DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The following addresses Applicant’s remarks/amendments dated 07 August 2026.
No claims were amended; Claim 13 was added; no claims were cancelled; therefore, Claims 1-13 are pending in the current application and will be addressed below.
Response to Argument
Applicant's arguments filed 07 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Wohlgenannt fails to disclose limitations (i) and (ii), specifically arguing that the beam splitting component 29 in Wohlgenannt operates on outgoing laser beams on the transmission side rather than incoming return signals on the receiver side, and therefore is not arranged in a signal path upstream of the receiver regions or receiving incident electromagnetic signals as claimed.
In response, under the Broadest Reasonable Interpretation consistent with the specification, Claim 1 does not restrict the “incident electromagnetic signals” or the optical signal path exclusively to return/echo signals reflected back after hitting an object or target. Because a LiDAR assembly operates as a unified optical transceiver, once light is emitted, it is on a continuous optical path directed toward detection. In Wohgenannt, paragraph [0162] explicitly teaches that the transmitting optics 74 and receiving optics 75 can be identical or share common optical components. When emitted light passes through the beam splitting component 29, the light is directly incident upon the diffractive element. Because these diffracted beam components continue along the optical path to be detected by the corresponding receiver arrays, the beam splitting component 29 is positioned physically and optically in the signal path upstream of the receiver regions.
Therefore, as broadly drafted, the broad recitation of “incident electromagnetic signals” and an arrangement “upstream of the at least two receiver regions” encompasses Wohlgenannt’s arrangement, where incident light from the system is split into multiple beam components that propagate along distinct optical paths to the respective receiver regions.
Accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 (and its dependent claims) under 35 U.S.C. 102 Wohlgenannt is maintained.
Examiner Note:
If Applicant intends to patentably distinguish the claimed subject matter over Wohlgenannt, Applicant may consider amending claim 1 to explicitly clarify the spatial or sequential relationship of the diffractive element relative to the target scene. For example, by reciting:
The diffraction element is arranged in the optical path downstream of the target scene (or object), and/or
The incident electromagnetic signals comprise return electromagnetic signals reflected off a target object prior to impinging on the diffraction element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wohlgenannt et al. (US 2021/0124049 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wohlgenannt discloses a receiving device of a detection device for detecting objects by means of electromagnetic signals ([Abstract] An absolute distance measuring method and device including a transmission unit having a laser array comprising multiple measurement laser emitters arranged along a laser array axis and a receiver unit having at least one receiver array comprising multiple measurement receivers arranged along a receiver array axis for measuring of an absolute distance based on a respective detected transmission beam and the principle of time-of-flight),
wherein the receiving device comprises at least two receiver regions of at least one receiver ([0148] being detected by a corresponding receiver array 6A),
wherein the receiver regions are able to convert electromagnetic signals into electrical received signals ([0092] the receiver unit comprises a receiver array, a plurality of amplifiers, e.g. transimpedance amplifiers, a selector, e.g. comprising a multiplexer circuit, and a signal analyzer, e.g. comprising an analog-to-digital circuit, particularly a multi-channel analog-to-digital circuit or a time-to-digital converter (TDC)), and
wherein the receiving device further comprises at least one diffraction element that produces a diffractive effect on electromagnetic signals ([0148] laser beams are transmitting through a beam splitting component 29, e.g. a diffraction grating, traveling to a target, and being detected by a corresponding receiver array 6A… [0162] By way of example, transmitting optics 74 and receiving optics 75 can be identical or at least share parts or components Examiner Note: The diffraction grating is interpreted as part of the receiving unit, as the light has already left the emitter and therefore must be received),
wherein the at least one diffraction element is arranged in a signal path of the electromagnetic signals upstream of the at least two receiver regions ([0148] The laser beams are transmitting through a beam splitting component 29, e.g. a diffraction grating, traveling to a target, and being detected by a corresponding receiver array 6A),
wherein the at least one diffraction element is designed to divide intensities of incident electromagnetic signals into at least two electromagnetic signal components which are propagating on different signal paths ([0191] the beam splitting component 29 is a diffractive optical element and multiplies the beam bundles into three beam bundles based on the first three diffraction maxima wherein the three beam bundles which are detected by three separate receiver arrays… respectively associated to the different laser arrays), and
wherein the at least one diffraction element and the at least two receiver regions are matched to one another in such a manner that at least two different signal paths for electromagnetic signal components are allocated to different receiver regions ([0191] the beam splitting component 29 is a diffractive optical element and multiplies the beam bundles into three beam bundles based on the first three diffraction maxima, wherein the three beam bundles which are detected by three separate receiver arrays… [0201] the beams of the outgoing beam pattern are assigned in a one-to-one relationship to individual receiving surfaces of the receiver array 6).
