DETAILED ACTION
2. The action is responsive to the communications filed on 4/22/2026. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-15 are pending in the case. Claims 2, 6 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-15 are amended. Claim 1 is independent claim. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-15 are rejected.
Summary of claims
3. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-15 are pending,
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9-15 are amended,
Claims 2, 6 are cancelled.
Claim 1 is independent claim,
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-15 are rejected.
Response to Arguments
4. Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 4/22/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7-15 under 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive in view of new rejection ground(s).
Applicant argued on pages 8-10 that Tsujikawa describes a configuration for identifying information to be saved based on the occurrence of an event and Tsujikawa does not teach “identifying the time lag on communication between an imaging start command and its response” as required by the amended claim 1. Examiner disagrees and submits respectfully that Tsujikawa discloses the programmable logic controller can obtain precise time synchronization with device records relating to the captured image data generated by the camera ([0047]), and displaying device values based on the time information of the device values, for example, calculating the time difference between the time information of the device value d1 and the time information of the device value d2 ([0198]), because the acquisition time of the device value d1 does not agree with the acquisition time of the workpiece image i1, the system may obtain the time information of d1 and d2 ([0199]), that is, d1 is an imaging start time, d2 is its response time, and the time difference between d1 and d2 is the time lag information.
Applicant argued on page 9 that Tsujikawa states “the image-capture-trigger line is preferably a non-communication line…the image capture trigger can be provided at a very high speed as compared with transmission of an image capture command by communications”, and if Tsujikawa was modified to transmit the image capture trigger via communications as commands rather than signals, it would no longer be able to achieve its intended purpose, and therefore Tsujikawa teaches away from including a “time lag on communication between an imaging start command and its response”. Examiner respectfully disagrees and submits that Tsujikawa discloses the camera expansion processor acquires the image data which generated by the camera, the image capture interface has an image communication line propagating the image data generated by the camera to the camera expansion processor (Abstract), that is, even through the image capture interface has an image-capture-trigger line propagating the ON/OFF signal to the camera, the image data and the time data generated by the camera still be collected and communicated. Further, Tsujikawa discloses taking in account the time information – the time difference between d1 and d2, and the time information is transmitted to the camera input expansion and other expansion units and is used for correction for time of these expansion units of the diagnosis of the trouble as suggested by Tsujikawa ([0138]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 3-5, 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryosuke Tsujikawa (US Publication 20200259998 A1, hereinafter Tsujikawa).
As for independent claim 1, Tsujikawa discloses: A control system (Tsujikawa: [0003], Programmable logic controllers (hereinafter also referred to as “PLCs” are controllers for controlling manufacturing equipment, conveying devices, and inspection devices in factory automation (FA). PLCs execute user programs (e.g., ladder programs) written by users whereby controlling various types of expansion units and to-be-controlled equipment) comprising: control circuitry configured to control a control target (Tsujikawa: Abstract, A camera input expansion unit includes a camera-setting-information storage, a camera expansion processor, an image-recorder, and an image capture interface); and at least one camera having an imaging range where the control target can be imaged as a subject (Tsujikawa: Abstract, A camera input expansion unit includes a camera-setting-information storage, a camera expansion processor, an image-recorder, and an image capture interface), wherein the control circuitry is configured to: a communication unit configured to transmit, upon detection of an event, an imaging start command to the camera (Tsujikawa: [0095], define conditions of the record start trigger for starting the recording of device values into the temporary recording portion 91a as the first trigger conditions); and collect control data on control with the control data associated with a collection time (Tsujikawa: [0054], The collection portion associates the information on time of generation of the ON/OFF signal with its corresponding image data which can be generated by the camera, and records the associated information on time and image data into the image-recorder), the camera includes an image collection sensor configured to start imaging in accordance with the imaging start command transferred from the control circuitry and collect a captured image with the captured image associated with an imaging time (Tsujikawa: [0047], the programmable logic controller can obtain precise time synchronization with device records relating to the captured image data generated by the camera), the control circuitry is further configured to manage time information indicating a time lag between the control data collected by the control circuitry and the image collected by the image collection sensor (Tsujikawa: [0198], the log-display control portion 61 determines the display duration of the device value d1 by calculating the time difference between the time information of the device value d1 and the time information of the device value d2), the time lag includes a time from when the control circuitry transmits the imaging start command to the camera to when the control circuitry receives a response to start of imaging from the camera (Tsujikawa: [0047], the programmable logic controller can obtain precise time synchronization with device records relating to the captured image data generated by the camera; [0198]-[0199], displaying device values based on the time information of the device values, for example, calculating the time difference between the time information of the device value d1 and the time information of the device value d2, because the acquisition time of the device value d1 does not agree with the acquisition time of the workpiece image i1, the system may obtain the time information of d1 and d2), and the time lag is detected each time the event is detected (Tsujikawa: [0113], at the time of occurrence of an event).
