DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 6/19/26 has been entered. Claims 1-4 and 7-9 remain pending in the application. Claim(s) 5-6 have been canceled. Applicant's amendments to the claims have overcome the 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection mailed 3/25/26, except as maintained below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 7/24/26 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: Claim(s) 1 contain(s) the limitation “after 5 seconds or more and 20 seconds or less have elapsed, the next rolling pass is performed in the opposite direction.” The instant specification does not provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter, i.e., “5 seconds or more and 20 seconds or less.” Table 1 gives support for times of 5 seconds and 20 seconds.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 recites the limitation “heating a steel slab.” Claim 3 recites the limitation “a hot rolling step including heating a steel slab.” It is unclear if the steel slab of claim 3 is the same as the steel slab of claim 1, or a different steel slab. Claim 9 is rejected due to its dependence on rejected claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Language from the reference(s) is shown in quotations. Limitations from the claims are shown in quotations within parenthesis. Examiner explanations are shown in italics.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JPH08157963A), as machine translated, in view of Ramsbottom, Description of an Improved Reversing Rolling Mill, Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, 1866 17: 115, DOI: 10.1243/PIME_PROC_1866_017_014_02.
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches “a method for producing grain oriented silicon steel sheet” (which reads upon “a method for producing a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet characterized in comprising steps of”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0001]). Sato teaches that “a 100 mm thick silicon steel slab containing 0.04 wt% C, 3.25 wt% Si, 0.08 wt% Mn, and 0.020 wt% Se, with the remainder being essentially Fe, was heated to 1300°C” (which reads upon “heating a steel slab having an ingredient composition, wherein the slab is heated to 1300°C or higher”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0015]; claimed composition is encompassed by the broader teachings of Sato as shown in the table, below). Sato teaches that “the range of the chemical composition of the steel sheet material of the present invention is not particularly limited, and any conventionally known silicon steel material is suitable, but the following are some of the most suitable representative compositions” (paragraph [0021]). The following table summarizes the most suitable representative compositions (paragraphs [0021]-[0025]; claimed and taught ranges overlap).
Limitation
Claim 1 mass%
Sato wt% (same as mass)
C
0.02 to 0.10
0.01 to 0.10
Si
2.5 to 5.5
2.0 to 4.0
Mn
0.01 to 0.30
0.02-0.12
Al
0.010 to 0.040
0.005-0.10
N
0.004 to 0.020
0.004-0.015
S / Se
0.001 to 0.040 (total)
0.005 to 0.06
Fe
a remaining part
the remainder being essentially Fe
It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Here, the claimed range of compositions overlaps with the composition ranges disclosed by the prior art. Accordingly, the prior art renders the claim obvious.
Sato teaches “hot-rolling a silicon-containing steel slab into a hot-rolled sheet by rough hot rolling and then finish rolling” (which reads upon “hot rolling the slab”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0020]). Sato teaches “cold-rolling the slab once or twice with intermediate annealing therebetween to a final thickness” (which reads upon “subjecting the hot-rolled sheet to, optionally, hot-band annealing and then to one cold rolling or two or more cold rollings with an intermediate annealing between each cold rolling to form a cold-rolled sheet with a final sheet thickness”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0020]). Sato teaches “decarburization annealing” (which reads upon “subjecting the cold-rolled sheet to primary recrystallization annealing which also serves as decarburization annealing”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0020]). Sato teaches “applying an annealing separator to the surface of the steel sheet” (which reads upon “applying an annealing separator to the steel sheet surface”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0020]). Sato teaches “finish annealing” (which reads upon “subjecting the sheet to finishing annealing”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0020]). Sato teaches that “when the slab is heated to a temperature range of 900 to 1450°C and then subjected to rough hot rolling, the surface temperature of the slab before rolling in the final stand of rough rolling and its preceding stand is set to 1300°C or less, and the interpass time between the stands is set to 30 seconds or less” (which reads upon “in rough rolling of the hot rolling, any one of the rolling passes is conducted in a temperature range of 1200°C or higher, and after 5 seconds or more and 20 seconds or less have elapsed, the next rolling pass is performed”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0020]). Sato teaches that “the surface temperature of the slab before rolling at the final rough rolling stand and the rolling stand one pass prior was set to 1250°C” (which reads upon “in a temperature range of 1200°C or higher”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0018]). Sato teaches that “250 mm thick continuously cast slabs” (paragraph [0030]). Sato teaches that “three passes of hot rough rolling, the slab was rolled in the first pass under the conditions of a slab surface temperature of 1180°C and a rolling reduction of 36% to a thickness of 160 mm” (paragraph [0030]). Sato teaches “to produce a 40 mm thick sheet bar” (which reads upon “with the total rolling reduction of the rough rolling of 75% or more achieved”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0030]; 250-40 / 250 = 84% total rough rolling reduction).
