 24, 34, and 37-39 were amended, claims 3-4, 6-10, 12-14,16-21, 23, 25, 33, 35-36, 40, and 43-48 were cancelled, and claims 50-64 were newly added. Claims 1-2, 5, 11, 15, 22, 24, 26-32, 34, 37-39, 41-42 and 49-64 are pending in the instant application and are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
This application is a National Stage Application of PCT/CN2022/087136, filed on 04/15/2022 and claims foreign priority to CHINA PCT/CN2021/097348 filed on 05/31/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) dated 07/22/2026 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, the IDS document has been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Withdrawn Objections
Applicant’s amendment, filed on 07/22/2026, with respect to the objection of the drawings, has been fully considered and is persuasive. Applicant has amended Figure 2C to clarify the pH 7.3 in the title referred to the pH of the starting diluent. The objection is hereby withdrawn.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s amendment, filed on 07/22/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 22-24, 26-32, 34, 37-39, 41-42, and 49 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), because the specification, while being enabling for treating an illness caused by a saccharide related disease, it does not reasonably provide enablement for preventing a disease or condition caused by or associated with a saccharide related disease, has been fully considered and is persuasive. Applicant has amended independent claims 22 to remove the phrase “preventing”. The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, filed on 07/22/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 22-24, 26-32, 34, 37-39, 41-42, and 49 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement, has been fully considered and is persuasive. Applicant has amended independent claims 22 to further narrow the saccharide related disease to be an infectious disease, infection, infection-related disease, adverse reaction to or theraoeutic antibodv. cvtokine storm or cvtokine release svndrome (CRS inflammation. inflammatory respiratory disease. Inflammatory gastrointestinal disease, diarrhea, inflammatorv bowel disease (IBD), dehvdration, arthritis, autoimmune disease, allergy, or cancer.. The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, filed on 05/05/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 8, 13, 16, 17 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2014/151523 A1, published 04/18/2019, IDS dated 11/06/2023) and Remmereit et al. (WO 2019/073298, published 04/18/2019, PTO-892 dated 04/22/2026), has been fully considered and is persuasive. Applicant has canceled claims 8, 13, 16, 17 and 23 rendering the rejection moot. The rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Rejections Necessitated by Amendment
The following are new ground(s) necessitated by Applicants' amendment, filed on 07/22/2026, wherein instant claims 50-64 are newly added.
New and Modified Grounds of Rejection
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 50-53 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), because the specification, while being enabling for treating a viral infection comprising administering to a subject an effective amount of the composition of claim 1, wherein the infection is from a respiratory virus, influenza virus, enterovirus, adenovirus, coronavirus, rhinovirus, respiratory syncytial virus, or B virus, it does not reasonably provide enablement for preventing a viral infection. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
With respect to the claimed method, attention is directed to In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (CAFC 1988) at 1404 where the court set forth the eight factors to consider when assessing if a disclosure would have required undue experimentation. (1) the nature of the invention; (2) the state of the prior art; (3) the relative skill of those in the art; (4) the predictability or unpredictability of the art; (5) the breadth of the claims; (6) the amount of direction or guidance presented; (7) the presence or absence of working examples; and (8) the quantity of experimentation necessary.
All of the Wands factors have been considered and those most relevant to the cited claims are discussed below.
Nature of the invention: The invention is drawn to a method of preventing a viral infection comprising administering to a subject an effective amount of the composition of claim 1, wherein the infection is from a respiratory virus, influenza virus, enterovirus, adenovirus, coronavirus, rhinovirus, respiratory syncytial virus, or B virus, it does not reasonably provide enablement for preventing a viral infection.
Relative skill of those in the art: The relevant art is pharmaceutical formulations, which is a mature art where practitioners receive specialized training and earn advanced degrees during the course of their study. There is a voluminous amount of published material describing research, best practices and practical application of compositions and techniques to the medical field. The relative skill of those in the art is high.
