Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 and 17-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/565122 in view of EP 3626696 A1. It would be obvious from EP 3626696 A1 to include a thiosulfate salt in the composition recited in the claims of SN 18/565122, since EP 3626696 A1 discloses the benefits of thiosulfates as fertilizers in Paragraphs [0006] through [0013].
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 9, 10, 12 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 4, 9 and 15, the terms “preferably” and “more preferably” render the scope of the claims vague and indefinite, since it is not clear whether the phrases following such terms are positively recited, or whether they are merely examples of the broader genus.
Claim 10 is also rejected, since it depends from claim 9 but fails to remedy the deficiency of claim 9.
Claim 5 is indefinite in failing to recite the claim from which it depends.
In claim 12, the term “e.g.” renders the scope of the claims vague and indefinite, since it is not clear whether the phrases following such term are positively recited, or whether they are merely examples of the broader genus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez et al (US 12,049,431) in view of EP 3626696 A1. Lopez et al disclose a liquid aqueous fertilizer, and teach at col. 9, lines 30-65 that the composition may include various fertilizers, including calcium phosphate, which would be solid. In any event, Lopez et al disclose in the paragraph bridging columns 11 and 12 that the composition may have a solid content of from about1% by weight to about 80% by weight. The difference between the composition disclosed by Lopez et al, and that recited in applicant’s claims is that Lopez et al do not disclose that the composition should include a rheology modifier and a thiosulfate salt. It would have been obvious to include a rheological modifier in the composition of Lopez et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Lopez et al teach at col. 8, line 65 to col. 9, line 29 that viscosity is a critical property in the field of rheology, and discloses various rheological modifiers at col. 2, lines 38-42 It would have been further obvious from EP 3,626,696 A1 to include a thiosulfate salt such as calcium thiosulfate or ammonium thiosulfate in the composition of Lopez et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Lopez et al teach at col. 9, lines 35-59 that that the composition should include a fertilizer comprising a nitrogen source, and EP 3,626,696 A1 discloses calcium thiosulfate and ammonium thiosulfate as useful nitrogen fertilizers and can be used in combination with ammonium polyphosphate.
Regarding claim 2, it would have been within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a suitable amount of the various components in the composition of Lopez et al.
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to provide a viscosity within the range of 500-10,000 in the composition of Lopez et al, since Lopez et al suggest at col. 9, lines 12-29 that viscosity is a result-effective variable
Regarding claim 5, it would have been within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a suitable ratio of first and second thiosulfate salts in the composition of Lopez et al.
Regarding claim 6, Lopez et al disclose that the composition can include sources of nitrogen, phosphorus and potassium at col. 9, lines 35-42.
Regarding claim 7, Lopez et al disclose ammonium phosphate as a nitrogen or phosphorus source at col. 9, 43-59.
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to provide the suspended solid in the composition of Lopez et al with a Dv(25) of 5 micron or more and a Dv(75) of 100 micron or less as determined by laser diffraction, since Lopez et al suggest at col. 1, lines 23-35 that the formulation is useful for foliar applications, and one would appreciate that the particle size should not be so large as to plug the spraying nozzle.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Lopez et al disclose anionic surfactants as recited therein at col. 10, lines 24-50.
Regarding claims 11-13, Lopez et al disclose xanthan gum as a rheology modifier at col. 2, lines 37-42.
Regarding claim 14, it would be within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a suitable viscosity in the composition of Lopez et al, since Lopez et al suggest at col. 9, lines 12-29 that viscosity is a result-effective variable
Regarding claim 15, Lopez et al disclose non-ionic surfactants (wetting agents) as recited therein in the paragraph bridging columns 10 and 11. It would be within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a suitable amount of such wetting agent.
Regarding claim 18, it would have been within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a suitable amount of the ammonium thiosulfate in the composition of Lopez et al.
Kenton et al (US 4,356,021) is made of record for disclosing ammonium thiosulfate as a liquid fertilizer in the Abstract and col. 2, lines 7-10.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736