DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is responsive to Applicant's Response to Restriction
Requirement, filed September 29, 2026. Claims 1-11 are pending.
Priority
This application filed 11/29/2023 is a National Stage entry of PCT/EP2022/064820 , International Filing Date: 05/31/2022 claims foreign priority to 2105743, filed 06/01/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicants' information disclosure statements (IDS) have been considered except where lined through. Please refer to Applicants' copy of the 1449 submitted herewith.
Response to Restriction
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, drawn to a method of making thiuram disulfide, in the reply filed 9/29/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the basis that there is unity of invention with respect to the claims of Group I-II (Remarks page 6-7). Applicants argument regarding the product claims have been considered but not found persuasive. In response, it is noted that if the product in the claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, even though the prior product was made by a different process the prior art reads on the product as claimed. As discussed in the previous office action, the prior art teaches the claimed tetrabenzylthiuram disulfide, therefore the common technical feature is not a special technical feature.
In response to a further requirement for the election of a single disclosed species, Applicants further elected the following species:
1. Tetrabenzylthiuram disulfide (TBzTD)
2. The sodium salt of dibenzyldithiocarbamate (NaBEC)
3. An oxidant composition based on hydrogen peroxide, water and sulfuric acid.
Applicants' elected species have been found not allowable due to the following rejections.
Claims 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-9 will be examined on the merits herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
1.Regarding claim 1 the phrase "preferably" renders the claim and its depended indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. Similarly, claim 7 recites “preferably”, “preferentially”; claim 8 recites “preferably”. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
2.Regarding claim 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110256318, Sept 2019, by Meng et al. (“the ‘318 publication”; cited by Applicants in IDS; machine translation provided by Applicants).
Instant claims are drawn to a process for preparing a thiuram disulfide, comprising a step of simultaneously adding an oxidizing composition and a composition comprising a dithiocarbamate salt to a reactor, said reactor comprising a solvent.
The ‘318 publication discloses a method to synthesize tetra-benzyl thiuram disulfide (TBzTD) – which corresponds to the elected species, the thiuram disulfideof formula (I) in which R1, R2 are all benzyl. The method comprises oxidation of dibenzyl dithiocarbamate sodium salt dissolved in water, and then an acid is added thereto for
neutralization reaction, and hydrogen peroxide is added to carry out an oxidation reaction; after the oxidation reaction is completed, the solid in the reaction solution is separated to obtain tetrabenzylthiuram disulfide- which corresponds to the Tetrabenzylthiuram disulfide (TBzTD), sodium salt of dibenzyldithiocarbamate (NaBEC), hydrogen peroxide oxidant, water solvent and sulfuric acid- reaction as shown on scheme on page 4:
(page 2-4 of the translation; elected species; instant claims 1-6).
Regarding instant claim 7, the ‘318 publication teaches the molar ratio of dibenzylamine, base and carbon disulfide is from I: I to 1.1: I to 1. 1 ( see claim 2).
Regarding instant claim 8, the ‘318 publication teaches adjusting pH at suitable value ( page 5).
Therefore, the prior art relied upon, and knowledge generally available in the art before the effective filing date provide the suggestion that would have motivated the skilled artisan to adjust the pH during the process as suitable.
Regarding instant claim 9, the ‘318 publication teaches on example 1 page 6-7 adding the dithiocarbamate salt composition into the reactor before the pouring of the oxidant.
The difference between the method for process for preparing a thiuram disulfide disclosed by the prior art by the ‘318 publication and the instantly claimed method in that the prior art does not teach simultaneously adding an oxidizing composition and a composition comprising a dithiocarbamate to the reactor- instead the dithiocarbamate is dissolve in water and the oxidant is added to the reactor.
It is noted that the modification of a known process by adjusting the order of addition of reagents (i.e. concomitant addition of reagents) in an otherwise known process is routine in chemical art to obtain predictable results would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.04. Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. App. 1959); In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930); Cohn v. Comr. Patents, 251 F. Supp. 437, 148 USPQ 486 (D.C. 1966).
Based on the teachings of the prior art combined with the knowledge and experience of one of ordinary skill in the art, utilizing known oxidation process to prepare thiuram disulfide as taught by the ‘138 publication by the same reaction and reagents : oxidation of dibenzyl dithiocarbamate sodium salt, water solvent,
hydrogen peroxide oxidant- one of ordinary skill would be motivated, from the teaching in the prior art, to make the modifications of simultaneous addition of reagents as part of routine optimization in order to increase the efficiency of the process to arrive at the instant invention with reasonable expectation of success. In addition, those of ordinary skill in the art would first look to known synthetic methods in the art that share structural elements with the object of their endeavor.
The instantly claimed process therefore corresponds to the combination of prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. There would have been a reasonable expectation for success since each element retains its intended function in the combination.
Absent factual unexpected, unobvious, and beneficial results, the claimed invention would have been suggested to one skilled in the art and therefore, the instant claimed invention would have been obvious to one skilled in the art.
Conclusion
Claims 1-9 are rejected. Claims 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration.
Telephone Inquiry
examiner should be directed to:
Ana Muresan
(571) 270-7587
Ana.Muresan@uspto.gov
The examiner can normally be reached Monday - Friday (9:00AM - 5:30PM).
/ANA Z MURESAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1692