DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-20, 22, 25, 27, 34 in the reply filed on 03/10/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Sahdev et al. do not teach a bacterium that has been engineered to be invasive. This is not found persuasive because Sahdev et al. teach the bacterium asE. coli is known to be invasive, as seen in Silva et al. (1980). The instant specification does not provide any meaningful limitation on what it means to be “engineered”. Therefore, naturally invasive E. coli is considered by the Examiner to be “engineered to be invasive”, as it expressed proteins not expressed by all E. coli strains in order to invade eukaryotic cells.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 33 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 03/10/2026.
Status of Claims
Claims 5, 7, 10, 12, 21, 23-24, 26, and 27-32 were previously cancelled in the amendment filed 03/11/2024. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-20, 22, 25, 27, 33, and 34 are pending. Claim 33 is withdrawn. Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-20, 22, 25, 27, and 34 will be examined on the merits.
Priority
Provisional application 63/195,982 is acknowledged as disclosing the claimed invention and the effective filing date is 06/02/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statements filed on 11/30/2023 have been considered. Signed copies are enclosed.
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code (for example, see page 20). Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 34 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15 recites “wherein the antibody or antibody derivative contains a region that binds survivin (BIRC5), BCL-2, MCL-1, XIAP, BRUCE, or any other inhibitor of apoptosis (IAP)-family protein or protein that contains one or more characteristic BIR domains”. This list comprises multiple “or” conjunctions. Examiner requests the list is revised to only list “or” once.
Claim 34 contains an open end paratheses in line 5 after EspG.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 6, 9, 11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 is indefinite in its recitation of “wherein the antibody or antibody derivative consists essentially of a single protein domain extracted from a multi-domain antibody.” An antibody inherently comprises multiple domains, and it is unclear how the antibody can consist essentially of a single protein domain. Moreover, it is unclear if which extracted domain is required, and if the antibody derivative is required to bind an antigen or not.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the uncomplexed target" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 9 depends from claim 3, which depends from claim 1. Neither claim 1 nor claim 3 recite any target. Claim 9 recites ‘a target protein’ that complexes with the antibody of claim 3. However, it is unclear if “the uncomplexed target” refers to the same target protein or not. Examiner suggests amending to “the uncomplexed target protein” if so, or “an uncomplexed target” if another target is meant.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the intracellular factor" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 11 depends from claim 1, which does not recite any intracellular factor.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the antibody or antibody derivative" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 11 depends from claim 1, which does not recite an antibody.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the binding domain" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 20 depends from claim 17, which does not recite a binding domain.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 17, 18, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Linke et al., WO 2018/187381 A2, published 10/11/2018.
The instant claims are drawn to a bacteria-mediated platform that uses invasive, non-pathogenic bacteria to both produce and intracellularly deliver polypeptides, proteins, antibodies, and antibody derivatives to targeted eukaryotic cells and tissues. Claim 1 recites a system comprising a bacterium that has been engineered to be invasive and have at least one expression cassette encoding a protein exogenous to the bacterium under the control of a prokaryotic promoter. Dependent claims further modify this, including specifying the protein, the invasive engineering, and the promoter.
Linke et al. teach a similar bacteria-mediated platform that uses invasive, non-pathogenic bacteria to produce and deliver therapeutic nucleic acids to eukaryotic epithelial tissues. The system of Linke et al. comprises a nonpathogenic bacterium comprising a prokaryotic plasmid vector comprising a prokaryotic promoter controlling the expression on therapeutic nucleic acids and wherein the bacterium is engineered to express a protein that binds sialic acid (claim 13). Page 9 and page 13 of Linke et al. expands on the exogenous proteins expressed by the bacterium on this plasmid, including the influenza virus hemagglutinin (HA-1) protein, and/or the invasion protein. Therefore, Linke et al. teach a bacterium engineered to be invasive (via expression of invasin) that expresses an exogenous protein (HA-1) under the control of a bacteria promoter, anticipating instant claim 1. Linke et al. teach that the preferred embodiment of this invention is when the bacterium is E. coli on page 21, line 3, and in claim 34. Linke et al. also teach a prokaryotic terminator, on page 15. Therefore, Linke et al. teach instant claim 2. The expression of invasion (Inv) in Linke et al. teaches instant claims 17 and 18, and the expression of HA-1 is a cellular targeting factor, teaching instant claim 22. Thus, Linke et al. anticipates instant claims 1, 2, 17, 18, and 22.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 22, 25, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linke et al., WO 2018/187381 A2, in view of Lo et al. Therapeutic antibodies, 343-373 (2008) and Ward et al. Nature, 341(6242), 544-546 (1989).
