NON-FINAL ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 29 November 2023. These drawings are acceptable.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware of in the specification.
The abstract of the disclosure is acceptable.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. See MPEP § 606.01. The title should specify the at least one radiation source feature.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “means of a heat transfer section” in claim 34.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 34-52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 34, it is unclear if the term “the radiation source” in line 6 refers to “at least one radiation source” previously recited in line 4. If they refer to the same element, consistent terminology should be used. The use of a confusing variety of terms for the same thing should not be permitted. See MPEP 608.01(o). Claims 35-52 are rejected for the same reason due to their dependency upon said claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 34-40, 43, 44, 50, and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2018234420 (Mann et al., hereinafter Mann) in view of WO 2021061406 (Allard et al., hereinafter Allard), and further in view of WO 2016150718 (Hayashi et al., hereinafter Hayashi).
Regarding claim 34, Mann discloses a centrifuge (1, Fig. 4) for rotating a sample carrier (reaction vessel unit 7, Fig. 4), which has at least one container for receiving a liquid sample, with a rotatable rotor (2, Fig. 4), which has at least one receiving section (receiving area 6, Fig. 4) for receiving the sample carrier, and a rotor space (rotor chamber 9, Fig. 4) in which the rotor is arranged, the rotor space delimited by a rotor housing (3, Fig. 4), but does not disclose wherein the centrifuge has at least one radiation source for emitting radiation into the rotor space with a wavelength of a maximum of 350 nm, and wherein the radiation source has an emitter which is connected in a heat-conducting manner to the rotor housing by means of a heat transfer section.
Allard discloses analogous art related to a centrifuge, wherein the centrifuge has at least one radiation source (light 655 may be UV light, para. [00218], Fig. 99) for emitting radiation into the rotor space with a wavelength of a maximum of 350nm (e.g., “wavelength comprises 264 nanometers”, para. [00218]). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of Mann with the radiation source as taught by Allard for the purpose of providing a chemical free, highly effective disinfectant against harmful microorganisms (para. [00218], Allard).
The combination of Mann and Allard does not disclose wherein the radiation source has an emitter which is connected in a heat-conducting manner to the rotor housing by means of a heat transfer section.
Hayashi discloses analogous art related to disinfection using UV light, wherein the radiation source (UV-C LED module 10, Fig. 9) has an emitter (UV-C LED die 12, Fig. 1) which is connected in a heat-conducting manner to the rotor housing (corresponds to “base supporting structure”, page 22 line 20) by means of a heat transfer section (printed circuit board 101, Fig. 12a, “Aluminium core PCBs are often used to help with the thermal management of the circuit”, page 27 lines 3-4). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of the combination of Mann and Allard with the heat transfer section as taught by Hayashi, and use the rotor housing as the heat receiving structure, for the purpose of thermal management of the circuit (page 27 lines 3-4, Hayashi), since heat reduces the performance of the light source and subsequently reduces its lifetime (page 2 lines 3-11, Hayashi).
Regarding claim 35, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi discloses wherein the rotor housing has an upper shell (11, Fig. 4, Mann) and a lower shell (10, Fig. 4, Mann), which are releasably connected to one another, and which delimit the rotor space (upper shell 11 and lower shell 4 connected by bolts, see Fig. 2, Mann).
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi discloses wherein the rotor housing has a front wall (12, Mann) and a rear wall (13, Fig. 4, Mann) for delimiting the rotor space.
Regarding claim 37, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi discloses wherein the centrifuge has a rotor shaft (15, Fig. 4, Mann) which drives the rotor, and is rotatably mounted in the front and rear walls (“In the front end wall 12 and rear end wall 13 are each a ball bearing 14, in which a continuous shaft 15 of the rotor 2 is rotatably mounted”, page 7 lines 23-24 of machine translation, Mann).
Regarding claim 38, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi discloses wherein the front wall has a passage (loading and unloading opening 19, Fig. 4, Mann) through which the sample carrier can be inserted into the rotor.
