DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: the fastening mechanism in claim 1 and pressing mechanism in claim 16.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The corresponding structure described in the specification for the fastening mechanism is being interpreted as the bolt and nut as mentioned in para. [0012] of the specification. The corresponding structure described in the specification for the pressing mechanism is being interpreted as the wedge members 60 as mentioned in para. [0036] of the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the second first rib" in the last two lines. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sekisui Chemical Co LTD (JP S53 160821 U, hereafter “Sekisui”).
Regarding claim 1, Sekisui discloses a water leak repair fitting (Fig. 1) attached to a water leak portion of a fluid pipe (the portion of 1 that 2 and 3 are attached to), the water leak repair fitting comprising: a plurality of metal bands (21, 22) provided at intervals in a pipe circumferential direction of the fluid pipe (Fig. 2); a water stop sheet (3) provided on an inner peripheral surface of each of the plurality of metal bands, is formed of an elastic body, and hermetically seals a space between the metal band and an outer peripheral surface of the fluid pipe (Figs. 1 and 2); and a fastening mechanism (as mentioned on page 3; Fig. 2, see the fastener around 211, 221) that fastens end parts of the plurality of metal bands in the pipe circumferential direction to each other (Fig. 2), wherein an inner peripheral surface of the water stop sheet includes a plurality of first ribs (the circumferentially extending ribs 32 as shown in Fig. 1) extending in the pipe circumferential direction, a plurality of second ribs (the axially extending ribs 32 as shown in Fig. 2) extending in a pipe axial direction, and a plurality of first recesses (the openings formed between each of the first and second ribs), each of the plurality of first recesses is defined by being closed by the plurality of first ribs and the plurality of second ribs, and an outer end of an outermost rib among the plurality of first ribs in the pipe radial direction is located on an inner side of an outer end of each of the plurality of metal bands in the pipe axial direction (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Sekisui further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 1, wherein the outer end of the outermost rib in the pipe axial direction is located on the inner side of an outer end of the water stop sheet in the pipe axial direction. (Fig. 1)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekisui.
Regarding claim 17, Sekisui further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the plurality of metal bands includes two or three types among three types having a length along the pipe circumferential direction of 250 mm, 400 mm, and 600 mm, respectively.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the plurality of metal bands of Sekisui such that two or three types among three types have a length along the pipe circumferential direction of 250 mm, 400 mm, and 600 mm, respectively, since where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a plurality of bands that can fit a range of sizes of a fluid pipe.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekisui in view of Benkan Plant K.K. (JP S57 193483 U, hereafter “Benkan”)
Regarding claim 2, Sekisui further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the outer end of each of the metal bands in the pipe axial direction is bent inward in a pipe radial direction of the fluid pipe with respect to a central part of each of the metal bands in the pipe axial direction when the metal bands are fastened by the fastening mechanism.
Benkan teaches a water leak repair fitting wherein an outer end of each of the metal bands in the pipe axial direction is bent inward in a pipe radial direction of the fluid pipe with respect to a central part of each of the metal bands in the pipe axial direction when the metal bands are fastened by the fastening mechanism. (Figs. 1 and 2)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the portion of the metal bands that secures to the fastening mechanism of Sekisui to be bent inward as taught by Benkan in order to provide a fastening assembly that is more space efficient.
Claim(s) 4-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Satake et al. (JP 2009144818 A, hereafter “Satake”).
Regarding claim 4, Sekisui further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein a second recess corresponding to each of at least some of the plurality of first recesses is formed in an outer peripheral surface of the water stop sheet, and the second recess is provided only within a range overlapping the first recess when projected in parallel in a pipe radial direction.
Satake teaches a water leak repair fitting wherein a second recess corresponding to each of at least some of the plurality of first recesses is formed in an outer peripheral surface of the water stop sheet, and the second recess is provided only within a range overlapping the first recess when projected in parallel in a pipe radial direction. (para. [0018]; Fig. 1)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water stop sheet of Sekisui to include a second recess formed in an outer peripheral surface as taught by Satake in order to provide a construction of the water stop sheet and reliably prevents leakage of fluid without increasing the fastening pressure of the joint for use. (para. [0001])
Regarding claim 5, Sekisui in view of Satake further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 4, wherein, in a natural state where no external force is applied to the water stop sheet, a volume per the second recess is equal to or larger than an amount of change in volume when one of the first recesses is compressed by 1 mm in the pipe radial direction. (the assembly of Sekisui as modified by Satake is capable of performing this limitation based on the interpretation of the total volumes of the first and second recesses in order to meet this claim language)
Regarding claim 6, Sekisui in view of Satake further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 4, wherein the outer end of each of the plurality of metal bands in the pipe axial direction protrudes further outward from an outer end of the water stop sheet in the pipe axial direction (Fig. 1), the second recess is formed radially outward in the pipe radial direction at a location corresponding to the first recess located on the outermost side among the plurality of first recesses in the pipe axial direction (as taught by Satake), end parts of the water stop sheet and the metal band on the outer side in the pipe axial direction are fixed (when installed, each of these elements are necessarily fixed), but fails to disclose the water stop sheet is made of a rubber having a rubber hardness of 60 degrees or more and 80 degrees or less.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water stop sheet of Sekisui to be made of a rubber having a rubber hardness of 60 degrees or more and 80 degrees or less since selection of a known material on the basis of its suitability for an intended use involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a material for the water stop sheet that is well known in the art, durable, and cost efficient.