The instant claims are drawn to a bacteria-mediated platform that uses invasive, non-pathogenic bacteria to both produce and intracellularly deliver polypeptides, proteins, antibodies, and antibody derivatives to targeted eukaryotic cells and tissues. Claim 1 recites a system comprising a bacterium that has been engineered to be invasive and have at least one expression cassette encoding a protein exogenous to the bacterium under the control of a prokaryotic promoter. Dependent claims further modify this, including specifying the protein, the invasive engineering, and the promoter.
Linke et al. teach a similar bacteria-mediated platform that uses invasive, non-pathogenic bacteria to produce and deliver therapeutic nucleic acids to eukaryotic epithelial tissues. The system of Linke et al. comprises a nonpathogenic bacterium comprising a prokaryotic plasmid vector comprising a prokaryotic promoter controlling the expression on therapeutic nucleic acids and wherein the bacterium is engineered to express a protein that binds sialic acid (claim 13). Page 9 and page 13 of Linke et al. expands on the exogenous proteins expressed by the bacterium on this plasmid, including the influenza virus hemagglutinin (HA-1) protein, and/or the invasion protein. Therefore, Linke et al. teach a bacterium engineered to be invasive (via expression of invasin) that expresses an exogenous protein (HA-1) under the control of a bacteria promoter, teaching instant claim 1. Linke et al. teach that the preferred embodiment of this invention is when the bacterium is E. coli on page 21, line 3, and in claim 34. Linke et al. also teaches a prokaryotic terminator, on page 15. Therefore, Linke et al. teach instant claim 2. The expression of invasion (Inv) in Linke et al. teaches instant claims 17 and 18, and the expression of HA-1 is a cellular targeting factor, teaching instant claim 22.
Linke et al. do not explicitly teach the system wherein the encoded protein is an antibody or antibody derivative, as in instant claim 3. Linke et al. do not teach any of the embodiments of claims 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13-16, or 27, which further specify the antibody or antibody derivative. Linke et al. do not explicitly teach the system with a plasmid under 7 kb.
Lo et al. reviews the concept of intracellularly delivered antibodies, or “intrabodies”, which are specifically designed for the interruption or modification of the biological functions of a target protein (page 344, subheading 1). The most common intrabodies are ScFv antibodies, which are the VH and VL segments of an antibody linked with a short flexible linker, and intracellular single variable domain antibodies (IDab), which are VH chains that exhibit binding to an antigen without a light chain (see Figure 1 and pages 344-346). The intrabodies disclosed in Lo et al. serve a similar function to the therapeutic nucleic acids of Linke et al., which are recited in claim 13 as interfering with one or more target molecules, and are used when interrupting or altering function of a gene or protein is desirable (page 21). Because the therapeutic nucleic acids of Linke et al. and the intrabodies of Lo et al. serve the same purpose, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Linke et al. with an intrabody. One would be motivated to do so because intrabodies are highly specific for their target antigen, while therapeutic nucleic acids such as RNAis can exhibit nonspecific effects, such as the dsRNA-triggered intracellular immune responses. Additionally, intrabodies, as proteins, are more stable than RNAi, which has a short half-life, providing a more instantaneous and durable effect (see Lo et al., section 5, pages 358-359). One would have a reasonable expectation of success because IDab antibodies have been shown to be successfully produced and secreted by E. coli, as evidenced by Ward et al. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Linke et al. to express intrabodies instead of therapeutic nucleic acids such as RNA, rendering obvious instant claims 3 and 4. Additionally, Lo et al. teach examples of intrabodies that can be used in this process. Section 6.2 of Lo et al. teach that intrabodies are used to bind therapeutically relevant cancer targets such as growth-factor receptors, angiogenesis-related receptors, oncogenic proteins, transcription factors, and cancer resistance related proteins (page 361), teaching the antibody of instant claim 8. Lo et al. disclose that anti-erbB2 scFv causes functional inactivation of the erbB2 receptor by reducing phosphorylation of Shc in section 6.2.1 on page 361, teaching the limitations of instant claim 9. Lo et al. teach intrabodies targeting cell cycle and apoptosis-related proteins in section 6.2.2 on page 362, thereby teaching the limitations of instant claim 14. Section 6.2.4 on page 363 of Lo et al. teaches an intrabody that inhibits the function of a multi-drug resistance protein in cancer cells, resulting in an increased uptake and therapeutic efficacy of chemotherapeutic agents Rh123 and ADM, thus teaching the limitations of instant claim 13. Finally, Lo et al. teach intrabodies against HIV proteins in section 6.1 (page 359-360) and 6.5 (page 365), teaching the limitations of instant claim 16.
