Nsmitter to generate time-domain waveform
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 16 recites the limitation "…..the training bits…." at line 6 in claim 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 17-21 are rejected since the claims 17-21 are dependent on claim 16
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 7, 22, 24-25 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No US 2018/0123846 to Kibutu et al. (hereinafter Kibutu) in view of U.S. Publication No US 2019/0015443 to Zhang et al. (hereinafter Zhang)
As to claims 1 and 22, Kibutu discloses a radio transmitter, comprising:
at least one processor (Kibutu; [0072]); and
at least one non-transitory memory storing instructions that, when executed with the at least one processor (Kibutu; [0072]), cause the radio transmitter to:
obtain bits to be transmitted (Kibutu; [0052] discloses of modulating and transmitting data bits means data bits are obtained);
modulate the symbol grid into a first time-domain waveform (Kibutu; [0052] discloses an inverse fast Fourier transform (Step 508) by the IFFT unit 314 to generate parallel time-domain digital waveforms);
input the first time-domain waveform into a machine learning model, producing a second time-domain waveform (Kibutu; [0052] discloses the digital time domain waveforms are converted (Step 510) from a parallel format to a serial format by the parallel-to-serial converter unit 316 to yield a serial digital waveform that is communicated to the RF IC 304 via the digital interface 306);
power amplify the second time-domain wave form, producing an amplified time-domain waveform (Kibutu; [0052] discloses the up-converted RF signal is then amplified (Step 520) by the power amplifier also mentioned above in relation to the remainder of the RF processing circuitry 322 before being applied to the duplexer 208 prior to emission by the antenna 210) ; and
transmit the amplified time-domain waveform (Kibutu; [0052] discloses the up-converted RF signal is then amplified (Step 520) by the power amplifier also mentioned above in relation to the remainder of the RF processing circuitry 322 before being applied to the duplexer 208 prior to emission by the antenna 210).
Kibutu discloses map the bits into a symbol, but fails to discloses map the bits into a symbol grid in time-frequency domain. However, Zhang discloses
map the bits into a symbol grid in time-frequency domain (Zhang; Fig.1; [0042] discloses a transmitter chain 100, control signals or data signals are modulated by a modulator 101 and the modulated signals are serial-to-parallel converted by a serial-to-parallel convertor 112. An Inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT) unit 114 is used to transfer the modulated signal or data from frequency domain to time domain (=time frequency domain))
It is obvious for a person of ordinary skilled in the art to combine the teachings before the effective filing date of the invention. One would be motivated to combine the teachings in order to transfer the modulated signal or data from frequency domain to time domain
As to claims 3 and 24, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kibutu-Zhang discloses wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the radio transmitter to modulate the symbol grid into the first time-domain waveform using orthogonal frequency- division multiplexing (Zhang; [0042] discloses A cyclic prefix (CP) or zero prefix (ZP) is added to each OFDM symbol at a CP insertion stage 118 to avoid or alternatively, to mitigate the impact due to multipath fading at a multipath fading channel 122).
As to claims 4 and 25, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kibutu-Zhang discloses wherein the machine learning model is a second machine learning model and the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the radio transmitter to map the bits into the symbol grid in time- frequency domain using a first machine learning model (Zhang; Fig.1; [0042] discloses a transmitter chain 100, control signals or data signals are modulated by a modulator 101 and the modulated signals are serial-to-parallel converted by a serial-to-parallel convertor 112. An Inverse Fast Fourier Transform (IFFT) unit 114 is used to transfer the modulated signal or data from frequency domain to time domain).
As to claims 7 and 28, the rejection of claim 1 as listed above is incorporated herein. In addition, Kibutu-Zhang discloses wherein the instructions, when executed with the at least one processor, cause the radio transmitter to upsample at least one of the first time-domain waveform or the second time-domain waveform (Kibutu; [0052] discloses the last N-samples of the serial digital waveform are therefore received by the RF IC 304 before the rest of the samples of the serial digital waveform and processed by the cyclic prefix addition unit 318. In this respect, as the LTE standard supports more than one length of cyclic prefix, and so the cyclic prefix addition unit 318 needs to be provided with the length of the uplink cyclic prefix to be used in order to perform the above processing of the samples of the serial digital waveform. Consequently, the protocol software component 402 has access to System Information Block data via the PDSCH).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 5-6, 23 and 26-27 are objected, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
Conclusion
/FAISAL CHOUDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478