Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2021/0153063 A1) in view of Bruhn et al. (US 2024/0196272).
As per claim 1, Zhang discloses a method (200) for operating a multi-connectivity communications infrastructure (100) having at least two networks (A, B) and at least two devices (110, 110-1, 110-2) each having at least two communications modules (120, 120-1, 120-2, 120-3, 120-4), wherein a connection to a higher-order unit (130), via the communications modules (120 …) and the networks (A, B) (see Background and Summary paragraphs 5–9, figures 1-3b, 13-14, paragraphs 68-69, 170-176, 325-326, UE cooperation is a communication technique that focuses on cooperative procedures among UEs in a group of UEs. UE cooperation may be achieved by a group of UEs helping each other from an initially transmitting end to a final reception end for in coverage and out of coverage areas), the method comprising the following steps:
determining characteristics of possible connection paths between the communications modules of the devices and/or the communication modules of the devices and access points of the at least two networks A,B) for a determined time range (See figure 2, bearer information, figures 13-14, See paragraphs 9-10, 63, 170-176, 188-190, 325-326, Techniques that involve user equipment (UE) cooperation (UC), determining wireless network connectivity that is available for a relay link between a UE and a wireless communication network, using direct and indirect connections);
determining a configuration for the multi-connectivity communications infrastructure comprising connection paths between at least one communications module (120, 120-1, 120-2, 120-3, 120-4) and at least one access point of the networks (A, B) and/or between a communications module (120, 120-1, 120-2) of a first device (110-1) and a communications module (120, 120-3, 120-4) of a second device (110-2) (See figure 2, bearer information, figures 13-14, See paragraphs 9-10, 63, 170-176-192, 325-326, Determining an adaptation protocol, based on the determined connectivity, to adapt a protocol stack architecture associated with the determined connectivity to supporting the relay link, based on connection availability changes, measurements, priorities, QoS, switching, CBR, channel conditions, transmission parameters, bearer reordering etc.),
based on the previously determined characteristics of possible connection paths and based on at least one request from at least one application associated with at least one of the devices (110, 110-1, 110- 2) (See figure 2, bearer information, figures 13-14, See paragraphs 9-10, 51, 63, 170-176-192, 316, 320, 325-326, Determining an adaptation protocol, based on the determined connectivity, to adapt a protocol stack architecture associated with the determined connectivity to supporting the relay link, based on connection availability changes, measurements, priorities, QoS, switching, CBR, channel conditions, transmission parameters, bearer reordering etc., UE cooperation for important applications such as video monitoring, industrial manufacturing, police firefighters etc.), and a step of applying the previously determined configuration in the multi-connectivity communications infrastructure (100) in the determined time range (See figure 2, bearer information, figures 13-14, See paragraphs 9-10, 63, 170-176-192, 316, 320, 325-326, Determining an adaptation protocol, based on the determined connectivity, to adapt a protocol stack architecture associated with the determined connectivity to supporting the relay link, based on connection availability changes, measurements, priorities, QoS, switching, CBR, channel conditions, transmission parameters, bearer reordering etc.).
Zhang does not expressly disclose the use of software application associated with at least one of the devices and the use of a future time range. However this teaching is well known as evidenced by Bruhn.
Bruhn discloses the use of software application (paragraphs 284-290, 593, 599, 608, 617, 619, 627, 788, various examples of applications via programs/software/instructions etc.) associated with at least one of the devices and the use of a future time range (paragraphs 270, 632, 830, resource management facilitation for current and future traffic for different applications and services).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Bruhn’s teaching detailed above as a modification in Zhang’s system for overall system enhancement and efficiency that takes into account current and future traffic patterns.
As per claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein determining a configuration comprises: taking into account a prioritization of the devices (110, 110-1, 110-2) and/or a prioritization of applications assigned to the devices (110, 110-1, 110-2) (See figure 2, bearer information, figures 13-14, See paragraphs 9-10, 51, 63, 170-176-192, 316, 320, 325-326, Determining an adaptation protocol, based on the determined connectivity, to adapt a protocol stack architecture associated with the determined connectivity to supporting the relay link, based on connection availability changes, measurements, priorities, QoS, switching, CBR, channel conditions, transmission parameters, bearer reordering etc., UE cooperation for important applications such as video monitoring, industrial manufacturing, police firefighters etc.).