Regarding claim 7, Sekisui further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 4, wherein the outer end of each of the plurality of metal bands in the pipe axial direction protrudes further outward from an outer end of the water stop sheet in the pipe axial direction (Fig. 1), the second recess radially outward in the pipe radial direction at a location corresponding to the first recess located on the outermost side among the plurality of first recesses in the pipe radial direction (as taught by Satake), end parts of the water stop sheet and the metal band on the outer side in the pipe axial direction are fixed (when installed, each of these elements are necessarily fixed), and a boundary between the end region and the inner region is located at a position overlapping the second first rib from the outer side in the pipe axial direction or at a position on the inner side of to the second first rib in the pipe axial direction (as best understood, as taught by Satake – Fig. 1), but fails to disclose the water stop sheet has a hybrid structure in which a hardness of an end region on the outer side in the pipe axial direction is higher than a hardness of an inner region located inner side of the end region.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water stop sheet of Sekisui such that the water stop sheet has a hybrid structure in which a hardness of an end region on the outer side in the pipe axial direction is higher than a hardness of an inner region located inner side of the end region since a change in hardness of an element involves only
routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a water stop sheet with optimized properties based on user defined criteria.
Regarding claim 8, Sekisui further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 4, wherein the outer end of each of the plurality of metal bands in the pipe axial direction protrudes outward from an outer end of the water stop sheet in the pipe axial direction (Fig. 1), end parts of the water stop sheet and the metal band on the outer side in the pipe axial direction are fixed (when installed, each of these elements are necessarily fixed), but fails to disclose the second recess is not formed radially outward in the pipe radial direction at a position corresponding to the first recess located on the outermost side in the pipe axial direction among the plurality of first recesses.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water stop sheet of Sekisui such that the second recess is not formed radially outward in the pipe radial direction at a position corresponding to the first recess located on the outermost side in the pipe axial direction among the plurality of first recesses since a change in shape or pattern of an element involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for doing so would be to provide a configuration of the water stop sheet that is optimal based on user defined criteria.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sekisui in view of Mueller Co. (JP S58 21009 A, hereafter “Mueller”).
Regarding claim 9, Sekisui further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of metal bands has annular portions formed at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction by bending a sheet metal and welding tips on both sides of the sheet metal in the pipe circumferential direction to the sheet metal, the fastening mechanism includes rotation shafts that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions, and a bolt and a nut that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, and the metal band is disposed in an orientation in which the tips of the sheet metal that have been welded are directed to an inner side in a pipe radial direction.
Mueller teaches a water leak repair fitting wherein each of the plurality of metal band portions has annular portions formed at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction by bending a sheet metal and welding tips on both sides of the sheet metal in the pipe circumferential direction to the sheet metal (pages 8 and 9), the fastening mechanism (38, 44, 46) includes rotation shafts (40) that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions (Fig. 3), and a bolt (38) and a nut (46) that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, and the metal band is disposed in an orientation in which the tips of the sheet metal that have been welded are directed to an inner side in a pipe radial direction. (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water leak repair fitting of Sekisui with the configuration of the fastening mechanism and plurality of metal band portions as taught by Mueller in order to provide a configuration to allow the worked to more easily install and remove and the clamps during operation of the water leak repair fitting. (pages 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 10, Sekisui further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of metal bands has annular portions formed at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction by bending a sheet metal and welding tips on both sides of the sheet metal in the pipe circumferential direction to the sheet metal, the fastening mechanism includes rotation shafts that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions, and a bolt and a nut that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, the metal band has a first section where each of the tips of the sheet metal is welded, and a second section located inner side of the first section in the pipe circumferential direction, and a thickness of a portion of the water stop sheet in contact with the first section is greater than a thickness of a portion of the water stop sheet in contact with the second section.