It has been held that obviousness exists where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05 (I). Here, the claimed range of 5 seconds or more and 20 seconds or less lies inside the range disclosed by the prior art of 30 seconds or less. Accordingly, the prior art renders the claim obvious.
Sato is silent regarding the next rolling pass is performed in the opposite direction. A patent need not teach, and preferably omits, what is well known in the art. See MPEP § 2164.01. Reverse rolling mills have been well known in the art of steel making for over 150 years.
Ramsbottom is similarly concerned with steel making (page 115). Ramsbottom teaches that “the improved Reversing Rolling Mill described in the present paper has been in operation for seven months at the Steel Works of the London and North Western Railway at Crewe, having been designed and laid down by the writer” (page 115). Ramsbottom teaches that “the reversing was now done so quickly and so easily that the rolls could be reversed quicker than the plate or bar could be passed over the top roll, even when working at a considerable speed” (which reads upon “the next rolling pass is performed in the opposite direction”, as recited in the instant claim; page 122). Ramsbottom teaches that “with regard to rolling the plates in both directions in the reversing rolling mill, he had heard it objected by steel makers that steel would be deteriorated in quality by being rolled both ways; but having himself tested the steel that had been rolled both ways, he had found no difference in quality between that and the steel rolled only one way” (which reads upon “the next rolling pass is performed in the opposite direction”, as recited in the instant claim; pages 125-126). Ramsbottom teaches that “the reversing mill was an important move in the right direction, establishing a new method in the manufacture of both iron and steel, in consequence of which he had no doubt that they would be manufactured at a much lower cost than heretofore” (page 126). Ramsbottom teaches that “one source of saving would be that the work was got over more rapidly in the reversing rolling mill” (page 126). Ramsbottom teaches that “about twenty-one reversals of the rolls are required, and that these are effected with great ease and almost instantaneously by the arrangement above described, the shock being transmitted to the elastic cushion of steam in the cylinders of the engines” (page 117). Ramsbottom teaches that “this handiness allows of either iron or steel plates being passed through both the roughing-down rolls and the finishing rolls at one heat; and the work is thus done with a minimum expenditure of heat and waste of metal” (page 117; at one heat means that the temperature of one rolling pass is the same as that of the next rolling pass). Ramsbottom teaches that “it has been found on trial not at all difficult to reverse the engines together with the whole train of rolls as many as 73 times in one minute” (page 117; an interpass time of just under 1 second or more). Ramsbottom teaches that “the chief feature in the new arrangement was the ease and rapidity with which the rolls could be reversed at full speed, allowing of the work being rolled down rapidly, by avoiding the cooling from the delay of passing the iron back over the top roll” (page 120; no cooling between passes).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sato to use a reverse rolling mill, as taught by Ramsbottom to reduce cost with a minimum expenditure of heat and improve speed of production.
Regarding claim 2, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Sato does not teach hot band annealing. The hot-band annealing step is optional, and thus the limitations of claim 2 are not reached.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JPH08157963A), as machine translated, in view of Ramsbottom, Description of an Improved Reversing Rolling Mill, Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, 1866 17: 115, DOI: 10.1243/PIME_PROC_1866_017_014_02, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ehashi et al. (US 20190271054 A1).
Regarding claim 2, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above.
Sato is silent regarding a hot band annealing step.