Tsujikawa disclose calculating the time difference between the time information of the device value d1 and the time information of the device value d2, and d1 is the camera start time, but does not clearly disclose d2 is the camera response time. At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to realize that d2 could be the time information collected by the camera, for example, camera response time. Further, Tsujikawa expressly discloses acquiring timing signals from various types of input equipment (sensors etc.) ([0103]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Tsujikawa to include obtaining the time information of camera response. The motivation is using the time information of the camera to make correction for time of these expansion units of the diagnosis of the trouble as suggested by Tsujikawa ([0138]).
claim 2, cancelled
As for claim 3, Tsujikawa discloses: further comprising a server including a processor configured to manage the control data associated with the collection time, the image collected by the image collection sensor and associated with the imaging time, and the time information indicating the time lag with the control data, the image, and the time information associated with each other (Tsujikawa: [0103], acquiring timing signals from various types of input equipment (sensors etc.); [0198], the log-display control portion 61 determines the display duration of the device value d1 by calculating the time difference between the time information of the device value d1 and the time information of the device value d2; please note d2 may be camera response time which is acquired by the sensor).
As for claim 4, Tsujikawa discloses: wherein the control circuitry includes a first connector connected to a network to which the server and the camera belong, and communicates the imaging start command and the response with the camera over the network (Tsujikawa: [0004], a system is known which includes such a programmable logic controller (PLC) and a video camera that are connected to each other through a communication network in order to monitor production facilities by using camera images).
As for claim 5, Tsujikawa discloses: wherein the control circuitry communicates the imaging start command and the response with the camera over a signal line (Tsujikawa: [0098], the PLC-side communication portion 33 may have a network communication circuit. The PLC-side CPU 31 may transmit log data and the like to the PC 2, Cloud, and the like through the PLC-side communication portion).
claim 6, cancelled
As for claim 7, Tsujikawa discloses: wherein the collection time associated with the control data includes a collection start time, the imaging time associated with the captured image collected by the image collection sensor includes an imaging start time, and the time lag includes a time difference between the collection start time and the imaging start time (Tsujikawa: [0198], the log-display control portion 61 determines the display duration of the device value d1 by calculating the time difference between the time information of the device value d1 and the time information of the device value d2).
As for claim 8, Tsujikawa discloses: wherein the event includes a predetermined event pertaining to control on the control target (Tsujikawa: [0113], at the time of occurrence of an event; [0182], the defined information to be saved can be information that is acquired from occurrence of a certain event until a predetermined period of time elapses. Also, the defined information to be saved can be information that is acquired from the start time which is a predetermined period of time before occurrence of a certain event to the end time at which a predetermined period of time elapses from the occurrence of a certain event).
As for claim 9, Tsujikawa discloses: wherein the control circuitry cyclically controls the control target, and the predetermined event includes detection of end of a predetermined cycle pertaining to control (Tsujikawa: [0113], at the time of occurrence of an event; [0182], the defined information to be saved can be information that is acquired from occurrence of a certain event until a predetermined period of time elapses. Also, the defined information to be saved can be information that is acquired from the start time which is a predetermined period of time before occurrence of a certain event to the end time at which a predetermined period of time elapses from the occurrence of a certain event).
6. Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryosuke Tsujikawa (US Publication 20200259998 A1, hereinafter Tsujikawa) as applied on claim 1, and in view of Masato Fujimura et al (US Publication 20200310733 A1, hereinafter Fujimura).