Breadth of claims: The claims are broad with respect to the concept of prevention. The full scope of the instant claims covers the entire definition prevention as well any adverse effects from a viral infection. The instant specification does not define “prevention”. In the absence of a limiting definition of “prevention” in the instant specification the full scope of the claims encompasses the entire definition of tertiary prevention, which covers reducing the occurrence of or eliminating a symptom or condition. The term “prevention” is assumed to take on the customary meaning known to those skilled in the art. Specifically, “prevention” is defined according to the Institute for International Medical Education (Wojtczak, 2002) as: the goals within the field of medicine to promote health, to preserve health, to restore health when it is impaired, and to minimize suffering and distress. Customarily prevention is sub-classified as primary (the protection of health by personal and community wide effects), secondary (the measures available to individuals and populations for the early detection and prompt and effective intervention to correct departures from good health) and tertiary (the measures available to reduce or eliminate long-term impairments and disabilities, minimize suffering caused by existing departures from good health, and to promote the patient's adjustment to irremediable conditions). Tertiary prevention is most relevant as used in the context of the instant invention. Thus, the intent of the method, as interpreted by a skilled practitioner of the medical or pharmaceutical arts, would include that which reduces the occurrence of, or eliminates, a disease or condition caused by or associated with a betacoronavirus infection to an individual.
Amount of guidance/Existence of working examples: The instant specification provides several working examples. In one example (instant specification Figure 4A-4F) shows that a composition comp comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid reduced binding of the S protein of SARS-CoV-2 virus to NB4 cells but did not completely prevent the binding. Another example (instant specification Figure 6A and 6B) exemplified mice model with H1N1 influenza treated with a composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester had better survival rates than a control and similar survival rates as Tamiflu but did not show the prevention of H1N1.
State of the prior art/Predictability or unpredictability of the art: Wang et al. (Cell Research, published February 4, 2020, PTO-892) is drawn to the evaluation of the antiviral efficiency of five FAD-approved drugs including ribavirin, penciclovir, nitazoxanide, nafamostat, chloroquine and two well-known broad-spectrum antiviral drugs remdesivir (GS-5734) and favipiravir (T-705) against a clinical isolate of 2019-nCoV in vitro. As indicated by the instant specification (instant specification paragraph 003), 2019-nCoV is a betacoronavirus. Wang teaches that at the time of publication there was no specific treatment against the novel coronavirus. Wang showed that the compounds tested in vitro had antiviral efficiency against 2019-nCoV (Figure 1, page 270). Wang teaches that further in vivo tested should be assessed (column 1, page 271) Weiss et al. (Microbiology and Molecular Biology Reviews, published December 2005, see PTO-892) is drawn to a review of the coronavirus pathogenesis (title). Wiess teaches that SARS infection exhibits a wide clinical course, characterized mainly be fever, dyspnea, lymphopenia, and lower respiratory tract infection. Weiss further teaches that airborne droplets from infected patients may be the main route of transmission (page 649, column 1).
Quantity of experimentation: Prevention is difficult to determine due to the inability to control who will contract the condition. There is no disclosure or suggestion in the art or the specification on how to determine prevention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have to conduct a myriad number of experiments comprising trial and error administration of the claimed compositions to both healthy individuals and individuals with viral infections to determine if the claimed compositions can be used in the fully claimed scope prevent a disease or condition caused by a viral infection. Genetech, 108 F.3d at 1366, states that “a patent is not a hunting license. It is not a reward for search, but compensation for its successful conclusion” and “[p]atent protection is granted in return for an enabling disclosure of an invention, not for vague intimations of general ideas that may or may not be workable”.
Therefore, in view of the Wands factors as discussed above, e.g., the breadth of the claims, the amount of guidance provided, the state/unpredictability of the art and the lack of working examples, one of skill in the art would be burdened with undue experimentation to practice the invention commensurate in the scope of the claims, with no assurance of success. Instant claims 51-53 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim base.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 15, 22, 24, 26-28, 31-32, 34, 37-39, 41, 42, 49, 50, 51, and 53-64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2014/151523 A1, published 04/18/2019, IDS dated 11/06/2023) and Remmereit et al. (WO 2019/073298, published 04/18/2019, PTO-892 dated 04/22/2026).