As per claim 3, Zhang discloses wherein a respective communications module (120, 120-1, 120-2, 120-3, 120-4) of a respective device (110, 110-1, 110-2), according to the applied configuration, is in a direct connection with a network via a connection path between the respective device (110, 110-1, 110-2), and an access point of the network (A, B), and/or in a cooperative connection with further devices (110, 110-1, 110-2) via a connection path between the two devices (110, 110-1, 110-2) (See figure 2, bearer information, figures 13-14, See paragraphs 9-10, 51, 63, 170-176-192, 316, 320, 325-326, Determining an adaptation protocol, based on the determined connectivity, to adapt a protocol stack architecture associated with the determined connectivity to supporting the relay link, based on connection availability changes, measurements, priorities, QoS, switching, CBR, channel conditions, transmission parameters, bearer reordering etc., UE cooperation for important applications such as video monitoring, industrial manufacturing, police firefighters etc.).
As per claim 4, Zhang discloses wherein the multi-connectivity communications infrastructure (100) is operated according to the applied configuration for performing multi-connectivity specific methods, in particular data packet duplication (See figure 2, bearer information, figures 13-14, See paragraphs 9-10, 51, 63, 170-176-192, 316, 320, 325-326, duplicated PDCP, Determining an adaptation protocol, based on the determined connectivity, to adapt a protocol stack architecture associated with the determined connectivity to supporting the relay link, based on connection availability changes, measurements, priorities, QoS, switching, CBR, channel conditions, transmission parameters, bearer reordering etc., UE cooperation for important applications such as video monitoring, industrial manufacturing, police firefighters etc.).
As per claim 8, Zhang discloses wherein steps of the method are executed repeatedly (See figure 2, bearer information, figures 13-14, See paragraphs 9-10, 51, 63, 170-176-192, 316, 320, 325-326, duplicated PDCP, Determining an adaptation protocol, based on the determined connectivity, to adapt a protocol stack architecture associated with the determined connectivity to supporting the relay link, based on connection availability changes, measurements, priorities, QoS, switching, CBR, channel conditions, transmission parameters, bearer reordering etc., UE cooperation for important applications such as video monitoring, industrial manufacturing, police firefighters etc.).
As per claim 9, Zhang discloses a system (130) for operating a multi-connectivity communications infrastructure (100) comprising at least two networks (A, B) and at least two devices (110, 110-1, 110-2), each with at least two communications modules (120, 120-1 , 120-2, 120-3, 120-4) (see Background and Summary paragraphs 5–9, figures 1-3b, 13-14, paragraphs 68-69, 170-176, 325-326, UE cooperation is a communication technique that focuses on cooperative procedures among UEs in a group of UEs. UE cooperation may be achieved by a group of UEs helping each other from an initially transmitting end to a final reception end for in coverage and out of coverage areas),
wherein the system (130) is designed to have a functionality for determining properties of possible connection paths between the communications modules (120, 120-1, 120-2, 120-3, 120 -4) the devices (110, 110-1, 110-2) and access points of the at least two networks (A, B) for a determined time range (See figure 2, bearer information, figures 13-14, See paragraphs 9-10, 63, 170-176, 188-190, 325-326, Techniques that involve user equipment (UE) cooperation (UC), determining wireless network connectivity that is available for a relay link between a UE and a wireless communication network, using direct and indirect connections),
a functionality for determining a configuration for the multi- connectivity communications infrastructure (100), comprising connection paths between at least one communications module (120, 120-1, 120-2, 120-3, 120-4) and at least one access point of the networks (A, B) and/or between a communications module (120, 120-1, 120-2) of a first device (110-1) and a communications module (120, 120-3, 120-4) of a second device (110- 2) (See figure 2, bearer information, figures 13-14, See paragraphs 9-10, 63, 170-176-192, 325-326, Determining an adaptation protocol, based on the determined connectivity, to adapt a protocol stack architecture associated with the determined connectivity to supporting the relay link, based on connection availability changes, measurements, priorities, QoS, switching, CBR, channel conditions, transmission parameters, bearer reordering etc.),
based on the previously determined characteristics of possible connection paths and based on at least one request from at least one application associated with one of the devices (110, 110-1, 110-2) (See figure 2, bearer information, figures 13-14, See paragraphs 9-10, 51, 63, 170-176-192, 316, 320, 325-326, Determining an adaptation protocol, based on the determined connectivity, to adapt a protocol stack architecture associated with the determined connectivity to supporting the relay link, based on connection availability changes, measurements, priorities, QoS, switching, CBR, channel conditions, transmission parameters, bearer reordering etc., UE cooperation for important applications such as video monitoring, industrial manufacturing, police firefighters etc.),
wherein the system is configured to provide a functionality for applying the previously determined configuration in the multi-connectivity communications infrastructure (100) in the determined time range (See figure 2, bearer information, figures 13-14, See paragraphs 9-10, 63, 170-176-192, 316, 320, 325-326, Determining an adaptation protocol, based on the determined connectivity, to adapt a protocol stack architecture associated with the determined connectivity to supporting the relay link, based on connection availability changes, measurements, priorities, QoS, switching, CBR, channel conditions, transmission parameters, bearer reordering etc.).
