DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12 in the reply filed on 7/1/26 is acknowledged.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Morita et al. (JP 6860740 B1, hereinafter Morita, cited by applicant, see US 2023/0187644 A1 for English translation).
Re Claim 1. Morita teaches a method for producing a resin composition for secondary battery electrodes, comprising
adding a binder resin (para. 66-70) to a carbon nanotube dispersion solution containing carbon nanotubes (para. 51-61), a dispersing agent (para. 72), and a non-aqueous dispersion medium (para. 71) and having a product (X×Y) of a complex elastic modulus X(Pa) and a phase angle Y(°) at 25° C and 1 Hz obtained by dynamic viscoelastic measurement that is 100 or more and 1,500 or less (para. 78) and a phase angle of 5° or more and 90° or less (para. 77), without adding an active material (para. 50).
"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2131.03.
Re Claim 2. Morita teaches wherein the carbon nanotube dispersion solution has a complex elastic modulus at 25° C and 1 Hz obtained by dynamic viscoelastic measurement that is 0.1 Pa or more and 50 Pa or less (para. 77).
Re Claim 3. Morita teaches wherein the resin composition for secondary battery electrodes has a complex elastic modulus at 25° C and 1 Hz obtained by dynamic viscoelastic measurement that is 0.1 Pa or more and 300 Pa or less (Table 3).
Re Claim 4. Morita teaches wherein the resin composition for secondary battery electrodes has a phase angle at 25° C and 1 Hz obtained by dynamic viscoelastic measurement that is 3° or more and 90° or less (Table 3).
Re Claim 5. Morita teaches wherein the binder resin in a powder form is added to the carbon nanotube dispersion solution (para. 66-70).
Re Claim 6. Morita teaches wherein the content of the carbon nanotubes contained in the carbon nanotube dispersion solution based on a total amount of the carbon nanotube dispersion solution is 1 mass % or more and 10 mass % or less (para. 51-61).
Re Claim 7. Morita teaches wherein the carbon nanotubes contained in the carbon nanotube dispersion solution include single-walled carbon nanotubes and multi-walled carbon nanotubes (para. 51-61).
Re Claim 8. Morita teaches wherein a mass proportion of the binder resin with respect to the carbon nanotubes contained in the carbon nanotube dispersion solution is 20 mass % or more and 100 mass % or less (para. 66-70).
Re Claim 11. Morita teaches wherein the carbon nanotube dispersion solution further contains carbon black (para. 62-65).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita.
Re Claim 9. Morita discloses that the addition timing of the material to be used may be arbitrarily adjusted and a multistage treatment in which treatment is performed two or more times may be adopted (para. 83).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Morita to add to carbon nanotube dispersion solution including one of single-walled carbon nanotubes and multi-walled carbon nanotubes, the other of single-walled carbon nanotubes and multi-walled carbon nanotubes before, after, at the same time, or a combination thereof as when a binder resin is added to the carbon nanotube dispersion solution, to produce desired state of dispersion solution (para. 85).
Re Claim 10. Morita teaches wherein a mass proportion of the binder resin based on a total amount of the carbon nanotubes contained in the resin composition is 20 mass % or more and 100 mass % or less (para. 66-70).
Re Claim 12. Morita discloses that the addition timing of the material to be used may be arbitrarily adjusted and a multistage treatment in which treatment is performed two or more times may be adopted (para. 83).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Morita to add carbon black before, after, at the same time, or a combination thereof as when a binder resin is added to the carbon nanotube dispersion solution, to produce desired state of dispersion solution (para. 85).
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (KR 10-2017-0113250 A, hereinafter Kim).
Re Claim 1. Kim teaches a method for producing a resin composition for secondary battery electrodes, comprising
adding a binder resin (P14) to a carbon nanotube dispersion solution containing carbon nanotubes (P3), a dispersing agent (P3), and a non-aqueous dispersion medium (P10) and having a product (X×Y) of a complex elastic modulus X(Pa) and a phase angle Y(°) at 25° C. and 1 Hz obtained by dynamic viscoelastic measurement that is 160 or more and 4700 or less (a complex elastic modulus X of 20 to 500 Pa - P4 × a phase angle Y of 8° = 160 to 4000) and a phase angle of 8° (Fig. 2), without adding an active material.
