DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims 8 and 12-22 in the submission dated 6/26/2026 in response to the office action mailed 2/12/2026 are acknowledged and accepted.
Claims 23-25 are new. Claims 8-25 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraph 2 on page 7 of 15 through the first four lines on page 8 of 15 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 6/26/2026, with respect to claims 12-22 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The interpretation under 35 U.S.C. § 112(f) of claims 12-22 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see paragraph 2 on page 8 of 15 through paragraph 2 on page 12 of 15 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 6/26/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 8-22 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the amended claims. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Paulet Vazquez, US 2016/0320632 A1, and King, US 2018/0180901.
Applicant’s arguments, see the last two lines on page 12 of 15 through paragraph 2 on page 13 of 15 of Applicant’s Remarks, filed 6/26/2026, with respect to new claims 23-25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Claims 23-25 are dependent on amended claim 8 in which a new ground of rejection is made in view of Paulet Vazquez, US 2016/0320632 A1, and King, US 2018/0180901.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8, 12, 15, 18-22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulet Vazquez, US 2016/0320632 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Paulet Vazquez), in view of King, US 2018/0180901 (hereinafter referred to as King).
As to claim 8, Paulet Vazquez teaches (Figs. 1-2) an element for joining (4, para [0015], articulated parts 4, Figs. 1-2) the front portion of spectacles (2, para [0015], a frame 2, Fig. 1) to sidepieces (5, para [0015], sidepieces 5, Fig. 1) for securing to the head of a user (para [0008], the glasses are fastened to the head, Fig. 1), the element comprising:
a core made of an elastomer (4, para [0015], the articulation parts 4 are manufactured in a flexible silicon-based material, specifically Siliflex, which is an elastomer, Figs. 1-2), where the element has a first end face (2, 4a, para [0017], the first end face is at the end where the first protuberance 4a is inserted into the frame 2 as shown in the annotated Fig. 2 below, Fig. 2) and a second end face (5, 4d, para [0017], the second end face is at the end where the second protuberance 4d is inserted into the sidepieces 5 as shown in the annotated Fig. 2 below, Fig. 2) which, with the element in a state of rest, form between them an angle (as shown in Fig. 2 there is angle between the first and second end faces, Fig. 2), such that starting from the first end face, the element has a first side of the element (4, the left side of the articulated part as shown in Fig. 2 is considered the first side of the element, Fig. 2) with a first curved portion with a first radius (4b, para [0017], the entry 4b located on the left side is considered the first curved portion as shown in the annotated Fig. 2 below, Fig. 2) that provides a concave section to the element (4b, para [0017], the entry 4b considered the first curved portion is a concave curve in the left side of the articulated part 4, Fig. 2), up to a second curved portion (the second curved portion is shown in the annotated Fig. 2 below), of opposite curvature to the first curved portion (the curvature of the second curved portion is convex and opposite the curvature of the first curved portion as shown in Fig. 2) that connects with a first flat portion (the second curved portion is connected to the first flat portion as shown in the annotated Fig. 2 below) that is perpendicular to the second end face (the first flat portion is perpendicular to the second end face as shown in the annotated Fig. 2 below); and a second side of the element, opposite to the first side (4, the right side of the articulated part as shown in Fig. 2 is considered the second side of the element, and is opposite the first (left) side, Fig. 2), has a third curved portion (4b, para [0017], the entry 4b located on the right side is considered the third curved portion as shown in the annotated Fig. 2 below, Fig. 2) with a second radius that provides a concave section to the element (4b, para [0017], the entry 4b considered the third curved portion is a concave curve in the right side of the articulated part 4, Fig. 2), then a second flat portion that reaches the first end face perpendicularly (2, 4a, para [0017], the second flat portion reaches the first end perpendicularly as shown in the annotated Fig. 2 below), wherein the second curved portion of the first side corresponds to the third curved portion of the second side, such that the second radius affects the curvature of both the third curved portion and the second curved portion (4, para [0017], the articulated part 4 has winding shape determined by both entries 4b, as shown in the annotated Fig. 2 below the second curved portion and the third curved portion are directly opposite each other, thus the second curved portion corresponds to the third curved portion and the second radius affects the curvature of the third and second curved portions, Fig. 2).