Regarding claim 39, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi discloses wherein the centrifuge has a displacement device (loading and unloading device 8, Fig. 4, Mann) for introducing the sample carrier into the rotor and/or for removing the sample carrier from the rotor.
Regarding claim 40, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi discloses wherein the at least one radiation source is arranged on or in the rotor housing (“The at least one light 655 may be disposed onto an internal circumference sidewall 618 of the protective cover 601, 704 and/or the external sidewall 627, 734 of the container cover or activation cover 103, 625, 702 para. [0022], Allard).
Regarding claim 43, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi discloses a radiation emitted by at least one first radiation source has a different wavelength than radiation emitted by at least one second radiation source (“The first and/or second light may comprise different color lights, different wavelengths…”, para. [00220], Allard).
Regarding claim 44, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi discloses wherein at least two radiation sources (lights 655, Fig. 99, Allard) are arranged mirror-symmetrically to one another with respect to a mirror plane, which contains a central axis of a rotor shaft (armature 161, Fig. 99, Allard).
Regarding claim 50, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi discloses wherein the radiation source is a UV-C radiation source (UV-C LED module 10, Fig. 9, Hayashi).
Regarding claim 51, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi discloses wherein an inner housing surface of the rotor housing and/or a rotor surface and/or a rotor shaft surface is coated (“Th inner surfaces of the lower shell 10 and the upper shell 11 are coated with a smooth plastic layer”, page 8 lines 32-33, Mann).
Claims 41, 42, and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mann in view of Allard, and further in view of Hayashi, as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of CN 111495615 (Zhou).
Regarding claim 41, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi does not disclose wherein the centrifuge has a cover which fluidically separates the radiation source from the rotor space and/or is configured such that it transmits radiation from the radiation source.
Zhou discloses analogous art related to a centrifuge that uses ultraviolet lamp, wherein the centrifuge has a cover (lampshade 510, Fig. 1) which fluidically separates the radiation source from the rotor space and/or is configured such that it transmits radiation from the radiation source (page 5 lines 27-35 of machine translation). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi with the cover as taught by Zhou for the purpose of protecting the ultraviolet lamp tube from dust and other components (page 5 lines 27-35 of machine translation, Zhou).
Regarding claim 42, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi does not disclose wherein: a. the centrifuge has at least one electrical lead for electrically connecting the radiation source to an energy source, wherein the electrical lead runs at least partly through the front wall and/or the rear wall; and/or b. the radiation source is aligned such that the radiation hits the rotor and/or the inner housing surface.
Zhou discloses wherein the radiation source is aligned such that the radiation hits the rotor and/or the inner housing surface (“the ultraviolet lamp tube is irradiated towards the centrifuge chamber 110”, Abstract). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have configured the radiation source of the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi as taught by Zhou for the purpose of sterilizing the centrifuge chamber (Abstract, Zhou).
Regarding claim 52, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi does not disclose wherein the centrifuge has a control device, which effects the following: a. during a washing operation, the radiation source does not emit any radiation; and/or b. the radiation source emits radiation when no sample carrier is arranged in the rotor; and/or c. the rotor is brought into a predetermined position in a decontamination operation, which differs from a position in which the sample carrier can be inserted into the rotor or ejected from the rotor; and/or d. the rotor is rotated during the decontamination operation.
Zhou discloses wherein the centrifuge has a control device, which effects the following: the rotor is rotated during the decontamination operation (page 4 lines 19-33 of machine translation). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi with the control device taught by Zhou for the purpose so that the centrifugal chamber of each area and each angle can be fully sterilized (page 4 lines 19-33 of machine translation, Zhou).
Claim 45 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mann in view of Allard, and further in view of Hayashi, as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (U.S. Patent Application Pub. No. 2019/0145968, hereinafter Wang).
