DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the Applicant’s filing dated October 17th, 2024.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/031437 filed on May 27th, 2022; and has a PRO of 63/301,300 filed on January 20th, 2022 and 63/194,740 filed on May 28th, 2021.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 70-71 are pending in the instant application. Acknowledgement is made of
Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on October 17th, 2024. Acknowledgement is made of
Applicant's cancelation of claims 3, 7-69 and 72-88.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 4 and 70 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1 on line 6, the recitation of “C1-6alkyl” is improper. There should be a space in between the subscript and the next word, and should read “C1-6 alkyl”. This type of error is repeated several times throughout the instant claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: In line 7, the claim recites “orR1” but should read “or R1”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 4 of the claims, in line 8 the claim recites “C1-6- haloalkoxy” but should read “C1-6 haloalkoxy”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 4 of the claims, in line 11 the claim recites “-OP(O)(OH)2 ;” but should read “-OP(O)(OH)2;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 70 is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 8 of the claims, in line 10 the claim recites “C6-10aiyl”. The term “aiyl” is not defined the specification and is thus unclear. This issue is repeated on page 9, line 4 of instant claim 70. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 70 is objected to because of the following informalities: On page 8 of the claims, in line 18 the claim recites “andN(R9)2;” but should read “and N(R9)2;”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 71 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the first line, the indication of whether the claim is “(Original)” is missing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 72 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the first line, the indication of whether the claim is “(Canceled)” is missing, it is indicated as “(Original)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Reddit user “everominous” (Reddit.com, posted 15 April 2017, URL: www.reddit.com/r/researchchemicals/comments/65gwr6/questions_about_the_borax_combo_using_6apb_4fmph).
Regarding claims 1-2 and 4-6, Reddit user “everominous” discloses a composition comprising 8mg of 4F-MPH and 10mg 5-MeO-MiPT (addressing claims 2 and 5-6) shown below:
4F-MPH reads on a compound of Formula (I) wherein n is 1; wherein R1 is halo, specifically F; and wherein R2 is C1 alkyl (addressing claims 1, section a). 5-MeO-MiPT reads on a compound of Formula (II) wherein R1 is C1 alkyl; wherein R2 is a branched C3 alkyl, forming isopropyl; wherein R3, R4, R5, R7 and R8 are H; and wherein R6 is C1 alkoxy (addressing claim 1, section b). 4F-MPH reads on a compound of Formula (IV) wherein R1 is H; wherein R2 is halo, specifically F; wherein R3 is C1 alkyl; and wherein R4 is H (addressing claim 4, section a). 5-MeO-MiPT reads on a compound of Formula (V) wherein R1 is C1 alkyl; wherein R2 is a branched C3 alkyl, forming isopropyl; wherein X is NH; wherein R3, R4, R5, R7 and R8 are H; and wherein R6 is C1 alkoxy (addressing claim 4, section b).
Thus, the teachings of Reddit user “everominous” anticipate the combination of instant claims 1-2 and 4-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 70-71 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reddit user “everominous” (Reddit.com, posted 2017 April 15, URL: www.reddit.com/r/researchchemicals/comments/65gwr6/questions_about_the_borax_combo_using_6apb_4fmph); in view of Shevyrin et al. (Journal of Mass Spectrometry, (2017), 52(10), 633-637); as evidenced by Sun et al. (Bioorganic & Medicinal Chemistry Letters, (2018), 28(20), 3283-3289), cited for evidentiary purposes only.
Regarding claims 70-71, Reddit user “everominous” anticipate the combination of claims 1-2 and 4-6 as described in the above rejection.
Reddit user “everominous” further teaches the combination as disclosed in the above rejection further comprises 125mg 6-APB shown below:
which is a very similar compound to Formula (III). The only differences between the two being the alkylamine substituent is bound to the 6-position of the core scaffold in 6-APB, but in Formula (III) it is bound to the 5-position; and the N is unsaturated in the instant Formula (III). A compound of Formula (III) can be N,N-dimethyl-5-APB shown below:
which is a compound of Formula (III) wherein R1, R2 and R3 are C1 alkyl; and wherein R4, R5, R6, R7 and R8 are H.
Reddit user “everominous” does not teach a compound of Formula (III) such as N,N-dimethyl-5-APB.
Shevyrin teaches that 5-APB and 6-APB, as well as their N-methylated counterparts 5-MAPB and 6-MAPB (page 634, Figure 1) shown below:
all inhibit the reuptake transporters of monoamines (dopamine, noradrenaline, and serotonin) thus facilitating intracephalic the release of the aforementioned monoamines, especially of serotonin and dopamine. APBs are also complete or partial agonists of the serotonin receptors 5‐HT2A and 5‐HT2B, which responsible for hallucinogenic effects and regulating cardiovascular activity. Pharmacological activity of APBs and that of stimulators of amphetamines series are similar, though with additional hallucinogenic action and with risks of cardiovascular toxicity. The consumers of APBs describe their effects as euphoria, increased empathy, visual, and auditory hallucinations (page 633, left column, second paragraph). Thus, 5-MAPB and 6-APB are already known in the art to be a part of the same recognized class and thus have the same function.
Sun, cited for evidentiary purposes only, teaches that replacement of a hydrogen atom with a methyl group plays an important role in drug design (page 3288, right column, last paragraph); that can result in a profound potency enhancement (page 3283, left column, second paragraph), as well as increased selectivity (page 3283, right column, first paragraph).
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to substitute N,N-dimethyl-5-APB for 6-APB in the disclosed combination, as Shevyrin teaches that APB compounds, including positional isomers 5-APB and 6-APB as well as their N-methylated analogs constitute a known class of structurally related compounds that share the same pharmacological function. Furthermore, Sun teaches that replacement of a hydrogen atom with a methyl group is a routine medicinal chemistry strategy that can result in enhanced potency and selectivity, thereby providing motivation and a reasonable expectation of success. The selection of N,N-dimethyl-5-APB over 6-APB represents a routine design choice within a known class of APB compounds that share the same pharmacological function.
“[T]he rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395.
Taken together, all of this would result in the combination of instant claims 70-71 with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 70-71 are rejected.
1, 4 and 70-72 are objected to.
No claim is allowed.
/C.L.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691