Ehashi is similarly concerned with a method of producing a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet (claim 1). Ehashi teaches that “steel containing, in mass %, C: 0.04%, Si: 3.8%, acid-soluble Al: 0.005%, N: 0.003%, Mn: 0.1%, S: 0.005%, Se: 0.003%, and a balance being Fe and inevitable impurities was obtained by steelmaking, heated to 1250° C., and hot rolled to obtain a hot rolled sheet with a sheet thickness of 2.2 mm” (paragraph [0015]; only difference in composition is N is 0.003 %, rather than the claimed 0.004%). Ehashi teaches that “the hot rolled sheet was then subjected to hot band annealing of 1030° C.×100 sec” (which reads upon “whereinafter the hot rolling, the hot-band annealing is performed, and holding the sheet at a temperature of 800 to 1250°C”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0015]). Ehashi teaches that “the heating rate in the heating process in the hot band annealing was 3° C./s to 20° C./s in a temperature range of 750° C. to 850° C., and 15° C./s in the other temperature ranges” (which reads upon “by heating the sheet at an average heating rate of 1°C/s or higher between 600°C and 800°C”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0015]). Ehashi teaches that “by heating the steel sheet at a rate of 10° C./s or less in a temperature range of 750° C. to 850° C. in the hot band annealing, excellent magnetic flux density was obtained without variations” (paragraph [0016]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Sato to add hot band annealing, as taught by Ehashi to obtain excellent magnetic flux density without variations.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JPH08157963A), as machine translated, and Ramsbottom, Description of an Improved Reversing Rolling Mill, Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, 1866 17: 115, DOI: 10.1243/PIME_PROC_1866_017_014_02, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakajima et al. (JP S6473023 A), abstract as machine translated, Imai et al. (US 20220090226 A1), and Omura et al. (US 20190017139 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Sato teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Sato teaches that “during four passes of hot rough rolling, the slab was rolled to a thickness of 70 to 90 mm in the first two passes at slab surface temperatures of 1230°C and 1220°C, respectively” (which reads upon “the hot rolling includes heating a steel slab, performing rough rolling of one or more passes in a temperature range of 1100 to 1400°C”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0032]). Sato teaches that “the wire was then finish-rolled to a 2.2 mm thick hot-rolled coil, then first cold-rolled to a thickness of 0.60 mm, intermediate annealed at 1100°C for 1 minute, and then second cold-rolled to a finished product thickness of 0.23 mm” (which reads upon “performing finishing rolling of two or more passes in a temperature range of 800 to 1300°C to obtain a hot-rolled sheet, and winding the sheet into a coil; the cold rolling includes one cold rolling performed so that a total rolling reduction falls within the range of 50 to 92%, or includes two or more cold rollings performed so that a total rolling reduction at the final cold rolling for obtaining the final sheet thickness falls within the range of 50 to 92%;the intermediate annealing, if performed, includes holding the sheet in a temperature range of 800 to 1250°C for 5 seconds or longer”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0032]). Sato teaches that “the specimens were then subjected to decarburization annealing in wet hydrogen at 840°C for 3 minutes” (which reads upon “the primary recrystallization annealing includes holding the sheet in a temperature range of 750 to 950°C for 10 seconds or longer under a wet atmosphere”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0032]). Sato teaches that “after which MgO was applied” (which reads upon “the applying the annealing separator includes applying an annealing separator mainly composed of MgO to a surface of the steel sheet”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0032]). Sato teaches that “finish annealing was performed, consisting of secondary recrystallization annealing at 850°C in N2 and annealing in H2” (which reads upon “the finishing annealing includes uses an H2-containing atmosphere”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0032]).
Sato is silent regarding the winding temperature and cooling rate. Specifically, Sato is silent regarding at a winding temperature of 400 to 750°C and cooling the sheet at a rate of 5 to 100°C/s between 800 and 350°C. Regarding the subject limitations, in order to carry out the invention of Sato, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary winding temperatures and cooling rates used in producing grain-oriented electrical steel sheets. Nakajima provides this teaching. Nakajima teaches to lower the iron loss of a grain oriented electrical steel sheet by hot rolling a silicon steel slab having a specific composition. and specifying the cooling rate and coiling temp (abstract). Nakajima teaches that the average cooling rate from the completion of the finish rolling in hot rolling up to the coiling is set at <10-40 deg C/sec and the coiling temp. is set at 600-750 deg C (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the steel sheet of the prior art combination, and adjusting and varying the winding temperature and cooling rate, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Nakajima, motivated to form a conventional grain-oriented electrical steel sheet using known and tested winding temperatures and cooling rates predictably suitable for producing grain-oriented electrical steel sheet applications and to lower the iron loss.
Sato is silent regarding the dew point of the decarburization annealing gas. Specifically, Sato is silent regarding having a dew point of 20 to 80°C. Regarding the subject limitation, in order to carry out the invention of Sato, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary properties of atmosphere gas used in decarburization annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheets. Imai provides this teaching. Imai teaches a method for producing a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet (paragraph [0014]). Imai teaches that the cold-rolled steel sheet may contain, as a chemical component, in terms of mass %, Si: 0.80 to 7.00%; C: 0.085% or less; acid-soluble Al: 0.010 to 0.065%; N: 0.012% or less; Mn: 1.00% or less; a total amount of S and Se: 0.003 to 0.015%; and the remainder: Fe and impurities (paragraph [0017]; overlapping ranges with claim 1). Imai teaches obtaining a decarburization-annealed steel sheet which has an oxygen content of 320 ppm or less and a carbon content of 25 ppm or less by subjecting a cold rolled steel sheet containing Si to decarburization annealing (paragraph [0014]). Imai teaches that in the decarburization annealing process, in a soaking area configured to subject the cold-rolled steel sheet to decarburization annealing, an atmosphere gas may be introduced from two locations which are an initial part and a latter part of the soaking area (paragraph [0015]). Imai teaches that in the method for producing a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet according to [3], in the decarburization annealing process, a dew point DP1 of the atmosphere gas introduced from an initial part of the soaking area may be set to 40 to 70° C (paragraph [0016]). Imai teaches that the gas may be a generally used gas, for example, a gas consisting of hydrogen: 25 volume % and, the remainder: nitrogen and impurities can be used (paragraph [0147]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of the prior art combination, and adjusting and varying the properties of the decarburization annealing atmosphere gas, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Imai, motivated to form a conventional grain-oriented electrical steel sheet using known and tested properties of atmosphere gas predictably suitable for decarburization annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheet applications.