Regarding Claim 2, Wohlgenannt discloses that the at least one diffraction element comprises at least one grating-like structure and at least one diffractive optical element ([004] wherein the optical beam splitting component comprises at least one of a diffractive or refractive optical element, a diffraction grating).
Regarding Claim 4, Wohlgenannt discloses that at least one diffraction element for dividing intensities in one or two dimensions ([0042] an optical beam splitting component such as a diffractive optical element (DOE)… configured to split an incoming beam into a defined number of outgoing beams having well-defined angular separations with respect to each other, wherein the gap is “filled” by the multiplication of the beams by the-DOE… ([0191] the beam splitting component 29 is a diffractive optical element and multiplies the beam bundles into three beam bundles based on the first three diffraction maxima) is configured transversely to signal paths of incident electromagnetic signals ([0053] each laser array comprises eight laser diodes, the optical beam splitting component is arranged in a common optical path section of the multiple laser arrays and configured to split a respective incoming beam into at least two, particularly at least four, outgoing beams, and each receiver array comprises eight, particularly sixteen, receiving surfaces.).
Regarding Claim 6, Wohlgenannt discloses that the at least one receiver comprises at least one line sensor, surface sensor, or receiver element, wherein the receiver element is implemented in the receiver region of the receiver ([Abstract] a receiver unit having at least one receiver array comprising multiple measurement receivers arranged along a receiver array axis for measuring of an absolute distance based on a respective detected transmission beam and the principle of time-of-flight).
Regarding Claim 13, Wohlgenannt discloses that the at least one diffraction element is at least partially reflective ([0044] wherein the optical beam splitting component comprises at least one of a diffractive or refractive optical element, a diffraction grating, e.g. a Dammann grating, and a holographic optical element Examiner Note: Holographic elements are partially reflective)and changes a direction of a path of the diffracted electromagnetic signal from a direction of a path of the incident electromagnetic signal (Fig. 3 Examiner Note: Fig. 3, reproduced below, shows the incident light 28 hit the diffractive element 29 and shows multiple beams exiting the element in a plurality of directions, some of which have been changed).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 8, 10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlgenannt et al. (US 2021/0124049 A1).
Regarding Claim 5, Wohlgenannt teaches that the receiving device is designed for detecting electromagnetic signals with a high dynamic range ([0191] the beam splitting component 29 is a diffractive optical element and multiplies the beam bundles into three beam bundles based on the first three diffraction maxima, wherein the three beam bundles which are detected by three separate receiver arrays).
While Wohlgenannt does not use the specific term “high dynamic range,” it would have been obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the disclosed multi-channel architecture and diffractive splitting to achieve this predictable result. By dividing the incident signal into multiple components (maxima) of varying intensities and capturing them across separate receiver arrays, the system is capable of resolving a wider range of signal strengths without sensor saturation. Additionally, the use of a multi-channel analog-to-digital circuit or time-to digital converter [0092] provides a predictable technical means to process these varied intensities, extending the dynamic range of the LiDAR system through standard signal processing techniques.
