Response to Election/Restriction filed on June 29, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 48-67 are pending in this application.
Restriction
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (claims 48-56) and the election of SEQ ID NO: 1 as the species of peptide, respiratory distress caused by lung cancer as the disease the subject is afflicted with, inhalation as the species of the formulation, and solvent as the species of excipient in the reply filed on June 29, 2026 is acknowledged. Restriction is deemed to be proper and is made FINAL in this office action. Claims 57-67 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant indicates that claims 48-52 and 55-56 read on the elected species. A search was conducted on the elected species SEQ ID NO: 1 and prior art was found. Additionally, in the same reference, instant SEQ ID NO: 2 was found. Therefore, ONLY the species election between SEQ ID NO: 1 and SEQ ID NO: 2 is withdrawn. Claims 48-56 are examined on the merits in this office action.
Objections
5. The abstract is objected to for the following minor informality:
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words. It is important that the abstract not exceed 150 words in length since the space provided for the abstract on the computer tape used by the printer is limited. The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, "The disclosure concerns," "The disclosure defined by this invention," "The disclosure describes," etc.
In the instant case, the abstract recites, “The present invention relates to the treatment or prevention...” at line 1 of the abstract. Applicant should correct these informalities. See MPEP 608.01(b). The abstract is recommended to be amended to recite, “A pharmaceutical composition for treatment or prevention of respiratory distress comprising a peptide…is described.”
Please note, the specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible error. Applicant's cooperation is required in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. MPEP § 608.01.
Rejections
U.S.C. 103
10. Claims 48-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Primor reference (WO 2019/186561, filed with IDS) in view of Crimi et al (Best Practice & Research Clinical Anaesthesiology, 2004, 18(3): 477-492, filed with IDS) and Huang et al (Pharmacological Research, 2020, 159: 105051, pp. 1-4, filed with IDS).
The applied reference has a common Inventor (Naftali Primor) and assignee (S.I.S. Shulov Innovative Science LTD) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
11. Primor reference teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the peptide pGlu-Asn-Trp-Lys(Octanoyl)-OH (SEQ ID NO: 1) or a peptide pGlu-Ans-Trp-Thr-OH (SEQ ID NO: 2) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or derivative thereof (see claims and examples). Primor reference teaches that the pharmaceutical composition is used in reducing the release or inhibiting the activity of at least one inflammatory cytokine (see claims 14 and 24, for example). Primor reference specifically teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the same for administration to a subject having an inflammatory disease or disorder of the lung (see for example, p. 8, lines 21-22, and claim 32), administration mode such as a nasal administration (see for example, claim 14 and 33)…the active ingredients is delivered in the form of an aerosol spray presentation from a pressurized pack or a nebulizer with the use of a suitable propellant (see p. 23, lines 3-5). Primor reference teaches additional agents, such as solvents, and other active agents (see for example, p. 20, lines 15-28 and pp. 22-24). Primor reference meets the limitation of instant claims 48-56, in part.
The difference between the reference and instant claims is that the reference does not teach the peptide for the treatment or prevention of respiratory distress.
12. However, Crimi et al teach that acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) is a clinical syndrome of non-cardiogenic pulmonary oedema associated with bilateral pulmonary infiltrates, stiff lungs and refractory hypoxaemia. ARDS is characterized by an explosive acute inflammatory response in the lung parenchyma (see abstract).
13. Additionally, Huang et al teach that pandemic, such a COVID-19 may develop life-threatening sepsis, respiratory failure, acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) and multiple organ failure…It is well recognized that lung damage and multi-organ failure in this subgroup of patients arise due to overwhelming systemic hyper-inflammation (see abstract).
14. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Primor, Crimi et al and Huang et al because all three references teach treatment of inflammatory conditions, such a ARDS. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine with a reasonable expectation of success since Primor reference teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a peptide selected from instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2, and pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof in reducing the release or inhibiting the activity of at least one inflammatory cytokine, and specifically teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the same for administration to a subject having an inflammatory disease or disorder of the lung, administration mode such as a nasal administration…the active ingredients is delivered in the form of an aerosol spray presentation from a pressurized pack or a nebulizer with the use of a suitable propellant, and Crimi et al and Huang et al teach that inflammatory diseases and disorders include acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success, since Primor reference specifically teaches a method of treating an inflammatory disease or disorder selected from the group consisting of…a lung inflammatory disease or disorder by administering instant SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2, and Crimi et al and Huang et al teach that inflammatory diseases and disorders of the lung include acute respiratory distress syndrome. Therefore, the combined art is prima facie obvious over instant claims 48-56.