Paulet Vazquez does not teach the element comprising a coating of rubber.
Paulet Vazquez and King are related as eyewear with flexible hinges.
However, King teaches (Figs. 1-) an element for joining (9, 10, para [0026], plastic hinges 9, 10, Figs. 3-4) the front portion of spectacles (2, para [0026], forehead part 2, Figs. 3-4) to sidepieces (7, 8, para [0026], temple parts 7, 8, Fig. 2) for securing to the head of a user (para [0025], to grip and hold the frame against the users head, Fig. 2), the element comprising:
a core made of an elastomer (9, 10, paras [0026] and [0042], the first polymer molding forms plastic hinges 9, 10) and a coating of rubber (9, 10, paras [0041]-[0042], the second polymer is molded over the first polymer, the second polymer is a sufficiently flexible and soft material).
Thus, King does not explicitly teach that the coating material is made of rubber, however It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a coating a rubber because it is a sufficiently flexible and soft material. It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art Sinclair & Carroll Co. v.Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In reLeshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious). MPEP §2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the element for joining of Paulet Vazquez with the coating material of King, because doing so permits the movement at the plastic hinges (para [0041]).
As to claim 12, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8, and Paulet Vazquez further teaches the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the first end face has a connector (4a, para [0017], a first protuberance 4a, Fig. 2).
As to claim 15, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8, and Paulet Vazquez further teaches the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the second end face has a connector (4d, para [0017], a second protuberance 4d, Fig. 2).
As to claim 18, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 12, and Paulet Vazquez further teaches the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the connector is a projection with a T-shaped section (4a, para [0017], the first protuberance 4a has a T-shaped section as shown in Fig. 2).
As to claim 19, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15, and Paulet Vazquez further teaches the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the connector is a projection with a T-shaped section (4a, para [0017], the first protuberance 4a has a T-shaped section as shown in Fig. 2).
As to claim 20, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 12, and Paulet Vazquez further teaches the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the connector has a rectangular ring (4a, para [0017], the perspective view of the first protuberance 4a shows the rectangular ring shape, Fig. 1).
As to claim 21, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 15, and Paulet Vazquez further teaches the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the connector has a rectangular ring (4d, para [0017], the perspective view of the second protuberance 4d shows the rectangular ring shape, Fig. 1).
As to claim 22, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 18, and Paulet Vazquez further teaches the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the connector has a rectangular ring (4a, para [0017], the perspective view of the first protuberance 4a shows the rectangular ring shape, Fig. 1).
As to claim 25, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8.
Paulet Vazquez does not teach the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the coating is made of thermoplastic rubber.
Paulet Vazquez and King are related as eyewear with flexible hinges.
However, King teaches the element, wherein the coating is made of thermoplastic rubber (9, 10, paras [0041]-[0042], the second polymer is molded over the first polymer, the second polymer is a sufficiently flexible and soft material, the preferred material is thermo plastic elastomer).
Thus, King does not explicitly teach that the coating material is made of a thermoplastic rubber, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a coating is made of thermoplastic rubber because it is a sufficiently flexible and soft material. It has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use is within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art Sinclair & Carroll Co. v.Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In reLeshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious). MPEP §2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the element for joining of Paulet Vazquez with the coating material of King, because doing so permits the movement at the plastic hinges (para [0041]).
Claims 9-11, 13-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulet Vazquez, US 2016/0320632 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Paulet Vazquez), in view of King, US 2018/0180901 (hereinafter referred to as King), and further in view of Chen et al., CN 201864234 U (of record and hereinafter referred to as Chen).