Sato is silent regarding the holding time of the finishing annealing step. Specifically, Sato is silent regarding holding the sheet at a temperature of 1050°C to 1300°C for 3 hours or longer, an H2-containing atmosphere for a part of a temperature range of 800°C or higher. Regarding the subject limitation, in order to carry out the invention of Sato, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary temperatures of finishing annealing used in annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheets. Imai provides this teaching. Imai teaches a method for producing a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet (paragraph [0014]). Imai teaches that the cold-rolled steel sheet may contain, as a chemical component, in terms of mass %, Si: 0.80 to 7.00%; C: 0.085% or less; acid-soluble Al: 0.010 to 0.065%; N: 0.012% or less; Mn: 1.00% or less; a total amount of S and Se: 0.003 to 0.015%; and the remainder: Fe and impurities (paragraph [0017]; overlapping ranges with claim 1). Imai teaches a final annealing process of heating the decarburization-annealed steel sheet in a state in which a surface of the decarburization-annealed steel sheet is coated with an annealing separator to subject a steel sheet to secondary recrystallization (paragraph [0013]). Imai teaches that the heating conditions for the final annealing may be general conditions, for example, heating is performed at a heating rate within the range of 5° C./s to 100° C./s and 1000° C. to 1300° C. for 10 hours to 50 hours (which reads upon “holding the sheet at a temperature of 1050°C to 1300°C for 3 hours or longer”; paragraph [0131]). Imai teaches that the final annealing was performed up to 1200° C. in an atmosphere gas of N2: 25%+H2: 75% at a rate of temperature rise of 15° C./Hr, the atmosphere gas was changed to H2: 100% at 1200° C. and annealing was performed for 20 hours (which reads upon “holding the sheet at a temperature of 1050°C to 1300°C for 3 hours or longer, and uses an H2-containing atmosphere for a part of a temperature range of 800°C or higher”; paragraph [0161]; typo corrected, Hz was corrected to H2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of the prior art combination, and adjusting and varying the finishing annealing temperatures, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Imai, motivated to form a conventional grain-oriented electrical steel sheet using known and tested holding times and properties of atmosphere gas predictably suitable for final annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheet applications.
Sato is silent regarding the amount of annealing separator. Specifically, Sato is silent regarding applying the annealing separator in an amount of 3 g/m2 or more per surface. Regarding the subject limitation, in order to carry out the invention of Sato, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary amounts of annealing separator used in final annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheets. Omura provides this teaching. Omura teaches a method of producing a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet (paragraph [0001]). Omura teaches that the steel sheet is subjected to cold rolling once, or twice or more with intermediate annealing performed therebetween, followed by primary recrystallization annealing and application of an annealing separator (paragraph [0052]). Omura teaches that after the application of the annealing separator, the steel sheet is subjected to final annealing for purposes of secondary recrystallization (paragraph [0052]). Omura teaches that as the annealing separator, it is preferable that the main component is MgO, and the coating amount is from 8 g/m2 to 15 g/m2 (which reads upon “applying the annealing separator in an amount of 3 g/m2 or more per surface”; paragraph [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of the prior art combination, and adjusting and varying the amount of annealing separator, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Omura, motivated to form a conventional grain-oriented electrical steel sheet using known and tested amounts of annealing separator predictably suitable for final annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheet applications.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JPH08157963A), as machine translated, in view of Ramsbottom, Description of an Improved Reversing Rolling Mill, Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, 1866 17: 115, DOI: 10.1243/PIME_PROC_1866_017_014_02, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Manabe et al. (JP H0310020 A), as machine translated.
Regarding claim 4, Sato teaches the method of claim 1 as stated above. Sato teaches that “In addition to the above elements, grain boundary segregation elements such as Sb, Sn, Cu, Mo, Bi, As, Pb, B, and P can also be used as inhibitors” (paragraph [0026]).