Regarding Claim 8, A detection device for detecting objects by electromagnetic signals ([0005] Measuring objects or surfaces in surroundings is carried out by means of a distance measurement beam),
wherein the detection device comprises:
at least one transmission device which is able to transmit electromagnetic scanning signals ([Abstract] An absolute distance measuring method and device including a transmission unit having a laser array comprising multiple measurement laser emitters arranged along a laser array axis),
at least one receiving device which is able to detect electromagnetic echo signals ([Abstract] receiver unit having at least one receiver array comprising multiple measurement receivers arranged along a receiver array axis for measuring of an absolute distance based on a respective detected transmission beam and the principle of time-of-flight),
wherein the electromagnetic signals are derived from reflected electromagnetic scanning signals ([Abstract] receiver unit having at least one receiver array comprising multiple measurement receivers arranged along a receiver array axis for measuring of an absolute distance based on a respective detected transmission beam and the principle of time-of-flight), and
at least one control and evaluation device which is able to control the detection device ([0051] each laser array may be configured that its laser emitters are individually controlled, particularly wherein the transmission unit is configured that each laser array is controlled by its own laser pulser or one laser pulser can be switched between the laser emitters) and process electrical received signals ([0028] a computing unit configured to derive three-dimensional point cloud data), wherein the at least one receiving device comprises:
at least two receiver regions of at least one receiver ([0148] being detected by a corresponding receiver array 6A),
wherein the receiver regions are able to convert electromagnetic echo signals into electrical received signals ([0092] the receiver unit comprises a receiver array, a plurality of amplifiers, e.g. transimpedance amplifiers, a selector, e.g. comprising a multiplexer circuit, and a signal analyzer, e.g. comprising an analog-to-digital circuit, particularly a multi-channel analog-to-digital circuit or a time-to-digital converter (TDC)), and
at least one diffraction element which is able to have a diffractive effect on electromagnetic echo signals ([0148] laser beams are transmitting through a beam splitting component 29, e.g. a diffraction grating, traveling to a target, and being detected by a corresponding receiver array 6A… [0162] By way of example, transmitting optics 74 and receiving optics 75 can be identical or at least share parts or components… [0162 transmitting optics 72 and receiving optics 75 can be identical or at least share parts or components Examiner Note: The diffraction grating is interpreted as part of the receiving unit, as the light has already left the emitter and therefore must be received),
wherein the diffraction element is arranged in a signal path of the electromagnetic echo signals upstream of the at least two receiver regions ([0148] The laser beams are transmitting through a beam splitting component 29, e.g. a diffraction grating, traveling to a target, and being detected by a corresponding receiver array 6A),
wherein the at least one diffraction element is designed to divide intensities of incident electromagnetic echo signals into at least two electromagnetic signal components which are propagating on different signal paths ([0191] the beam splitting component 29 is a diffractive optical element and multiplies the beam bundles into three beam bundles based on the first three diffraction maxima wherein the three beam bundles which are detected by three separate receiver arrays… respectively associated to the different laser arrays), and
wherein the at least one diffraction element and the at least two receiver regions are matched to one another in such a manner that at least two different signal paths for electromagnetic signal components are allocated to different receiver regions ([0191] the beam splitting component 29 is a diffractive optical element and multiplies the beam bundles into three beam bundles based on the first three diffraction maxima, wherein the three beam bundles which are detected by three separate receiver arrays… [0201] the beams of the outgoing beam pattern are assigned in a one-to-one relationship to individual receiving surfaces of the receiver array 6).
