DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The claims are newly amended.
Response to Arguments
The remarks of 8/5/26 are partly not persuasive.
Specifically, the remarks on page 6 argue the following:
First, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have no motivation, teaching or suggestion to combine the teachings of Horne with the teachings of Lee and Ho to arrive at the claimed synthesis method.
Ho is directed to a method for preparing a cathode material using a static mixer. Ho at Abstract. The static mixer has a hollow housing, first and second inlet openings, a plurality of mixing elements arranged in the static mixer, and an outlet opening. Id. at 1 [0048]. The internal mixing elements are designed to divide and recombine the feed materials inside the static mixture, thereby thoroughly mixing the materials. Id. at 1 [0063].
Lee discloses a method for producing lithium metal oxide precursors using a plug flow reactor. Lee at p. 1, I. 4-7. More specifically, Lee describes a tubular reactor having packing therein. Id. at p. 3, I. 1-2. This packing is not incidental, and is used to create plug flow conditions in the reactor. Id. at p. 7, I. 7-9. Lee therefore teaches a reactor architecture relying on internal packing, such as beads, a monolithic or segmented inline static mixer structure, or a screw structure, in order to control the flow. Id. at p. 7, I. 13-14.
However, neither Ho nor Lee disclose or suggest a laminar regime in a reaction tube would be beneficial for synthesizing spherical material particles. To the contrary, the teachings of Ho and Lee emphasize mixing and controlled contact between reactant streams. The Office action cited Horne as teaching that the Reynolds number can be adjusted to produce either laminar flow or turbulent flow to provide enhanced properties. However, Horne is directed to annelectrochemical flow reactor comprising a static mixer electrode. Horne at Abstract. The purposenof Horne is to improve electrochemical operation, in particular mass transfer, contact with annelectrode, and chaotic advection in an electrochemical device. Horne at p. 13, I. 21-25. The static mixer electrodes of Horne may be configured for laminar or turbulent flow. Id. at p. 23, I. 16-17.
Unlike the present application, Horne is not concerned with controlled precipitation reactions to obtain spherical transition metal-containing particles. Rather, Horne adjusts flow characteristics in an electrochemical device to achieve desired electrode-related properties, such as mass transfer and electrode contact. A person of ordinary skill in the art seeking to synthesize spherical material particles by co-precipitation in a reaction tube would not have any reason to look to Horne's teaching regarding flow regimes, much less select a laminar regime, because Horne provides no teaching or suggestion that a laminar regime would improve precipitation reactions or particle morphology.
The remarks are respectfully not persuasive. The laminar regime is disclosed by the Horne reference. As to the features of the Horne reference, Horne is related art to Lee and Ho because it is concerned with tubular reactors used in continuous processes (see abstract). Horne explains that some of these reactors can be static mixers, which can be configured to enhance properties, to include adjusting the flow rate so that the Reynolds number produces a laminar flow (see office action, page 8, para. 1). That is, even though Horne does not make the same product, Horne’s discussion around reaction chamber, flow rate, turbulent flow and reaction amount are all concerns for Ho and Lee. Lee already explains that reaction tube diameter and length are adjustable and effect reaction time and flow rate and optimizing this is well known in chemical engineering principles. Therefore, given that Lee explains adjusting reactor parameters is known to alter the reaction used within the reactor in chemical engineering, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the reactor type, as explained by Horne because Horne explains that these reactors can be configured to adjust flow rates, such as Reynolds numbers to cause either laminar flow or turbulent flow, which would enhance the properties of mixing, degree of reaction, heat and mass transfer of the reaction.
Next, the remarks argue the following:
Moreover, even if a person of ordinary skill in the art were motivated to consider Horne's teachings regarding flow regimes, such a person would not have had a reasonable expectation that selecting a laminar regime having a Reynolds number of less than 1500 would result in the formation of spherical transition metal-containing particles. Horne provides no teaching that laminar flow improves precipitation reactions or particle morphology. To the contrary, the prior art recognized that increased mixing and turbulent regimes were commonly used to promote interaction between reactants. Thus, the cited references provide no basis for expecting that reducing mixing through use of a laminar regime would achieve the claimed spherical particle morphology.