Regarding claim 45, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi does not disclose wherein: a. the receiving section has a base wall and two rails; and/or b. the rotor has a further receiving section for receiving a further sample carrier; and/or c. the centrifuge has at least one reflection body which is introduced into the receiving section of the rotor, wherein the reflection body has at least one surface for reflecting radiation; and/or d. the rotor has a reflecting surface which is aligned such that it reflects the radiation emitted by the radiation source into a predetermined housing area; and/or e. a part of the inner housing surface is aligned such that it reflects the radiation emitted by the radiation source into a predetermined rotor housing area and/or a predetermined rotor area.
Wang disclose analogous art related to a centrifuge for centrifuging a reaction vessel unit, wherein the receiving section (plate tray 11, Fig. 9) has a base wall (12, Fig. 2) and two rails (13, Fig. 3). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi with the receiving section taught by Wang for the purpose of receiving microtiter plates (para. [0120], Wang).
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mann in view of Allard, and further in view of Hayashi, as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of KR 970027465.
Regarding claim 46, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi does not disclose wherein the centrifuge has at least one reflection body, wherein: a. the reflection body is connected to the rotor in a rotationally fixed manner; and/or b. the reflection body is attached to a rotor side which is arranged offset in a tangential direction in relation to the receiving section; and/or c. the reflection body has a reflection surface which extends axially and/or runs transversely to a central axis of a rotor shaft; and/or d. the centrifuge has at least two reflection bodies which are arranged on opposite rotor sides.
KR 970027465 discloses analogous art related to UV sterilization with a rotating chamber, wherein the centrifuge (corresponds to “rotating body”, Abstract) has at least one reflection body (reflecting plate 7, Fig. 1), wherein the reflection body is connected to the rotor (corresponds to laundry rod 1, Fig. 1) in a rotationally fixed manner (claim 1). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the centrifuge of the Mann, Allard, and Hayashi combination to include a reflection body connected to the rotor in a rotationally fixed manner as taught by KR 970027465, because KR 970027465 demonstrates that mounting a reflective body so that it rotates together with a rotating component within a UV irradiated chamber is a known technique for directing UV radiation more effectively, and applying this known technique to the centrifuge rotor of the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi is a combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield the predictable result of redirecting radiation within the rotor space, consistent with KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007); see also MPEP § 2143, Exemplary Rationale C.
Claims 47-49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mann in view of Allard, and further in view of Hayashi, as applied to claim 34 above, and further in view of WO 2019165478 (Sucato et al., hereinafter Sucato).
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi does not disclose wherein the at least one radiation source is connected to the rotor in a rotationally fixed manner.
Sucato discloses analogous art related to a centrifuge, wherein the at least one radiation source is connected to the rotor in a rotationally fixed manner (“A source of electromagnetic radiation is positioned at a first position of the rotor”, Abstract; examples of operating wavelengths of electromagnetic radiation are 214nm, 260nm, 280nm, and 295 nm, which are in the UV light range, para. [547]). It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the centrifuge of the combination of Mann, Allard, and Hayashi with at least radiation source connected to the rotor as taught by Sucato, as the simple substitution of the one known element (in this case, using the housing as the mounting location for the radiation source) for another (in this case, using the rotor as the mounting location for the radiation source) is within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), Rationale B). Rotor mounting of the radiation source could provide more uniform irradiation of a rotating sample carrier.
Regarding claim 48, the combination of Mann, Allard, Hayashi, and Sucato discloses the receiving section and/or a further receiving section (cavity 13, Fig. 5, Sucato) receives at least one radiation source (light source 7, Fig. 5, Sucato).
Regarding claim 49, the combination of Mann, Allard, Hayashi, and Sucato discloses wherein in that multiple radiation sources are present, which are arranged at a distance from one another in a tangential direction (light sources 655, Fig. 99, Allard; para. [524], Fig. 2, Sucato).
Conclusion
/Shuyi S. Liu/Examiner, Art Unit 1774