Regarding Claim 10, A vehicle comprising at least one detection device for detecting objects by means of electromagnetic signals ([0004] Such measurement devices, for example “multibeam laser profilers”, may be used in the fields of mobile mapping, surveying, or autonomous driving. By way of example, the devices are mounted on vehicles, backpacks or drones, e g unmanned ground vehicles (UGVs) or unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), to measure the environment or to detect obstacles),
wherein the at least one detection device comprises:
at least one transmitting device which is able to detect electromagnetic echo signals ([Abstract] An absolute distance measuring method and device including a transmission unit having a laser array comprising multiple measurement laser emitters arranged along a laser array axis… transmission beam and the principle of time-of-flight),
at least one receiving device which is able to detect electromagnetic echo signals ([Abstract] receiver unit having at least one receiver array comprising multiple measurement receivers arranged along a receiver array axis for measuring of an absolute distance based on a respective detected transmission beam and the principle of time-of-flight),
wherein the electromagnetic signals are derived from reflected electromagnetic scanning signals ([Abstract] receiver unit having at least one receiver array comprising multiple measurement receivers arranged along a receiver array axis for measuring of an absolute distance based on a respective detected transmission beam and the principle of time-of-flight), and
at least one control and evaluation device, which is able to be used to control the at least one detection device ([0051] each laser array may be configured that its laser emitters are individually controlled, particularly wherein the transmission unit is configured that each laser array is controlled by its own laser pulser or one laser pulser can be switched between the laser emitters) and process electrical received signals ([0028] a computing unit configured to derive three-dimensional point cloud data),
wherein the at least one receiving device comprises:
at least two receiver regions of at least one receiver ([0148] being detected by a corresponding receiver array 6A… [0201] the beams of the outgoing beam pattern are assigned in a one-to-one relationship to individual receiving surfaces of the receiver array 6)),
wherein the at least two receiver regions are able to convert electromagnetic echo signals into electrical received signals ([0092] the receiver unit comprises a receiver array, a plurality of amplifiers, e.g. transimpedance amplifiers, a selector, e.g. comprising a multiplexer circuit, and a signal analyzer, e.g. comprising an analog-to-digital circuit, particularly a multi-channel analog-to-digital circuit or a time-to-digital converter (TDC)), and
at least one diffraction element which is able to have a diffractive effect on the electromagnetic echo signals ([0148] laser beams are transmitting through a beam splitting component 29, e.g. a diffraction grating, traveling to a target, and being detected by a corresponding receiver array 6A… [0162] By way of example, transmitting optics 74 and receiving optics 75 can be identical or at least share parts or components… [0162 transmitting optics 72 and receiving optics 75 can be identical or at least share parts or components Examiner Note: The diffraction grating is interpreted as part of the receiving unit, as the light has already left the emitter and therefore must be received),
wherein the diffraction element is arranged in a signal path of the electromagnetic echo signals upstream of the at least two receiver regions ([0148] The laser beams are transmitting through a beam splitting component 29, e.g. a diffraction grating, traveling to a target, and being detected by a corresponding receiver array 6A),
wherein the at least one diffraction element is designed to divide intensities of incident electromagnetic echo signals into at least two electromagnetic signal components which are propagating on different signal paths ([0191] the beam splitting component 29 is a diffractive optical element and multiplies the beam bundles into three beam bundles based on the first three diffraction maxima wherein the three beam bundles which are detected by three separate receiver arrays… respectively associated to the different laser arrays), and
wherein the at least one diffraction element and the at least two receiver regions are matched to one another in such a manner that at least two different paths for electromagnetic signal components are allocated to different receiver regions ([0191] the beam splitting component 29 is a diffractive optical element and multiplies the beam bundles into three beam bundles based on the first three diffraction maxima, wherein the three beam bundles which are detected by three separate receiver arrays… [0201] the beams of the outgoing beam pattern are assigned in a one-to-one relationship to individual receiving surfaces of the receiver array 6).