Zhang does not expressly disclose the use of software application associated with at least one of the devices and the use of a future time range. However this teaching is well known as evidenced by Bruhn.
Bruhn discloses the use of software application (paragraphs 284-290, 593, 599, 608, 617, 619, 627, 788, various examples of applications via programs/software/instructions etc.) associated with at least one of the devices and the use of a future time range (paragraphs 270, 632, 830, resource management facilitation for current and future traffic for different applications and services).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use Bruhn’s teaching detailed above as a modification in Zhang’s system for overall system enhancement and efficiency that takes into account current and future traffic patterns.
As per claim 10, Zhang discloses wherein the system (130) comprises a multi-connectivity scheduling entity (130-3) and the functionalities for determining the configuration and for applying the configuration are provided centrally by the multi-connectivity scheduling entity (130-3), and/or wherein the system comprises a prediction entity (130-2) and the functionality for determining properties of possible connection paths is provided centrally by the prediction entity (130-2) (see paragraphs 169-186 250-252, configuration from 1302, see figures 13 and 14).
As per claim 11, Zhang discloses wherein the functionality for determining properties of possible connection paths is implemented outside the communications infrastructure (100), and the communications infrastructure (100) comprises an interface (130-4) to the functionality (see paragraphs 169-186 250-252, configuration from 1302, see figures 17B, 13 and 14).
As per claim 12, Zhang discloses wherein the functionality for determining properties of possible connection paths is implemented within the communications infrastructure (100) (see paragraphs 169-186 250-252, configuration from 1302, see figures 17B, 13 and 14).
As per claim 13, Zhang discloses, wherein the functionalities of the multi-connectivity scheduling entity (130-3) are provided distributed by a multi-connectivity control entity and a multi-connectivity aggregation entity (see paragraphs 169-186 250-252, dual connectivity and carrier aggregation configuration from 1302, see figures 17B, 13 and 14).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 2021/0153063 A1) in view of Bruhn et al. (US 2024/0196272).
As per claims 5-7, Zhang (as modified by Bruhn detailed above) discloses wherein at least two connection paths, in particular a first connection path for establishing a direct connection between a first communications module (120, 120-1) of a first device (110-1) and an access point of a network (A) and a second connection path for establishing a cooperative connection between a second communications module (120, 120-2) of the first device (110-1) and a communications module (120, 120-3) of a second device (110-2) (See figure 2, bearer information, figures 13-14, See paragraphs 9-10, 51, 63, 170-176-192, 316, 320, 325-326, duplicated PDCP, Determining an adaptation protocol, based on the determined connectivity, to adapt a protocol stack architecture associated with the determined connectivity to supporting the relay link, based on connection availability changes, measurements, priorities, QoS, switching, CBR, channel conditions, transmission parameters, bearer reordering etc., UE cooperation for important applications such as video monitoring, industrial manufacturing, police firefighters etc. , paragraph 71, air interfaces, paragraph 76, sidelink, paragraph 73 and 170-171, different links and protocols, L2 and/or L3 relaying, splitting, duplicating, safety band V2X).
Zhang does not explicitly disclose the use of a different frequency range or same frequency range and at least temporarily offset in time.
While the Zhang does not use the exact phrase “different frequency range,” it explicitly indicates configuring different transmission parameters per path (numerologies, MCS, bandwidths), which supports the concept of using different frequency resources for different connection paths to reduce correlation and increase diversity.
While the Zhang does not use the exact phrase “same frequency range,” The Zhang reference describes multiple streams that may share or be managed by the same MAC/PHY or by separate MAC/PHY sets; time-division/time-multiplexing approaches are discussed implicitly via multiplexing and multiple RLC/MAC/PHY arrangements. Using the same frequency (with temporal multiplexing or separate MAC/PHY instances) aligns with the reference’s description of different stack arrangements and multiplexed transmissions.
While the Zhang does not use the exact phrase “at least temporarily offset in time,” The claim’s time-offset operation corresponds to the reference’s discussion of dynamic/semi-static configuration of transmission schemes and multiplexing/group-casting. Although phrase “temporally offset” is not verbatim in the selected passages above, the reference supports temporal controls (dynamic/PHY-level) and multiplexing approaches that enable time offsets.
However this is well known to one of ordinary skill in the art. Official Notice is taken that both the concept and the advantages of using a different frequency range or same frequency range and at least temporarily offset in time are well known and expected in the art. This can be allocated and changes are made based on channel conditions, delays, load balancing conditions etc. to achieve best speeds and range, this dynamic allocation combination procedure is for optimal performance in cooperation communications infrastructure.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831