DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 of U.S. Application No. 18/565338 filed on 11/29/2023 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/29/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imlach (US 2002/0074881; Hereinafter, “Imlach”) figure 3 in view of the embodiment in figure 2.
Regarding claim 1: Imlach discloses a magnetic bearing (10) comprising:
a bearing rotor (20; fig. 2-3) provided between an outermost peripheral portion (annotated fig. 3 below) and an innermost peripheral portion of a flywheel (60) fixed to a rotating shaft (21) and rotating together with the rotating shaft (para [0021]), and firmly fixed to the flywheel (60) so as to rotate integrally with the flywheel (fig. 1-3); and
Imlach in fig. 3 does not show a bearing stator provided inside the bearing rotor in a fixed state instead of rotating together with the flywheel, wherein the bearing rotor includes a radially outer side magnet disposed on an inner peripheral surface of a cylindrical shape, and the bearing stator includes a radially inner side magnet having the same magnetic pole as the radially outer side magnet and disposed at a position facing the radially outer side magnet in a radial direction.
Imlach discloses in fig. 2 a bearing stator (30) provided inside (radially inward with respect to the rotor) the bearing rotor (20; fig. 2) in a fixed state instead of rotating together with the flywheel, wherein the bearing rotor (20) includes a radially outer side magnet (22) disposed on an inner peripheral surface of a cylindrical shape (housing 21a; fig. 5), and the bearing stator (30) includes a radially inner side magnet (32,34) having the same magnetic pole (same arrow orientation is seen in fig. 2) as the radially outer side magnet (22) and disposed at a position facing the radially outer side magnet (22) in a radial direction (fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the flywheel device of Imlach as seen in fig. 3 with the bearing stator provided inside the bearing rotor in a fixed state instead of rotating together with the flywheel, wherein the bearing rotor includes a radially outer side magnet disposed on an inner peripheral surface of a cylindrical shape, and the bearing stator includes a radially inner side magnet having the same magnetic pole as the radially outer side magnet and disposed at a position facing the radially outer side magnet in a radial direction as disclosed by Imlach as seen in fig. 2 to be able to use it in high speed applications (para [0030]).
Regarding claim 3/1: Imlach discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that each of the radially outer side magnet (rotor magnet 22) and the radially inner side magnet (stator magnet 32, 34) is a magnet that generates an oriented magnetic field parallel (axial flux) to a thickness direction (axial thickness) of the magnet.
Regarding claim 5/1: Imlach discloses the limitations of claim 1 and further discloses that a set of the bearing rotor (20) and the bearing stator (30) are provided on each of both one surface of the flywheel and the other surface opposite to the one surface (the upper and lower axial surfaces of the flywheel; fig. 3).
Regarding claim 6: Imlach discloses flywheel device (fig. 3) comprising:
a flywheel (60) fixed to a rotating shaft (21) and rotating together with the rotating shaft (para [0021]);
a bearing rotor (20; fig. 2-3) provided between an outermost peripheral portion (annotated fig. 3 below) and an innermost peripheral portion of a flywheel (60) and firmly fixed to the flywheel (60) so as to rotate integrally with the flywheel (para [0021]);
Imlach in fig. 3 does not show a bearing stator provided inside the bearing rotor in a fixed state instead of rotating together with the flywheel, wherein the bearing rotor includes a radially outer side magnet disposed on an inner peripheral surface of a cylindrical shape, and the bearing stator includes a radially inner side magnet having the same magnetic pole as the radially outer side magnet and disposed at a position facing the radially outer side magnet in a radial direction.
Imlach discloses in fig. 2 a bearing stator (30) provided inside (radially inward with respect to the rotor) the bearing rotor (20; fig. 2) in a fixed state instead of rotating together with the flywheel, wherein the bearing rotor (20) includes a radially outer side magnet (22) disposed on an inner peripheral surface of a cylindrical shape (housing 21a; fig. 5), and the bearing stator (30) includes a radially inner side magnet (32,34) having the same magnetic pole (same arrow orientation is seen in fig. 2) as the radially outer side magnet (22) and disposed at a position facing the radially outer side magnet (22) in a radial direction (fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the flywheel device of Imlach as seen in fig. 3 with the bearing stator provided inside the bearing rotor in a fixed state instead of rotating together with the flywheel, wherein the bearing rotor includes a radially outer side magnet disposed on an inner peripheral surface of a cylindrical shape, and the bearing stator includes a radially inner side magnet having the same magnetic pole as the radially outer side magnet and disposed at a position facing the radially outer side magnet in a radial direction as disclosed by Imlach as seen in fig. 2 to be able to use it in high speed applications (para [0030]).
