Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 17-21) in the reply filed on 3/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/17/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 17 is not clear regarding “one contiguous piece of material” as it is ambiguous. It is unclear if the top and bottom portions are made of multiple part as “contiguous” is understood to be “sharing a common border or touching” (therefore indicating multiple pieces) or if the top and bottom portions they are a singular part (i.e. a continuous piece). For the purpose of examination, it is read as “one continuous piece”.
Recitation of “the top surface” in bridging lines 10-11 lacks a positive antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Japanese Patent Application No. H07-300895 A (Mitsuo) in view of Japanese Patent Application No. H10-204974 A (Masaru).
Mitsuo teaches a method of manufacturing a longitudinal grating plate comprising the steps of:
extruding a substantially one continuous piece of material (e.g., aluminum) without welds or joins to form a top portion and a bottom portion (paragraph [0012]),
the top portion including a plurality of longitudinally extending apertures (elements 4 between elements 3a), which are shaped to induce flow of a fluid therethrough (see fig. 6);
removing an amount of the material from the bottom portion (paragraph [0012]: "at least one water dropping hole 5 is drilled at a predetermined position on the base plate 2 of each water flow path 4") to create a plurality of laterally extending apertures (as elements 5 are real 3D objects, they extend laterally), which cross below and at least partially overlap with the longitudinally extending apertures 4 of the top portion, thereby forming a fluid flow path, which passes from a top surface of the grating plate through the longitudinally extending apertures 4 and the laterally extending apertures 5 (see fig. 6).
Claim 17 differs from the method of Mitsuo in reciting a step of anodizing at least one of the top and bottom portions.
Masaru teaches that the step of anodizing aluminum grating is a standard procedure to prevent corrosion (see paragraph 0005).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the step of anodizing at least one of the top and bottom portions of grating plate in the method of Mitsuo to prevent corrosion as known standard procedure in Masaru.
Regarding claim 18, Mitsuo teaches the step of extruding a first longitudinal sidewall 7connected to a second longitudinal sidewall 7, the two sidewalls being connected by the grating plate, which extends therebetween, and wherein the laterally extending apertures 5 at least partially extend between the first and second sidewalls 7 (see fig. 3-4, 6).
Claim 19 differs from the method of Mitsuo in reciting the step of anodizing at least one of the first and second sidewalls.
Masaru teaches that the step of anodizing aluminum grating is a standard procedure to prevent corrosion (see paragraph 0005).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include the step of anodizing at least one of the first and second sidewalls of grating plate in the method of Mitsuo to prevent corrosion as known standard procedure in Masaru.
Claims 20-21 differ from the method of Mitsuo in reciting the step of forming a continuous and repeating S-shaped aperture or a curved zig-zag pattern in the bottom portion of the grating plate.
Masaru teaches the step of forming a continuous and repeating S-shaped aperture or a curved zig-zag pattern in the bottom portion of the grating plate (see fig. 3; paragraphs [0016]-[0017]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to form a continuous and repeating S-shaped aperture or a curved zig-zag pattern in the bottom portion of the grating plate of Mitsuo to accommodate various geometric patterns for water drain flow as suggested by Masaru (see paragraph [0025]).
Conclusion
/John Kim/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777
JK
4/5/26