Furthermore, even if, arguendo, a person of ordinary was motivated to apply Horne's teachings regarding laminar and turbulent flow to the teachings of Ho and Lee, Horne provides no guidance as to why a skilled artisan would select a laminar flow regime rather than turbulent or intermediate flow for the precipitation process of Ho and Lee. Horne merely discloses that static mixer electrodes may be configured for laminar or turbulent flow to provide enhanced properties, including mixing, degree of reaction, heat and mass transfer, chaotic advection and pressure drop, and that each type of reaction requires its own specific considerations. Horne at p. 23, I. 16- 20. Horne explains that different flows provide different enhanced properties, but does not explain which enhanced properties are provided by each type of flow. Thus, Horne provides, at most, a general statement that flow parameters in a static mixture electrode may be adjusted, but does not contain any teaching, suggestion, or motivation for applying a laminar regime to the teachings of Ho and Lee, let alone a laminar regime having a Reynolds number of less than 1500.
The remarks are respectfully not persuasive. Horne explains that this reactor can be adjusted to have either flow rates and that one of ordinary skill would decide based on the desired enhanced properties of the reaction conditions. As explained by Horne, the process parameters can be adjusted in order to enhance the properties selected from one or more of mixing, degree of reaction, heat and mass transfer. That is, the user would optimize the flow rate in order to optimize one or more of these factors. The remarks argue that the references do not teach that use of a laminar flow is beneficial for making a spherical particle. However, this feature is only described in the preamble of the claim. Therefore, these features argued are narrower than the claimed features. Nonetheless, Ho teaches that their process makes particles (para. 32). Therefore, making spherical particles can be formed in a standard reactor (as shown by Ho).
The other features argue the newly amended features of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ho (WO 2018/113541) and in view of Lee (WO 2015/061121) and in view of Horne (WO 2020/028949) and in view of Masateru (JP 2015/047535).
Ho describes a method of making a composite oxide material (para. 51). The oxide is a spherical particle (see Fig. 2). The process employs a reactor that is made up of reaction tube and two inlet tubes, having a length, the length can be considered to have a length L (see Fig. 1).
The method involves first dissolving a transition metal solution that can contain manganese, a salt of cobalt or a salt of aluminum (page 3, last two lines). The salts can be in the form of sulfates (para. 53). Ho describes this as a first solution (page 3-4, #1). This can be considered solution A. The method then make a precipitating agent (page 4, #2) that Ho explains that include a hydroxide and/or carbonate salt (page 5, para. 14). Ho explains that this is called a second solution (page 4, #3). This is considered solution B. Ho then explains that the first solution and the second solution are fed to a first inlet and a second inlet of a static mixer (page 4, #4). Although Ho does not specifically state that one solution is fed to a first inlet and the other solution is fed to the second inlet, since Ho states that they are fed to “to a first inlet and a second inlet”, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to feed each solution to just one inlet.
As to the flow rate, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the feed rate can be considered to be a flow rate da and db, described by claim 1.
The chelating agent is optional in Claim 1 and therefore not required.
The combination of the first solution and the second solution is produced to make a co-precipitating solution (page 4, #4). Use of a pH controller (page 4, #5) has a pH value of about 8-12 (para. 18).
As to the continuous feature, Ho teaches that the static mixer are fed continuously (para. 50) and allows for a continuous mixing operation and is operated continuously (para. 71).
As to the flow rate, Ho does not specifically state that the mixtures have a certain flow rate, but it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the streams have a flow rate.
Ho teaches use of a precipitating agent (page 4, #2), which Ho states that the term “precipitating agent” refers to a base used in a precipitating reaction for forming an insoluble solid precipitate (para. 25). The solids are formed in the static mixer (para. 71). The product made is a cathode material precursor, which is obtained from the outlet of the static mixer (page 7, #5). As to the time, Ho teaches that the mixing of the composition for a period of 10 seconds to 60 seconds (para. 72).
A prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges overlap or are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. See MPEP 2144.05 I.”
As to the length, flow rate of the reactants being configured to adjust the residency time to equal to or less than 10 seconds, Ho does not teach this feature.
Lee teaches a method for synthesizing a cathode material (title) using a reactor (see Fig . 1) using a tubular reactor (page 6, line 14, 18). The reactor combines a transition metal solution with an alkali solution (see Claim 1, step c). The alkali solution can be a sodium or potassium hydroxide (page 5, lines 11-15). The ingredients are combined in a mixing chamber (page 6, lines 1-10). As to the length and flow rate, Lee teaches that the reaction time of the reactants ranges from 5 seconds to 10 minutes (page 8, lines 18-20). Lee explains that the reaction time may be determined by calculating the residence time within the reaction tubular member diameter and length using known chemical engineering principles and that it is understood that the reaction time correlates with the residence time within the reactor as calculated by first principles in chemical engineering (page 8, lines 23-27) as well as based upon the flow rates of the solution (page 8, line 24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the length and delivery flow rates of solutions A and B to meet a residence time of 5 secs to 10 mins, as taught by Lee for use with the process of Ho because Lee explains that this is a feature known in chemical engineering principles and it is understood that reaction time correlates with residence time and reactor parameters.
