DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, 13, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHA et al. (US 2022/0182476) in view of SEO et al. (US 2018/0049329).
Regarding claim 1 CHA discloses:
A display panel comprising:
at least three middle frames (e.g. 401, 402 FIG.8), every two adjacent said middle frames being rotatably connected (e.g. indicated FIG.10); and
at least two hinges (e.g. 500 FIG.8), each of said hinges being connected to two adjacent said middle frames (e.g. indicated FIG.8); wherein
torques of any two adjacent hinges are different (e.g. via duplicate 530 shown FIG.8/FIG.12, via angular difference shown FIG.11); wherein
said hinges comprises a first hinge and a second hinge (e.g. shown FIG.9), each of the first hinge and the second hinge comprises one or more positioners (e.g. gearing teeth shown FIG.13)
CHA does not explicitly disclose:
and one or more elastic elements, and a number of said positioners in the second hinge is greater than a number of said positioners in the first hinge, and a number of said elastic elements in the second hinge is greater than a number of said elastic elements in the first hinge, wherein a torque of the first hinge is less than a torque of the second hinge
SEO teaches:
one or more elastic elements (e.g. middle of 204 FIG.9, middle of 1004 FIG.61), and a number of said positioners in the second hinge (e.g. ends of 204 FIG.10) is greater than a number of said positioners in the first hinge (e.g. ends of 1004 FIG.61), and a number of said elastic elements in the second hinge (e.g. middle of 204 FIG.9) is greater than a number of said elastic elements in the first hinge (e.g. middle of 1004 FIG.61), wherein a torque of the first hinge is less than a torque of the second hinge (e.g. the hinges of FIG.61 has fewer force units than the hinge of FIG.9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of SEO as pointed out above, in CHA, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have would have recognized the teaching, suggestion, and motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (as pointed out above) to arrive at the claimed invention, and would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification would have allowed for:
the provision of a large number of locking points and locking angles over the course of folding/unfolding at one hinge (paragraph [0118]) while also providing relative movements relatively freely by a user (paragraph [0255]).
Regarding claim 2 CHA as modified discloses:
when the display panel is in a first state, the at least three middle frames are successively arranged in a first direction to form a flat surface (e.g. shown FIG.11(a)), wherein any three adjacent middle frames are successively a first middle frame, a second middle frame and a third middle frame, the second middle frame is positioned between the first middle frame and the third middle frame (e.g. shown FIG.11), the first middle frame is rotatably connected to the second middle frame through the first hinge (e.g. shown FIG.11), the third middle frame is rotatably connected to the second middle frame through the second hinge (e.g. shown FIG.11;
when the display panel is in a second state, the second middle frame, the first middle frame, and the third middle frame are arranged to overlap in a second direction (e.g. shown FIG.11), and the first middle frame is positioned between the second middle frame and the third middle frame (e.g. shown FIG.11).
Regarding claim 3 CHA as modified discloses:
in the first direction, a length of the first middle frame is smaller than a length of the second middle frame, and a length of the second middle frame is smaller than a length of the third middle frame (e.g. shown FIG.11(c), additional length to right 401 shown FIG.9).
Regarding claim 4 CHA as modified discloses:
when the display panel is in the first state, a thickness of the first middle frame gradually increases in the first direction (e.g. changing thickness shown FIG.11), a thickness of the third middle frame gradually decreases in the first direction (e.g. changing thickness shown FIG.11), and a thickness of a side of the first middle frame close to the first hinge is larger than a thickness of a side of the first middle frame away from the first hinge (e.g. shown FIG.11).
Regarding claim 5 CHA as modified discloses:
one of the first hinge and the second hinge is a flex hinge and the other is a U-shaped hinge (e.g. 500 shown flexing FIG.11, shown forming U FIG.11).