Mueller teaches a water leak repair fitting wherein each of the plurality of metal band portions has annular portions formed at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction by bending a sheet metal and welding tips on both sides of the sheet metal in the pipe circumferential direction to the sheet metal (pages 8 and 9), the fastening mechanism (38, 44, 46) includes rotation shafts (40) that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions, and a bolt (38) and a nut (46) that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, the metal band has a first section where each of the tips of the sheet metal is welded, and a second section located inner side of the first section in the pipe circumferential direction (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water leak repair fitting of Sekisui with the configuration of the fastening mechanism and plurality of metal band portions as taught by Mueller in order to provide a configuration to allow the worked to more easily install and remove and the clamps during operation of the water leak repair fitting. (pages 1 and 2)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water stop sheet of Sekisui such that a thickness of a portion of the water stop sheet in contact with the first section is greater than a thickness of a portion of the water stop sheet in contact with the second section since such a modification would involve a mere change in the size of a component (A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art). The motivation for doing so would be to provide a thickness of the water stop sheet that is optimal based on user defined criteria.
Regarding claim 11, Sekisui further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of metal bands has annular portions at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction, the fastening mechanism includes rotation shafts that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions, and a bolt and a nut that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, the rotation shafts include protrusions that interfere with the metal band to prevent the rotation shafts from falling off from the annular portions, the protrusions interfere with the metal band to prevent the rotation shafts from falling off in a first rotational orientation in which the rotation shafts are fastened to each other with the bolt and the nut, and the protrusions do not interfere with the metal band so that the rotation shafts are removable from the annular portions in a second rotational orientation different from the first rotational orientation.
Mueller discloses a water leak repair fitting wherein each of the plurality of metal band portions has annular portions at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction (Fig. 3), the fastening mechanism (38, 44, 46) includes rotation shafts (40) that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions (Fig. 3), and a bolt (38) and a nut (46) that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, the rotation shafts include protrusions (threads) that interfere with the metal band to prevent the rotation shafts from falling off from the annular portions, the protrusions interfere with the metal band to prevent the rotation shafts from falling off in a first rotational orientation in which the rotation shafts are fastened to each other with the bolt and the nut (Fig. 3), and the protrusions do not interfere with the metal band so that the rotation shafts are removable from the annular portions in a second rotational orientation different from the first rotational orientation (see how 38 can be installed and removed easily when desired by the user).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water leak repair fitting of Sekisui with the configuration of the fastening mechanism and plurality of metal band portions as taught by Mueller in order to provide a configuration to allow the worked to more easily install and remove and the clamps during operation of the water leak repair fitting. (pages 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 12, Sekisui further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of metal bands has annular portions formed at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction, the fastening mechanism includes rotation shafts that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions, and a bolt and a nut that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, the bolt is provided with a spacer that protrudes further outward of the rotation shafts in a radial direction of a bolt axis, and when the spacer is in contact with the metal band, a space is formed in which a tool for tightening the nut is placeable between the nut and the metal band.
Mueller teaches a water leak fitting wherein each of the plurality of metal band portions has annular portions formed at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction, the fastening mechanism (38, 44, 46) includes rotation shafts (40) that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions, and a bolt (38) and a nut (46) that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, the bolt is provided with a spacer (44) that protrudes further outward of the rotation shafts in a radial direction of a bolt axis, and when the spacer is in contact with the metal band, a space is formed in which a tool for tightening the nut is placeable between the nut and the metal band (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water leak repair fitting of Sekisui with the configuration of the fastening mechanism and plurality of metal band portions as taught by Mueller in order to provide a configuration to allow the worked to more easily install and remove and the clamps during operation of the water leak repair fitting. (pages 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 13, Sekisui further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of metal bands has annular portions formed at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction, the fastening mechanism includes rotation shafts that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions, and a bolt and a nut that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, the bolt is a headed bolt having a first end with a head and a second end to which the nut is attached, and the rotation shaft on a side of the head has a rotation restricting groove that is engaged with the head to restrict rotation of the bolt.
