DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ueda et al. (JP2004-027718, see machine translated version) in view of Horiuchi et al. (WO2021/010456, see machine translated version).
Regarding claim 1, Ueda et al. teach a structure protection sheet to be attached to a surface of a structure (paragraph [0008]), the structure protection sheet comprising in order a bonding layer (paragraph [0008]), a reinforcing layer and a protective layer that is a resin layer (paragraphs [0017], [0022]).
Ueda et al. fail to teach wherein the sheet comprises a polymer cement hardened layer. However, Horiuchi et al. teach a structure protection sheet to be attached to a surface of a structure (paragraph [0011]) comprising a polymer cement layer and a resin layer (paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polymer cement layer of Horiuchi et al. in the sheet of Ueda et al. in order to provide excellent conformability, compatibility and adhesion (Horiuchi et al., paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claim 2, Ueda et al. teach wherein the bonding layer comprises an acrylic pressure sensitive adhesive (paragraph [0008]).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Ueda et al. teach a structure protection sheet to be attached to a surface of a structure (paragraph [0008]), the structure protection sheet comprising in order a bonding layer (paragraph [0008]), a reinforcing layer and a protective layer that is a resin layer (paragraphs [0017], [0022]).
Ueda et al. fail to teach wherein the sheet comprises a polymer cement hardened layer. However, Horiuchi et al. teach a structure protection sheet to be attached to a surface of a structure (paragraph [0011]) comprising a polymer cement layer and a resin layer (paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polymer cement layer of Horiuchi et al. in the sheet of Ueda et al. in order to provide excellent conformability, compatibility and adhesion (Horiuchi et al., paragraph [0019]).
Ueda et al. and Horiuchi et al. do not disclose wherein the structure protection sheet has a punching strength of 1.5 kN or more as measured by a punching test specified in JSCE-K 533. However, Ueda et al. teach wherein a strength of 1500 N or more is desired (paragraph [0030]). Where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in punching strength involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the punching strength of Ueda et al., as modified by Horiuchi et al., in order to provide adequate strength (Ueda et al., paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Ueda et al. teach a structure protection sheet to be attached to a surface of a structure (paragraph [0008]), the structure protection sheet comprising in order a bonding layer (paragraph [0008]), a reinforcing layer and a protective layer that is a resin layer (paragraphs [0017], [0022]).
Ueda et al. fail to teach wherein the sheet comprises a polymer cement hardened layer. However, Horiuchi et al. teach a structure protection sheet to be attached to a surface of a structure (paragraph [0011]) comprising a polymer cement layer and a resin layer (paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polymer cement layer of Horiuchi et al. in the sheet of Ueda et al. in order to provide excellent conformability, compatibility and adhesion (Horiuchi et al., paragraph [0019]).
Ueda et al. and Horiuchi et al. do not disclose the structure protection sheet has a bond force of 0.5 N/mm2 or more when attached to the surface of the structure via the bonding layer. However, where in the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges in bond force involve only routine skill in the art, absence a showing of criticality. MPEP 2144.05 II. One would have been motivated to modify the bond force of Ueda et al., as modified by Horiuchi et al., in order to facilitate adhesion to the concrete surface (Ueda et al., paragraph [0022]).
Regarding claims 5, 11-13, Ueda et al. teach wherein the bonding layer has a thickness of about 50 µm to 10 mm which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 20 to 500 µm (paragraph [0039]).
Regarding claims 6, 14-17, Ueda et al. fail to teach wherein the polymer cement hardened layer comprises a cement component and a resin, and a content of the resin in the polymer cement hardened layer is from 10 to 40% by weight. However, Horiuchi et al. teach a structure protection sheet to be attached to a surface of a structure (paragraph [0011]) comprising a polymer cement layer and a resin layer (paragraph [0035]), wherein the polymer cement layer comprises a cement component and a resin (paragraphs [0018], [0042]), and a content of the resin in the polymer cement layer is from 20 to 100% by mass which reads on Applicant’s claimed range of 10 to 40% by weight (paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polymer cement layer of Horiuchi et al. in the sheet of Ueda et al. in order to provide excellent conformability, compatibility and adhesion (Horiuchi et al., paragraph [0019]).
Regarding claims 7, 18-20, Ueda et al. teach wherein the sheet comprises a mesh layer (paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 8, Ueda et al. teach a method for producing a reinforced structure (paragraphs [0008], [0022]) comprising using a structure protection sheet to be attached to a surface of a structure (paragraph [0008], [0022]), the structure protection sheet comprising in order a bonding layer (paragraph [0008]), a reinforcing layer and a protective layer that is a resin layer (paragraphs [0017], [0022]), the method comprising attaching the structure protection sheet to a surface of a structure via the bonding layer (paragraphs [0008], [0022]).
Ueda et al. fail to teach wherein the sheet comprises a polymer cement hardened layer. However, Horiuchi et al. teach a structure protection sheet to be attached to a surface of a structure (paragraph [0011]) comprising a polymer cement layer and a resin layer (paragraph [0035]).
It would have been obvious to a person of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polymer cement layer of Horiuchi et al. in the sheet of Ueda et al. in order to provide excellent conformability, compatibility and adhesion (Horiuchi et al., paragraph [0019]).
Conclusion
/Chinessa T. Golden/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1788 9/16/2025