Regarding claim 6 CHA as modified discloses:
the first hinge (FIG.12 without middle 510, 520, 530, as shown FIG.8) comprises:
a first fixing bracket (e.g. 530 FIG.12), comprising a first body bracket (e.g. lower 5341 FIG.12);
a first supporting mechanism (e.g. 520 FIG.12), comprising a first support and a second support positioned at opposite sides of the first body bracket (e.g. shown FIG.12), the first support being rotatably connected to one side of the first body bracket (e.g. shown FIG.14), and the second support being rotatably connected to the other side of the first body bracket (e.g. shown FIG.14);
a first rotating mechanism, comprising a first rotator (e.g. 5131 FIG.14), a second rotator (e.g. 5231 FIG.14), a first connector (e.g. 4012 FIG.12), and a second connector (e.g. 2022 FIG.12), one end of the first rotator being rotatably connected to one side of the first support away from the first body bracket (e.g. shown FIG.12), the other side of the first rotator being fixedly connected to the first middle frame (e.g. shown FIG.8), one end of the second rotator being rotatably connected to one side of the second support away from the first body bracket (e.g. shown FIG.12), the other side of the second rotator being fixedly connected to the second middle frame (e.g. shown FIG.8), one end of the first connector being slidably connected to the first rotator (e.g. shown FIG.14), and one end of the second connector being slidably connected to the second rotator (e.g. shown FIG.14); and
a first linkage mechanism (e.g. 532 FIG.13), wherein the other end of the first connector is fixedly connected to one end of the first linkage mechanism (e.g. shown FIG.13), and the other end of the second connector is fixedly connected to the other end of the first linkage mechanism (e.g. shown FIG.13) so that the first rotator and the second rotator rotate synchronously (e.g. shown FIG.14).
Regarding claim 7 CHA as modified discloses:
the first rotating mechanism further comprises a first rotating shaft (e.g. 511 FIG.14) and a second rotating shaft (e.g. 521 FIG.14), the first rotating shaft being fixedly connected to the first connector and fixedly connected to the end of the first linkage mechanism (e.g. indicated FIG.14);
the second rotating shaft being fixedly connected to the second connector and fixedly connected to the other end of the first linkage mechanism (e.g. indicated FIG.14).
Regarding claim 8 CHA as modified discloses:
the first fixing bracket further comprises a first bracket and a second bracket (e.g. at least two 530 shown FIG.14), the first bracket being positioned between the second bracket and the first body bracket (e.g. shown FIG.14), the first linkage mechanism being provided between the first bracket and the first body bracket (e.g. shown FIG.14), wherein the first rotating shaft and the second rotating shaft are rotatably connected to the first body bracket (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.14), and the first bracket and the second bracket are sleeved on the first rotating shaft and the second rotating shaft (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.14).
Regarding claim 9 CHA as modified discloses:
the first linkage mechanism comprises a first linkage connected to the first rotating shaft (e.g. at least one shown FIG.14), a second linkage connected to the second rotating shaft (e.g. at least one shown FIG.14), and a third linkage (at least three shown FIG.14), the first linkage being synchronously connected to the second linkage through the third linkage so that the first rotating shaft and the second rotating shaft rotate synchronously (e.g. shown/indicated FIG.14).
Regarding claim 10 CHA as modified discloses:
the other end of the first connector is provided with a first cam (e.g. 4012a FIG.13) on a side away from the first linkage (e.g. shown FIG.14), and the other end of the second connector is provided with a second cam (e.g. 4022a FIG.13) on a side away from the second linkage (e.g. shown FIG.14); and
the first hinge further comprises a first positioning mechanism (e.g. 531 FIG.13), wherein the first positioning mechanism comprises said positioners, and said positioners comprise a first positioner sleeved on the first rotating shaft and the second rotating shaft (e.g. shown FIG.13 via dotted lines), a first concave wheel matched with the first cam is arranged on one side of the first positioner close to the first connector (e.g. shown FIG.13), and a second concave wheel matched with the second cam is arranged on one side of the first positioner close to the second connector (e.g. FIG.13).
Regarding claim 12 CHA as modified discloses:
the second hinge (FIG.12 with middle 510, 520, 530, as shown FIG.8) comprises:
a second fixing bracket (e.g. 530 FIG.12), comprising a second body bracket (e.g. lower 5341 FIG.12);
a second supporting mechanism (e.g. 520 FIG.12), comprising a third support and a fourth support positioned on opposite sides of the second body bracket (e.g. shown FIG.12), the third support being rotatably connected to one side of the second body bracket (e.g. shown FIG.14), one side of the third support away from the second body bracket being fixedly connected to the second middle frame (e.g. shown FIG.8), the fourth support being rotatably connected to the other side of the second body bracket (e.g. shown FIG.12), and one side of the fourth support away from the second body bracket being fixedly connected to the third middle frame (e.g. shown FIG.8);
a second rotating mechanism, comprising a third rotator (e.g. 5131 FIG.14) slidably connected to the third support and a fourth rotator (e.g. 5231 FIG.14) slidably connected to the fourth support (e.g. shown FIG.14);
a second linkage mechanism (e.g. 532 FIG.13), through which the third rotator is connected to the fourth rotator so that the third rotator and the fourth rotator rotate synchronously (e.g. shown FIG.14).