As for claim 10, Tsujikawa disclose: and an image reproduction processor configured to reproduce the image collected by the image collection sensor in accordance with the imaging time associated with the image (Tsujikawa: [0171], The captured images can be recorded and reproduced not only as a still image but also as moving images, and can be displayed on the display HMI, and the PC 2), but Tsujikawa does not disclose display waveform, in an analogous art of monitoring, capturing and analyzing imaging data, Fujimura discloses: further comprising a display, wherein the control circuitry cyclically controls the control target, and the display includes: a waveform display processor configured to convert a plurality of pieces of the control data into a waveform on a basis of the collection time associated with each of the plurality of pieces of control data, and display the waveform obtained as a result of the conversion (Fujimura: Abstract; The display portion generates display data for displaying the device wave of the device that is specified by the subject device settings based on the chronological data; [0333], a waveform area display component 271 which include a wave display area for displaying the device waves is provided as one of display components which can be selected and arranged by users);
Tsujikawa and Fujimura are analogous arts because they are in the same field of endeavor, monitoring, capturing and analyzing imaging data. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Tsujikawa using the teachings of Fujimura to include displaying the waveform. It would provide Tsujikawa’s system with enhanced capabilities of allowing user to view and manage time data with more accuracy.
As for claim 11, Tsujikawa-Fujimura discloses: wherein the image includes a moving image including a plurality of frame images each associated with the imaging time, and the display includes an image adjustment processor configured to identify, on a basis of the collection time associated with the control data corresponding to a user-designated point on the waveform that has been displayed and the time lag, the frame image associated with the imaging time corresponding to the user-designated point from the plurality of frame images, and reproduce the frame image (Fujimura: [0266], the character display component CP and the numerical display component NP have component images of frame that surrounds characters and numerical values to be displayed inside. Users can select the thickness and color of the frame).
As for claim 12, Tsujikawa-Fujimura discloses: wherein the at least one camera includes a plurality of camera having an imaging range where the control target can be imaged as a subject and having different imaging directions in which the control target is imaged, and the control circuitry manages, for each of the plurality of cameras, time information indicating the time lag between the control data and the image collected by the image collection sensor included in the camera (Tsujikawa: [0063], images of a common object can be captured from different directions by cameras that can be connected to their corresponding one of the two or more camera input expansion units and synchronized with each other. According to this aspect, since synchronized images of a common object can be captured from different directions, the object can be inspected in more detail).
As for claim 13, Tsujikawa-Fujimura discloses: wherein for each of the camera, the image adjustment processor identifies, on a basis of the collection time associated with the control data corresponding to the user-designated point and the time lag indicated by the time information of the camera, the frame image associated with the imaging time corresponding to the user-designated point from the plurality of frame images configuring an image captured by the camera, and reproduces the frame image (Tsujikawa: [0182], the defined information to be saved can be information that is acquired from occurrence of a certain event until a predetermined period of time elapses. Also, the defined information to be saved can be information that is acquired from the start time which is a predetermined period of time before occurrence of a certain event to the end time at which a predetermined period of time elapses from the occurrence of a certain event).
As for claim 14, Tsujikawa-Fujimura discloses: wherein upon receipt of a user operation during reproduction by the image reproduction processor, the display identifies a reproduction position in the plurality of frame images corresponding to a time point of the receipt, and stores information on a predetermined section starting from the identified reproduction position based on an amount of the user operation on the image with the information on the predetermined section associated with the image (Fujimura: [0244], If a user touches a one-step forward reproduction button 408, the display-data generation portion 51a of the display processor 51 extracts chronological data corresponding to a predetermined range centering a scan serial number that is specified by this touch operation. The display-data generation portion 51a then generates display data based on the extracted chronological data, and updates the device wave. Also, if a user touches a reproduction button 406, the display-data generation portion 51a sequentially extracts chronological data from the operation record data, and sequentially updates the corresponding device wave).
As for claim 15, Tsujikawa-Fujimura discloses: wherein when reproducing the image, the image adjustment processor adjusts a reproduction speed of the image on a basis of the information on the predetermined section associated with the image (Fujimura: [0244], If a user touches a one-step forward reproduction button 408, the display-data generation portion 51a of the display processor 51 extracts chronological data corresponding to a predetermined range centering a scan serial number that is specified by this touch operation. The display-data generation portion 51a then generates display data based on the extracted chronological data, and updates the device wave. Also, if a user touches a reproduction button 406, the display-data generation portion 51a sequentially extracts chronological data from the operation record data, and sequentially updates the corresponding device wave).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Hua Lu whose telephone number is 571-270-1410 and fax number is 571-270-2410. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri 9:00 am to 6:00 pm EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Scott Baderman can be reached on 571-272-3644. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 703-273-8300.
/Hua Lu/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118