DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
Figures 3-5 and 13 are objected to because the drawings lack legends which are deemed to be necessary, or the provided legends in the drawings are illegible. According to 37 CFR 1.84(o), suitable legends may be required by the examiner where necessary for understanding of the drawing.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are indicated in the table below, along with corresponding structure and/or lack thereof:
Claim limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB citation)
Detection module
1
Power sensor [0055], [0102]
a charging control module
1, 4
A processor [0046]
a switching module
1, 3
A charging unit switching submodule, which comprises switches [0058] or a battery pack switching module
a charging unit switching submodule
3
Switches [0058]
a battery pack switching submodule
3
Switches [0060]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites a plurality of variants separated by “or”. In the last variant after an “or” starting with “a switch of the plurality of switches” “the plurality of different types of charging units” is recited although the first recitation is in an alternative limitation of claim 4. Claim 4 should be amended to more clearly indicate the alternative limitations and use proper antecedent basis in each, such that each stands on its own.
Furthermore, it is unclear whether the first recitation of claim 4 (“a plurality of different types of charging units”) is required for each of the following recitations or whether it is “ANDed” together with the following limitation “a plurality of switches…” and then alternative in its entirety to the other recitations starting with “the switched are connected…” and “a switch of the”. For the purpose of examination, Examiner is interpreting the alternative limitation “the switches are connected with different types of charging units” as being a complete alternative limitation and the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6-7, 12-14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maalouf et al. US PGPUB 2018/0076635.
Regarding claim 1, Maalouf discloses a circuit for charging [fig. 5] comprising
a detection module configured to detect state information of a charge pump charging system [figs. 5 & 8; par. 84; detection module 520];
a charging control module, having an input end connected with an output end of the detection module, and being configured to output a corresponding control instruction according to the state information [fig. 5; 520 outputs to charge pump control 530 that outputs control instructions according to the input that controls 506, 508, 510 and 512; pars. 83-84]; and
a switching module configured to receive the control instruction from the charging control module and to switch a charging path of the charge pump charging system [fig. 5; switches 506, 508, 510 and 512; pars. 83-84].
Regarding claim 2, Maalouf discloses wherein the state information comprises at least one of type of charger, type of charging cable, power consumption of load, or state of battery voltage [pars. 97 & 99; based on the battery voltage the charge pump is operated in a certain mode].
Regarding claim 3, Maalouf discloses wherein the switching module comprises at least one of,
a charging unit switching submodule configured to switch a connection path of a charging unit according to the control instruction [fig. 5; pars. 64-65; the connection path can bypass the charge pump or go through the charge pump according instructions from 530 that operate switches 506-512]; or
a battery pack switching submodule configured to switch a connection scheme of a plurality of batteries according to the control instruction.
Regarding claim 6, Maalouf discloses a method for charging comprising
acquiring state information of a charge pump charging system [figs. 5 & 8; par. 84; detection module 520; fig. 5; 520 outputs to charge pump control 530 that outputs control instructions according to the input that controls 506, 508, 510 and 512; pars. 83-84]; and
outputting, according to the state information, a corresponding control instruction to switch a charging path of the charge pump charging system [fig. 5; switches 506, 508, 510 and 512 receive control instruction; pars. 83-84].
Regarding claim 7, Maalouf discloses wherein the state information comprises at least one of, type of charger, type of charging cable, power consumption of load, or state of battery voltage [pars. 97 & 99; based on the battery voltage the charge pump is operated in a certain mode]; and
switching the charging path of the charge pump charging system comprises at least one of, switching a connection path of a charging unit [fig. 5; pars. 64-65; the connection path can bypass the charge pump or go through the charge pump according instructions from 530 that operate switches 506-512], or switching a connection scheme of the batteries.
Regarding claim 12, Maalouf discloses an electronic device, comprising a memory, a processor and a computer program stored in the memory and executable by the processor which [par. 46; controller 250 in the receiver], when executed by the processor causes the processor to carry out a method for charging comprising
acquiring state information of a charge pump charging system [figs. 5 & 8; par. 84; detection module 520; fig. 5; 520 outputs to charge pump control 530 that outputs control instructions according to the input that controls 506, 508, 510 and 512; pars. 83-84]; and
outputting, according to the state information, a corresponding control instruction to switch a charging path of the charge pump charging system [fig. 5; switches 506, 508, 510 and 512 receive control instruction; pars. 83-84].