Regarding claim 13 CHA as modified discloses:
the second fixing bracket further comprises a third bracket and a fourth bracket (e.g. at least two 530 shown FIG.14), the third bracket is positioned between the fourth bracket and the second body bracket (e.g. shown FIG.14), and the second linkage mechanism is disposed between the third bracket and the fourth bracket (e.g. shown FIG.14); and
the second linkage mechanism comprises a fourth linkage, a fifth linkage and a sixth linkage (e.g. at least three shown FIG.13), wherein the fourth linkage is fixedly connected to the third rotator (e.g. shown FIG.13), the sixth linkage is fixedly connected to the fourth rotator (e.g. shown FIG.13), the fifth linkage is rotatably connected to the third bracket (e.g. indicated via rounded arrows FIG.13), and the fourth linkage is synchronously connected to the sixth linkage by the fifth linkage so that the third rotator and the fourth rotator rotate synchronously (e.g. indicated by rounded arrows following 532 FIG.13).
Regarding claim 17 CHA discloses:
An electronic device comprising a display panel comprising:
at least three middle frames (e.g. 401, 402 FIG.8), every two adjacent said middle frames being rotatably connected (e.g. indicated FIG.10); and
at least two hinges (e.g. 500 FIG.8), each of said hinges being connected to two adjacent said middle frames (e.g. indicated FIG.8): wherein
said hinges comprises a first hinge and a second hinge (e.g. shown FIG.9), each of the first hinge and the second hinge comprises one or more positioners (e.g. gearing teeth shown FIG.13)
CHA does not explicitly disclose:
and one or more elastic elements, and a number of said positioners in the second hinge is greater than a number of said positioners in the first hinge, and a number of said elastic elements in the second hinge is greater than a number of said elastic elements in the first hinge, wherein a torque of the first hinge is less than a torque of the second hinge
SEO teaches:
one or more elastic elements (e.g. middle of 204 FIG.9, middle of 1004 FIG.61), and a number of said positioners in the second hinge (e.g. ends of 204 FIG.10) is greater than a number of said positioners in the first hinge (e.g. ends of 1004 FIG.61), and a number of said elastic elements in the second hinge (e.g. middle of 204 FIG.9) is greater than a number of said elastic elements in the first hinge (e.g. middle of 1004 FIG.61), wherein a torque of the first hinge is less than a torque of the second hinge (e.g. the hinges of FIG.61 has fewer force units than the hinge of FIG.9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of SEO as pointed out above, in CHA, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have would have recognized the teaching, suggestion, and motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (as pointed out above) to arrive at the claimed invention, and would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification would have allowed for:
the provision of a large number of locking points and locking angles over the course of folding/unfolding at one hinge (paragraph [0118]) while also providing relative movements relatively freely by a user (paragraph [0255]).
Regarding claim 18 CHA as modified discloses:
when the display panel is in a first state, the at least three middle frames are successively arranged in a first direction to form a flat surface (e.g. shown FIG.11(a)), wherein any three adjacent middle frames are successively a first middle frame, a second middle frame and a third middle frame, the second middle frame is positioned between the first middle frame and the third middle frame (e.g. shown FIG.11), the first middle frame is rotatably connected to the second middle frame through a first hinge (e.g. shown FIG.11), the third middle frame is rotatably connected to the second middle frame through a second hinge (e.g. shown FIG.11), and the torque of the first hinge is less than the torque of the second hinge (e.g. via duplicate 530 shown FIG.8/FIG.12, via angular difference shown FIG.11);
when the display panel is in a second state, the second middle frame, the first middle frame, and the third middle frame are arranged to overlap in a second direction (e.g. shown FIG.11), and the first middle frame is positioned between the second middle frame and the third middle frame (e.g. shown FIG.11).
Regarding claim 19 CHA as modified discloses:
in the first direction, a length of the first middle frame is smaller than a length of the second middle frame, and a length of the second middle frame is smaller than a length of the third middle frame (e.g. shown FIG.11(c), additional length to right 401 shown FIG.9).