Linke et al. teach, in figure 1, two plasmids that can enable the system to express the proteins of interest. The first plasmid has a size of 12 kb and contains all aspects of the genetic modification, including the therapeutic nucleic acids, HisD marker, HlyA, HA-1, and Inv. The second plasmid contains only the HisD marker and nucleic acids, and is only 4.7 kb. The specification recites, in the figure legend on page 5, that the other necessary genes have been transferred to the delivery vehicle chromosome for improved efficiency and stability and a small plasmid size. Page 16 of the specification recites that integrating these proteins into the E. coli chromosome improves the stability and increases the expression of these genes (lines 36-38) and that this integration allows for faster growth of the bacteria (lines 27-29). Therefore, one would be motivated to integrate the essential genes of the system, such as the invasive proteins, into the chromosome and keep the plasmid size small to improve bacterial growth and protein expression, while expressing the protein of interest (the intrabody) on a plasmid so it can be easily exchanged, rendering claim 25 obvious.
Finally, the broadest reasonable interpretation of claim 27 is the claimed system wherein the protein is delivered to the cytoplasm and the protein is function and increases the level of the protein in the target cell, and the supplementation of a clinically significant deficiency of said protein is an intended use of the claim. Therefore, Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al. teaches the delivery of an intrabody to the cytoplasm, wherein the intrabody would be functional, and the level of the intrabody would be increased, teaching the limitations of instant claim 27.
Therefore, the combination of Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al. teach the invention of instant claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 22, 25, and 27.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 22, 25, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linke et al., WO 2018/187381 A2, in view of Lo et al. (2008) and Ward et al. (1989) as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 22, 25, and 27 above, and further in view of Shimamoto et al. mAbs, 4:5, 586-591 (2012).
The teachings of Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al. regarding the invention of instant claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 22, 25, and 27 are recited above. Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al. do not explicitly teach that the antibody derivative comprises a biologically active peptide grafted onto an Fc domain; for example, a peptibody. Shimamoto et al. do teach a peptibody comprising peptide-Fc fusions as an alternative to monoclonal antibodies, as the peptibody can retain increased apparent affinity and long plasma residency time (abstract). Shimamoto et al. teach that peptibodies can be made by E. coli (abstract). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a peptibody designed for intracellular delivery to target intracellular proteins or systems using the system of Linke et al. One would be motivated to do so in order to provide a flexible protein with increased avidity for a target as compared to a pharmacological peptide (see Shimamoto et al., page 590, right column). One would have a reasonable expectation of success as Shimamoto et al. disclose that peptibodies are effective and can be produced by E. coli. Therefore, the combination of Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al., further in view of Shimamoto et al., teach the invention of instant claims 1-4, 6, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 22, 25, and 27.
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 22, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linke et al., WO 2018/187381 A2, in view of Lo et al. (2008) and Ward et al. (1989) as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 22, 25, and 27 above, and further in view of Tanaka et al. EMBO journal, 26(13), 3250 (2007).
The teachings of Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al. regarding the invention of instant claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 22, 25, and 27 are recited above. Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al. do not explicitly teach the intracellular factor bound by the antibody as mutated HRAS, NRAS, or KRAS. Lo et al. do teach, however, IDabs against RAS protein that exhibit inhibition of RAS-dependent oncogenic transformation. Tanaka et al. teach tumor prevention by a single antibody domain targeting the interaction of signal transduction proteins with RAS, including an HRAS mutant (page 3251, left column) and NRAS and KRAS (3251, right column, Figure 1B, and 3252, left column). Therefore it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the antibody of Tanaka et al. in the system made obvious by Linke et al. and Lo et al. in order to target RAS family proteins. One would be motivated to do so the intrabody of Tanaka et al. is able to target RAS mutants, including HRAS, NRAS, and KRAS mutants, previously considered as “undruggable” targets due to the protein interaction surface, thus introducing a new target for cancer drugs. One would have a reasonable expectation of success because Tanaka et al. teach an intrabody and Ward et al. show that intrabodies can be made and secreted by E. coli, and the system of Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. would allow the intrabody of Tanaka et al. to encounter its intended intracellular target. Therefore, claim 15 is obvious over Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al., further in view of Tanaka et al.