Sato is silent regarding the amount of grain boundary segregation elements such as Sb, Sn, Cu, Mo, Bi, As, Pb, B, and P used as inhibitors. Specifically, Sato is silent regarding wherein the steel slab to be used contains, in addition to the above ingredient composition, one or more of the following Groups A to C:Group A: at least one selected from the group consisting of Ni: 0 to 1.00 mass%, Sb: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Sn: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Cu: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Cr: 0 to 0.50 mass%, P: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Mo: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Nb: 0 to 0.020 mass%, V: 0 to 0.010 mass%, B: 0 to 0.0025 mass%, Bi: 0 to 0.50 mass%, and Zr: 0 to 0.10 mass% Group B: at least one selected from Co: 0 to 0.0500 mass% and Pb: 0 to 0.0100 mass%; and Group C: at least one selected from As: 0 to 0.0200 mass%, Zn: 0 to 0.0200 mass%, W: 0 to 0.0100 mass%, Ge: 0 to 0.0050 mass%, and Ga: 0 to 0.0050 mass%. Regarding the subject limitation, in order to carry out the invention of Sato, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary amounts of annealing separator used in final annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheets. Manabe provides this teaching. Manabe is similarly concerned with a method for manufacturing grain-oriented silicon steel sheets (paragraph [0001]). Manabe teaches that “it is necessary to disperse fine precipitates such as MnS, MnSc, and AIN, called inhibitors, in the steel, and to effectively induce the growth of crystal grains of other orientations at high temperatures” (page 2). Manabe teaches that “in addition to the elements mentioned above, sb and sn can also act as inhibitors” (page 12). Manabe teaches that “grain boundary segregating elements such as As, r'b, Fe, Cu, Mo, and B are known, and it is possible to use these in combination” (page 12). Manabe teaches “a continuously cast slab containing 0.04+1% by weight, Si: 3.30% by weight, Mn: 0.054% by weight, Se: 0.022ffiffi%, and sb: 0.024% by weight, with the remainder being substantially Fe” (which reads upon “Sb: 0 to 0.50 mass%”, as recited in the instant claim; page 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of the prior art combination, and adjusting and varying the amount of grain boundary segregation elements such as Sb, Sn, Cu, Mo, Bi, As, Pb, B, and P used as inhibitors, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Manabe, motivated to form a conventional grain-oriented electrical steel sheet using known and tested amounts of grain boundary segregation elements predictably suitable for manufacturing grain-oriented electrical steel sheet applications.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JPH08157963A), as machine translated, in view of Ramsbottom, Description of an Improved Reversing Rolling Mill, Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, 1866 17: 115, DOI: 10.1243/PIME_PROC_1866_017_014_02, and Ehashi et al. (US 20190271054 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Nakajima et al. (JP S6473023 A), abstract as machine translated, Imai et al. (US 20220090226 A1), and Omura et al. (US 20190017139 A1).
Regarding claim 7, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 2 as stated above. Sato teaches that “during four passes of hot rough rolling, the slab was rolled to a thickness of 70 to 90 mm in the first two passes at slab surface temperatures of 1230°C and 1220°C, respectively” (which reads upon “the hot rolling includes heating a steel slab, performing rough rolling of one or more passes in a temperature range of 1100 to 1400°C”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0032]). Sato teaches that “the wire was then finish-rolled to a 2.2 mm thick hot-rolled coil, then first cold-rolled to a thickness of 0.60 mm, intermediate annealed at 1100°C for 1 minute, and then second cold-rolled to a finished product thickness of 0.23 mm” (which reads upon “performing finishing rolling of two or more passes in a temperature range of 800 to 1300°C to obtain a hot-rolled sheet, and winding the sheet into a coil; the cold rolling includes one cold rolling performed so that a total rolling reduction falls within the range of 50 to 92%, or includes two or more cold rollings performed so that a total rolling reduction at the final cold rolling for obtaining the final sheet thickness falls within the range of 50 to 92%;the intermediate annealing, if performed, includes holding the sheet in a temperature range of 800 to 1250°C for 5 seconds or longer”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0032]). Sato teaches that “the specimens were then subjected to decarburization annealing in wet hydrogen at 840°C for 3 minutes” (which reads upon “the primary recrystallization annealing includes holding the sheet in a temperature range of 750 to 950°C for 10 seconds or longer under a wet atmosphere”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0032]). Sato teaches that “after which MgO was applied” (which reads upon “the applying the annealing separator includes applying an annealing separator mainly composed of MgO to a surface of the steel sheet”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0032]). Sato teaches that “finish annealing was performed, consisting of secondary recrystallization annealing at 850°C in N2 and annealing in H2” (which reads upon “the finishing annealing includes uses an H2-containing atmosphere”, as recited in the instant claim; paragraph [0032]).
