DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Examiner acknowledges the following data:
Parent data
18565347 filed 11/29/2023 is a National Stage entry of PCT/KR2022/011000, International Filing Date: 07/27/2022 claims foreign priority to 202141033709, filed 07/27/2021 claims foreign priority to 202141033709, filed 04/22/2022.
Information Disclosure statements
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted and filed on 11/29/2023 and 10/08/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bharatia (US 2018/0270778) in view of Kedalagudde et al (US 2021/0058784).
Regarding claim 1, Bharatia discloses method performed by a session management function (SMF), the method comprising (FIG. 18 illustrates an example option 4A—communication with visited network via SMFs according to embodiments of the present disclosure, [0030], lines 1-2):
transmitting, to a network repository function (NRF), a first message for registering including information associated with onboarding service (retrieving PCF information from the UDM by the SMF at the time of PDU session management request (establishment, modification or release) (a first message for registering including information associated with onboarding service) and SMF may communicate with the NRF to provide the PCF information, [0187], lines 8-10); and
receiving, from an access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a second message including information on onboarding indication (The source gNodeB provides handover information (information on onboarding indication) to the serving AMF in the core network and the serving AMF then passes this information to the target AMF. In the existing solution, it is assumed that the AMF communicates with the corresponding SMFs when the handover request arrives. The SMF makes sure that user plane resources are available prior to the handover, [0285], lines 2-5),
Bharatia does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the SMF is selected by the AMF based on a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a data network name (DNN), and the information associated with the onboarding service.
However, Kedalagudde et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the SMF is selected by the AMF based on a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a data network name (DNN), and the information associated with the onboarding service (O-SNPN 210 may decide whether the UE 502 is allowed to access the O-SNPN 210 for onboarding purposes by checking the realm part of the unique UE identifier which includes the information of the DCS 240. Step (C)—configuration PDU session: The O-SNPN 210 sends the information from the DCS 240 in step B1 and also may send a combination of S-NSSAI and DNN for the PDU Session to the selected PS to the UE. The UE 502 establishes a Configuration PDU session (onboarding service). This PDU Session may be established either to a well-known or pre-configured S-NSSAI or DNN, or a combination of S-NSSAI and DNN sent by the UE 502, which is used for provisioning purposes and has limited connectivity capabilities. Based on this information, the AMF 621 selects a designated SMF 624, [0091], lines 1-3 and [0092], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bharatia with concept of wherein the SMF is selected by the AMF based on a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a data network name (DNN), and the information associated with the onboarding service of Kedalagudde et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks, (Kedalagudde et al, [0002], lines 2-3)
Regarding claim 2, Bharatia discloses method (Method is provided for an initial access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, [0022], lines 1-5),
Bharatia does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the information associated with the on- boarding service indicates whether to support the onboarding service or not, for a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN).
However, Kedalagudde et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the information associated with the on- boarding service indicates whether to support the onboarding service or not, for a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) (FIG. 1 shows an example UE onboarding and provisioning for SNPN architecture 100 according to various embodiments. UE onboarding refers to provisioning of information, to a UE 502 and within a network, required for the UE 502 to get authorized access and connectivity to an SNPN. The term “NPN” may refer to an SNPN. SNPN 110 supports connectivity from an unauthenticated UE 502 (e.g., a UE 502 with no network credentials) to the onboarding server 120 so that it can be provisioned with network credentials of the HN 130, [0070], lines 1-3 and [0072], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bharatia with concept of wherein the information associated with the on- boarding service indicates whether to support the onboarding service or not, for a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) of Kedalagudde et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks, (Kedalagudde et al, [0002], lines 2-3)
Regarding claim 3, Bharatia discloses method (Method is provided for an initial access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, [0022], lines 1-5), wherein the second message is transmitted through a N11 message (FIG. 6 shows various interactions between corresponding NFs. For example, FIG. 6 illustrates the following reference points: N11 (between the AMF 621 and the SMF 624). SMF may communicate with the NRF to provide the PCF information, [0143], lines 1-2 and 6, [0187], lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 4, Bharatia discloses method (Method is provided for an initial access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, [0022], lines 1-5), wherein the SMF is one of a plurality of SMFs (FIG. 18 illustrates an example option 4A—communication with visited network via SMFs according to embodiments of the present disclosure, [0030], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Bharatia discloses method (Method is provided for an initial access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, [0022], lines 1-5), wherein a first part of the plurality of SMFs supports the onboarding service, and wherein a second part of the plurality of SMFs supports another service without the onboarding service (In some embodiments of option 4—home routed roaming scenario where AF is in home network, services are locally handled in the home network and the AF is also resided in the home network. In this case, two options exist by which the home network informs visited network to update corresponding user plane, (1) H-PCF communicates to the V-PCF or (2) H-SMF communicates with the V-SMF. Both these options are provided as a part of the present disclosure. Note that in this scenario, there may be two SMFs, one in home network and another one in the visited network. All the service decisions are taken by the SMF in the home network. There are two alternatives exist based on how which NF communicates between two networks, [0249], lines 1-4[0250], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 6, Baek et al discloses method performed by an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (Method is provided for an initial access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, [0022], lines 1-5), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a network repository function (NRF), a first message for a session management function (SMF) discovery including a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and a data network name (DNN) (Method is provided for an initial access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system. The method includes receiving, from a base station, a registration request message including information on a requested slice; determining whether to reroute the registration request message based on subscription information; transmitting, to a network repository function (NRF), a first message to request information on a target AMF which has required capabilities to serve a terminal. [0022], lines 1-5);
receiving, from the NRF, a second message including information on a SMF (SMF may communicate with the NRF to provide the PCF information, [0187], lines 8-10);
Bharatia does not specifically disclose concept of performing a selection of the SMF according to the S-NSSAI, the DNN, and information associated with onboarding service; and
transmitting, to the SMF, a third message including information on on-boarding indication, wherein the SMF supports the onboarding service.