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13-18, 22, 25, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linke et al., WO 2018/187381 A2, in view of Lo et al. (2008) and Ward et al. (1989) as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 22, 25, and 27 above, and further in view of Beghein et al., Sci Rep 6, 31177 (2016).
The teachings of Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al. regarding the invention of instant claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 22, 25, and 27 are recited above. Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al. do not explicitly teach the system wherein the protein binds an epitope on survivin, BCL-2, MCL-1, XIAP, BRUCE, or any other inhibitor of apoptosis family protein.
Beghein et al. teach a nanobody that binds to an epitope on survivin (abstract, whole document), disclosing that an nanobody is a single-domain antibody comprised of the variable heavy chain region of an antibody, and names nanobodies as an alternative to RNAi (page 2, third paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the nanobody of Beghein et al. in the system of Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al. Ward et al. has demonstrated that VHH antibodies can be made and secreted by E coli, so there is a reasonable expectation of success. One would be motivated to target survivin because it is an important protein in carcinogenesis and is differentially expressed in tumors (page 2, second paragraph). Therefore, claim 15 is obvious over Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al. and further in view of Beghein et al.
Claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 22, 25, 27, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linke et al., WO 2018/187381 A2, in view of Lo et al. (2008) and Ward et al. (1989) as applied to claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 22, 25, and 27 above, and further in view of Xie et al. FEMS Immunology & Medical Microbiology, 42(3), 271-279 (2004).
The teachings of Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al. regarding the invention of instant claims 1-4, 8, 9, 13, 14, 16, 17, 18, 22, 25, and 27 are recited above. Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al. do not explicitly teach the system of the instant claims wherein the invasion factor expressed is OmpA, IbeA, IbeB, IbeC, or others. However, the role of these proteins as invasion factors in E. coli are known. For example, in Xie et al., the role of OmpA and the Ibe proteins in breaching the blood-brain barrier (BBB) is explained. These proteins are key for invading human brain microvascular endothelial cells (HBMECs), which make up the BBB. Lo et al. disclose intrabodies for use in treating neurodegenerative disease, such as Huntington’s and Parkingson’s disease (see section 6.4, page 364-365). One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to treat these diseases with these intrabodies using the system of Linke et al., but invasion factors such as OmpA and the Ibe proteins would be needed in order to breach the blood brain barrier. Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bacteria of Linke et al. to express invasion factors such as OmpA and IbeA, IbeB, or IbeC, in order to breach the BBB and administer the intrabody of Lo et al. One would have a reasonable expectation of success because it is known these proteins are important for breaching the BBB. Therefore, claim 34 is obvious over Linke et al. in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al. and further in view of Xie et al.
Claims 1, 2, 17-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Linke et al. in view of Nakajima et al. (2000).