Sato is silent regarding the winding temperature and cooling rate. Specifically, Sato is silent regarding at a winding temperature of 400 to 750°C and cooling the sheet at a rate of 5 to 100°C/s between 800 and 350°C. Regarding the subject limitations, in order to carry out the invention of Sato, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary winding temperatures and cooling rates used in producing grain-oriented electrical steel sheets. Nakajima provides this teaching. Nakajima teaches to lower the iron loss of a grain oriented electrical steel sheet by hot rolling a silicon steel slab having a specific composition. and specifying the cooling rate and coiling temp (abstract). Nakajima teaches that the average cooling rate from the completion of the finish rolling in hot rolling up to the coiling is set at <10-40 deg C/sec and the coiling temp. is set at 600-750 deg C (abstract). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the steel sheet of the prior art combination, and adjusting and varying the winding temperature and cooling rate, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Nakajima, motivated to form a conventional grain-oriented electrical steel sheet using known and tested winding temperatures and cooling rates predictably suitable for producing grain-oriented electrical steel sheet applications and to lower the iron loss.
Sato is silent regarding the dew point of the decarburization annealing gas. Specifically, Sato is silent regarding having a dew point of 20 to 80°C. Regarding the subject limitation, in order to carry out the invention of Sato, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary properties of atmosphere gas used in decarburization annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheets. Imai provides this teaching. Imai teaches a method for producing a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet (paragraph [0014]). Imai teaches that the cold-rolled steel sheet may contain, as a chemical component, in terms of mass %, Si: 0.80 to 7.00%; C: 0.085% or less; acid-soluble Al: 0.010 to 0.065%; N: 0.012% or less; Mn: 1.00% or less; a total amount of S and Se: 0.003 to 0.015%; and the remainder: Fe and impurities (paragraph [0017]; overlapping ranges with claim 1). Imai teaches obtaining a decarburization-annealed steel sheet which has an oxygen content of 320 ppm or less and a carbon content of 25 ppm or less by subjecting a cold rolled steel sheet containing Si to decarburization annealing (paragraph [0014]). Imai teaches that in the decarburization annealing process, in a soaking area configured to subject the cold-rolled steel sheet to decarburization annealing, an atmosphere gas may be introduced from two locations which are an initial part and a latter part of the soaking area (paragraph [0015]). Imai teaches that in the method for producing a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet according to [3], in the decarburization annealing process, a dew point DP1 of the atmosphere gas introduced from an initial part of the soaking area may be set to 40 to 70° C (paragraph [0016]). Imai teaches that the gas may be a generally used gas, for example, a gas consisting of hydrogen: 25 volume % and, the remainder: nitrogen and impurities can be used (paragraph [0147]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of the prior art combination, and adjusting and varying the properties of the decarburization annealing atmosphere gas, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Imai, motivated to form a conventional grain-oriented electrical steel sheet using known and tested properties of atmosphere gas predictably suitable for decarburization annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheet applications.
Sato is silent regarding the holding time of the finishing annealing step. Specifically, Sato is silent regarding holding the sheet at a temperature of 1050°C to 1300°C for 3 hours or longer and that uses an H2-containing atmosphere for a part of a temperature range of 800°C or higher. Regarding the subject limitation, in order to carry out the invention of Sato, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary temperatures of finishing annealing used in annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheets. Imai provides this teaching. Imai teaches a method for producing a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet (paragraph [0014]). Imai teaches that the cold-rolled steel sheet may contain, as a chemical component, in terms of mass %, Si: 0.80 to 7.00%; C: 0.085% or less; acid-soluble Al: 0.010 to 0.065%; N: 0.012% or less; Mn: 1.00% or less; a total amount of S and Se: 0.003 to 0.015%; and the remainder: Fe and impurities (paragraph [0017]; overlapping ranges with claim 1). Imai teaches a final annealing process of heating the decarburization-annealed steel sheet in a state in which a surface of the decarburization-annealed steel sheet is coated with an annealing separator to subject a steel sheet to secondary recrystallization (paragraph [0013]). Imai teaches that the heating conditions for the final annealing may be general conditions, for example, heating is performed at a heating rate within the range of 5° C./s to 100° C./s and 1000° C. to 1300° C. for 10 hours to 50 hours (which reads upon “holding the sheet at a temperature of 1050°C to 1300°C for 3 hours or longer”; paragraph [0131]). Imai teaches that the final annealing was performed up to 1200° C. in an atmosphere gas of N2: 25%+H2: 75% at a rate of temperature rise of 15° C./Hr, the atmosphere gas was changed to H2: 100% at 1200° C. and annealing was performed for 20 hours (which reads upon “holding the sheet at a temperature of 1050°C to 1300°C for 3 hours or longer and that uses an H2-containing atmosphere for a part of a temperature range of 800°C or higher”; paragraph [0161]; typo corrected, Hz was corrected to H2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of the prior art combination, and adjusting and varying the finishing annealing temperatures, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Imai, motivated to form a conventional grain-oriented electrical steel sheet using known and tested holding times and properties of atmosphere gas predictably suitable for final annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheet applications.