In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). "[A] prior art reference that discloses a range encompassing a somewhat narrower claimed range is sufficient to establish a prima facie case of obviousness." In re Peterson, 315 F.3d 1325, 1330, 65 USPQ2d 1379, 1382-83 (Fed. Cir. 2003). See MPEP § 2144.05, I.
Re Claim 2. Kim teaches wherein the carbon nanotube dispersion solution has a complex elastic modulus at 25° C and 1 Hz obtained by dynamic viscoelastic measurement that is 20 Pa or more and 500 Pa or less (P4).
Re Claim 3. Kim does not explicitly disclose that the resin composition for secondary battery electrodes has a complex elastic modulus at 25° C and 1 Hz obtained by dynamic viscoelastic measurement that is 0.1 Pa or more and 300 Pa or less.
However, since Kim and the claimed method employ substantially similar materials and process, it is reasonable to believe that the claimed properties (a complex elastic modulus of the resin composition at 25° C and 1 Hz obtained by dynamic viscoelastic measurement being 0.1 Pa or more and 300 Pa or less) would have naturally flowed following the teachings of Kim. See MPEP 2112.01 & In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2145 & Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Re Claim 4. Kim does not explicitly disclose that the resin composition for secondary battery electrodes has a phase angle at 25° C and 1 Hz obtained by dynamic viscoelastic measurement that is 3° or more and 90° or less.
However, since Kim and the claimed method employ substantially similar materials and process, it is reasonable to believe that the claimed properties (a phase angle at 25° C and 1 Hz obtained by dynamic viscoelastic measurement that being 3° or more and 90° or less) would have naturally flowed following the teachings of Kim. See MPEP 2112.01 & In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). MPEP 2145 & Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Re Claim 5. Kim fails to specifically teach that the binder resin in a powder form is added to the carbon nanotube dispersion solution.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Kim to use the binder resin in a powder form, since PVdF is usually sold in a powder form.
Re Claim 6. Kim teaches wherein the content of the carbon nanotubes contained in the carbon nanotube dispersion solution based on a total amount of the carbon nanotube dispersion solution is 1 mass % or more and 5 mass % or less (P11).
Re Claim 7. Kim teaches wherein the carbon nanotubes contained in the carbon nanotube dispersion solution include single-walled carbon nanotubes and multi-walled carbon nanotubes (P4).
Re Claim 8. Kim teaches wherein a mass proportion of the binder resin with respect to the carbon nanotubes contained in the carbon nanotube dispersion solution is 200 mass % (P18 & 19, 200 parts by weight of PVdF binder and 100 parts by weight of carbon nanotubes).
Re Claim 9. Kim teaches wherein the carbon nanotubes contained in the carbon nanotube dispersion solution include one of single-walled carbon nanotubes and multi-walled carbon nanotubes (P4), the method comprises additionally adding, when one of single-walled carbon nanotubes and multi-walled carbon nanotubes is dispersed in the carbon nanotube dispersion solution, the other of single-walled carbon nanotubes and multi-walled carbon nanotubes before a binder resin is added to the carbon nanotube dispersion solution (P18, Manufacturing Example 2).
Re Claim 10. Kim teaches wherein a mass proportion of the binder resin based on a total amount of the carbon nanotubes contained in the resin composition is 200 mass % (P18 & 19, 200 parts by weight of PVdF binder and 100 parts by weight of carbon nanotubes).
Re Claim 11. Kim teaches wherein the carbon nanotube dispersion solution further contains carbon black (P10).
Re Claim 12. Kim teaches additionally adding carbon black before a binder resin is added to the carbon nanotube dispersion solution (P10).
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
7/17/2026