DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The limitation “means for improving liquid permeability” in claim 2 is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), with associated structures found in paragraphs 11 and 49-54 of the Specification filed November 29, 2023.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Chiba et al. (US 2020/0001270) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Chiba and Fukudome et al. (US 2014/0031507).
Regarding claim 1, Chiba discloses an absorbent article (see par. 108) comprising a liquid-permeable front sheet (see par. 108, top sheet), a liquid- impermeable rear sheet (see par. 108, back sheet), and an absorber (see par. 108, absorbent material including water-absorbent resin) disposed between the front sheet and the rear sheet (see par. 108), wherein the absorber comprises a water-absorbent resin (see par. 108), and the water-absorbent resin has the following property (A):(A) a physiological saline retention capacity is 45 g/g or more and 70 g/g or less (see Table 1).
Chiba further discloses the same resin shape (see current application, par. 63 and Chiba, par. 24), same resin diameter (see current application, par. 65 and Chiba, par. 33), same polymerization step including water-soluble ethylenically unsaturated monomer (see current application, par. 70-74 and Chiba, par. 49-54), radical polymerization initiator (see current application, par. 75-77 and Chiba, par. 55-58), internal crosslinking agent (see current application, par. 78-79 and Chiba, par. 59-61), hydrocarbon dispersion medium (see current application, par. 80-81 and Chiba, par. 62-64), dispersion stabilizer including surfactant (see current application, par. 82-84 and Chiba, par. 66-69), polymeric dispersion agent (see current application, par. 85-87 and Chiba, par. 70-73), other components including thickener (see current application, par. 88-90 and Chiba, par. 76-78), same reverse phase suspension polymerization (see current application, par. 91-95 and Chiba, par. 81-86), same post-crosslinking step (see current application, par. 96-101 and Chiba, par. 90-96), and same drying step (see current application, par. 102-105 and Chiba, par. 97-101) for creating the water-absorbent resin.
Chiba does not specifically teach the water-absorbent resin having the following properties (B)-(C): (B) a physiological saline absorption capacity under a load of 4.14 kPa is at least 13 ml/g; and (C) a value of non-pressurization DW after 5 minutes is 50 ml/g or more and 80 ml/g or less. However, both the physiological saline absorption capacity and the DW or demand wettability are material properties of the water-absorbent resin. Discovery of a new property for a previously known composition cannot impart patentability of the known composition. When the structure or composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims of the instant invention, claimed properties or functions presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112-2112.01). A prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim (in this case, a water-absorbent resin having a physiological saline retention capacity is 45 g/g or more and 70 g/g less) except for a property or function (in the present case, the claimed physiological saline absorption capacity and value of non-pressurization DW) and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties that anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has a basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant, as per In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). Since Chiba discloses a water-absorbent resin having the required physiological saline retention capacity as well as overlapping methods in creating the water-absorbent resin (see cited paragraphs for the current application mapped to the disclosure of Chiba above), it can be reasoned that the resin would also exhibit the same physiological saline absorption capacity and value of non-pressurization DW required by the claim.
Assuming for the sake of argument that the resin disclosed by Chiba does not qualify as inherently encompassing the required properties of B and C, claim 1 would have been obvious in view of the combination of Chiba and Fukudome. As explained above, Chiba specifically teaches all the limitations required by claim 1 except for (B) a physiological saline absorption capacity under a load of 4.14 kPa is at least 13 ml/g and (C) a value of non-pressurization DW after 5 minutes is 50 ml/g or more and 80 ml/g or less.