As to claim 9, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8.
Paulet Vazquez does not teach the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the first radius has a value between 0.5 mm and 1.8 mm.
Paulet Vazquez and Chen are related as eyeglasses with flexible hinges.
However, Chen teaches an element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user (3, para [0028], an elastically adjustable pair of glasses, including a frame 1, temples 2, and an elastic footplate 3 for connecting the two, Figs. 1-3), wherein the first radius has a value between 0.5 mm and 1.8 mm (32, para [0035], “the minimum lateral thickness of the elastic foot plate 3 at the first inner groove 32 is not less than 2.0 mm… the width of the elastic foot plate 3 is 6 mm,” this gives a range of the radius of the first inner groove 32 from 0.0 mm to 4.0 mm, Fig. 3).
It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the element such that the first radius has a value between 0.5 mm and 1.8 mm, which overlaps the disclosed range of 0.0 mm to 4.0 mm, since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph. In the current instance, the first radius is an art recognized results effective variable in that it gives the elastic foot plate a rapid rebound performance as taught by Chen (para [0036]). Thus one would have been motivated to optimize the first radius because it is an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.” Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because doing so gives the elastic foot plate a rapid rebound performance (para [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the element of Paulet Vazquez with the element wherein the first radius has a value between 0.5 mm and 1.8 mm of Chen, because doing so gives the elastic foot plate 3 a rapid rebound performance (para [0036]).
As to claim 10, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8.
Paulet Vazquez does not teach the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the second radius has a value between 1.5 mm and 3.2 mm.
Paulet Vazquez and Chen are related as eyeglasses with flexible hinges.
However, Chen teaches the element wherein the second radius has a value between 1.5 mm and 3.2 mm (31, paras [0033] and [0035], “the minimum lateral thickness of the elastic foot plate 3 at the U-shaped groove 31 should preferably be no less than 2.1 mm… the width of the elastic foot plate 3 is 6 mm,” this gives a range of the radius of the U-shaped groove 31 from 0.0 mm to 3.9 mm, Fig. 3).
It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the element such that the second radius has a value between 1.5 mm and 3.2 mm, which overlaps the disclosed range of 0.0 mm to 3.9 mm, since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph. In the current instance, the first radius is an art recognized results effective variable in that it gives the elastic foot plate a rapid rebound performance as taught by Chen (para [0036]). Thus one would have been motivated to optimize the second radius because it is an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.” Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because doing so gives the elastic foot plate a rapid rebound performance (para [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the element of Paulet Vazquez with the element wherein the second radius has a value between 1.5 mm and 3.2 mm of Chen, because doing so gives the elastic foot plate 3 a rapid rebound performance (para [0036]).
As to claim 11, Paulet Vazquez in view of King and further in view of Chen teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9.
Paulet Vazquez does not teach the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the second radius has a value between 1.5 mm and 3.2 mm.
Paulet Vazquez and Chen are related as eyeglasses with flexible hinges.
However, Chen teaches the element wherein the second radius has a value between 1.5 mm and 3.2 mm (31, paras [0033] and [0035], “the minimum lateral thickness of the elastic foot plate 3 at the U-shaped groove 31 should preferably be no less than 2.1 mm… the width of the elastic foot plate 3 is 6 mm,” this gives a range of the radius of the U-shaped groove 31 from 0.0 mm to 3.9 mm, Fig. 3).
It has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph.
Thus it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the element such that the second radius has a value between 1.5 mm and 3.2 mm, which overlaps the disclosed range of 0.0 mm to 3.9 mm, since it has been held that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP §2144.05(I) first paragraph. In the current instance, the first radius is an art recognized results effective variable in that it gives the elastic foot plate a rapid rebound performance as taught by Chen (para [0036]). Thus one would have been motivated to optimize the second radius because it is an art-recognized result-effective variable and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art, In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618, 195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B) “after KSR, the presence of a known result-effective variable would be one, but not the only, motivation for a personal of ordinary skill in the art to experiment to reach another workable product or process.” Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success when making this modification because doing so gives the elastic foot plate a rapid rebound performance (para [0036]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the element of Paulet Vazquez with the element wherein the second radius has a value between 1.5 mm and 3.2 mm of Chen, because doing so gives the elastic foot plate 3 a rapid rebound performance (para [0036]).