Regarding claim 20 CHA as modified discloses:
when the display panel is in the first state, a thickness of the first middle frame gradually increases in the first direction (e.g. changing thickness shown FIG.11), a thickness of the third middle frame gradually decreases in the first direction (e.g. changing thickness shown FIG.11), and a thickness of a side of the first middle frame close to the first hinge is larger than a thickness of a side of the first middle frame away from the first hinge (e.g. shown FIG.11).
Claim(s) 11, 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHA et al. (US 2022/0182476) in view of SEO et al. (US 2018/0049329) in further view of HWANG et al. (US2021/0373612).
Regarding claim 11 CHA as modified discloses:
The display panel according to claim 10
CHA does not explicitly disclose:
the first positioning mechanism further comprises said elastic elements, and said elastic elements comprise a first elastic element and a second elastic element, wherein the first elastic element is sleeved on the first rotating shaft, the second elastic element is sleeved on the second rotating shaft, both the first elastic element and the second elastic element are positioned between the first positioner and the second bracket, and both the first elastic element and the second elastic element are in an elastically deformed state
HWANG teaches:
first positioning mechanism further comprises elastic elements (e.g. 242 FIG.2), and said elastic elements comprise a first elastic element (e.g. 242a FIG.2) and a second elastic element (e.g. 242b FIG.2), wherein the first elastic element is sleeved on the first rotating shaft (e.g. 13 FIG.3), the second elastic element is sleeved on the second rotating shaft (e.g. 14 FIG.3), both the first elastic element and the second elastic element are positioned between the first positioner (e.g. 243b FIG.3) and the second bracket (e.g. 243a FIG.3), and both the first elastic element and the second elastic element are in an elastically deformed state (e.g. via cams shown FIG.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of HWANG as pointed out above, in CHA as modified, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have would have recognized the teaching, suggestion, and motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (as pointed out above) to arrive at the claimed invention, and would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification would have allowed for:
"providing a detent load of a specified size such that a folding operation or a folded state of a foldable electronic device remains stable" (paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 14 CHA as modified discloses:
The display panel according to claim 13, wherein the second rotating mechanism further comprises a third rotating shaft (e.g. 511 FIG.14) rotatably connected to the third bracket and the fourth bracket (e.g. shown FIG.14), and a fourth rotating shaft (e.g. 521 FIG.14) rotatably connected to the third bracket and the fourth bracket (e.g. shown FIG.14); wherein
the third rotator is provided with a third cam (e.g. 4012a FIG.13) on one side close to the third bracket, the fourth rotator is provided with a fourth cam (e.g. 4022a FIG.13) on one side close to the third bracket, the second hinge further comprises a second positioning mechanism (e.g. 531 FIG.13), wherein the second positioning mechanism comprises said positioners, said positioners comprise a second positioner (e.g. shown FIG.13 via dotted lines), the second positioner is sleeved on the third rotating shaft and the fourth rotating shaft (e.g. shown FIG.13), a third concave wheel matched with the third cam is arranged on one side of the second positioner close to the third rotator (e.g. wheel matched with 4012a shown FIG.13), and a fourth concave wheel (e.g. wheel matched with 4022a shown FIG.13) matched with the fourth cam is arranged on one side of the second positioner close to the fourth rotator (shown FIG.13)
CHA does not explicitly disclose:
the third cam is sleeved on the third rotating shaft, and the fourth cam is sleeved on the fourth rotating shaft;
said elastic elements comprise a third elastic element and a fourth elastic element, and;
the third elastic element is sleeved on the third rotating shaft, the fourth elastic element is sleeved on the fourth rotating shaft, both the third elastic element and the fourth elastic element are positioned between the second positioner and the fourth bracket, and both the third elastic element and the fourth elastic element are in an elastically deformed state
HWANG teaches:
the third cam (e.g. 221_4b FIG.3) is sleeved on the third rotating shaft (e.g. 13 FIG.3), and the fourth cam (e.g. 222_4b FIG.3) is sleeved on the fourth rotating shaft (e.g. 14 FIG.3);
said elastic elements comprise a third elastic element (e.g. 242c FIG.2) and a fourth elastic element (e.g. 242d FIG.2), and;
the third elastic element is sleeved on the third rotating shaft, the fourth elastic element is sleeved on the fourth rotating shaft, both the third elastic element and the fourth elastic element are positioned between the second positioner (e.g. 241b FIG.2) and the fourth bracket (e.g. 243a FIG.2), and both the third elastic element and the fourth elastic element are in an elastically deformed state (e.g. via cams shown FIG.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of HWANG as pointed out above, in CHA as modified, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have would have recognized the teaching, suggestion, and motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (as pointed out above) to arrive at the claimed invention, and would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification would have allowed for:
"providing a detent load of a specified size such that a folding operation or a folded state of a foldable electronic device remains stable" (paragraph [0002]).