However, Kedalagudde et al specifically teaches concept of performing a selection of the SMF according to the S-NSSAI, the DNN, and information associated with onboarding service (O-SNPN 210 may decide whether the UE 502 is allowed to access the O-SNPN 210 for onboarding purposes by checking the realm part of the unique UE identifier which includes the information of the DCS 240. Step (C)—configuration PDU session: The O-SNPN 210 sends the information from the DCS 240 in step B1 and also may send a combination of S-NSSAI and DNN for the PDU Session to the selected PS to the UE. The UE 502 establishes a Configuration PDU session (onboarding service). This PDU Session may be established either to a well-known or pre-configured S-NSSAI or DNN, or a combination of S-NSSAI and DNN sent by the UE 502, which is used for provisioning purposes and has limited connectivity capabilities. Based on this information, the AMF 621 selects a designated SMF 624, [0091], lines 1-3 and [0092], lines 1-5); and
transmitting, to the SMF, a third message including information on on-boarding indication, wherein the SMF supports the onboarding service (CA capable UE 502 can transmit on a single CC corresponding to one serving cell only (one serving cell in one TAG). When CA is deployed frame timing and SFN are aligned across cells that can be aggregated, or an offset in multiples of slots between the PCell/PSCell and an SCell is configured to the UE 502; thus is seen as transmitting, to the cell frame timing (third message including information), where SFN are aligned across cells for services, [0128], lines 13-17).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bharatia with concept of performing a selection of the SMF according to the S-NSSAI, the DNN, and information associated with onboarding service; and transmitting, to the SMF, a third message including information on on-boarding indication, wherein the SMF supports the onboarding service of Kedalagudde et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks, (Kedalagudde et al, [0002], lines 2-3)
Regarding claim 7, Bharatia discloses method (Method is provided for an initial access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, [0022], lines 1-5),
Bharatia does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the onboarding service is for a stand- alone non-public network (SNPN).
However, Kedalagudde et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the onboarding service is for a stand- alone non-public network (SNPN) (FIG. 1 shows an example UE onboarding and provisioning for SNPN architecture 100 according to various embodiments. UE onboarding refers to provisioning of information, to a UE 502 and within a network, required for the UE 502 to get authorized access and connectivity to an SNPN. The term “NPN” may refer to an SNPN. SNPN 110 supports connectivity from an unauthenticated UE 502 (e.g., a UE 502 with no network credentials) to the onboarding server 120 so that it can be provisioned with network credentials of the HN 130, [0070], lines 1-3 and [0072], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bharatia with concept of wherein the onboarding service is for a stand- alone non-public network (SNPN) of Kedalagudde et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks, (Kedalagudde et al, [0002], lines 2-3)
Regarding claim 8, Bharatia discloses method, the method further comprising, receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment message including another information associated with the onboarding service (retrieving PCF information from the UDM by the SMF at the time of PDU session management request (establishment, modification or release) (a first message for registering including information associated with onboarding service) and SMF may communicate with the NRF to provide the PCF information, [0187], lines 8-10).
