DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species B in the reply filed on 5/15/2026 is acknowledged. Non-elected claims 6-9, 11, 13, 28, 30, 33, 34 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 22, 24, 27, 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boque et al (US 2017/0143553).
Regarding claim 22, Boque discloses an Intravenous (IV) infiltration detection system (page 1, para. 0016), comprising: a patch having a first side and a second side (fig. 5), with an adhesive 102 disposed on a perimeter of the second side (fig. 5; page 1, para. 0017), the adhesive configured to secure the patch to skin of a patient around an IV insertion site (page 2, para. 0018; figs. 1, 4); and an absorbent material 104 coupled to the first side of the patch, the absorbent material impregnated with a dye 106 (page 2, para. 0022: hydrochromatic layer is a liquid ink which impregnates the mesh).
Regarding claim 24, Boque discloses that the patch comprises a transparent center portion configured to enable view of an IV insertion site (fig. 4; page 2, para. 0020).
Regarding claim 27, Boque discloses that the absorbent material 104 is disposed around a perimeter of the first side of the patch (fig. 5).
Regarding claim 31, Boque discloses a method, comprising: adhering, by a patch comprising at least one visible indicator 134 (fig. 4), to skin of a patient having an intravenous (IV) insertion site (fig. 1); and outputting, by the at least one visible indicator, at least one visible indication of IV infiltration of the patient (page 1, para. 0016; page 2, para. 0022).
Claim(s) 31, 32, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yong (US 11,883,629).
Regarding claim 31, Yong discloses a method, comprising: adhering, by a patch comprising at least one visible indicator 131, 312 (figs. 2, 3; col. 5, lines 61-62) , to skin of a patient having an intravenous (IV) insertion site (col. 5, lines 32-35); and outputting, by the at least one visible indicator, at least one visible indication of IV infiltration of the patient (fig. 2, 3; col. 5, lines 41-48).
Regarding claim 32, Yong discloses that the at least one visible indication of IV infiltration of the patient comprises: revealing the at least one visible indication in response to swelling of the skin of the patient (fig. 3; col. 5, lines 41-48).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boque in view of Simmons et al (US 2014/0358121).
Claim 23 differs from Boque in calling for the dye to comprises methylene blue. Simmons teaches an adhesive dressing for covering an IV site, wherein the dressing includes a liquid indicator dye wherein the dye may be methylene blue which is known to be biological benign and hypoallergenic and provides a reliable color indication (page2, para. 0025). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the dye of Boque to be methylene blue as taught by Simmons because methylene blue is inert and hypoallergenic and is therefore same for use on or near the skin and provides a reliable indication color change.
Claim(s) 25, 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boque in view of Van Antwerp et al (US 6,461,329).
Regarding claim 25, Boque discloses that the absorbent material is impregnated with the dye at the edge of the patch (page 2, para. 0022). Claim 25 differs from Boque in calling for the absorbent material to comprise a moisture-wicking material that extends from a center portion of the patch to an edge of the patch. Van Antwerp teaches a patch for an infusion site wherein the patch includes material such as fibrous material that wick fluid away from the insertion site towards the edges of the pad so that the color change from the reaction can be seen around the edges of the delivery device (col. 6, line 65 – col. 7, line 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the absorbent material of Boque to comprise a moisture-wicking material that extends from a center portion of the patch to an edge of the patch as taught by Van Antwerp to ensure that any fluid leaking from the insertion site quickly reaches the color changing material so that the user is alerted to the leak.
Claim 35 differs from Boque in calling for the steps of causing the patch to change color by wicking, by an absorbent material in the patch, liquid leaking from the IV insertion site to a dye in the patch. Boque teaches the step of the patch changing color by liquid leaking into the absorbent material (page 2, para. 0033), but fails to disclose the step of wicking. Van Antwerp teaches a patch for an infusion site wherein the patch includes material such as fibrous material that wick fluid away from the insertion site towards the edges of the pad so that the color change from the reaction can be seen around the edges of the delivery device (col. 6, line 65 – col. 7, line 5). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the absorbent material of Boque to comprise the step of wicking the liquid via a moisture-wicking material as taught by Van Antwerp to ensure that any fluid leaking from the insertion site quickly reaches the color changing material so that the user is alerted to the leak.
Claim(s) 36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yong in view of Rothenberg et al (US 2023/0001105).
Claim 36 calls for the step of generating, by an imaging device, image data of the patch; and determining a swelling state associated with the patient based on the image data. Yong discloses that the patch is monitored to determine swelling, but fails to disclose an imaging device. Rothenberg teaches a system for monitoring a catheter insertion site including an imaging device that captures an image of the patch and processes the image to determine the status of the catheter insertion site (page 3, para. 0037). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yong to include an imaging device that captures an image of the patch and processes the image to determine the status of the catheter insertion site as taught by Rothenberg to automate the monitoring to reduce the burden on healthcare providers to monitor multiple patients simultaneously.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 29 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest an IV infiltration detection system comprising a first indicator strip formed of a flexible material, the first indicator strip comprising: a first adhesive disposed on a first end of the first indicator strip; and a visible indicator disposed on a second end of the first indicator strip; and a second indicator strip formed of a flexible material, the second indicator strip comprising: a second adhesive disposed on a first end of the second indicator strip, wherein a second end of the second indicator strip defines a socket configured to slidably couple with the visible indicator of the first indicator strip and reveal the visible indicator in response to swelling of the skin of the patient, in combination with the features of the invention, substantially as claimed.
Conclusion
LAURA A. BOUCHELLE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3783
/LAURA A BOUCHELLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783