Fukudome discloses a water-absorbent resin (see Abstract) for an absorbent article (see par. 67), the resin produced with a water-soluble ethylenic unsaturated monomer (see par. 29), petroleum hydrocarbon dispersion medium (see par. 34), dispersion stabilizer (see par. 36), water-soluble azo initiator for radical polymerization (see par. 40-42), internal crosslinking agent (see par. 47-49), reversed-phase suspension polymerization method (see par. 52-53), post-crosslinking (see par. 57-61) and drying (see par. 62), with a physiological saline retention capacity is 45 g/g or more and 70 g/g or less (see Table 1) and a physiological saline absorption capacity under a load of 4.14 kPa is at least 13 ml/g (see Table 1). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the water-absorbent resin of Chiba with that of Fukudome as a matter of simple substitution, as both resins in Chiba and Fukudome are intended for absorption within absorbent articles and this would have yielded predictable results, namely, an absorbent article with an absorber that could perform absorption. Additionally, discovery of a new property for a previously known composition cannot impart patentability of the known composition. When the structure or composition recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims of the instant invention, claimed properties or functions presumed to be inherent (MPEP 2112-2112.01). A prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established when the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim (in this case, a water-absorbent resin having a physiological saline retention capacity is 45 g/g or more and 70 g/g less and a physiological saline absorption capacity under a load of 4.14 kPa is at least 13 ml/g) except for a property or function (in the present case, the claimed value of non-pressurization DW) and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties that anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has a basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant, as per In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). Since Fukudome discloses a water-absorbent resin having a saline retention capacity and saline absorption capacity falling within the claimed ranges, it can be reasoned that the resin would also exhibit the same 5-minute non-pressurized DW as claimed by Applicant.
Regarding claim 7, Chiba further discloses the absorber further comprises hydrophilic fibers (see par. 6-7, 38, 104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiba in view of Fukudome and further in view of Suzuki et al. (US 2016/0213525), Suzuki submitted in the IDS of November 29, 2023.
Regarding claim 2, Chiba and Fukudome disclose the limitations of claim 1 but do not disclose the absorbent article including a means for improving liquid permeability at at least one site among the front sheet, the absorber, and a portion between the front sheet and the absorber.
Suzuki discloses an absorbent article comprising an absorber positioned between an impermeable back surface sheet and a permeable front surface sheet (see par. 47), with a means for improving liquid permeability in the form of an embossed structure 21 at a point between the front sheet and absorber (see Figs. 2, 4; par. 62) and a groove/slit 20 in the absorber. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the means for improving liquid permeability as disclosed by Suzuki, which can be an embossed structure and groove/slit, in the absorbent article of Chiba and Fukudome, therefore allowing for maintaining of an effect of the recessed groove while not decreasing in absorption rate, and preventing wear feeling from deteriorating, even curing water absorption or when an external force is applied (see par. 12, 16-17).
Regarding claim 3, Chiba, Fukudome, and Suzuki disclose the limitations of claim 2 and as explained above, disclose the means for improving liquid permeability is an embossed structure and slit structure (see rejection of claim 2).
Regarding claim 4, Chiba, Fukudome, and Suzuki disclose the limitations of claim 2 and as explained above, the means for improving liquid permeability is a groove (see rejection of claim 2).
Regarding claim 5, Chiba, Fukudome, and Suzuki disclose the limitations of claim 2 and as explained above, the means for improving liquid permeability is an embossed structure provided in the absorber (see Suzuki, Fig. 4).
Claim(s) 2 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiba in view of Fukudome and further in view of Takatori et al. (WO 2010/004894). Citations of Takatori are to the English Translation provided.
Regarding claim 2, Chiba and Fukudome disclose the limitations of claim 1 but do not disclose the absorbent article including a means for improving liquid permeability at at least one site among the front sheet, the absorber, and a portion between the front sheet and the absorber.
Takatori discloses an absorber comprising a water-absorbent resin with a means for improving liquid permeability in the form of liquid-acquisition diffusion sheet (see page 4, first paragraph under Description of Embodiments), the sheet being between the absorber and the and the front sheet (see page 4 describing the sheet above absorber and page 7, par. 3 with sheet sandwiched between liquid permeable sheet and liquid impermeable sheet, which would make it between the absorber and the liquid permeable front sheet). The sheet allows for the water absorbent performance of the water absorbent resin to not be hindered (see page 4, first paragraph under Description of Embodiments). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the absorbent article further include a means for improving liquid permeability as disclosed by Takatori, allowing for the water absorbent performance of the water absorbent resin to not be hindered.
Regarding claim 6, Chiba, Fukudome, and Takatori disclose the limitations of claim 2 and Takatori further discloses the means for improving liquid permeability is an arrangement of a liquid-acquisition diffusion sheet made of a hydrophilic nonwoven fabric having a basis weight of 15 g/m2 or more and 75 g/m2 or less (see page 6, par. 4) between the front sheet and the absorber (see rejection of claim 2 above).
Conclusion
/ARIANA ZIMBOUSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781