Regarding claim 9, Bharatia discloses method, wherein the SMF is one of a plurality of SMFs (FIG. 18 illustrates an example option 4A—communication with visited network via SMFs according to embodiments of the present disclosure, [0030], lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Bharatia discloses method (Method is provided for an initial access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, [0022], lines 1-5), wherein a first part of the plurality of SMFs supports the onboarding service, and wherein a second part of the plurality of SMFs supports another service without the onboarding service (In some embodiments of option 4—home routed roaming scenario where AF is in home network, services are locally handled in the home network and the AF is also resided in the home network. In this case, two options exist by which the home network informs visited network to update corresponding user plane, (1) H-PCF communicates to the V-PCF or (2) H-SMF communicates with the V-SMF. Both these options are provided as a part of the present disclosure. Note that in this scenario, there may be two SMFs, one in home network and another one in the visited network. All the service decisions are taken by the SMF in the home network. There are two alternatives exist based on how which NF communicates between two networks, [0249], lines 1-4[0250], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 11, Bharatia discloses session management function (SMF), comprising (FIG. 18 illustrates an example option 4A—communication with visited network via SMFs according to embodiments of the present disclosure, [0030], lines 1-2):
a transceiver (fig. 2 item 210, transceiver); and
at least one processor (fig. 2 item 225, processor) coupled to the transceiver (fig. 2 item 210, transceiver), wherein the at least one processor (fig. 2 item 225, processor) is configured to (fig. 2 depicts a diagram where processor 225 is connected to transceiver 210, whereby the RF transceivers 210a-210n receive the outgoing processed baseband or IF signals from the TX processing circuitry 215 and up-converts the baseband or IF signals to RF signals that are transmitted via the antennas 205a-205n, [0056], lines 3-5):
transmit, to a network repository function (NRF), a first message for registering including information associated with onboarding service (retrieving PCF information from the UDM by the SMF at the time of PDU session management request (establishment, modification or release) (a first message for registering including information associated with onboarding service) and SMF may communicate with the NRF to provide the PCF information, [0187], lines 8-10); and
receive, from an access and Mobility Management Function (AMF), a second message including information on onboarding indication (The source gNodeB provides handover information (information on onboarding indication) to the serving AMF in the core network and the serving AMF then passes this information to the target AMF. In the existing solution, it is assumed that the AMF communicates with the corresponding SMFs when the handover request arrives. The SMF makes sure that user plane resources are available prior to the handover, [0285], lines 2-5),
Bharatia does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the SMF is selected by the AMF based on a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a data network name (DNN), and the information associated with the onboarding service.
However, Kedalagudde et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the SMF is selected by the AMF based on a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a data network name (DNN), and the information associated with the onboarding service (O-SNPN 210 may decide whether the UE 502 is allowed to access the O-SNPN 210 for onboarding purposes by checking the realm part of the unique UE identifier which includes the information of the DCS 240. Step (C)—configuration PDU session: The O-SNPN 210 sends the information from the DCS 240 in step B1 and also may send a combination of S-NSSAI and DNN for the PDU Session to the selected PS to the UE. The UE 502 establishes a Configuration PDU session (onboarding service). This PDU Session may be established either to a well-known or pre-configured S-NSSAI or DNN, or a combination of S-NSSAI and DNN sent by the UE 502, which is used for provisioning purposes and has limited connectivity capabilities. Based on this information, the AMF 621 selects a designated SMF 624, [0091], lines 1-3 and [0092], lines 1-5).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bharatia with concept of wherein the SMF is selected by the AMF based on a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI), a data network name (DNN), and the information associated with the onboarding service of Kedalagudde et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks, (Kedalagudde et al, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 12, Bharatia discloses SMF (FIG. 18 illustrates an example option 4A—communication with visited network via SMFs according to embodiments of the present disclosure, [0030], lines 1-2),
Bharatia does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the information associated with the on- boarding service indicates whether to support the onboarding service or not, for a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN).