Regarding claim 12/3: Imlach discloses the limitations of claim 3 and further discloses that a set of the bearing rotor (20) and the bearing stator (30) are provided on each of both one surface of the flywheel and the other surface opposite to the one surface (the upper and lower axial surfaces of the flywheel; fig. 3).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Imlach fig. 3 in view of the embodiment in fig. 2 and in further view of Gabrys et al. (US 6798092; Hereinafter, “Gabrys”).
Regarding claim 8: Imlach discloses an electric power generation system (motor/generator; para [0028]) comprising:
a flywheel device (60 and its support structure) supported by the rotating shaft (21), the flywheel device (fig. 3) comprising: a flywheel (60) fixed to a rotating shaft (21) and rotating together with the rotating shaft (para [0021]); a bearing rotor (20; fig. 2-3) provided between an outermost peripheral portion (annotated fig. 3 below) and an innermost peripheral portion of a flywheel (60) and firmly fixed to the flywheel (60) so as to rotate integrally with the flywheel (para [0021]);
Imlach in fig. 3 does not show a bearing stator provided inside the bearing rotor in a fixed state instead of rotating together with the flywheel, wherein the bearing rotor includes a radially outer side magnet disposed on an inner peripheral surface of a cylindrical shape, and the bearing stator includes a radially inner side magnet having the same magnetic pole as the radially outer side magnet and disposed at a position facing the radially outer side magnet in a radial direction.
Imlach discloses in fig. 2 a bearing stator (30) provided inside (radially inward with respect to the rotor) the bearing rotor (20; fig. 2) in a fixed state instead of rotating together with the flywheel, wherein the bearing rotor (20) includes a radially outer side magnet (22) disposed on an inner peripheral surface of a cylindrical shape (housing 21a; fig. 5), and the bearing stator (30) includes a radially inner side magnet (32,34) having the same magnetic pole (same arrow orientation is seen in fig. 2) as the radially outer side magnet (22) and disposed at a position facing the radially outer side magnet (22) in a radial direction (fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the flywheel device of Imlach as seen in fig. 3 with the bearing stator provided inside the bearing rotor in a fixed state instead of rotating together with the flywheel, wherein the bearing rotor includes a radially outer side magnet disposed on an inner peripheral surface of a cylindrical shape, and the bearing stator includes a radially inner side magnet having the same magnetic pole as the radially outer side magnet and disposed at a position facing the radially outer side magnet in a radial direction as disclosed by Imlach as seen in fig. 2 to be able to use it in high speed applications (para [0030]).
Imlach does not show the generator supported by a rotating shaft; and wherein the generator includes an electric power generation rotor fixed to the rotating shaft and rotating together with the rotating shaft; and an electric power generation stator provided inside the electric power generation rotor in a fixed state instead of rotating integrally with the electric power generation rotor.
Gabrys teaches forming the generator (107; fig. 4) to be supported by a rotating shaft (105, 106); and wherein the generator includes an electric power generation rotor (magnets 104) fixed to the rotating shaft (104, 105) and rotating together with the rotating shaft; and an electric power generation stator (114) provided inside the electric power generation rotor (104) in a fixed state instead of rotating integrally with the electric power generation rotor (fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have formed the power generation device of Imlach with the generator supported by a rotating shaft; and wherein the generator includes an electric power generation rotor fixed to the rotating shaft and rotating together with the rotating shaft; and an electric power generation stator provided inside the electric power generation rotor in a fixed state instead of rotating integrally with the electric power generation rotor as disclosed by Gabrys to provide a compact structure that saves on space.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, 10-11, 13, 7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 2/1: the limitations of claim 1, “…wherein the bearing rotor further includes a wheel proximal side magnet disposed on a bottom surface of the cylindrical shape, and the bearing stator further includes a wheel distal side magnet having the same magnetic pole as the wheel proximal side magnet and disposed at a position facing the wheel proximal side magnet in an axial direction” in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor obvious over the prior arts in record, claims 4, 10-11, and 13 are also objected-to as they depend on claim 2.
Claims 7, and 9 recite similar language as that of claim 2, and therefore objected-to for the same reasons
Conclusion
/AHMED ELNAKIB/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2834