As to claim 13, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Paulet Vazquez further teaches the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the first end face has a connector (4a, para [0017], a first protuberance 4a, Fig. 2).
As to claim 14, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 10, and Paulet Vazquez further teaches the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the first end face has a connector (4a, para [0017], a first protuberance 4a, Fig. 2).
As to claim 16, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 9, and Paulet Vazquez further teaches the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the second end face has a connector (4d, para [0017], a second protuberance 4d, Fig. 2).
As to claim 17, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 10, and Paulet Vazquez further teaches the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the second end face has a connector (4d, para [0017], a second protuberance 4d, Fig. 2).
Claims 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paulet Vazquez, US 2016/0320632 A1 (hereinafter referred to as Paulet Vazquez), in view of King, US 2018/0180901 (hereinafter referred to as King), and further in view of Tardif US 2022/0283447 A1 (of record, hereinafter referred to as Tardif).
As to claim 23, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8.
Paulet Vazquez does not teach the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the angle formed between the first end face and the second end face with the elastomeric body in a state of rest is defined within the range of 50° and 80°.
Paulet Vazquez and Tardif are related as eyewear with flexible hinges.
However, Tardif teaches an element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user (10b, para [0032], “the removable, interchangeable, unbreakable, screwless, one-piece flexible spring hinge system for eyewear” is a hinge 10b used for joining the chassis C and left temple T2, Fig. 1), wherein the angle formed between the first end face and the second end face with the elastomeric body in a state of rest is defined within the range of 50° and 80° (10, paras [0012] and [0035], the hinge is curved substantially inward at rest closing the spectacles assembly, “at rest both of the right temple T1 and left temple T2 may be in an inwardly curved position making spectacles S closed for storage,” as can be seen in the annotated figure 2A below the angle defined by the first end face and the second end face is within the range of 50° and 80°, Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the element of Paulet Vazquez with the angle formed between the end faces of Tardif, because doing so allows for increased bending (para [0012]).
As to claim 24, Paulet Vazquez in view of King teaches all the limitations of the instant invention as detailed above with respect to claim 8.
Paulet Vazquez does not teach the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the core is made of a thermoplastic elastomer of vegetable origin made up of a regular linear chain of flexible polyether and rigid polyamide segments.
Paulet Vazquez and Tardif are related as eyewear with flexible hinges.
However, Tardif teaches the element, wherein the element for joining the front portion of spectacles to sidepieces for securing to the head of a user, wherein the core is made of a thermoplastic elastomer of vegetable origin made up of a regular linear chain of flexible polyether and rigid polyamide segments (10, para [0033], the materials of the hinge 10 are thermoplastic elastomers, “hundreds, if not thousands, of variations of thermoplastic elastomers and thermoplastic polymer may exist to fill such a need and are intended to be encompassed by the disclosure,” Fig. 2A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the element of Paulet Vazquez with the core material of Tardif, because doing so allows for increased bending (para [0012]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee, US 2017/0176770 A1, teaches elastic eyeglass temples with flexible members fitted inside a flexible curvy section.
James, US 2017/0017094 A1, teaches flexible U-shaped hinges for eyewear.
Cheng, US 2013/0050635 A1, teaches elastic hinges with a curved design.
Iimura, US 2011/0063566 A1, teaches a temple portion at the hinge having curved surfaces.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.J./JENNIFER A JONES
Examiner
Art Unit 2872
10/15/2026
/STEPHONE B ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872