Wang is drawn to the study of compositions and methods for treating infectious and inflammatory diseases using saccharide-based products and therapies (abstract). Wang teaches a product comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester wherein the product comprises about 0.1 mg/ml or 0.1 mg/g to about 20 mg/ml or 20 mg/g of the N-acetylneuraminic acid and about 0.1 mg/ml or 0.1 mg/g to about 20 mg/ml or 20 mg/g of the N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester (claim 8). Wang teaches a method of making an oral rehydration salt or a rehydration solution (ORS) comprising suitable amounts of sialic acid plus N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester and pharmaceutically acceptable salts in the form of a powder formula or a mixture of an oral rehydration salts (page 19 lines 12-17). The ORS powder mixture in a total amount of 20-35 grams for making 1000 ml of ORS solution comprise about 0.01 gram to about 5.0 grams of N-acetylneuraminic acid, about 0.005 gram to 5.0 grams of a saccharide modifying molecule (e.g. methionine) or an analog of the sialic acid (e.g. N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester). The pharmaceutically acceptable salts comprise 3.5 grams of sodium chloride, 1.5 grams of potassium chloride, 2.9 grams of sodium citrate, and 20 grams of glucose, in one liter of water. The amount of the pharmaceutically acceptable salts can be adjusted (e.g. reduced or increased). The N-acetylneuraminic acid can be used as an acidic reagent to achieve a desired pH value of an ORS (page 19, lines 21-34). Wang teaches that the composition or products may include a saccharide such as glucose (page 15). The instant specification defines a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier as nontoxic to the cell or mammal being exposed thereto at the dosages and concentrations employed and that examples of physiologically acceptable carriers include buffers such as phosphate, citrate, and other organic acids (instant specification page 16). Therefore, the oral rehydration solution taught by Wang comprising sodium citrate in water would meet the limitations of a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier in instant claim 15 (page 17). Wang exemplifies the treatment of H1N1 influenza infected mice with a composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester meeting the limitation of instant claims 22, 24, 26, 27, 50, and 51 (page 37-38, Table 7). Wang teaches administrating the pharmaceutical composition or the therapeutic product to a human or an animal individual at risk of suffering or developing infectious and inflammatory diseases or conditions in particular gastrointestinal respiratory diseases or conditions (e.g. diarrhea, rotavirus and influenza) (page 22). Wang teaches that diarrhea may be caused by an infection such as rotavirus, coronavirus, Norwalk virus, cytomegalovirus, herpes simplex virus and viral hepatitis meeting the limitations of instant claims 28, 31(page 8).
Wang teaches a method for treating an infectious disease or inflammatory disease or infection-relating diseases or conditions, comprising administering an effective amount of the composition to a patient who has been diagnosed with an infectious disease or an inflammatory disease or an infection-relating diseases or conditions, or who is at risk for an infectious or inflammatory disease, or an infection-relating diseases or conditions wherein the infection-relating disease or condition is occurred during or after an infection or a vaccination (page 53). Wang teaches that the infectious diseases includes but is not limited to disorders caused by influenza viruses, adenovirus, rhinoviruses, respiratory syncytial viruses (page 4). The inflammatory lung disease may be acute respiratory distress syndrome (page 8). Wang teaches that administration of the composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester resulted in reduced abortion, dystocia, mastitis, infections and other diseases of pregnant and feeding females (page 48). Wang teaches that the product comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester is between about 0.1 mg/kg to about 20 mg/kg N-acetylneuraminic acid and about 0.1 mg/kg to about 20 mg/kg N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester (claim 14). The composition may be administered subcutaneously, topically, orally, intramuscularly, intravenously, intraperitoneally, intracavitally, or transdermally, or via inhalation (claim 15). Wang teaches that the composition may be administered to a human wherein the humans comprising males and females, newborns, 1-12 months old infants, 1-18 years old children, adults, old people, pregnant and feeding females (claim 18). Wang teaches that the composition may be administered to animals such as livestock comprising cows, pigs, horses, sheep or goats, llamas, cattle, donkeys; poultry comprising chickens, ducks, gooses, turkeys and pigeons; companion animals comprising dogs, cats, rodent pets and avian pets, aquatic animals comprising fish, shrimp, oyster, crustaceans, and mollusks (claim 16).
Wang does not teach the pH of the composition is between 3.0-6.8.
Remmereit is drawn to compositions comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid for treating viral infections (abstract). Remmereit teaches that the pH of N-acetylneuraminic acid compositions will vary depending on the particular medicament used and taking into account biological acceptance and the stability of the medicament. Typically, the pH of the composition will fall within the range of about 4.5 to about 7.5 (pages 17-18).