15. Claim(s) 48-56 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al (US 2023/0399616), as evidenced by Primor reference (WO 2019/186561, filed with IDS), and in view of Primor reference (WO 2019/186561, filed with IDS), Crimi et al (Best Practice & Research Clinical Anaesthesiology, 2004, 18(3): 477-492, filed with IDS) and Huang et al (Pharmacological Research, 2020, 159: 105051, pp. 1-4, filed with IDS).
16. Guo et al teach ZEP3 peptide (see Table 3). As evidenced by Primor reference, ZEP3 is the same as instant SEQ ID NO: 1 (see for example, p. 2, lines 14-17). Guo et al teach targeting the therapeutic proteins to a site, for example, respiratory tract (e.g., lung) (see paragraph [0128])…coronavirus infected patients show respiratory syndromes and some even develop ARDS (see paragraph [0134]).
The difference between the reference and the instant claims is that the reference does not teach the peptide for the treatment or prevention of respiratory distress.
17. However, Primor reference teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the peptide pGlu-Asn-Trp-Lys(Octanoyl)-OH (SEQ ID NO: 1) or a peptide pGlu-Ans-Trp-Thr-OH (SEQ ID NO: 2) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt or derivative thereof (see claims and examples). Primor reference teaches that the pharmaceutical composition is used in reducing the release or inhibiting the activity of at least one inflammatory cytokine (see claims 14 and 24, for example). Primor reference specifically teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the same for administration to a subject having an inflammatory disease or disorder of the lung (see for example, p. 8, lines 21-22, and claim 32), administration mode such as a nasal administration (see for example, claim 14 and 33)…the active ingredients is delivered in the form of an aerosol spray presentation from a pressurized pack or a nebulizer with the use of a suitable propellant (see p. 23, lines 3-5). Primor reference teaches additional agents, such as solvents, and other active agents (see for example, p. 20, lines 15-28 and pp. 22-24).
18. Crimi et al teach that acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) is a clinical syndrome of non-cardiogenic pulmonary oedema associated with bilateral pulmonary infiltrates, stiff lungs and refractory hypoxaemia. ARDS is characterized by an explosive acute inflammatory response in the lung parenchyma (see abstract).
19. Additionally, Huang et al teach that pandemic, such a COVID-19 may develop life-threatening sepsis, respiratory failure, acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS) and multiple organ failure…It is well recognized that lung damage and multi-organ failure in this subgroup of patients arise due to overwhelming systemic hyper-inflammation (see abstract).
20. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Guo et al, Primor reference, Crimi et al and Huang et al because all three references teach treatment of inflammatory conditions, such a ARDS. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine with a reasonable expectation of success since Primor reference teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising a peptide selected from instant SEQ ID NO: 1 and 2, and pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof in reducing the release or inhibiting the activity of at least one inflammatory cytokine, and specifically teaches a pharmaceutical composition comprising the same for administration to a subject having an inflammatory disease or disorder of the lung, administration mode such as a nasal administration…the active ingredients is delivered in the form of an aerosol spray presentation from a pressurized pack or a nebulizer with the use of a suitable propellant, and Crimi et al and Huang et al teach that inflammatory diseases and disorders include acute respiratory distress syndrome (ARDS). One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success, since Primor reference specifically teaches a method of treating an inflammatory disease or disorder selected from the group consisting of…a lung inflammatory disease or disorder by administering instant SEQ ID NOs: 1 and 2, and Crimi et al and Huang et al teach that inflammatory diseases and disorders of the lung include acute respiratory distress syndrome. Therefore, the combined art is prima facie obvious over instant claims 48-56.
Improper Markush
21. Claim 50 is rejected on the judicially created basis that it contains an improper Markush grouping of alternatives. See In re Harnisch, 631 F. 2d 716, 721-22 (CCPA 1980) and Ex parte Hazumi, 3 USPQ 2d 1059, 1060 (BPAI 1984). The improper Markush grouping includes species of the claimed invention that do not share both a substantial structural feature and a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. The members of the improper Markush grouping do not share a substantial feature and/or a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature for the following reasons: The diseases and disorders claimed do not share a common patient population and common end points. For example, sleep apnea, altitude illness, diabetic ketoacidosis and such do not share a common patient population and common end points.
In response to this rejection, Applicant should either amend the claim(s) to recite only individual species or grouping of species that share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature, or present a sufficient showing that the species recited in the alternative of the claims(s) share a substantial structural feature as well as a common use that flows from the substantial structural feature. This is a rejection on the merits and may be appealed to the Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences in accordance with 35 U.S.C. § 134 and 37 CFR 41.31 (a)(1) (emphasis provided).
CONCLUSION
No claim is allowed.
/JULIE HA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654
8/5/2026