The teachings of Linke et al. regarding the invention of instant claims 1, 2, 17, 18, and 22 are recited above under paragraph 24. Linke et al. do not explicitly teach the invasion factor of a chimeric recombinant protein comprising the non-binding domains of an invasin protein fused to a binding domain from a heterologous protein. Linke et al. do, however, teach the heterologous protein of HA-1 expressed alongside an invasin protein, and recite that expressing these two proteins together would allow for targeting of epithelial cells, which express high levels of sialic acid, the binding receptor for HA-1, and would provide competition for other pathogens, such as influenza virus, which also needs to bind to sialic acid for uptake (see Example 4, pages 12-13). Nakajima et al. teach the expression of peptides on the cell surface of E. coli using the N-terminal domain of invasin (abstract, whole document). As disclosed on page 122, left column, first paragraph of Nakajima et al., only the most C-terminal domain of the invasin protein are required for binding to the target of invasin, integrin; the remaining N-terminal domains allow the binding domain to be presented on the surface of the cell. Nakajima et al. use the N-terminal domains of the invasin protein to screen for peptides that bind to eukaryotic cells and show that this technique allows for high presentation levels of foreign peptides on the surface of the bacterium. As the binding properties of HA-1 are known, and provide an optimal target for delivering cargo to certain cell types, as disclosed in Linke et al., it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the presentation technique of Nakajima et al. to present the binding domains of HA-1 via the N-terminal domain of invasin, in order to better target epithelial cells. One would be motivated to do so over merely co-expressing HA-1 and invasin, as disclosed in Linke et al., because this technique would remove the binding domain of invasin that targets integrin, allowing for increased specificity in the binding of the bacterium to only cells expressing sialic acid (such as epithelial cells). One would have a reasonable expectation of success because Nakajima et al. disclose that this method of presentation is effective for presenting binding peptides on the surface of the bacterium. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to express a fusion protein comprising the non-binding domains of invasin and the binding domains of HA-1 in the system of Linke et al. in order to improve eukaryotic cell targeting. Therefore, Linke et al. in view of Nakajima et al. renders instant claims 19 and 20 obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 17, 18, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 11312954 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same system.
Claims 1-15 of ‘954 are drawn to a nonpathogenic bacterium, wherein the bacterium has been engineered to express at least one invasion factor on the chromosome of the bacterium and wherein the bacterium comprises a plasmid having a length less than 4,700 base pairs, the plasmid comprising one or more sequences encoding one or more therapeutic nucleic acids and a prokaryotic promoter to control transcription of the therapeutic nucleic acids.
This claim is substantially the same as instant claim 1, drawn to a system comprising a bacterium engineered to be invasive (expressing at least one invasion factor) with at least one expression cassette encoding a protein exogenous to the bacterium under the control of a prokaryotic promoter. The bacterium of ‘954 has an expression cassette expressing an exogenous protein (a selection marker) under the control of a prokaryotic promoter, as recited in ‘954 claim 2. Therefore, claim 1 is taught by ‘954. Additionally, claim 7 of ‘954 teaches the bacterium is E. coli, teaching instant claim 2, expresses an inv protein, teaching instant claims 17 and 18, and expresses HA-1, a cellular targeting factor, teaching instant claim 22. Thus, claims 1, 2, 17, 18, and 22 are substantially the same as the claimed invention of ‘954.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-20, 22, 25, 27, and 34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. US 11312954 B2 in view of Lo et al., Ward et al., and Nakajima et al., and further in view of Shimamoto et al., Tanaka et al., Beghein et al., and Xie et al.
Claims 1-15 of ‘954 are drawn to a nonpathogenic bacterium, wherein the bacterium has been engineered to express at least one invasion factor on the chromosome of the bacterium and wherein the bacterium comprises a plasmid having a length less than 4,700 base pairs, the plasmid comprising one or more sequences encoding one or more therapeutic nucleic acids and a prokaryotic promoter to control transcription of the therapeutic nucleic acids. The claims of ‘954 are also drawn to a plasmid expressing a therapeutic nucleic acid under the control of a prokaryotic promoter. Lo et al. teach intrabodies, which comprise the same function as a therapeutic nucleic acid. See above for the full teaching of Lo et al. and Ward et al., as well as Shimamoto et al., Tanaka et al., and Beghein et al. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the therapeutic nucleic acid of ‘954 with an intrabody as disclosed in Lo et al. One would have reasonable expectation of success because Ward et al. have demonstrated that intrabodies can be secreted by bacteria such as E. coli. The teachings of Lo et al. and Shimamoto et al., Tanaka et al., and Beghein et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 3, 4, 6, 8, 9, 11, 13-16, and 27, as recited above. Moreover, as the plasmid disclosed in the claims of ‘954 is less than 7kb, ‘954 in view of Lo et al. and Ward et al. teaches the invention of instant claim 25. Finally, Nakajima et al. and Xie et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 19, 20, and 34, as described above. Therefore, in view of these sources, the instant invention is obvious over the patented claims of ‘954.
Claims 1, 2, 17, 18, and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 122-127, 134-142, 147-149, and 151-157 of copending Application No. 17/595,993 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are drawn to the same system.