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Wang and Remmereit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by optimizing the pH of the composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester taught by Wang to be within the pH range of 4.0-6.8 as taught by Remmereit to arrive at the claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the pH within the range taught by Remmereit because Remmereit teaches that the pH of the composition will typically fall within the range of about 4.5 to about 7.5 and that the pH will vary depending on the stability of the medicament. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Wang teaches a composition comprising both N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester that may be adjusted using the N-acetylneuraminic acid as an acidic agent to achieve a desired pH value, and Remmereit teaches that the pH of the composition will typically fall within the range of about 4.5 to about 7.5. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (MPEP § 2144.05(I)) Moreover, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP § 2144.05(II)) “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Regarding instant claims 56, 57 and 62, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Wang and Remmereit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by optimizing the ratio of the N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester: N-acetylneuraminic acid in the ORS composition to be between 1.25:1 and 5:1 as taught by Wang arrive at the claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious to optimize N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester to N-acetylneuraminic acid ratio to be between 1.25:1 and 5:1 because Wang teaches that the composition may comprise 0.1 mg/ml or 0.1 mg/g to about 20 mg/ml or 20 mg/g of the N-acetylneuraminic acid and about 0.1 mg/ml or 0.1 mg/g to about 20 mg/ml or 20 mg/g of the N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester which may meet the limitation when 5 g N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester and 1 g N-acetylneuraminic acid which is in the range as taught by Wang. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (MPEP § 2144.05(I)) Moreover, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP § 2144.05(II)) “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Regarding instant claim 59, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine the teachings of Wang and Remmereit before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by optimizing the ratio of the N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester: citrate in the ORS composition to be between 1:1 and 5:1 taught by Wang arrive at the claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious to optimize N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester to sodium citrate ratio to be between 1:1 and 5:1 because Wang teaches that in a mixture of ORS for 1 L, the composition comprises 2.9 g of sodium citrate and between 0.005 to 5 g of N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (MPEP § 2144.05(I)) Moreover, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP § 2144.05(II)) “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2014/151523 A1, published 04/18/2019, IDS dated 11/06/2023) and Remmereit et al. (WO 2019/073298, published 04/18/2019, PTO-892 dated 04/22/2026) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rolston et al. (Scandinavian Journal of Gastroenterology, published 07/08/2009, PTO-892 dated 04/22/2026).
Claim 1 is rejected as discussed above.
The combined teachings of Wang and Remmereit are discussed above.
The combined teachings of Wang and Tian do not teach the composition further comprising sodium acetate at a ratio of between 1:1 and 5:1 (N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester: acetate).
Roston is drawn to the effect of bicarbonate, acetate, and citrate on water and sodium movement in normal and cholera toxin-treated rat small intestine. Roston teaches that bicarbonate, citrate, or acetate are commonly included in oral rehydration solutions to correct acidosis and possibly because of their ability to promote water and sodium absorption.
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the combined teachings of Wang and Remmereit with the teachings of Roston before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by substituting the sodium citrate in the ORS composition taught by Wang with sodium acetate as taught by Roston to arrive at the claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious to substitute sodium citrate with sodium acetate in an ORS composition because Roston teaches that both sodium citrate and sodium acetate are commonly included in ORS compositions. Sodium citrate and sodium acetate have the same functional use in correcting acidosis and therefore are functionally equivalent. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Wang teaches the use of sodium citrate in a ROS composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester and Roston teaches that both sodium citrate and sodium acetate are commonly included in ORS compositions. An express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982) (see MPEP 2144.06(II)).
It would have been prima facie obvious to combine the combined teachings of Wang and Remmereit with the teachings of Roston before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by optimizing the ratio of the N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester:acetate in the ORS composition to be between 1:1 and 5:1 taught by the combined teachings of Wang and Tian to arrive at the claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious to optimize N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester to sodium acetate ratio to be between 1:1 and 5:1 because Wang teaches that in a mixture of ORS for 1 L, the composition comprises 2.9 g of sodium citrate and between 0.005 to 5 g of N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester. As sodium citrate is an art recognized functional equivalence with sodium acetate in an ORS, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably choose similar amounts. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). (MPEP § 2144.05(I)) Moreover, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). (MPEP § 2144.05(II)) “The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.” In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003).
Claims 29, 30, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (WO 2014/151523 A1, published 04/18/2019, IDS dated 11/06/2023) and Remmereit et al. (WO 2019/073298, published 04/18/2019, PTO-892 dated 04/22/2026) as applied to claims 1, 22, 24, 28 and 50 above, and further in view of Tian et al. (CN 111686253 A, published 09/22/2020, PTO-892 dated 04/22/2026).
Claims 1, 22 and 28 are rejected as discussed above.
The combined teachings of Wang and Remmereit are discussed above.
Wang further teaches that an infection-relating disease or condition may include disorders or conditions that occur during or after an infection. The infection relating diseases or conditions may include chronic fatigue syndrome (page 6).
The combined teachings of Wang and Remmereit do not teach that the coronavirus is (SARS) virus, SARS-CoV-2 virus, Middle East respiratory syndrome (MERS) virus, or avian infectious bronchitis virus (IBV). The combined teachings of Wang and Remmereit do not teach that the subject is a COVID-19 long hauler.