Regarding Claim 12, A method for operating a detection device for detecting objects by means of electromagnetic signals ([0005] Measuring objects or surfaces in surroundings is carried out by means of a distance measurement beam),
the method comprising:
transmitting electromagnetic scanning signals with at least one transmitting device ([Abstract] An absolute distance measuring method and device including a transmission unit having a laser array comprising multiple measurement laser emitters arranged along a laser array axis),
using at least one receiving device to detect electromagnetic echo signals ([Abstract] receiver unit having at least one receiver array comprising multiple measurement receivers arranged along a receiver array axis for measuring of an absolute distance based on a respective detected transmission beam and the principle of time-of-flight),
wherein the electromagnetic echo signals are derived from reflected electromagnetic scanning signals ([Abstract] receiver unit having at least one receiver array comprising multiple measurement receivers arranged along a receiver array axis for measuring of an absolute distance based on a respective detected transmission beam and the principle of time-of-flight),
diffracting the electromagnetic echo signals with at least one diffraction element of the at least one receiving device ([0148] laser beams are transmitting through a beam splitting component 29, e.g. a diffraction grating, traveling to a target, and being detected by a corresponding receiver array 6A… [0162] By way of example, transmitting optics 74 and receiving optics 75 can be identical or at least share parts or components… [0162] transmitting optics 72 and receiving optics 75 can be identical or at least share parts or components Examiner Note: The diffraction grating is interpreted as part of the receiving unit, as the light has already left the emitter and therefore must be received),
converting the diffracted electromagnetic echo signals into electrical received signals using at least two receiver regions of the at least one receiver ([0092] the receiver unit comprises a receiver array, a plurality of amplifiers, e.g. transimpedance amplifiers, a selector, e.g. comprising a multiplexer circuit, and a signal analyzer, e.g. comprising an analog-to-digital circuit, particularly a multi-channel analog-to-digital circuit or a time-to-digital converter (TDC)), and
processing the electrical received signals with at least one control and evaluation device ([0051] each laser array may be configured that its laser emitters are individually controlled, particularly wherein the transmission unit is configured that each laser array is controlled by its own laser pulser or one laser pulser can be switched between the laser emitters… [0028] a computing unit configured to derive three-dimensional point cloud data),
wherein at least one diffraction element divides the intensity of the incident electromagnetic echo signals into two electromagnetic signal components ([0191] the beam splitting component 29 is a diffractive optical element and multiplies the beam bundles into three beam bundles based on the first three diffraction maxima wherein the three beam bundles which are detected by three separate receiver arrays… respectively associated to the different laser arrays),
wherein the at least two electromagnetic signal components are propagating on different signal paths, and the at least two electromagnetic signal components are directed to different receiver regions ([0191] the beam splitting component 29 is a diffractive optical element and multiplies the beam bundles into three beam bundles based on the first three diffraction maxima, wherein the three beam bundles which are detected by three separate receiver arrays… [0201] the beams of the outgoing beam pattern are assigned in a one-to-one relationship to individual receiving surfaces of the receiver array 6).
Regarding Claims 8, 10, and 12, while Wohlgenannt describes the diffractive effect primarily in the context of outgoing beams, a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a diffractive optical structure imparts the same angular or spatial modulation to any electromagnetic beam that passes through it, regardless of direction. Wohlgenannt further teaches in paragraph [0162] that the transmitting and receiving optics may be identical or may share optical components. Given this teaching, a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that optical elements such as diffractive structures may be placed in the shared portion of the optical path to simply packaging and reduce component count. In such a configuration, the returning echo signal would necessarily traverse the same diffractive structure as the outgoing beam, producing the same predictable diffractive effect. Thus, applying the diffractive structure to the received signal represents a predictable use of a known optical element within a shard optical assembly, and would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to implement the shared-component configuration taught by Wohlgenannt.
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlgenannt et al. (US 2021/0124049 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 11,086,058 B2).
Regarding Claim 3, Wohlgenannt is not relied upon as teaching that at least one diffraction element for electromagnetic signals is at least partially reflective and at least partially transmissive, and at least one diffraction element is arranged in the signal path to be reflective for electromagnetic signals, and at least one diffraction element is arranged in the signal path to be transmissive for electromagnetic signals.
However, Wang teaches that at least one diffraction element for electromagnetic signals is at least partially reflective and at least partially transmissive, and at least one diffraction element is arranged in the signal path to be reflective for electromagnetic signals, and at least one diffraction element is arranged in the signal path to be transmissive for electromagnetic signals ([Col. 1, ll. 62]-[Col. 2, ll. 4] Embodiments of the disclosure also provide a transmitter for LiDAR. The transmitter includes at least three multi-junction PLDs and a light modulator. Each of the at least three multi-junction PLDs is configured to provide a native laser beam in a respective incident direction. The light modulator includes a transparent substrate, and a diffractive optical element (DOE) layer on the transparent substrate and comprising at least three interleaved patterns configured to selectively pass and reflect each of the at least three native laser beams).