Sato is silent regarding the amount of annealing separator. Specifically, Sato is silent regarding applying the annealing separator in an amount of 3 g/m2 or more per surface. Regarding the subject limitation, in order to carry out the invention of Sato, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary amounts of annealing separator used in final annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheets. Omura provides this teaching. Omura teaches a method of producing a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet (paragraph [0001]). Omura teaches that the steel sheet is subjected to cold rolling once, or twice or more with intermediate annealing performed therebetween, followed by primary recrystallization annealing and application of an annealing separator (paragraph [0052]). Omura teaches that after the application of the annealing separator, the steel sheet is subjected to final annealing for purposes of secondary recrystallization (paragraph [0052]). Omura teaches that as the annealing separator, it is preferable that the main component is MgO, and the coating amount is from 8 g/m2 to 15 g/m2 (which reads upon “applying the annealing separator in an amount of 3 g/m2 or more per surface”; paragraph [0052]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of the prior art combination, and adjusting and varying the amount of annealing separator, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Omura, motivated to form a conventional grain-oriented electrical steel sheet using known and tested amounts of annealing separator predictably suitable for final annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheet applications.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JPH08157963A), as machine translated, in view of Ramsbottom, Description of an Improved Reversing Rolling Mill, Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, 1866 17: 115, DOI: 10.1243/PIME_PROC_1866_017_014_02, and Ehashi et al. (US 20190271054 A1), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Manabe et al. (JP H0310020 A), as machine translated.
Regarding claim 8, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 2 as stated above. Sato teaches that “In addition to the above elements, grain boundary segregation elements such as Sb, Sn, Cu, Mo, Bi, As, Pb, B, and P can also be used as inhibitors” (paragraph [0026]).
Sato is silent regarding the amount of grain boundary segregation elements such as Sb, Sn, Cu, Mo, Bi, As, Pb, B, and P used as inhibitors. Specifically, Sato is silent regarding wherein the steel slab to be used contains, in addition to the above ingredient composition, one or more of the following Groups A to C:Group A: at least one selected from the group consisting of Ni: 0 to 1.00 mass%, Sb: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Sn: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Cu: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Cr: 0 to 0.50 mass%, P: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Mo: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Nb: 0 to 0.020 mass%, V: 0 to 0.010 mass%, B: 0 to 0.0025 mass%, Bi: 0 to 0.50 mass%, and Zr: 0 to 0.10 mass% Group B: at least one selected from Co: 0 to 0.0500 mass% and Pb: 0 to 0.0100 mass%; and Group C: at least one selected from As: 0 to 0.0200 mass%, Zn: 0 to 0.0200 mass%, W: 0 to 0.0100 mass%, Ge: 0 to 0.0050 mass%, and Ga: 0 to 0.0050 mass%. Regarding the subject limitation, in order to carry out the invention of Sato, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary amounts of annealing separator used in final annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheets. Manabe provides this teaching. Manabe is similarly concerned with a method for manufacturing grain-oriented silicon steel sheets (paragraph [0001]). Manabe teaches that “it is necessary to disperse fine precipitates such as MnS, MnSc, and AIN, called inhibitors, in the steel, and to effectively induce the growth of crystal grains of other orientations at high temperatures” (page 2). Manabe teaches that “in addition to the elements mentioned above, sb and sn can also act as inhibitors” (page 12). Manabe teaches that “grain boundary segregating elements such as As, r'b, Fe, Cu, Mo, and B are known, and it is possible to use these in combination” (page 12). Manabe teaches “a continuously cast slab containing 0.04+1% by weight, Si: 3.30% by weight, Mn: 0.054% by weight, Se: 0.022ffiffi%, and sb: 0.024% by weight, with the remainder being substantially Fe” (which reads upon “Sb: 0 to 0.50 mass%”, as recited in the instant claim; page 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of the prior art combination, and adjusting and varying the amount of grain boundary segregation elements such as Sb, Sn, Cu, Mo, Bi, As, Pb, B, and P used as inhibitors, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Manabe, motivated to form a conventional grain-oriented electrical steel sheet using known and tested amounts of grain boundary segregation elements predictably suitable for manufacturing grain-oriented electrical steel sheet applications.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (JPH08157963A), as machine translated, in view of Ramsbottom, Description of an Improved Reversing Rolling Mill, Proceedings of the Institution of Mechanical Engineers, 1866 17: 115, DOI: 10.1243/PIME_PROC_1866_017_014_02, and Nakajima et al. (JP S6473023 A), abstract as machine translated, Imai et al. (US 20220090226 A1), and Omura et al. (US 20190017139 A1), as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Manabe et al. (JP H0310020 A), as machine translated.