Regarding claim 15 CHA as modified discloses:
the fourth linkage is integrally provided with the third cam (e.g. attached as shown FIG.13), and the sixth linkage is integrally provided with the fourth cam (e.g. attached as shown FIG.13).
Regarding claim 16 CHA as modified discloses:
The display panel according to claim 14,
CHA does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the third rotator is provided with a fifth cam on a side close to the fourth bracket, the fifth cam is sleeved on the third rotating shaft, the third elastic element is positioned between the second positioner and the fifth cam, the fourth rotator is provided with a sixth cam on a side close to the fourth bracket, the sixth cam is sleeved on the fourth rotating shaft, and the fourth elastic element is positioned between the second positioner and the sixth cam;
said positioners further comprise a third positioner, said elastic elements further comprise a fifth elastic element and a sixth elastic element, the third positioner is sleeved on the third rotating shaft and the fourth rotating shaft, a fifth concave wheel matched with the fifth cam is arranged on one side of the third positioner close to the third rotator, and a sixth concave wheel matched with the sixth cam is arranged on one side of the third positioner close to the fourth rotator; and
the fifth elastic element is sleeved on the third rotating shaft, the sixth elastic element is sleeved on the fourth rotating shaft, both the fifth elastic element and the sixth elastic element are positioned between the third positioner and the fourth bracket, and both the fifth elastic element and the sixth elastic element are in an elastically deformed state.
HWANG teaches:
the third rotator (e.g. 221 FIG.4) is provided with a fifth cam (e.g. 221_4a FIG.3) on a side close to the fourth bracket (e.g. 243b FIG.3), the fifth cam is sleeved on the third rotating shaft (e.g. indicated via dotted lines FIG.3), the third elastic element is positioned between the second positioner and the fifth cam (e.g. shown FIG.2), the fourth rotator (e.g. 222 FIG.4) is provided with a sixth cam (e.g. 222_4a FIG.3) on a side close to the fourth bracket, the sixth cam is sleeved on the fourth rotating shaft (e.g. indicated via dotted line FIG.3), and the fourth elastic element is positioned between the second positioner and the sixth cam (e.g. shown FIG.2);
the second positioning mechanism further comprises a third positioner (e.g. 241a FIG.3), said elastic elements further comprise a fifth elastic element and a sixth elastic element (e.g. 242a, 242b FIG.3), the third positioner is sleeved on the third rotating shaft and the fourth rotating shaft (e.g. shown via dotted lines FIG.3), a fifth concave wheel (e.g. 241a_1a) matched with the fifth cam is arranged on one side of the third positioner close to the third rotator (e.g. shown FIG.3), and a sixth concave wheel (e.g. 241a_1b FIG.3) matched with the sixth cam is arranged on one side of the third positioner close to the fourth rotator (e.g. shown FIG.3); and
the fifth elastic element is sleeved on the third rotating shaft (e.g. shown via dotted lines FIG.3), the sixth elastic element is sleeved on the fourth rotating shaft (e.g. shown via dotted lines FIG.3), both the fifth elastic element and the sixth elastic element are positioned between the third positioner and the fourth bracket (e.g. shown FIG.2), and both the fifth elastic element and the sixth elastic element are in an elastically deformed state (e.g. via cams shown FIG.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the teachings of HWANG as pointed out above, in CHA as modified, as one having ordinary skill in the art would have would have recognized the teaching, suggestion, and motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings (as pointed out above) to arrive at the claimed invention, and would have been motivated to do this with a reasonable expectation of success because such a combination and/or modification would have allowed for:
"providing a detent load of a specified size such that a folding operation or a folded state of a foldable electronic device remains stable" (paragraph [0002]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Furthermore the rejection above addressed all remaining arguments and so will not be repeated here.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional references cited on the PTO-892 disclose/teach similar hinged housing devices as those disclosed in the present application.
Limited examiner interviews are available.
/THERON S MILLISER/Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841