Claims 122-127, 134-142, 147-149, and 151-157 of ‘993 are drawn to a nonpathogenic bacterium engineered to express at least one invasion factor, a gene editing nuclease, and a guide RNA. Claim 140 discloses the gene editing nuclease under the control of a prokaryotic promoter. The gene editing nuclease is an exogenous protein to the cell. Therefore, the system of ‘993 is substantially the same as that of instant claim 1. Claim 154 of ‘993 teaches the bacterium is E. coli, teaching instant claim 2, and claim 153 discloses the bacterium expresses an inv protein, teaching instant claims 17 and 18, and HA-1, a cellular targeting factor, teaching instant claim 22. Thus, claims 1, 2, 17, 18, and 22 are substantially the same as the claimed invention of ‘993.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4, 6, 8-9, 11, 13-20, 22, 25, 27, and 34 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 122-127, 134-142, 147-149, and 151-157 of copending Application No. 17/595,993 in view of Linke et al., Lo et al., Ward et al., Boettcher et al. Molecular cell, 58(4), 575-585 (2015), and Nakajima et al., and further in view of Shimamoto et al., Tanaka et al., Beghein et al., and Xie et al.
Claims 122-127, 134-142, 147-149, and 151-157 of ‘993 are drawn to a nonpathogenic bacterium engineered to express at least one invasion factor, a gene editing nuclease, and a guide RNA. Claim 140 discloses the gene editing nuclease under the control of a prokaryotic promoter. The gene editing nuclease is an exogenous protein to the cell. Therefore, the system of ‘993 is substantially the same as that of instant claim 1. Claim 154 of ‘993 teaches the bacterium is E. coli, teaching instant claim 2, and claim 153 discloses the bacterium expresses an inv protein, teaching instant claims 17 and 18, and HA-1, a cellular targeting factor, teaching instant claim 22. Thus, claims 1, 2, 17, 18, and 22 are substantially the same as the claimed invention of ‘993.
‘993 does not teach wherein the protein is an antibody. However, Lo et al. reviews the concept of intracellularly delivered antibodies, or “intrabodies”, which are specifically designed for the interruption or modification of the biological functions of a target protein (page 344, subheading 1). The intrabodies disclosed in Lo et al. serve a similar function to the gene editing system of ‘993, commonly used to reduce or disrupt gene products (see Boettcher et al., abstract). As the intrabodies of Lo et al. can serve the same purpose as the gene editing technology of ‘993, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of ‘993 with an intrabody. One would be motivated to do so because intrabodies are highly specific to their target, exhibit extended but not permanent effects, and are capable of being secreted efficiently by the bacterium, as disclosed in Ward et al., also providing a reasonable expectation of success. Therefore, the invention of claims 3 and 4 are obvious over ‘993 in view of Lo et al., Ward et al., and Boettcher et al. Additionally, the specific intrabodies described by Lo et al., Shimamoto et al., Tanaka et al., and Beghein et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 6, 8, 9, 11, 13-16, and 27, as recited above. Moreover, Nakajima et al. and Xie et al. render obvious the limitations of instant claims 19, 20, and 34, as described above.
Finally, while the claims of ‘993 do not disclose the system on a plasmid, Linke et al. disclose a system comprising a bacterium with the invasive genes expressed on a chromosome and interchangeable therapeutic nucleic acids on a plasmid of 4.7kb. Page 16 of Linke et al. recites that integrating these proteins into the E. coli chromosome improves the stability and increases the expression of these genes (lines 36-38) and that this integration allows for faster growth of the bacteria (lines 27-29). Therefore, one would be motivated to integrate the essential genes of the system, such as the invasive proteins, into the chromosome and keep the plasmid size small to improve bacterial growth and protein expression, while expressing the protein of interest (the intrabody) on a plasmid so it can be easily exchanged, rendering claim 25 obvious.
Therefore, in view of these sources, the instant invention is obvious over the patented claims of ‘993.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. WO 2017041092 A2, Fenstermaker et al., published 3/9/2017. Fenstermaker et al. disclose anti-survivin antibodies that are capable of inhibiting survivin function. Fenstermaker et al. also disclose this antibody in the form of an scFv, allowing it to be used with Linke et al. and Lo et al. and be administered as an intrabody.
/AMELIA STEPHENS/Examiner, Art Unit 1645
/ANNE M. GUSSOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1683