Regarding claim 9, modified Sato teaches the method of claim 3 as stated above. Sato teaches that “In addition to the above elements, grain boundary segregation elements such as Sb, Sn, Cu, Mo, Bi, As, Pb, B, and P can also be used as inhibitors” (paragraph [0026]).
Sato is silent regarding the amount of grain boundary segregation elements such as Sb, Sn, Cu, Mo, Bi, As, Pb, B, and P used as inhibitors. Specifically, Sato is silent regarding wherein the steel slab to be used contains, in addition to the above ingredient composition, one or more of the following Groups A to C:Group A: at least one selected from the group consisting of Ni: 0 to 1.00 mass%, Sb: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Sn: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Cu: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Cr: 0 to 0.50 mass%, P: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Mo: 0 to 0.50 mass%, Nb: 0 to 0.020 mass%, V: 0 to 0.010 mass%, B: 0 to 0.0025 mass%, Bi: 0 to 0.50 mass%, and Zr: 0 to 0.10 mass% Group B: at least one selected from Co: 0 to 0.0500 mass% and Pb: 0 to 0.0100 mass%; and Group C: at least one selected from As: 0 to 0.0200 mass%, Zn: 0 to 0.0200 mass%, W: 0 to 0.0100 mass%, Ge: 0 to 0.0050 mass%, and Ga: 0 to 0.0050 mass%. Regarding the subject limitation, in order to carry out the invention of Sato, it would have been necessary and obvious to look to the prior art for exemplary amounts of annealing separator used in final annealing of grain-oriented electrical steel sheets. Manabe provides this teaching. Manabe is similarly concerned with a method for manufacturing grain-oriented silicon steel sheets (paragraph [0001]). Manabe teaches that “it is necessary to disperse fine precipitates such as MnS, MnSc, and AIN, called inhibitors, in the steel, and to effectively induce the growth of crystal grains of other orientations at high temperatures” (page 2). Manabe teaches that “in addition to the elements mentioned above, sb and sn can also act as inhibitors” (page 12). Manabe teaches that “grain boundary segregating elements such as As, r'b, Fe, Cu, Mo, and B are known, and it is possible to use these in combination” (page 12). Manabe teaches “a continuously cast slab containing 0.04+1% by weight, Si: 3.30% by weight, Mn: 0.054% by weight, Se: 0.022ffiffi%, and sb: 0.024% by weight, with the remainder being substantially Fe” (which reads upon “Sb: 0 to 0.50 mass%”, as recited in the instant claim; page 12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of the prior art combination, and adjusting and varying the amount of grain boundary segregation elements such as Sb, Sn, Cu, Mo, Bi, As, Pb, B, and P used as inhibitors, such as within the claimed ranges, as taught by Manabe, motivated to form a conventional grain-oriented electrical steel sheet using known and tested amounts of grain boundary segregation elements predictably suitable for manufacturing grain-oriented electrical steel sheet applications.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that neither reference provides any teaching regarding an interpass time for rolling passes in an opposite direction (remarks, page 8). Applicant argues that thus, the applied references are different from claim 1, which requires a next rolling pass that is performed in the opposite direction after 5 seconds or more and 20 seconds or less have elapsed from the preceding rolling pass (remarks, page 8). This is not found convincing because Ramsbottom teaches that “it has been found on trial not at all difficult to reverse the engines together with the whole train of rolls as many as 73 times in one minute” (page 117; an interpass time of just under 1 second or more). Additionally, Sato teaches that “the interpass time between the stands is set to 30 seconds or less” (paragraph [0020]). Accordingly, the art reads on the claim.
Applicant argues that Applicant respectfully submits that the claimed conditions of rough rolling are critical to achieving advantages of the present invention, including decreased maximum height roughness Rz (remarks, page 8). Applicant argues that the evidence of record in the present application demonstrates that the claimed conditions of hot rolling are critical to achieving the improved maximum height roughness (remarks, page 8). Applicant further argues that Table 1 shows that that the claimed temperature during the start of rough rolling and the claimed inter-pass rolling time are necessary to achieve the benefits of the claimed invention (remarks, page 8). This is not found convincing because Tables 1, 2, and 3 fail to show a time interval of over 20 seconds. Additionally, the instant specification consistently describes a next rolling pass is performed in an opposite direction after a time interval of 5 seconds or longer. There is no discussion in the specification of a time interval of 20 seconds. There is no discussion in the specification of a time interval of greater than 20 seconds being unsatisfactory. In short, there is no evidence on the record of the time interval of 5-20 seconds being critical.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. The Examiner requests that interviews not be scheduled during the last week of each fiscal quarter or the last half of September, which is the end of the fiscal year. Q4: 9/21-9/30/26; Q1: 1/4-1/8/27.
/REBECCA JANSSEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733