DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 27 requires “a comburent supply conduit” in line 6, “a supply conduit” in line 11, “said supply conduit” in lines 21, 23, and 25. It is unclear if “a supply conduit” and “said supply conduit” the same or different from the “a comburent supply conduit” claimed in line 6. For the purposes of examination “a supply conduit” and “said supply conduit” is interpreted as “a comburent supply conduit” and “said supply conduit”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Batz et. al (US 2016/0076763 A1).
With respect to claim 27 Batz discloses an end apparatus [see Fig. 3] for a burner configured to generate a flame, comprising: a combustion head [reference character 200] connectable to supply means for supplying a fuel and having at least one inlet opening [see annotated Fig. below, where the inlet opening feeds plenum 62] adapted to enable a fuel to enter [see paragraph 0080], and a plurality of outlet openings [outlet 23 in nozzle 22, see Figs. 3 and 5], adapted to enable an outflow of fuel; a comburent supply conduit [reference character 12, the air is supplied through clearance duct 13] configured to convey a comburent [see paragraph 0080] to said combustion head and extending between a comburent introduction opening [reference character 63] and an emission opening [at reference character 15] along a main extension direction [the central longitudinal axis of the burner head]; wherein said combustion head is at least partially inserted into said supply conduit [the partially inserted portion being reference characters 11,14,16, and 17], at the emission opening, so as to define a passage gap [see annotated Fig. below] between said combustion head and said supply conduit for a flow of comburent; characterized in that said combustion head comprises: a plurality of outer openings [the openings in reference character 212] arranged outside said passage gap according to a direction that is radial to said main extension direction and configured to emit a first flow of fuel [see paragraph 0075] outside said flow of a comburent; and a plurality of inner openings [the openings in reference character 17, see paragraph 0058, and the openings in reference character 14, see Fig. 4] arranged at and/or inside said passage gap according to a direction that is radial to said main extension direction, said inner openings being adapted to introduce a second flow of fuel [via reference character 11] inside said flow of a comburent. Batz further discloses that said combustion head comprises a central body [reference characters 11, 14, 16, and 17] at least partially inserted into said supply conduit and extending between a first end [see annotated Fig. below], defining said inlet opening [see Fig. 3], and a second end [at reference character 15] along an extension direction [see annotated Fig. below]; said second end defining with said supply conduit at least partially said passage gap (9). Finally, Batz discloses that said combustion head (2) comprises at least one inner nozzle [reference character 17] arranged inside said supply conduit (5) and interposed between said central body (13) and said supply conduit (5) [see annotated Fig. below].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Batz et. al (US 2016/0076763 A1) in view of Braig et. al (US 11,187,407).
With respect to claim 28 Blatz discloses the end apparatus of claim 27.
Blatz does not disclose a suction means configured to suck at least an amount of comburent from an environment outside said burner and to move said at least an amount of comburent from said second introduction opening to said second emission opening.
Braig discloses a burner head [reference character 16] that is provided with air via a fan [column 7 lines 35-42].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing date of the invention to modify the burner taught by Blatz by using a fan to provide forced air to the burner, as taught by Braig, in order to ensure that there is always an adequate supply of combustion air to the burner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1,3-6,8,10-15 and 17-26 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VIVEK K SHIRSAT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762