DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Invention of Group I, claims 1-17, drawn to a shaving aid composition, and to the species of a. agar and b. an extruded soap base in the reply filed on 1/6/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-20 are withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim 9 is withdrawn as not being directed to the elected species of polysaccharide.
Claims 1-8 and 10-17 are under consideration to the extent that the shaving aid composition comprises the elected species.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11/29/23, 1/3/24, and 7/28/25. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the polysaccharide” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. In claim 1 “one or more polysaccharides" encompasses multiple polysaccharides. It is unclear whether just one, more than one, or all of the polysaccharides must meet the claim limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 10-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alexander et al. (US 2004/0185011).
Alexander et al. teach mixing a controlled amount of agar with regular oral, dental or skin hygiene compositions allows manufacture of homogenous, semi-solid single-use lumps or beads. Agar confers sufficient rigidity and a sufficiently high melting point for storage, yet allow disruption of the bead on the skin or in the mouth without residues (e.g. abstract).
Regarding Claims 1-3 and 6, Alexander et al. exemplify a shaving composition comprising:
-a soap composition comprising, myristic acid, lauric acid, and stearic acid (i.e. a soap base), and
- agar (i.e. a natural wear agent polysaccharide) (e.g. Example 8 in [0133]).
Regarding Claim 4, Example 8 comprises 87 wt% soap base, which is within the claimed range (sum of myristic acid, lauric acid, glycerine, sodium borate, sodium lauryl sulfate, cocamide, potassium hydroxide, sodium hydroxide, mineral oil, stearic acid, and oleyl alcohol).
Regarding Claims 5 and 7, Example 8 is extruded (e.g. paragraph 0141).
Regarding Claim 8, Example 8 does not comprise guar gum, gummi arabicum, locust bean gum, or xanthan gum.
Regarding Claims 10 and 11, Example 8 comprises 1 wt% agar, which is within the claimed ranges.
Regarding Claim 12, Example 8 does not comprise a synthetic lubricant polymer.
Regarding Claim 13, the instant Specification defines “substantially anhydrous” as containing less than 20 wt% water (e.g. paragraph 0011), and Example 8 of Anderson et al. comprises about 12 wt% water.
Regarding Claim 15, Example 8 comprises surfactants (sodium lauryl sulphate) and humectant/emollient (i.e. glycerine).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexander et al. (US 2004/0185011) in view of Coffin et al. (US 2004/0181949).
Regarding Claims 1-8, 10-13 and 15, the teachings of Alexander et al. are described supra. Alexander et al. teach that the composition is a shaving composition and may be provided in a shaving kit comprising a razor (e.g. paragraph 0133), but do not teach that the composition is provided as a shaving aid body or strip. This is made up for by the teachings of Coffin et al.
Coffin et al. teach a razor cartridge having first and second razor blade assemblies and at least one solid shaving aid (e.g. abstract, paragraph 0017). Coffin et al. teach that the shaving aid may comprise polysaccharides (e.g. paragraph 0020) and sodium lauryl sulphate (e.g. paragraph 0022). Coffin et al. teach the benefit of the ability to apply a shaving aid, during a shaving operation, to increase lubricity would reduce or perhaps eliminate any discomfort (e.g. paragraph 0002) and the shaving aid provides the advantage of aiding the skin after a forward cutting stroke, while simultaneously preparing the skin for the return stroke (e.g. paragraph 0007).
Regarding Claims 14, 16 and 17, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select the composition of Alexander et al. for use as the shaving aid of the razor of Coffin et al. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielding nothing more than predictable results. One of ordinary skill in the art would have predicted success as both of the references teach solid shaving aids and razors comprising overlapping ingredients and one of ordinary skill would have been motivated in order to provide the benefits of increased lubricity and reduced discomfort, as taught by Coffin et al.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/NICOLE P BABSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619