DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/22/26.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 and Claims 10 and 17 of U.S. Patent No.: 6544439. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Claims 1 and 4 of ‘439 disclose nickel in the composition and Claim 4 describes the structure has a hydroxyapatite structure.
Similarly, Claims 10 and 17 of ‘439 describe inclusion of nickel and the rest of the composition has a hydroxyapatite structure, as described by Claim 17.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Belliere-Baca (US Pub.: 2014/0364351), BB.
BB describes a hydroxyapatite with the formula: Ca3(PO4)2 (see para. 29). The catalyst may be doped with a metal (para. 35, 37). As to the intended use feature that describes that this composition is a catalyst used for isobutanol and propanol synthesis, although BB does not specifically state that this catalyst is used for these purposes, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the same composition can be used the same way.
As to Claim 2, BB describes the formula: Ca3(PO4)2 (see para. 29), which includes Ca3(PO4). This meets the feature that the hydroxyapatite “comprises one or more of . . CaxPOy. .. wherein x is in a range of 1.5 to 3 and y is in a range of 4 to 5.5.
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calvarese (WO 2011/031928).
Calvarese describes a catalyst that is a hydroxyapatite with the formula:
(MaM’bMc””Md”””)3(PO4)2 (OH), where M is Mg, M’ is Ca, M”” is Sr and M”” is Ba (page 11). The variables w, x and y can be any number between 0-1 (page11). In a few examples, the formula for the compound can be Sr2.7Ca0.3PO4 (page 52, para. 1). Another compound that can be derived from this includes Sr8Ba2(PO4) (example 17). In this case, Sr can be considered the metal-doped and the Ba2(PO4) meets the formula of Claims 2, 3 and 4.
As to Claim 5, Calvarese explains that this catalyst can be modified with a metal, such as Fe, Ni, Cu, Ru, Rh, Pd (page 6, lines 17-22).
As to Claims 7 and 8, Calvarese teaches that the metal added to the hdryoxyapatite can include: Na, Li, K, Rb and Cs (page 6, lines 17-22).
Claim(s) 6, 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Calvarese as applied to claim 1 or 5 or 7 above, and further in view of Tsuchida (WO 2006/059729).
The references do not disclose the amount of metal present in the composition.
Tsuchida describes a catalyst used for producing 1-butanol (abstract). The catalyst can include a hydroxyapatite that is promoted with a metal, such as Ni, Zn, Cu, Pd or Pt (para. 17). These metals can change the solid acid basicity that are desirable (para. 17). The metals can be added in an amount of 0.05 to 70 mol % (para. 17). As to their weight %, the ranges overlap. For example, using 0.5 mol% of Nickel would amount to about 29 mass% of nickel.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a promoter metal in an amount of 0.05 to 70 mol%, as taught by Tsuchida for use with the process of Calvarese because Tsuchida teaches that these metals can change the solid acid basicity of the catalyst, which are desirable.
As to Claim 10, Tsuchida teaches that the hydroxyapatite can include tricalcium phosphate (see abstract in WO original), which can include Ca3(PO4) (abstract).
Conclusion
/SHENG H DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1732 August 20, 2026