Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “collapsed position” and “wherein the central pivot axis and the side pivot axes are parallel and which pivot axes form a second angle with the horizontal plane, which second angle is smaller than the first angle” must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase “wherein the central pivot axis and the side pivot axes are parallel and which pivot axes form a second angle with the horizontal plane, which second angle is smaller than the first angle” has not been described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor(s) had possession of the claimed invention because it is unclear based on the disclosure provided, i.e., the specification and the drawings, how the second angle smaller and/or anything other than the first angle, because based on the drawings they appear to be the same angles. Based on the drawings the angle of the backrest to horizontal and the angle of the three pivot axes to the horizontal are the same. See Figs. 1-2.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim limitation “angle adjusting means” fails the written description test because, as discussed further below in relation to 112(b) the specification fails to provide any explanation as to what structure is used to achieve the claimed angle adjusting means.
Any claim not specifically addressed under 112(a) is rejected as being dependent on a claim rejected under 112(a).
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the sake of compact prosecution claim limitations following “such as” are being treated similar to an “or,” i.e., optional.
Regarding claims 3 and 8, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). For the sake of compact prosecution claim limitations following “preferably” are being treated similar to an “or,” i.e., optional.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase “which pivot axes” renders the claim indefinite because it lacks clear antecedent basis. Specifically, it is unclear which pivot axes are being referred to by the term as three different pivot axes have already been introduced and it is further unclear if “which pivot axes” is referring back to any/all of the previously introduced axes or attempting to introduce new pivot axes as “the” or “said” is not used.
Regarding claim 7, the claim limitation “angle adjusting means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Paragraphs [0024] and [0036] of Applicant’s PG Pub are the only paragraphs that mention the angle adjusting means, however, the only further explanation as to what the means for adjusting might be is that it is done “in a simple manner.” Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Any claim not specifically addressed under 112(b) is rejected as being dependent on a claim rejected under 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0233375 A1 to Mullins et al (hereinafter Mullins).
Regarding claim 1, Mullins discloses a seating device, such as for instance a chair or a wheelchair (Fig. 1A & Abstract), with a seat (7) and backrest (1) extending between a first (A) and a second (B) side of the seating device for the purpose of supporting a seated person (Mullins Annotated Fig. 1A & [0069] and [0106]), which seating device can be folded into a collapsed position (100b) and a folded-out position (100a) (Mullins Annotated Fig. 1A , Fig. 1B, & [0078]), wherein in the collapsed position (100b) the distance between the first (A) and the second side (B) is smaller than in the folded-out position (100a) (cf. Mullins Annotated Fig. 1A vs Fig. 1B), and which backrest (1) comprises a lumbar-thoracic support surface (C) for supporting in the folded-out position (100a) the lumbar-thoracic transition area of a person situated in the seating device during use at a first angle relative to the horizontal plane (Mullins Annotated Fig. 1A & [0106] disclose the seat back can be of a size or shape to provide full back support for the user, which is interpreted as including the lumbar, thoracic, and cervical zones as well as their transitional areas. Further, Figs. 5A-6B & [0107] discuss and depict the seat angle of the backrest in comparison to the horizontal plane.).
Regarding claim 7, depending on claim 1, Mullins further discloses which seating device also comprises angle adjusting means, which angle adjusting means are configured to adjust the first angle (Figs. 5A-6B & [0107] disclose that when the seating device is moved between the transport mode and the rollator mode the back angle is adjusted).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullins in view of US 2016/0338889 A1 to Izutsu.
Regarding claim 2, depending on claim 1, Mullins does not appear to further disclose wherein the backrest (1) comprises on either side of the lumbar-thoracic support surface at least one fixation strap for lateral fixation of the upper body of a seated person, and wherein the at least one fixation straps are each attached with both outer ends to respectively the lumbar-thoracic support surface and respectively the first and the second side of the seating device.
Izutsu teaches that it was old and well known in the art of back support for seated users, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for a backrest of a seating device to include on either side of the lumbar-thoracic support surface (1,2,3) at least one fixation strap (5,6,7) for lateral fixation of the upper body of a seated person, and wherein the at least one fixation straps (5) are each attached with both outer ends to respectively the lumbar-thoracic support surface and respectively the first and the second side of the seating device (Figs. 3-4 & [0012] discusses the fixation of the upper body and [0024]-[0025] discusses the at least one fixation strap 5.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of back support for seated users before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the supportive seating device disclosed by Mullins to incorporate the upper body supporting cushion as taught by Izutsu in order to provide additional body support for disabled users, e.g., paralyzed, e.g., see Izutsu [0012], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 3, depending on claim 2, the modified combination of Mullins/Izutsu wherein the length between the outer ends of at least one fixation strap (Izutsu - 5, 6, 7), preferably of all fixation straps, is adjustable (Izutsu - Fig. 3 & [0024], [0028]-[0029]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullins in view of US 2014/0077547 A1 to Huttenhuis et al (hereinafter Huttenhuis).
Regarding claim 4, depending on claim 1, although Mullins discloses the angle of the backrest to the horizontal may be comfortable in multiple modes, Mullins does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the first angle lies in the range of 117-123°.
Huttenhuis teaches that it was old and well known in the art of seated back support, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, for the angle of a backrest to the horizontal to be in the range of 117-123° (Fig. 6 & [0103] emphasizing the angle shown in Fig. 6 is 120°).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art of seated back support before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the back support device disclosed by Mullins to incorporate the angle of the backrest to be in the range of 117-123° as taught by Huttenhuis in order to provide an anatomically correct support angle for the back of a user , e.g., see Huttenhuis [0039], and because doing so could be readily and easily performed by any person of ordinary skill in the art, without undue experimentation or risk of unexpected results.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mullins.
Regarding claim 8, depending on claim 1, Mullins does not appear to disclose wherein the lumbar-thoracic support surface (C) is a rectangle, preferably a rectangle with a width of about 8 cm and a height of about 12 cm.
However, as discussed in MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)&(B) changes in size and shape are matters considered to be obvious modifications within the routine skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration is significant. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the shape of the lumbar-thoracic support surface (C) depicted in Mullins Annotated Fig. 1A to at least merely be rectangular in shape, e.g., because a rectangular shape is easier to manufacture.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER B WEHRLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3611