Wohlgenannt and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of LiDAR optical systems and beam steering. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the beam splitting component of Wohlgenannt to include the interleaved diffractive patterns of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to increase the efficiency and compactness of the optical path by allowing a single diffractive layer to selectively reflect or transmit specific beams based on their incident direction. By integrating Wang’s teaching of a DOE layer on a transparent substrate into Wohlgenannt’s common optical path section, the system can combine multiple laser sources into a unified pattern using fewer discrete optical components. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a multi-functional reflective/transmissive DOE would yield the predictable result of a more integrated and versatile beam multiplication assembly.
Regarding Claim 9, Wohlgenannt is not relied upon as teaching that the at least one transmitting device comprises at least one signal source, wherein the at least one signal source is able to be used to generate electromagnetic scanning signals in at least one defined wavelength range.
However, Wang teaches that the at least one transmitting device comprises at least one signal source, wherein the at least one signal source is able to be used to generate electromagnetic scanning signals in at least one defined wavelength range (Col. 4, ll. 34-39] Depending on the semiconductor materials, the wavelength of native laser beam 207 provided by a PLD may be smaller than 1,100 nm, such as 405 nm, between 445 nm and 465 nm, between 510 nm and 525 nm, 532 nm, 635 nm, between 650 nm and 660 nm, 670 nm, 760 nm, 785 nm, 808 nm, or 848 nm).
Wohlgenannt and Wang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of LiDAR optical systems and beam steering. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the signal source of Wohlgenannt to include the defined wavelength ranges of Wang with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to optimize the LiDAR system for specific atmospheric conditions or material detection requirements by selecting a wavelength that minimizes interference or maximizes reflection. By integrating Wang’s teaching of specific semiconductor-based laser wavelengths into Wohlgenannt’s transmitting device, the system can be tuned to operate within established industry-standard frequency bands. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that selecting a specific laser wavelength from a known list of semiconductor capabilities would yield the predictable result of a functional scanning signal within a targeted electromagnetic range.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlgenannt et al. (US 2021/0124049 A1) in view of Meyer et al. (US 2022/0026534 A1).
Regarding Claim 7, Wohlgenannt is not relied upon as teaching that the receiving device is configured for detecting electromagnetic signals in at least one defined wavelength range.
However, Meyer teaches that the receiving device is configured for detecting electromagnetic signals in at least one defined wavelength range ([0030] It is also possible for the receiver to be matched to a broader spectral window in the wavelength range of 800 nm to 1600 nm or narrowbandedly to a plurality of wavelengths).
Wohlgenannt and Meyer are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of LiDAR receiving devices and optical signal detection. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the receiving device of Wohlgenannt to include the defined wavelength range of Meyer with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to improve the signal-to-noise ratio of the receiver by matching the detection hardware to the specific spectral window of the emitted laser light. By integrating Meyer’s teaching of a receiver matched to a 800nm to 1600 nm range into Wohlgenannt’s multi-channel receiver array, the system can more effectively filter out ambient light and background noise. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that tuning a receiver to a specific wavelength range would yield the predictable result of increased detection sensitivity and system reliability within that defined band.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wohlgenannt et al. (US 2021/0124049 A1) in view of Perin et al. (US 2022/0397669 A1).
Regarding Claim 11, Wohlgenannt is not relied upon as teaching that the vehicle comprises at least one driver assist system.
However, Perin teaches that the vehicle comprises at least one driver assist system ([0025] the described LIDAR system is implemented as part of a front-end of frequency modulated continuous-wave (FMCW) device that assists with spatial awareness for automated driver assist systems, or self-driving vehicles).
Wohlgenannt and Perin are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are both in the same field of LiDAR systems for vehicular applications. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Wohlgenannt to be implemented within a vehicle comprising a driver assist system as taught by Perin with a reasonable expectation of success. This modification would have been motivated by the desire to enhance vehicular safety and navigation capabilities by providing high-resolution spatial data to automated control systems. By integrating Perin’s teaching of a LiDAR based driver assist interface with Wohlgenannt’s multi-beam scanning architecture, the system can provide the precise environmental mapping necessary for autonomous or semi-autonomous vehicle operation. A person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that mounting a LiDAR sensor on a vehicle to support driver assistance features would yield the predictable result of improved obstacle detection and spatial awareness for the driver assist system.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.H.H./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645