Tian is drawn to methods for treating coronaviruses such as the novel coronavirus (2019 -nCoV) of SARS-CoV and MERS-CoV (page 2). Tian teaches a new method for preventing and killing coronavirus, wherein the substance or compound for reducing the activity of coronavirus is selected and obtained according to the characteristic of the surface negative charge of the substance; wherein the substance or compound has surface negative charge characteristic substance or is combined with the positive charge surface charge of the coronavirus; the substance or compound is combined with the s protein receptor of the coronavirus to inactivate the virus characteristic; the substance capable of reducing the activity of the virus has specific negative charge characteristic on the surface of the substance; it is easy to combine with surface S protein receptor of coronavirus (claim 1). The new method for preventing and killing coronavirus where the biochemical substance with surface negative charge characteristic capable of inactivating the coronavirus is heparin sulphate or sialic acid substance (claim 2).
Regarding instant claim 29, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine the combined teachings of Wang and Remmereit with the teachings of Tian before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by using the composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester within the pH range of 4.0-6.8 for treating a coronavirus infection taught by the combined teachings of Wang and Remmereit to treat a patient with Covid-19 as taught by Tian to arrive at the claimed invention. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to treat a patient with Covid-19 with the composition taught by the combined teachings of Wang and Remmereit because Wang and Remmereit teach a composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester within the pH range of 4.0-6.8 that can be used to treat an infections disease such as coronaviruses and infectious disease conditions such as chronic fatigue syndrome and Tian teaches that sialic acid (N-acetylneuraminic acid) may be used to treat a patient with Covid-19.. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Tian teaches that sialic acid is capable of inactivating the coronavirus of Covid-19 and the combined teachings of Wang and Remmereit teach administering a composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester within the pH range of 4.0-6.8 to a patient for treatment of an infectious disease or related conditions such as coronaviruses.
Regarding instant claim 30, it would have been prima facie obvious to combine the combined teachings of Wang and Remmereit with the teachings of Tian before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by using the composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester within the pH range of 4.0-6.8 for treating a condition related to an infectious disease such as chronic fatigue syndrome as taught by the combined teachings of Wang and Remmereit to treat a patient with Covid-19 as taught by Tian to arrive at the claimed invention. the instant specification defines a COVID-19 long hauler as a patient that has recovered from the worst impacts of COVID-19 and have tested negative, but still has symptoms such as coughing, ongoing, sometimes debilitating, fatigue, body aches, joint pain, shortness of breath, loss of taste and smell, difficulty sleeping, headaches, brain fog, etc. (instant specification page 30). Therefore, a patient suffering from chronic fatigue syndrome after infection from COVID-19 could be considered a COVID-19 long hauler. It would have been prima facie obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to treat a COVID-19 long hauler suffering from fatigue with a composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester because Wang teaches treating infectious diseases conditions such as chronic fatigue with the composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester and that infectious diseases includes coronaviruses and Tian teaches treating covid-19 patients with N-acetylneuraminic acid. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success because Wang teaches treating infectious diseases conditions, such as chronic fatigue with the composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester and that infectious disease includes coronaviruses and Tian teaches treating covid-19 patients with N-acetylneuraminic acid.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/22/2026 have been fully considered in so much as they apply to the modified rejection but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Wang and Remmereit do not teach a composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester pH range of 4.0-6.8 as Remmereit is directed towards the pH of compositions comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and is silent on N-acetylneuraminic methyl ester. Further, the applicant argues that it would not have been obvious to optimize the pH range taught by Remmereit as N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester do not have the same stability profile over the same pH range. The argument is not persuasive. Remmereit teaches that the pH of N-acetylneuraminic acid compositions will vary depending on the particular medicament used and also taking into account biological acceptance and the stability of the medicament. Typically, the pH of the composition will fall within the range of about 4.5 to about 7.5. As the instant invention is directed to composition comprising both N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic methyl ester and Remmereit teaches the pH of compositions that comprise N-acetylneuraminic acid will fall within the pH range of 4.5 to about 7.5 and will be dependent on the stability of the medicament and takes into account biological acceptance, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize a composition comprising N-acetylneuraminic acid and N-acetylneuraminic acid methyl ester within the pH range taught by Remmereit. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success of optimizing the composition to be within a pH range of 4.0-6.8 as Remmereit teaches that composition pH takes into account biological acceptance. The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Should you have questions about access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
/S.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/SCARLETT Y GOON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1693