However, Kedalagudde et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the information associated with the on- boarding service indicates whether to support the onboarding service or not, for a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) (FIG. 1 shows an example UE onboarding and provisioning for SNPN architecture 100 according to various embodiments. UE onboarding refers to provisioning of information, to a UE 502 and within a network, required for the UE 502 to get authorized access and connectivity to an SNPN. The term “NPN” may refer to an SNPN. SNPN 110 supports connectivity from an unauthenticated UE 502 (e.g., a UE 502 with no network credentials) to the onboarding server 120 so that it can be provisioned with network credentials of the HN 130, [0070], lines 1-3 and [0072], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bharatia with concept of wherein the information associated with the on- boarding service indicates whether to support the onboarding service or not, for a stand-alone non-public network (SNPN) of Kedalagudde et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks, (Kedalagudde et al, [0002], lines 2-3)
Regarding claim 13, Baek et al discloses access and mobility management function (AMF), comprising (Method is provided for an initial access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, [0022], lines 1-5):
a transceiver (fig. 2 item 210, transceiver); and
at least one processor (fig. 2 item 225, processor) coupled to the transceiver (fig. 2 item 210, transceiver), wherein the at least one processor (fig. 2 item 225, processor) is configured to (fig. 2 depicts a diagram where processor 225 is connected to transceiver 210, whereby the RF transceivers 210a-210n receive the outgoing processed baseband or IF signals from the TX processing circuitry 215 and up-converts the baseband or IF signals to RF signals that are transmitted via the antennas 205a-205n, [0056], lines 3-5):
transmit, to a network repository function (NRF), a first message for a session management function (SMF) discovery including a single network slice selection assistance information (S-NSSAI) and a data network name (DNN) (Method is provided for an initial access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system. The method includes receiving, from a base station, a registration request message including information on a requested slice; determining whether to reroute the registration request message based on subscription information; transmitting, to a network repository function (NRF), a first message to request information on a target AMF which has required capabilities to serve a terminal. [0022], lines 1-5)
receive, from the NRF, a second message including information on a SMF (SMF may communicate with the NRF to provide the PCF information, [0187], lines 8-10);
Bharatia does not specifically disclose concept of perform a selection of the SMF according to the S-NSSAI, the DNN, and information associated with onboarding service; and
transmit, to the SMF, a third message including information on on- boarding indication, wherein the SMF supports the onboarding service.
However, Kedalagudde et al specifically teaches concept of perform a selection of the SMF according to the S-NSSAI, the DNN, and information associated with onboarding service (O-SNPN 210 may decide whether the UE 502 is allowed to access the O-SNPN 210 for onboarding purposes by checking the realm part of the unique UE identifier which includes the information of the DCS 240. Step (C)—configuration PDU session: The O-SNPN 210 sends the information from the DCS 240 in step B1 and also may send a combination of S-NSSAI and DNN for the PDU Session to the selected PS to the UE. The UE 502 establishes a Configuration PDU session (onboarding service). This PDU Session may be established either to a well-known or pre-configured S-NSSAI or DNN, or a combination of S-NSSAI and DNN sent by the UE 502, which is used for provisioning purposes and has limited connectivity capabilities. Based on this information, the AMF 621 selects a designated SMF 624, [0091], lines 1-3 and [0092], lines 1-5); and
transmit, to the SMF, a third message including information on on- boarding indication, wherein the SMF supports the onboarding service (CA capable UE 502 can transmit on a single CC corresponding to one serving cell only (one serving cell in one TAG). When CA is deployed frame timing and SFN are aligned across cells that can be aggregated, or an offset in multiples of slots between the PCell/PSCell and an SCell is configured to the UE 502; thus is seen as transmitting, to the cell frame timing (third message including information), where SFN are aligned across cells for services, [0128], lines 13-17).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bharatia with concept of perform a selection of the SMF according to the S-NSSAI, the DNN, and information associated with onboarding service; and transmit, to the SMF, a third message including information on on- boarding indication, wherein the SMF supports the onboarding service of Kedalagudde et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks, (Kedalagudde et al, [0002], lines 2-3).
Regarding claim 14, Bharatia discloses AMF (Method is provided for an initial access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, [0022], lines 1-5),
Bharatia does not specifically disclose concept of wherein the onboarding service is for a stand- alone non-public network (SNPN).
However, Kedalagudde et al specifically teaches concept of wherein the onboarding service is for a stand- alone non-public network (SNPN) (FIG. 1 shows an example UE onboarding and provisioning for SNPN architecture 100 according to various embodiments. UE onboarding refers to provisioning of information, to a UE 502 and within a network, required for the UE 502 to get authorized access and connectivity to an SNPN. The term “NPN” may refer to an SNPN. SNPN 110 supports connectivity from an unauthenticated UE 502 (e.g., a UE 502 with no network credentials) to the onboarding server 120 so that it can be provisioned with network credentials of the HN 130, [0070], lines 1-3 and [0072], lines 1-2).
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified system of Bharatia with concept of wherein the onboarding service is for a stand- alone non-public network (SNPN) of Kedalagudde et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve service and feature requirements applicable to mobile and fixed communications technology requirements for non-public networks, (Kedalagudde et al, [0002], lines 2-3)
Regarding claim 15, Bharatia discloses AMF, wherein the at least one processor (fig. 2 item 225, processor) is further configured to (Method is provided for an initial access and mobility management function (AMF) in a wireless communication system, [0022], lines 1-5):
receive, from a user equipment (UE), a protocol data unit (PDU) session establishment message including another information as- sociated with the onboarding service (retrieving PCF information from the UDM by the SMF at the time of PDU session management request (establishment, modification or release) (a first message for registering including information associated with onboarding service) and SMF may communicate with the NRF to provide the PCF information, [0187], lines 8-10).
Conclusion
/FRANTZ BATAILLE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2681