As to the laminar flow, Horne describes a continuous flow tubular reactor (abstract). These reactors can be static mixers used for mixing fluid stream (page 1, lines 14-15). Horne explains that the static mixer reactor may be configured to enhance properties (page 23, line 10) to include configured to adjust the flow rate, such that the Reynolds number is adjusted to produce either a laminar flow rate or a turbulent flow rate to provide enhanced properties selected from one or more of mixing, degree of reaction, heat and mass transfer and other features (page 23, lines 16-18).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adjust the parameters of the reactor in order to obtain a Reynolds number that provides a laminar flow, as taught by Horne for use with the process of Ho because static mixers are known to be configured and adjusted to obtain either a laminar flow or turbulent flow and choosing one of these would lead to predictable and expected results of a user.
As to the Reynold’s number, Masateru describes a chemical substance synthesizing device and method (title). The method id designed to make particles (page 2, para. 2) of a compound from a raw material (page 1, para. 2). In the background of this reference, Masateru explains that in field when a raw material is heated, some of that raw material solution comes into contact with the reaction vessel and an unintended reaction may proceeds on the inner wall surface of the reaction vessel (page 1, last para). When this happens, solids are deposited on the inner wall surface of the reaction container so that the wall surface becomes contaminated and the precipitate falls off and erosion and corrosion occur (page 2, para. 1). This can lead to deterioration of quality of the product as well as blockage and breakage of the reaction vessel (page 2, para. 1). As a solution to this, Masateru explains that in addition to other factors, it is preferred that the Reynolds number is 500 or less so that the flow of liquid is a laminar flow instead of a turbulent flow (page 7, para. 8). When the flow of reagents is greater than 500, the reagent flow becomes turbulent, which causes some liquids to contact the inner wall (page 9, para. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a Reynolds number of 500 or less, as taught by Masateru for use with the synthesis process of Ho, Lee and Horne because Masateru explains that when the Reynolds number is greater than 500 then a turbulent flow of the reactants in the reactor may contact the inner wall of the reactor and this sometimes causes unwanted solids deposition, contamination of the inner wall, erosion and corrosion as well as deterioration of quality of the product as well as blockage and breakage of the reaction vessel.
As to Claim 3, Ho teaches that the length of the reactor is from 30-100cm (para. 15), which is greater than 1 mm.
As to Claim 4, Ho states that the diameter of the static mixer is the internal diameter of the static mixer (para. 68) and has a diameter of 1mm to 25 cm (para. 68).
As to Claim 5, Ho teaches that the temperature of the reaction is from 30-80 degrees C (para. 70).
As to Claim 6, Ho teaches that the carbon material precursor includes Ni, Mn and Co (para. 75).
As to Claims 7 and 8, Ho teaches that the precipitating agent can be NaOH or KOH (para. 14) or sodium carbonate, potassium carbonate (para. 14).
As to Claim 9, Ho teaches that the two solutions use two pumps, which can include a peristaltic pump (para. 66) and may pump at a flow rate of 6-100 L/hrs (para. 66).
As to Claim 10, Ho teaches that the flow rate of the first and/or second solution can range from 6 L/hr to 100 l/hr (para. 66).
As to Claims 11 and 12, Ho teaches that the mixing of the composition for a period of 10 seconds to 60 seconds (para. 72). Lee states that the length of the tube is determines reaction time and that the length of the reaction tube is a known optimizable feature (see page 8, lines 23-27, page 8, line 24). Therefore, although that does not overlap the claimed 5 seconds or 1 second, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum value of a cause effective variable such as reactor length, as a factor of residence time, through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to Claims 13 and 14, Lee teaches that the diameter of the reaction tube is known to correlate with the residence time by first principles in chemical engineering as well as flow rates of the solution (page 8, lines 23-27 and line 24). Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that diameter of the reactor tube is an optimizable feature.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum value of a cause effective variable such as reactor diameter size through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As to Claim 15, Ho explains that the solutions are preheated to 30-80 degrees C (page 6, step 3) prior to feed them into the tube (page 6, step 4). Although Ho does not specifically state that the solutions are approximately within that range, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the solution would be slightly above ambient (of 20-25 degrees C) or within ambient after being preheated right before feeding through the reactor.
As to Claims 16 and 17, Ho teaches that the base can include NaOH or an alkali metal carbonate, such as Na2CO3 (para. 26).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 October 16, 2026