DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatakeyama et al (US 2023/0096132, cited on IDS filed on 11/27/2024 ).
Regarding claim 1, Hatakeyama et al discloses the following compound (Page 114 ):
.
This compound corresponds to Chemical Formula 1 of the claims:
,
where:
Ar1 is a thiophene ring;
Ar2 is a benzene ring;
R1, is either not present or a tert-butyl group, i.e. an unsubstituted C4 alkyl; and
R2 and R3 are tert-butyl groups, i.e. unsubstituted C4 alkyls.
The difference between the compound disclosed by the reference and that claimed is that in the compound disclosed by the reference two (2) fused R1 groups have the formula:
-C(CH3)2-C-C(CH3)2-,
while the claims require the formula:
-O-(CH2)m-O.
However, the compound is but one embodiment and attention is directed to Formula (1) ([0016]):
,
where one ring A, B, or C is fused with at least one cycloalkane having 3 to 20 carbon atoms, e.g. cyclohexane, and at least one -CH2- group can be substituted with -O- ([0022] and [0122]-[0123]). Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses an embodiment where the cycloalkyl is a cyclohexane where two (2) -CH2-- groups are replaced by -O- to obtain the following fused structure:
.
where two (2) adjacent R1’s fuse to form -O-(CH2)m-O- and m is two (2).
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Hatakeyama et al teaches al the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the reference discloses Formula (1-4):
.
Regarding claim 3, Hatakeyama et al teaches al the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the R1’s that are present correspond to C4 alkyls and two (2) adjacent R1’s fuse to form:
.
Regarding claim 4, Hatakeyama et al teaches al the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the R1’s that are present correspond to tert-butyl groups and two (2) adjacent R1’s fuse to form:
.
Regarding claim 5, Hatakeyama et al teaches al the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, R2 is a C2 alkyl.
Regarding claim 6, Hatakeyama et al teaches al the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, R2 is a tert-butyl.
Regarding claim 7, Hatakeyama et al teaches al the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, R3 is a C4 alkyl.
Regarding claim 8, Hatakeyama et al teaches al the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, R4 is a tert-butyl.
Regarding claim 9, Hatakeyama et al teaches al the claim limitations as set forth above. The compound discussed above does not correspond to the recited compound:
.
However, the reference discloses that in Formula 1 ([0016]):
,
X1 and X2 are >N-R, where R is phenyl group substituted with alkyls such as tert-butyl and methyl groups ([0026] and [0087]-[0089]), thereby obtaining the above compound recited in the present claims.
Regarding claim 10, Hatakeyama et al teaches al the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses the following organic light emitting device (Figure 1):
,
where layer 102 corresponds to the recited first electrode; layer 108 corresponds to the recited second electrode opposite the first electrode (108); layers 103 to 107 correspond to the recited organic layers; and layer 105, the light emitting layer. comprises the disclosed compound as a dopant ([0052] and [0178]).
Regarding claim 11, Hatakeyama et al teaches al the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, the light emitting layer comprises the disclosed compound.
Regarding claim 12, Hatakeyama et al teaches al the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the reference discloses a compound corresponds to Chemical Formula 1-5:
.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786