Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez et al (US 12,049,431). Lopez et al disclose a liquid aqueous fertilizer, and suggest at col. 2, lines 11-56 that the composition may include a rheology modifier. Lopez et al teach at col. 9, lines 30-65 that the composition that the composition may include various fertilizers, including calcium phosphate, which would be solid. In any event, Lopez et al disclose in the paragraph bridging columns 11 and 12 that the composition may have a solid content of from about 1% by weight to about 80% by weight. The difference between the composition disclosed by Lopez et al, and that recited in claims 1-16 and 18, is that Lopez et al do not disclose that the suspended solid has Dv(25) of 5 micro or more and a Dv(75) of 100 micron or less as determined by laser refractory. It would have been obvious to provide the suspended solid in the composition of Lopez et al with a Dv(250 of 5 micron or more and a Dv(75) of 100 micron or less as determined by laser refraction. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Lopez et al suggest at col. 1, lines 23-25 that the formulation is useful for foliar applications, and one would appreciate that the particle size should not be so large as to plug the spraying nozzle.
Regarding claim 2, it would be within the level of skill of one of ordinary skill in the art to determine a suitable amount of the various components in the composition of Lopez et al.
Regarding claim 3, it would have been obvious to provide a viscosity of 1000-4000 mPa*s(cps) for the composition of Lopez et al, since Lopez et al suggest at col. 9, lines 12-29 that viscosity is a result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 4, it is clear from the examples of Lopez et al that the composition includes more than 5 weight % of the fertilizer.
Regarding claim 5, Lopez et al disclose urea and ammonium salts as fertilizers at col. 9, lines 43-50.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Lopez et al disclose calcium phosphate as a fertilizer at col. 9, line 53.
Regarding claim 8, it would have been obvious to provide the particle distribution recited therein as the particle size for the solids in the composition of Lopez et al, since Lopez et al suggest at col. 1, lines 23-25 that the formulation is useful for foliar applications, and one would appreciate that the particle size should not be so large as to plug the spraying nozzle.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, Lopez et al disclose anionic surfactants as recited therein at col. 10, lines 24-50.
Regarding claims 11, 12 and 14, Lopez et al disclose xanthan gum as a rheology modifier at col. 2, lines 37-42.
Regarding claim 13, It would have been obvious to provide a viscosity of more than 200 cps for the composition of Lopez et al when added to demineralized water, since Lopez et al suggest at col. 9, lines 12-29 that viscosity is a result-effective variable.
Regarding claim 15, Lopez et al disclose non-ionic surfactants (wetting agents) as recited therein in the paragraph bridging columns 10 and 11.
Regarding claim 18, liquid fertilizers are conventionally applied by side dress or spray.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lopez et al as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kenton (US 4,356,021). It would have been further obvious from Kenton to include ammonium thiosulfate as the fertilizer in the composition of Lopez et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so, since Kenton discloses ammonium thiosulfate as a liquid fertilizer in the Abstract and col. 2, lines 7-10, and Lopez et al suggest at col. 9, lines 43-50 that any suitable ammonium fertilizer can be used as the nitrogen source.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 8, 9, 15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claims 4, 8, 9, 15 and 17, the terms “preferably” and “more preferably” render the scope of the claims vague and indefinite, since it is not clear whether the phrases following such terms are positive limitations, or whether they are merely examples of the broader genus.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim s 1-15 and 17-19 of copending Application No. 18/565115application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 6 of SN 18/565115 recites calcium as a source of macronutrients and the suspended solid.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736