Mueller teaches a water leak repair fitting wherein each of the plurality of metal band portions has annular portions formed at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction, the fastening mechanism (38, 44, 46) includes rotation shafts (40) that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions, and a bolt (38) and a nut (46) that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, the bolt is a headed bolt having a first end with a head and a second end to which the nut is attached (as shown in Figs. 3 and 4), and the rotation shaft on a side of the head has a rotation restricting groove that is engaged with the head to restrict rotation of the bolt (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water leak repair fitting of Sekisui with the configuration of the fastening mechanism and plurality of metal band portions as taught by Mueller in order to provide a configuration to allow the worked to more easily install and remove and the clamps during operation of the water leak repair fitting. (pages 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 14, Sekisui further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of metal bands has annular portions formed at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction, the fastening mechanism includes a first and a second rotation shafts that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions, and a bolt and a nut that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, the bolt is a headed bolt having a first end with a head and a second end to which the nut is attached, the first rotation shaft on a side of the head has a head accommodation groove into which the head is accommodated so that the first rotation shaft is rotatable with respect to the corresponding annular portion, the second rotation shaft on a side of the nut has an open groove that receives a shaft of the bolt from an outer side in a radial direction of the second rotation shaft with rotation of the first rotation shaft, and a retaining washer engaged with the second rotation shaft to restrict the shaft of the bolt from being disengaged from the open groove is provided between the second rotation shaft and the nut.
Mueller teaches a water leak repair fitting wherein each of the plurality of metal band portions has annular portions formed at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction, the fastening mechanism (38, 44, 46) includes a first and a second rotation shafts (the bottom and top shafts that form 28 which 38 is inserted within as best shown in Figs. 1-3) that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions, and a bolt (38) and a nut (46) that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, the bolt is a headed bolt having a first end with a head and a second end to which the nut is attached (Figs. 3-4), the first rotation shaft on a side of the head has a head accommodation groove (28 on the top) into which the head is accommodated so that the first rotation shaft is rotatable with respect to the corresponding annular portion, the second rotation shaft on a side of the nut has an open groove (28 on the bottom) that receives a shaft of the bolt from an outer side in a radial direction of the second rotation shaft with rotation of the first rotation shaft, and a retaining washer (44) engaged with the second rotation shaft to restrict the shaft of the bolt from being disengaged from the open groove is provided between the second rotation shaft and the nut (Figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water leak repair fitting of Sekisui with the configuration of the fastening mechanism and plurality of metal band portions as taught by Mueller in order to provide a configuration to allow the worked to more easily install and remove and the clamps during operation of the water leak repair fitting. (pages 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 15, Sekisui further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of metal bands has annular portions formed at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction, the fastening mechanism includes rotation shafts that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions, and a bolt and a nut that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, the bolt is a headed bolt having a first end with a head and a second end to which the nut is attached, and a rotation restricting washer engaged with the head and the rotation shaft to restrict rotation of the bolt is provided between the head and the rotation shaft.
Mueller teaches a water leak repair fitting wherein each of the plurality of metal band portions has annular portions formed at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction, the fastening mechanism (38, 44, 46) includes rotation shafts (40) that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions, and a bolt (38) and a nut (46) that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, the bolt is a headed bolt having a first end with a head and a second end to which the nut is attached (Fig. 3), and a rotation restricting washer (44) engaged with the head and the rotation shaft to restrict rotation of the bolt is provided between the head and the rotation shaft. (Fig. 3)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water leak repair fitting of Sekisui with the configuration of the fastening mechanism and plurality of metal band portions as taught by Mueller in order to provide a configuration to allow the worked to more easily install and remove and the clamps during operation of the water leak repair fitting. (pages 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 16, Sekisui further discloses the water leak repair fitting according to claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein each of the plurality of metal bands has annular portions formed at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction, the fastening mechanism includes rotation shafts that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions, and a bolt and a nut that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, and a metal plate disposed on an outer periphery of the water stop sheet and a pressing mechanism that presses the metal plate with a shaft of the bolt as a support are provided between the metal bands that are adjacent to each other in the pipe circumferential direction.
Mueller teaches a water leak repair fitting wherein each of the plurality of metal bands has annular portions formed at both end parts in the pipe circumferential direction, the fastening mechanism (38, 44, 46) includes rotation shafts (the bottom and top shafts that form 28 which 38 is inserted within as best shown in Figs. 1-3) that are inserted into the annular portions and are rotatable in the annular portions, and a bolt (38) and a nut (46) that fasten the rotation shafts to each other, and a metal plate (44) disposed on an outer periphery of the water stop sheet and a pressing mechanism (the wedge that 44 presses against to secure the water leak repair fitting) that presses the metal plate with a shaft of the bolt as a support are provided between the metal bands that are adjacent to each other in the pipe circumferential direction. (Figs. 1-3)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to modify the water leak repair fitting of Sekisui with the configuration of the fastening mechanism and plurality of metal band portions as taught by Mueller in order to provide a configuration to allow the worked to more easily install and remove and the clamps during operation of the water leak repair fitting. (pages 1 and 2)
Conclusion
/PAUL J GRAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753