Regarding claim 13, Maalouf discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer-executable instruction which when executed by a processor, causes the processor to carry out the method as claimed in claim 6 [par. 46; controller 250 in the receiver].
Regarding claim 14, Maalouf discloses wherein the state information comprises at least one of, type of charger, type of charging cable, power consumption of load, or state of battery voltage [pars. 97 & 99; based on the battery voltage the charge pump is operated in a certain mode]; and
switching the charging path of the charge pump charging system comprises at least one of, switching a connection path of a charging unit [fig. 5; pars. 64-65; the connection path can bypass the charge pump or go through the charge pump according instructions from 530 that operate switches 506-512], or switching a connection scheme of the batteries.
Regarding claim 19, Maalouf discloses wherein,
the state information comprises at least one of, type of charger, type of charging cable, power consumption of load, or state of battery voltage [pars. 97 & 99; based on the battery voltage the charge pump is operated in a certain mode]; and
switching the charging path of the charge pump charging system comprises at least one of, switching a connection path of a charging unit [fig. 5; pars. 64-65; the connection path can bypass the charge pump or go through the charge pump according instructions from 530 that operate switches 506-512], or switching a connection scheme of the batteries.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 8, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maalouf et al. US PGPUB 2018/0076635 in view of Kong US PGPUB 2017/0117724.
Regarding claim 4, Maalouf does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging unit switching submodule comprises, a plurality of different types of charging units each configured for voltage conversion; and a plurality of switches, wherein, a switch of the plurality of switches has an end connected with the charger and another end connected with the charging unit; or the switches are connected with different types of charging units; or a switch of the plurality of switches has an end connected with a charging unit of the plurality of different types of charging units, and another end connected with one of the batteries; and each of the switches is configured to be switched to an activated state or a deactivated state according to the control instruction from the charging control module, to switch the connection path of a respective one of the charging units.
However, Kong discloses a charge pump charging system wherein the charging unit switching submodule comprises the switches are connected with different types of charging units [fig. 4; the switches are connected to high voltage and normal chargers (“different types of charging units”); pars. 31-33, 35 & 39-40].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maalouf to further include wherein the charging unit switching submodule comprises the switches are connected with different types of charging units for the purpose of allowing the either a high voltage or low voltage charging unit to be selected, as taught by Kong (pars. 31-33, 35 & 39-40).
Regarding claim 8, Maalouf does not explicitly disclose wherein outputting the control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system according to the state information comprises, performing a determination as to the type of the charger according to the state information; in response to a determination that the charger is of the type of a low-voltage charger, outputting a control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system to a path in which, charging is performed by means of a low-voltage voltage-divided charging unit; and the batteries are connected in parallel.
However, Kong discloses a charge pump charging system wherein outputting the control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system according to the state information comprises, performing a determination as to the type of the charger according to the state information [pars. 34 & 38-39; based on whether quick charging or conventional charging is used, the charging path is switched];
in response to a determination that the charger is of the type of a low-voltage charger, outputting a control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system to a path in which, charging is performed by means of a low-voltage voltage-divided charging unit; and the batteries are connected in parallel [par. 44; for conventional charging (low voltage) batteries are connected in parallel, the voltage is divided across the batteries being charged].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maalouf to further include wherein outputting the control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system according to the state information comprises, performing a determination as to the type of the charger according to the state information; in response to a determination that the charger is of the type of a low-voltage charger, outputting a control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system to a path in which, charging is performed by means of a low-voltage voltage-divided charging unit; and the batteries are connected in parallel for the purpose of allowing switching between conventional and fast charging to charge the batteries faster when available, as taught by Kong (pars. 39-41).
Regarding claim 15, Maalouf does not explicitly disclose wherein outputting the control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system according to the state information comprises performing a determination as to the type of the charger according to the state information; in response to a determination that the charger is of the type of a low-voltage charger, outputting a control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system to a path in which, charging is performed by means of a low-voltage voltage-divided charging unit; and the batteries are connected in parallel.
However, Kong discloses a charge pump charging system wherein outputting the control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system according to the state information comprises, performing a determination as to the type of the charger according to the state information [pars. 34 & 38-39; based on whether quick charging or conventional charging is used, the charging path is switched];
in response to a determination that the charger is of the type of a low-voltage charger, outputting a control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system to a path in which, charging is performed by means of a low-voltage voltage-divided charging unit; and the batteries are connected in parallel [par. 44; for conventional charging (low voltage) batteries are connected in parallel, the voltage is divided across the batteries being charged].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maalouf to further include wherein outputting the control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system according to the state information comprises, performing a determination as to the type of the charger according to the state information; in response to a determination that the charger is of the type of a low-voltage charger, outputting a control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system to a path in which, charging is performed by means of a low-voltage voltage-divided charging unit; and the batteries are connected in parallel for the purpose of allowing switching between conventional and fast charging to charge the batteries faster when available, as taught by Kong (pars. 39-41).
Regarding claim 20, Maalouf does not explicitly disclose wherein outputting the control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system according to the state information comprises, performing a determination as to the type of the charger according to the state information; in response to a determination that the charger is of the type of a low-voltage charger, outputting a control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system to a path in which, charging is performed by means of a low-voltage voltage-divided charging unit; and the batteries are connected in parallel.
However, Kong discloses a charge pump charging system wherein outputting the control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system according to the state information comprises, performing a determination as to the type of the charger according to the state information [pars. 34 & 38-39; based on whether quick charging or conventional charging is used, the charging path is switched];
in response to a determination that the charger is of the type of a low-voltage charger, outputting a control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system to a path in which, charging is performed by means of a low-voltage voltage-divided charging unit; and the batteries are connected in parallel [par. 44; for conventional charging (low voltage) batteries are connected in parallel, the voltage is divided across the batteries being charged].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Maalouf to further include wherein outputting the control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system according to the state information comprises, performing a determination as to the type of the charger according to the state information; in response to a determination that the charger is of the type of a low-voltage charger, outputting a control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system to a path in which, charging is performed by means of a low-voltage voltage-divided charging unit; and the batteries are connected in parallel for the purpose of allowing switching between conventional and fast charging to charge the batteries faster when available, as taught by Kong (pars. 39-41).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11 and 16-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 5, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “the plurality of the switches comprise a first switch, a second switch, a third switch, a fourth switch and a fifth switch; and the first switch has an end connected with the charger, and has another end connected with an input end of the high-voltage voltage-divided charging unit; the second switch has an end connected with an output end of the high-voltage voltage- divided charging unit, and has another end connected with one of the batteries; the third switch is connected between the output end of the high-voltage voltage-divided charging unit and an input end of the low-voltage voltage-divided charging unit; the fourth switch has an end connected with the charger, and has another end connected with the input end of the low-voltage voltage-divided charging unit; and the fifth switch has an end connected with an output end of the low-voltage voltage-dividing charging unit, and has another end connected with one of the batteries” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 5.
With respect to claim 9, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “in response to a determination that the charger is of the type of a high-voltage charger, performing a further determination as to the type of the charging cable according to the state information; and in response to a determination that the charging cable is of the type of a high-power cable, outputting a control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system to a path in which, charging is performed by means of a low-voltage voltage-divided charging unit; and the batteries are connected in parallel” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 9.
Claims 10-11, being dependent on claim 9, would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 9.
With respect to claim 16, the following is an examiner's statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art fails to further teach or suggest “in response to a determination that the charger is of the type of a high-voltage charger, performing a further determination as to the type of the charging cable according to the state information; and in response to a determination that the charging cable is of the type of a high-power cable, outputting a control instruction to switch the charging path of the charge pump charging system to a path in which, charging is performed by means of a low-voltage voltage-divided charging unit; and the batteries are connected in parallel” in combination with all the other elements recited in claim 16.
Claims 17-18, being dependent on claim 16, would be allowable for the same reasons as claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Huang et al. US PGPUB 2018/0166902 discloses a charger with a charge pump circuit that has a bypass mode.
/DAVID V HENZE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859